We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel ,wonderfull staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Poste Lafayette
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“excellent hotel ,wonderfull staff”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

just returned from two weeks at Jalsa beach what a fantastic hotel from the time we arrived we warmly welcomed ,check in was very quick and we were shown to are rooms We had rooms on the top floor nice size with balconys overlooking the beautiful lagoon they were cleaned to a very high standard every day.The food was excellent with plenty of choice ,the dining room staff were very attentive we were asked every night if the food was ok ,as the chef was quiet happy to cook you something else,cant see the point of going to other countries if your not going to try the food.
The barstaff were also very good with good selection of cocktails.jalsa beach is a quiet relaxing resort with wonderful staff who cant do enough for you .The entertainment was low key but very good .To get around the island we used the taxis from outside the hotel they were resonable and were all very knowlegable about the island just ask at reception and they will arrange it for you.
we had a wonderfull stay at jalsa beach .Thank you to all the staff xxx

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annie973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear annie973,

The management and staff thank you for your kind words and positive feedback. We take great pleasure in offering the warm Mauritian welcome and our service to you. This passion is shared among all members of our team and for that reason you can be assured that your feedback will be shared with management and staff alike.

We also thank you for allowing us to be a part of your holiday experience and we hope that you will visit us again.

Wishing you all the best.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    301
    96
    36
    36
See reviews for
137
556
22
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

While doing the bookings from mumbai, we just checked Jalsa's website online and did the bookings thru make my trip. Little did we know that we would be mesmerized when we reach the resort. It has got an amazing view, straight out of dreams... Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Service by far is good, staff is cordial. Jalsa has got a private beach with amazing view. They have a boat house which gives some of the services free of cost such as pedalling boats. We did scuba diving thru the boat house and it was a great experience. The spa services were excellent. There was a cocktail party hosted by the resort along with Bollywood disco night for Indians which was enjoyable.
Only one issue we had was, despite requesting several times to the resort staff - including the chef to prepare Indian style non-veg food such as butter chicken/masala chicken, our request was ignored. We only got french style prepared food which was bland. If I get an apology for this from the hotel staff now based on this review, let me clearly state that the apology is not accepted, since you guys had ample time to provide us good service. Even veg food was not as per Indian standards (Poha and Upma served during breakfast was tasteless).They need to have an Indian chef considering that they have so many tourists coming from India. Apart from the food, if any body wants to enjoy peaceful and calm mauritius, please opt for Jalsa. All in all we had a great experience in Jalsa and would recommend everyone to visit the resort.

Room Tip: Rooms just opposite the pool would be good choice, as you would have a great view of the beach as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sap_Mah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Sap_Mah,

Firstly, the management and staff thank you for the wonderful feedback!

"Straight out of dreams" - We are very pleased that you enjoyed the product of Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa. Jalsa Beach offers many positive elements and we are happy to hear that you have enjoyed the facilities and services like the room size, view, cordial staff, spa, boathouse and DJ to name but a few.

Furthermore we thank you for recommending Jalsa Beach Hotel Spa as a destination of choice.

With the regards to the food choices and your specific dietary needs. We cater for a number of different nationalities and always provide a menu which is well balanced. We do not provide authentic dishes from India but as can be expected when travelling abroad our dishes is a fusion of international and Mauritian flavors. We certainly respect all the dietary needs of our guests and will always strive to meet their needs where possible.

Finally we wish you all the best and hope to welcome you back to Jalsa Beach again.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We decided to split our 10-day honeymoon in Mauritius into two resorts- we spent the first 5 days in the South West, and the remaining 5 days at Jalsa Beach. We had previously been informed by Jalsa Beach that they were a small resort compared to the other one where we were staying, which was a 5*, and should not be expecting much. However, we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at Jalsa Beach. Although small, the resort was very peaceful. Upon arrival, we were welcomed with a cocktail and cool towels. Check-in took less than 5 min, and we were given a brief tour of the resort, before being taken to our room. It was on the top floor and had a view of both the pool and the beach. We were all-inclusive, which seems great value if staying in the resorts during the day.

Service was very good. All staff went out of their way, and were very proactive. If we wanted something that wasn’t available, they never said no, but rather did everything they could to deliver. The resort had a very large Indian clientele, and consequently, the food at dinner, which was buffet-style, tended to be Indian. However, it was great to see that the cuisine was not 100% Indian, but incorporated aspects of Mauritian cuisine. We had the opportunity to taste a few Mauritian dishes.
In addition, almost every night, we would be informed that if we didn’t want anything from the buffet, the chef would prepare something for us. However, there was ample variety, and consequently we never had to request any special dishes. My husband is vegetarian, but I’m not, and we both felt that there was more than enough choices.

Breakfast is also buffet, and again, there is a choice of continental and cooked breakfast, and there is also a station for what I assume is Indian-style breakfast. There is an omelette station, and omelettes are made to order, with various fillings. It would be great if there were more veg options for the omelettes though, like peppers, mushrooms, etc. The bread is absolutely delicious, and I later found out, they are made on-site.

Lunch is a-la-carte, and we only had lunch a couple of times. There is, again, a good variety of cuisines, and lots of choices whether you want a proper meal or a light bite. Once, lunch was served in the restaurant, and another time, by the pool.

I will mention the cocktails, which we felt we outstanding. They were the best cocktails that we had throughout our stay in Mauritius. We went to various restaurants outside of the resort, and we could not find better cocktails. The bartender really knows what he’s doing, and we would encourage him to experiment with novel recipes!


Our room was on the top floor, and was very spacious and airy. We had a balcony, which was great for breakfast in the morning. One morning, we didn’t feel like going to the restaurant for breakfast, and requested if we could have it in our bedroom. The restaurant had not issue with this, and brought it up for us.
Housekeeping did a great job everyday, and when we requested extra towels etc, that wasn’t a problem. We had an issue with the toilet, first there was no water to it, then it started leaking, but both times, the problem was dealt by the time we got back in the evening.


When reading reviews on Trip advisor, one common complaint is the lack of entertainment at the resort. Whilst we were there, there was a sega night, and on other nights, a local guitarist would play in the main restaurant. Personally, I found this to be more than sufficient. Given how serene the resort is, anything more or louder would ruin the atmosphere!

The location is very remote, however, taxis are present right outside the resort, and I have been told that the bus to the nearest town centre is within walking distance of the Jalsa Beach. In my opinion, Jalsa Beach offers excellent value for money, and provides a peaceful relaxing break, especially for honeymooners. It was the perfect end to our stay in Mauritius.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SPD_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear vicky2012,

Thank you! Your wonderful feedback about Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa is 'music' to the ears of the entire team. You can be assured that your review will shared with the management and all the team members.

We take great pride in giving attention to the personal needs of our guests in every department from the minute you arrive to the minute you leave. A sincere dedication to service.

We are also pleased to hear that we managed to provide you both with an excellent choice of food and beverages. Our kitchen, restaurant and bar staff are very dedicated and as you mentioned always eager to provide items of choice mixed with a little Mauritian flavor.

Lastly, we again congratulate you both and hope to welcome you back to Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa soon.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dongen, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed for three weeks in Jalsa beach where we had a fantastic honeymoon. Hotel is located at a great location, all staff with no exception were very friendly, helpful and enthusiastic. Food was excellent and the variety of the food was good as well and if desired the chiefs were more than willing to cook dishes that were not in the buffet based on our personal wishes. All together a great hotel to have a great time with good service and personal attention.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Roel H,

On behalf of Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa I would like to thank you for positive feedback on both Tripadvisor and booking.com.

It was an absolute pleasure to have met you both and the 3 weeks went by far too quickly.

We wish you all the best and again would like to congratulate you on the bond you created.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

The hotel lies on the north-east coast of the Island facing a very calm bay. My family & I had a wonderful few days in the hotel. The food was great and we enjoyed the calmness of the resort so much. We were impressed by the professionalism and gentleness of the staff in the quest to meet our needs.
When we checked in, the reception staff were very friendly and were welcomed by a nicely scented fresh face towel and a welcome cocktail. Whilst our baguages were being brought up to our room, we made a quick tour of the hotel and were amazed at he calmness of the hotel far away from the city life rush. The room was very spacy and liked the set up of the shower room. We did spend loads of time on the spacy balcony. Could not fault the cleanliness of the rooms. The only noises were the filao & coconut branches rubbing to each other. Mind you one night was a bit breezy. The room maid sorted extra towels & ironing facilities promply. The pool was of descent size to the hotel and good availability of sun beds. There were a wonderful array of different tropical flowers around the garden and we did take loads of pics. The pool bar staff did surprise us with the beautifully arranged cocktails with a local twist. The buffet in the restaurant were nicely arranged with another local twist to the menu. The restaurant staff were very friendly to us striving to meet our needs. The sea sports were free apart from the sea diving which was around £25 but I really enjoyed swiming with the fish. We were told that a group just left, so we were able to enjoy the quietness of the hotel even more. If you are looking for a serene place away from city life, not very dear-value for money, in a remote part of the world for a relaxing break, Jalsa beach appears to have met our expectations.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms were good value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ajit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Ajit G & Family,

The management and staff would like to thank you for your positive feedback. As with all our reviews it will be shared with all the team members which makes Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the facilities we have on offer as well as the the calmness and beauty of the surroundings.

Thank you! Your feedback serves as a great reward to our team and it was certainly a pleasure to meet you and the family.

Wishing you a wonderful year further and a happy return to Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Let me begin with my experience at the Jalsa Beach Resort then I’ll move on to Mauritius as a place for travel…

So we visited Mauritius on our honeymoon in June '12 and took a travel package from Travel Masti.com.. Value for money yes… We checked into Jalsa (a 4 star resort) and were put up in a room on the 1st floor with no view whatsoever.. The room also had a weird window in the bathroom that connected to the room from the inside without a glass fixed in it.. The smell of one’s morning ritual would travel out to the person sitting outside in the room which was pretty bad! My husband and I sent each other to the balcony when we wanted to use the bathroom after day 1..
We were on a honeymoon package which included 1 bottle of champagne, a candle lit dinner and fruit platter (upon showing proof we were recently married, please carry a soft or hard copy of your wedding card to avail of the offer) "Which I do not recommend". The food was horrible! The Champagne was cheap and tasted disgusting so we got rid of it..

Now coming to the good part.. The resort has very friendly staff some were extremely helpful actually.. You can take advantage of the paddle boat and canoe that are not chargeable.. You can try Scuba Diving.. Which I highly recommend!! (Even if you cant swim) All you need is to follow instructions and be calm in the water. Do wear the full scuba suit VS the 1 that covers you up to your knees as you may bruise yourself when kneeling to take pictures under the sea.. The Scuba Diving cost us 1200 Mau RS including pics, a video and a diving certificate..

The pool side bar has happy hours so you can enjoy a free round of drinks when you order 1 during that time.. There is free net surfing (a PC is available at the reception) or you can use the WI-FI at the reception or the pool side bar.. You can watch select DVD’s available at the reception at no cost.. The food at the Hotel is reasonably priced compared to other places (some are mighty expensive) but then it doesn’t taste all that good.. A simple margarita Pizza is your best bet! Our package included breakfast and dinner..

They also organize a local dance do for the guests.. You must attend this and participate if you are up to it.. The hotel is far from the main attractions but then again there’s not much to see as Mauritius is a small place..

Now coming to Mauritius overall.. The best thing about it is there is minimal traffic.. Clean roads and beautiful beaches.. There’s not much to see in the name of the North and South tours! If you are from India you will feel at home (Which i dont like on a holiday) as the majority population consists of Indians.. Our tour operator took us to a small time shop calling it a factory and led us to believe it was the cheapest place to buy stuff.. They had their commission to say that I guess.. Refrain from shopping as its not really exclusive stuff you are missing.. They don’t have price tags on basic things like water bottle or a pack of chips and charge whatever they feel like in the small time shops.. If you need to stock up any of these go to a reputed mall/supermarket and you will get everything at the right price..

Do’s and Dont’s

1. Do get your currency exchanged at the airport (unlike other countries they actually offer the best rates there!)
2. Do carry sufficient cash if you want to indulge in expensive activities like sky diving as they charge extra for using credit cards
3. Don’t believe everything your tour operator says (he’s making money to talk that way)


Hope my review helps! Have a good vacation!!

Room Tip: Please ask for a pool or beach facing room. If it costs a little extra so be it.. You will do yourse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Kris790501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Kris790501,

Firstly we would again like to congratulate you both on the bond you created and wish you an abundance of happiness. Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa takes great pride in sharing these moments with our guests.

Thank you for your feedback and many positive comments about Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa. You can be sure that it will be shared with the management and all the staff. We have noticed that you provided very positive scores for Value (4/5), Location (4/5), Sleep Quality (4/5), Cleanliness (4/5) and Service (4/5). As this review page is meant to be purely about Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa perhaps the overall rating of 3/5 relates to your experiences outside of the hotel as mentioned in your review.

We are very pleased that you appreciated the added value we offer such as the free services at the boathouse, promotions at our Rum Point bar, Sega show (Mauritian dancing and music), free internet and free DVD rental facility. We are always finding new ways to add value to ensure that your holiday experience is memorable. Furthermore all our staff are happy to provide the best service at all times.

Your comments on the Honeymoon added value is well noted and we will look into that! For the rooms...Jalsa Beach Hotel and Spa offers a number of different room categories and styles. We offer rooms with a modern open style living environment such as the room you are referring to but we also offer rooms with more privacy. We will happily move a guest to such a room upon request and availability. We always try to accommodate the specific needs and requirements of our guests.

Lastly we thank you for your feedback and hope to welcome you back again. It has only been a pleasure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Very Good property. But horrible food, If u are Vegeterian, and always having habit to fight for food than u can stay in hotel.Even manager of the hotel will get fixed indidvidual person in case u fight for veg food. He will not serve to all the custmer, he will prepre for u and will serve u alone. Check in and Check out time are not at all flexiblee. They will allow u to check in 14:00 Hrs ( Not at 13:59 Hrs). And for check out if u delay for 10 Min ( 12:00 hrs check out, if it become 12:10 Hrs). They will charge u for extra money.

Room Tip: Corner suits are better and not disturbing by others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raju2010India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Manager at Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Raju2010India,

Firstly thank you for your feedback and the management will certainly look into your comments. However, we do feel that some of the comments and the overall review rating may perhaps be unfair to Jalsa Beach as we noticed that you were well pleased with the location 5/5, the sleep quality 4/5, the rooms 4/5 and cleanliness 4/5. Perhaps an overall score of 2/5 is based on one misunderstanding alone.

Let me clarify these matters for a good understanding of other guests travelling to Jalsa Beach.

All hotels have a standard check-in time which is similar for most hotels in Mauritius (14h00). As Jalsa Beach is very popular the rooms are often occupied with guests checking out on the same day as your arrival. We do insist on providing our guests with a very clean and well made room (as per your rating 4/5). So yes, rooms are available as from 14h00 as per the specifications of your holiday package allowing us to deliver a perfect room. For the same reason we have to insist on the package departure time of 12h00 in order to allow us to prepare the room in time for the next guest (or yourself when you arrived) . Naturally we are flexible in the rare case where the room has not been booked before or after and we always provide the room as soon as possible. Perhaps in future travels you can take advantage of also booking an early arrival or late departure through your Tour Operator and then the required provisions will be made.

We are surprised that you did not enjoy the choice of vegetarian dishes we have on offer which is always well received. In cases where guests like yourself have specific dietary requirements our Chef and Food & Beverage manager will do their best to provide some tailor made dishes as observed by yourself. We are well known for this added value and it is available to all our guest if we are made aware of their specific needs.

Lastly we are happy that you appreciated many of the other elements of Jalsa Beach and hope that we will have the privilege to meet again allowing us to cook that dish which you may have missed from home.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poste Lafayette
10.8 mi away
Laguna Beach Hotel & Spa
Laguna Beach Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Grande Riviere Sud Est
487 reviews
15.2 mi away
Casuarina Resort & Spa
Casuarina Resort & Spa
#4 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
1,257 reviews
14.6 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
2,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#3 of 6 in Balaclava
1,371 reviews
11.6 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,538 reviews
7.2 mi away
Friday Attitude
Friday Attitude
#2 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius

Property: Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius
Address: Coastal Road, Poste Lafayette, Mauritius 41519
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Poste Lafayette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Poste Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the gentle shores of the Indian Ocean, Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa overlooks a turquoise lagoon with stunning mountain scenery. Found along the North East coast of the tropical island of Mauritius, at Poste Lafayette, Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa is the perfect choice for those looking for a peaceful and relaxing holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jalsa Beach Hotel And Spa - Mauritius
Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius Poste Lafayette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing