We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An honest opinion from the UK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jalsa Beach Hotel and Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Poste Lafayette
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just back from the Jalsa 4 of us from 13th -29th Sept. Arrived at 1130,having come from Manchester via Dubai.No booking in problems taken straight to our rooms 302 and 304. Very clean and tidy. Met our maid (Maya) who promised to look after us - which she did. Food during our stay was varied and well presented. First week had no problems getting a sunbed. As the hotel filled up during the second week it was a bit more difficult, but the management did find some extra soft chairs, to ease the problem. Did two trips around the island,first to the North (port louis and the botanical gardens) second to the South taking in the magnificent bird sanctuary and Shiv temple plus other places of interest.Found all the staff and management very helpful and bent over backwards to any requests or queries. Rhum point bar well run and served excellent drinks. 4pm pancakes were lovely.Enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Jalsa if you want a quiet and relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Had 1st floor rooms overlooking gardens and restaurant -no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank shytalk999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear Shytalk999,

We sincerely thank you for your positive feedback and be assured that your review will be shared with all staff especially the staff members whom you have named.

The management and staff always strive to meet the needs of our guests and it is wonderful to read that you have noticed that. You have complimented Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa in many ways but I assure you the pleasure was ours.

As you well noted during your stay there was an increase in the demand for sunbeds. The pool side seating arrangement, pool side sunbeds, beach sunbeds and the banana chairs does provide enough seating for all. However, we are increasing the number of sunbeds at the moment to meet the demand.

Sending you our best wishes and hopefully we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back to Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa again.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (847)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

513 - 519 of 847 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

we stayed in jalsa hotel in august 2012 and must admit that this place is beautiful regret could not write earlier than this but myself my wife and daughter are really happy to stay in jalsa hotel it is so clean we stayed in room no 121 and we found that the quietness of the place is welcome however the room service was a bit poor and the food was a bit too spicy but on the whole we had a wonderful experience

Room Tip: we stayed in room no 121 its location is very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank babl00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear Babl00,

Short and sweet. The management and staff thank you for your positive feedback. It has been shared with all our team members. We are happy to see that you enjoyed the tranquility surrounding Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa.

We send our best wishes to you and your family and look forward to welcome you back to Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa again.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Visited in Feb'12 as a honeymoon couple and stayed in a Deluxe room. The room was at the end of complex and overlooked the pool and beach (shallow one). Details below:

Check-in: Had to wait for 30-40 minutes for the check-in as the staff waited for all the couples to come from airport and different travel agencies. Looked the reception staff was overwhelmed and had no notion of customer service and believed in just herd management. Cool towel - good, sugary drink -ok.

Luggage delivery to room: Took another 30-40 minutes.

Room: Very clean, fresh, but AC was a bit weak. Had to use the table fan for heat. Also as a service gesture, the AC could have been switched on earlier so as to welcome guests to a cool room rather than a stuffy one.

Bathroom: Clean and well lit. Missed bath tub :(

Food: Ok, good salads and starters, main course mostly ok cooked Indian food, Personally, was expecting forward to some experimentation, however was disappointed by the range and quality of Mauritian food on offer. Had fabulous fish in the city.

Location: Middle of nowhere, but very beautiful property and who wants rush and noise during the stay.

Pool: Only one pool. Very good, but hated it when people jumped in clothes and not proper swimming costume.

Rum Point: Awesome.

Beach: A walk to remember.

Minibar: Funny hotel, welcomed me to an empty minibar :-x. Apparently they have might have had some bad experiences with people not paying for usage. But lost a chance to get money from us. I stocked it up after a day on my own :).

Departure: This was the most depressing part of my experience in the hotel. The hotel ppl started banging @ 9 on the door for check-out at 11 and Reception asked for 1000 Rs for late checkout. There were 25-30 ppl in the lobby with seating for just 14 odd people. Rest had to stand in the lobby. The AC was not working. I agree that its also partly due to travel agents mistake, however still customer service basics were not followed.


In a nutshell, the hotel is good enough, but do not expect high quality service.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms as they open to walkway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jasprit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear Jasprit,

The management sincerely thank you for your feedback and taking the time to highlight the issues which could have made your holiday more memorable. We have taken your feedback to heart and working on ensuring that these matters will not arise again.

Their are matters which we need to address and which should have been better explained at the time of your check-in.

As with all hotels we have a fixed time for arrivals (14h00) and departures (12h00). As flights do not follow the hotel schedule guests sometimes have to wait for a room which is on departure on the same day. However the hotel offers many service areas allowing guests to still enjoy the beach, pool, bar , restaurant and spa without limitation. We recommended this instead of waiting in the reception area.

The mini-bar is stocked upon request thereby ensuring that the minibar is available for personal use (such as medication in many instances) or can be stocked with fresh 'goodies' for that midnight snack. A simple request to our Reception and it is done right away.

We absolutely agree on the matter regarding guests getting into the pool without the correct swimming attire. We have strict rules in place which is displayed on the notice board around the pool area prohibiting this action. Our staff have also been trained to deal with such matters tactfully. Perhaps is important to note visiting a tropical island a swimming costume is an absolute essential.

Onto more positive matters...

We thank you for having chosen Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa for your Honeymoon and we wish you many wonderful years ahead. Hopefully we will have the privileged to welcome you back to our shores again.

Best regards and thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This Hotel is nothing like the pictures, the beach isnt even a beach. It is man made and the sand is not very nice. Once the tide comes in there is hardly any sand left, as it is all under water. The sea is full of sea weed and its very stoney. Hotel is ok, but nothing works correctly and the food is a little dull at times. I would not recommend this place as your visit this island, choose the west side of the island you will get better weather and nicer beaches!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adele T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear Adele T,

The management and staff thank you for review. All reviews/feedback, positive or negative serves as tool to assist us in determining where to improve our services. This is a never ending task in the service industry.

It appears Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa was not the hotel which suited your specific needs best. With the tools available to travelers these days we advise that guests do a thorough check on their chosen destination. From our many positive reviews it is clear that most guests are more than satisfied with the Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa product.

From your feedback it is also clear that the beach area was not to your satisfaction and there are some matters which I need to address for future travelers to Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa.

The beach area is most certainly not man made and unauthorized interference with nature is not permitted by the local authorities. Over he last number of years we have been fortunate to have the tides bring new sand to our shore from the outlying reef areas. The tide does effect some parts of our beach upon high tide but the main beach area where the kiosks and banana chairs are placed remains unaffected. In other words the sandy beach remain always available.

Seaweeds exist all over the island and the bits of seaweed brought in by the tide is removed on a daily base by our beach cleaning staff. The same applies to the coral fragments referred to in your review. Having visited most of the beaches in Mauritius I must admit that Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa has finer sand and less corals than most other beaches.

From our advertising provided to all our Tour Operators we clearly state that Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa is located in a lagoon - which provides a safer beach area with shallow water. All imaging taken on site and descriptions of the hotel is checked for validity by our associates in the Tour Operating field.

We wish that your experience at Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa was more satisfying and we will certainly continue to improve all services. Your feedback is most appreciated!

Thank you for having chosen Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Me and my husband visited Mauritius for our honeymoon and decided to put up at the Jalsa Beach Resort..We were quite impressed with the warm welcome extended to us by the staff at the reception, in particular Sindy..The ambience is just too serene and the fresh air, cool waters and lush green environ complement the beauty of the resort tremendously..We relished the food so much.Our taste buds blossomed with the mouth watering Indian recipes.The staff at the restaurant was too cordial.They left no stone unturned for our comfort.We would like to mention Harish in particular who rendered a helping hand whenever needed.We really had a memorable stay at the Resort and whenever we revisit Mauritius,there is no place other than the Jalsa Beach Resort we would stay at.

Room Tip: one should opt for the corner rooms or those facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank manishasharma534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear Manishasharma534,

The management and staff thank you for your kind words and wonderful feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you have had a memorable holiday at Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa.

As you well noted the team strives to provide the best service with a personal touch from the moment you arrive and until your departure.

Thank you for recommending Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa as your destination of choice and we look forward to welcoming you back again!

Lastly we again congratulate you the bond you have created and wish that you have an abundance of wonderful years ahead.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

From rude reception to stale food. they have it all. My honeymoon was devastating. The A.C didn't work and it took them three days to relocate me to another room when the entire resort was vacant. No dustbins in the bathroom, wonder where to throw the dirty stuff. The T.V was screwed, would shut down on its own every seven mins. Every Complaint washed in the beach sand and ignored with a fake smile. where are my Honeymoon freebies?? Surely the experiences are free!!

Mrs.& Mr.Salman, India. 31aug-6sept 2012
meetsalman123@gmail.com

Room Tip: Plz dont opt for rooms on the 3rd floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank salmanahmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear Salmanahmed,

We thank you for the feedback and must admit that it was very disappointing to read your review.

We certainly apologies for any inconvenience caused. However, we are surprised that you did not enjoy your time at Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa and wish that you requested to have a word with the management. I am confident that the issues at hand could have been solved easily.

The management is always on site and always willing to assist to fulfill the requests of our guests. We encourage guests who read this review to take note of this.

Best wishes and thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Jalsa Beach (as it's popularly known) was a treat to say the least. The staff and management were warm and tried to make our seven day stay with them a total comfort. I don't think a day went by without the members of staff asking about our stay, comfort "Is there anything you need?". It was marvelous. I'll try and highlight the take homes I have from Jalsa as follows:


From the reception to the room to the restaurant and the bar, I found the place to be cosy and comfortable.

The food was mainly spicy dishes, with an option of requesting any off the menu dishes you could think off. I put this to the test and boy did they deliver. Raymone and Ritesh really made our meals there a total delight.

The boathouse was my more frequent stop for the aquatic activities Bruno, Pascal and Julian were there to ensure all equipment were available as well as information such as which activities should we try on the Island.

Cyndi at the reception made sure that every morning before our departure for the days tours my lovely wife had a flower pinned to her head.

Anand at the bar made our evenings special with a cocktail mix as the breeze from the ocean swept through the bar area. Jalsa made my honeymoon really special.

I can hardly wait for the day I make my return.

Keep up the good work guys.

Room Tip: Any room near the Starlight and Moonlight suites are the ideal ones..... 123 was our room and I love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JamesWahome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Dear JamesWahome,

We thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review. We do hope that you will revisit that page and look forward to welcoming you to Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa again.

Our service as you well noted is personal and sincere and we are always pushing the boundaries further. Being a smaller facility we operate more like family.

Lastly we again congratulate you on the bond you created and we wish you an abundance of wonderful years ahead.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poste Lafayette
10.8 mi away
Laguna Beach Hotel & Spa
Laguna Beach Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Grande Riviere Sud Est
521 reviews
15.8 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,124 reviews
15.2 mi away
Casuarina Resort & Spa
Casuarina Resort & Spa
#4 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Pereybere Hotel & Spa
Pereybere Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Pereybere
568 reviews
14.6 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#5 of 27 in Grand Baie
2,495 reviews
27.2 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jalsa Beach Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jalsa Beach Hotel and Spa

Address: Coastal Road, Poste Lafayette, Mauritius 41519
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Poste Lafayette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Poste Lafayette
Price Range: $122 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jalsa Beach Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the gentle shores of the Indian Ocean, Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa overlooks a turquoise lagoon with stunning mountain scenery. Found along the North East coast of the tropical island of Mauritius, at Poste Lafayette, Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa is the perfect choice for those looking for a peaceful and relaxing holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Jalsa Beach Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jalsa Beach Hotel And Spa Mauritius/Poste Lafayette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing