We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely peaceful holiday in thailand”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kantary Bay, Phuket
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
newport iow
1 review
“What a lovely peaceful holiday in thailand”
Reviewed March 7, 2011

We enjoyed everything about our stay in kantary bay, the staff , the food, the room just everything can`t wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barrycNewportIow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    896
    291
    43
    11
    9
See reviews for
271
704
59
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2011

just returned from this wonderful hotel the studios are spacious and very clean, they put two bottles of water in the fridge every day also the toiletries are replaced every day, we never had a problem with sunbeds on cape panwa beach and the beach was kept clean. our favourite place to eat was The Chalet, which was in the hills about 5mins from kantary, if you walk along to the left of kantary hotel you will see a sign for this restaurant a bus will take you there. if you like wine you can buy from festival shopping centre or the local tesco 3ltr box of chardennay or shiraz £16. loved this hotel we are returning for 5 weeks next year. met some great people there hope to see them next time

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shellbeach2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2011

The Hotel was perfect for couples and families alike it has all the amenities at your disposal, it has a very warm and welcoming athmospher and the staff were very helpful and friendly, we were able to use the Kantary Hotel as a good base to explore Thailand and with its sister Hotel so close you have the best of both worlds we are hopin to return next year

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrownEssexUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2011

Kantary Bay with sister hotel Cape Panwa is a great place to stay, if you like quiet easy relaxing days. The staff are so friendly and helpful, the receptionists are delightful! There are plenty of places to eat if not using the Hotel, but the Hotel food is good if comparatively pricey. The grounds are kept well and there are always lots of flowers dotted around the common areas. Rooms are really nice and kept very clean, with plenty of clean bedding and towels and top ups of tea and coffee. Evenings are quiet but the Hotel does have a Happy Hour where it is nice to sample the cocktails.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 788moaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2011

I stayed here in December 2010 with my parents. We had a studio apartment each. The apartments are clean and spacious. Hotel was lovely - rooftop pool is where we spent most of our time. All the staff were extremely friendly.

The Italian restaurant in the Kantary Bay Hotel was a bit pricey - I would avoid this one if you are on a budget, although the food there was delicious. There are some lovely restaurants outside of the hotel, especially the one on top of the hill. The hill is extremely steep, however, it is worth the climb. The bar/restaurant directly outside the hotel is very good - nice place to go for an afternoon drink.

The location is a bit out of the way. I guess it depends on what type of holiday you want as to whether you will like the location. Travelling with my parents, I was quite happy for a quiet location for once. Phuket isn't too far away - about 20/30 minutes in a cab. Patong is extremely busy - okay for a night or two but wouldn't want to stay there.

The beach at the Cape Panwa hotel is gorgeous. Very secluded.

We went at Christmas and the Cape Panwa also put on a Christmas Eve Gala which was a great night - shame it rained (the only time it did rain in my two week stay) but the staff really put on a good night - food was delicious (they even had roast turkey!).

I would definitely go back to this hotel (although might next time splash out a bit more and stay at the Cape Panwa).

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxine1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2011

Hi - My partner and myself are in our mid 20's.

Kantary bay is a semi big - but secluded hotel which makes it really special. we had a warm welcome, and sat down with a cold small packaged tower to cool down with. As we were sat down, while our suitcases were getting taken care of - we were also getting check in, with needing us at the front desk.

We had a normal studio room and wow...it was real nice, clean, modern with a 32in flat screen tv, dvd player, telephone with an amazing ac unit built in.

There was a small convenience store with British and Thai products - helped out loads.

The transfer bus to and from the Kantary bay to the sister hotel Cape Panwa was super often, waited only 2 minutes max, and was never packed.

Massage parlar's to pick from and restaurant's to choose from all around the area.

Kantary bay is 25 minutes drive from town and Kata beach, 45 minutes drive from Patong - there are taxi's outside and I paid 700 baht's for a taxi from 10am - 4pm per day. There is also a Kantary bay shuttle bus that takes you to Patong and town everyday for a small fee

At night there is a small night market for clothes, dvd's and food etc.

Many more things to experience - don't want to ruin it for you...enjoy if you go

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank leonardfuture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford,West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

When we arrived at the hotel we were upgraded from a studio to a one bedroom apartment (because of a special anniversary). Unfortunately this was one of the rooms that if free the staff have to try and allocate. The room was clean and spacious but without a view (the balcony looked out onto a wall). As soon as we made it clear that we were not happy with this room we moved to another with a sea view which also overlooked the pool (351). This room ticked all the boxes. The buffet breakfasts were fantastic and catered for all tastes and appetites. All staff were very helpful and firendly. All in all a very clean and comfortable hotel made even better by being able to use the facilities at the sister hotel the Cape Panwa Hotel. This hotel is a bit out on a limb and some trips penalise you with extra charges to pick you up. The hotel run min buses to Phuket town, Festival shopping mall and Patong. There are several restaurants near the hotel that serve very good food, Sawasdee at the side of the entrance to the hotel, James seafood restaurant at the top of the hill, and Sea Breeze. Also try The Chalet. they want your business that much they pick you up in a bus outside the hotel and take you to there and back. Huge varied menu with prices comparable to the restaurant outside the hotel. If you like elephants try the I day jugle safari in Khao Sok National Park. Speed boat trip to Phi Phi Island asnd Phang Nga. Great holiday, very hot. You'll need plenty of sun tan lotion.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Panwa
6.7 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
0.2 mi away
Cape Panwa Hotel
Cape Panwa Hotel
#4 of 13 in Cape Panwa
2,537 reviews
25.4 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
8.3 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 13 in Cape Panwa
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kantary Bay, Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kantary Bay, Phuket

Property: Kantary Bay, Phuket
Address: 31/11 Moo 8, Sakdidej Rd, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand (Formerly The Bay Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kantary Bay, Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kantary Bay Hotel is a charming seafront property within a short ten to fifteen minutes drive from Phuket town. This is a hotel with a difference; following a new trend that is becoming more and more preferred around the world, each room makes the most of its surroundings, breaking away from the traditional "standard" hotel room design to offer you a unique hotel experience. Kantary Bay Hotel offers spacious, fully furnished studio, one-bedroom, and two-bedroom suites. Each room type is furnished with a living room, kitchenette and separate sleeping area. You will find terra cotta tiles and wooden floors instead of the usual carpet. We also provide our guests with full facilities including a fitness room, swimming pools, scenic gardens, reading lounges and more. And of course the service is impeccable, after all The Kantary Bay Hotel is the sister hotel of the world renowned Cape Panwa Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kantary Bay, Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantary Bay, Phuket Hotel Cape Panwa
Kantary Bay Hotel Phuket
Kantary Bay Cape Panwa
Kantary Bay, Phuket Cape Panwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing