We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We’ll be back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kantary Bay, Phuket
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We’ll be back”
Reviewed February 16, 2011

This was our 2nd visit to Kantary Bay / Cape Panwa and it’s still a brilliant place to stay. The hotel staff are excellent, the hotel is clean and it’s an ideal place to use as a base to see the sights of the island and beyond. Although we mainly used restaurants outside of the hotel complex, the restaurants run by the hotel are great and not to expensive.
I would highly recommend spending a night or 2 in the Sunset Bar. Russell the owner will make sure you enjoy the night and even gives good advice on places see and eat. A good way to meet new people as well (http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#!/sunsetbarphuket).
All in all a great place to be with some great people too.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrightonJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    904
    293
    44
    11
    9
See reviews for
272
709
61
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2011

The Kantary Bay Hotel is not more then a 3 star Hotel , it look like an hotel in Spain with a Thailandise garden , the stuff doesn`t speak very good English , the breakfast is very basic and boring , no night life and no entertainement and there were ants and geko in our room , very expensive restaurant and drinks , there weren't a lot of kids- most of the gusts are all couples over 50s , If you are planning to go to the sister Hotel , be ready to pay lots of money for food and drinks and of course plus 10% service and 7% tax on the top of the bill. But I`m giving this place 5 star for the simple reasons this was absolutly great , the location is magic and the more you will go around Phuket , you will understand more and more , the stuff was really polite and friendly and the room always clean. It's the most relaxing and easy going place that I`ve ever saw , all the small restaurant around are just superb and the local are just incredible, the view from the terrace swimming pool is just breathtaking ! Really the best holiday I`ve ever had.
Few tips :
You can rent a scooter for as low as 200 bt a day and go around and see the most amazing places and relax on empty beaches .
You can eat out for as low as 300 bt and the local food is great , don`t go for burger or sandwich , foreigner food is more expensive (try the Chalet and the restaurant just outside the hotel )
For a night out, go to Pa Tong and don`t waist time in Phuket Town .
If you want to see all the island , just make a deal with a taxi driver , he will stay with you all day and take you to the most amazing place (avoid the zoo if you love animal).
If you want to book daily trip look around and deal with them, usually can get them for at least half of the asking price and when you will see the brouchere , do not belive of being alone on beautiful beach , it was so crowded that couln`t even take a proper picture , but really funny troughout. Belive me the more you will go around and the more you will love The Kantary Bay Hotel. iI just fell in love with Thailand!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sal1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2011

We booked at Kantary Bay during the Chinese New Yearfor 6 days. The hotel was unfortunately overbooked and the hotel arranged us to stay at The Chalet at Makham Bay (5 minutes from Kantary Bay) for 2 nights. The Chalet has a commanding sea view but with little facilities. Their restaurant was breezy and food was suprisingly quite good (but need to remind them do not put sugar in the cooking n less chili).
On the thrd night back at Kantary, we were given a room with a good working washing machine on our third night (very important if u are travelling with two young children).
The breakfast was adequate but it is the same everyday so it got a bit boring after the second day. We only ate at the Italian restaurant and the food was ok. The children had pizzas while we had the set menus...We tried all other small restaurants around the place but we did not really like it. The other nights, we simply arranged for The Chalet's driver to pick us up to The Chalet for dinners. The Chalet served quite a reasonable priced (cheaper than Sawasdee n taste much better; with no grouchy faced owner) and tasty thai fares. You could find The Chalet driver parked outside the corner of the main road (opposite The Chalet's sign board) offering free transfer from hotel to their place or you could call 076200975 to arrange.
The two children loved the beach at cape panwa, we spent 4 days lazing there and we even went on the trip arranged by Cape Panwa to the Coral Island at 500baht per adult n half price for children. Well worth it n much cheaper than the tour desk at Kantary or outside of Kantary.
We found everyone was pleasant n nice to us. The only exception was the middle aged waiter at the Italian Restaurant again maybe we were too sensitive.....

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelmumMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
island_girl020
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2011

We stayed at The Kantary Bay for our honeymoon and loved it! We had a nice clean spacious room with a view of the sea. Good pools and decent breakfast. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The use of Cape Panwa facilities were a bonus too. The hotel is located in a quiet corner of the island away from the main tourist areas but tours were still easily accessible either from the hotel or the little tour desk next door although we had to pay extra for some trips.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank island_girl020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Strongly recommend upgrading to a beautiful one bed apartment - views beautiful, some have washing machines. A very quiet area of Phuket - no nightlife at all not even a music bar, though some love the hotel because of this. Taxi drivers are a nuisance and expensive - approx £20 return to Patong - good local bus service but not after 4pm. Expensive supermarket on site, but very reasonable hotel bus service daily to large shopping precinct. Food at small restaurants around hotel the best we have ever had - hotel breakfast adequate and varied. All staff lovely and deal with any queries right away. There should be a sign round the pool that sun beds left unattended for more than an hour may be considered vacated - it is not alright to put towels on at 7am, go away for hours, then be angry when others need the beds in the shade !!!!!!!!! you know who you are. Hazel and Geoff Kidd room 404

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazelandgeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2011

We stayed here for 7 nights in January 2011. We'd visited Cape Panwa last year and stayed here for 3 nights then, so we knew what to expect.
The primary reason for staying at the Kantary hotel is that you can sleep there, and then use all of the facilities of both this and the sister Cape Panwa Hotel (which is at least double the price).
It's situated in a quieter part of Phuket, which will suit some, but certainly don't come here looking for nightlife. There are a handful of decent restaurants ( Seabreeze, Sawasdee, Timber Hut etc.) which will certainly see you through a week or so.
The nearby Baba restaurant, at the Sri Panwa resort, is a great experience for something special.
The bar options are limited - the Small Place bar opposite the Radisson Hotel will make you very welcome, with good music and a friendly atmosphere.
There are numerous Spa shops - the best of which is Lotus ( next to the Indian restaurant - which is also good for a change of cuisine ).
Cape Panwa is a pretty setting, with a great view out across the neighbouring islands, and some stunning sunsets, but the beaches are better elsewhere on the west coast coast of the island. All-in-all it's a reasonable hotel, that is showing it's age.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesandNichola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 2, 2011

Great for a get away from it all experience. Plenty to do in hotel vicinity but relaxed. Very welcoming friendly and efficient staff. Cannot praise accomodation enough for room/comfort/cleanliness. Only very minor downside was constant haranguing by taxi drivers outside the hotel grounds. Local bus provides good transport links to all major busy areas.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reklaw62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Panwa
6.7 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
0.2 mi away
Cape Panwa Hotel
Cape Panwa Hotel
#4 of 13 in Cape Panwa
2,557 reviews
25.4 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
8.3 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 8 in Karon Beach
1,937 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 13 in Cape Panwa
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kantary Bay, Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kantary Bay, Phuket

Property: Kantary Bay, Phuket
Address: 31/11 Moo 8, Sakdidej Rd, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand (Formerly The Bay Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kantary Bay, Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kantary Bay Hotel is a charming seafront property within a short ten to fifteen minutes drive from Phuket town. This is a hotel with a difference; following a new trend that is becoming more and more preferred around the world, each room makes the most of its surroundings, breaking away from the traditional "standard" hotel room design to offer you a unique hotel experience. Kantary Bay Hotel offers spacious, fully furnished studio, one-bedroom, and two-bedroom suites. Each room type is furnished with a living room, kitchenette and separate sleeping area. You will find terra cotta tiles and wooden floors instead of the usual carpet. We also provide our guests with full facilities including a fitness room, swimming pools, scenic gardens, reading lounges and more. And of course the service is impeccable, after all The Kantary Bay Hotel is the sister hotel of the world renowned Cape Panwa Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kantary Bay, Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantary Bay, Phuket Hotel Cape Panwa
Kantary Bay Hotel Phuket
Kantary Bay Cape Panwa
Kantary Bay, Phuket Cape Panwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing