We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kantary Bay, Phuket
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great place to relax”
Reviewed February 27, 2010

After spending some time in Kata we spent four nights at Kantary Bay Hotel. First impresions of the hotel were very positive and the staff provided a quick check in process. We had booked a standard studio room - and our initial impression of the room was not great. This was due to having a view that looked directly onto the roof of another building (we could almost reach out and touch it). Apart from this, the rooms were generally ok. They are a bit old but they are not dirty. The restaurants at the resort are both highly recommended and we found the restaurant staff to be fantastic.

The view from the rooftop pool is amazing, however the main pool did not seem to be used by many guests. I think this hotel would benefit from having a bar closer to the pool.

There is a regular shuttle from to the Cape Panwa Hotel, which we used often to sit by the pool there. There is also the Phuket aquariam next door and a few shops and night markets.

This is a great hotel if you want to escape the more hectic pace of life in other areas of Phuket and Thailand. You will not get hassled by taxi / tuk tuk drivers, suit sellers and people trying to sell you things. The Kantary Bay is great value for money. If you are wanting a view of the ocean I would recommend booking a 1 bedroom suite, as i think these all overlook the water. Most of the studios seemed to face either the side of a building or the garden (although they garden is very pretty and well maintained).

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieTraveller136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    887
    287
    43
    11
    9
See reviews for
268
697
58
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2010

As per previous reviews the hotel is very good. The staff cannot do enough to help. I emailed the hotel a couple of months before our trip to see if it would be possible to upgrade our room as we were away for my wife’s birthday. I didn’t get a reply to my email, but when we arrived we had been upgraded which we were really chuffed with. Only problem that the room was not ready straight away but we were given another room so we could have a shower and get out in to the sunshine. Our room was ready by the evening. The facilities were good at Kantary Bay, but you could also use the facilities at Cape Panwa where there is a fantastic private beach.
The location is quiet there are a few good restaurants in the area where you can eat for a reasonable price. There are a few shops and stalls to have a browse around in the area although you can get the transport aranged by the hotel to both Phuket town and Patong for a reasonable price.
For booking trips we used the man half way up the hill at Janes Seafood as the price he charged for adults would be the price which is normally charged for children which meant the cost of our trips were half price. The food at Janes seafood was good as well so we would combine booking trips with a bite to eat as well.
On reading some of the previous review regarding the cost of drinks etc at the hotel being expensive they are more expensive than you can get outside but not as bad as I thought they would be. We spent £200.00 on food and drinks at the hotel and beach bar in two weeks which we didn’t find to bad. The pizza's at the Clock House Cafe are very good and make a really good cold beach snack the next day. Also at the Clock House Cafe the Spaghetti is really good.
Right the usual question would I go back to this hotel? Well yes but for us two weeks may have been a bit to long in one place so I would maybe do a bit more travelling around or a two centre.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StubStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossett, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2010

we recently spent 12 nights at the Kantary Bay Hotel and really enjoyed our stay. The room was large, very clean and comfortable. The drawback was that we had a room facing 'the wall' (a solid wall about 8ft from the edge of your balacony so no view at all) which is a bit off putting. Having said that we were given the choice of moving to a room with a view but as it was smaller and very hot we decided to stay where we were. The up side of the 'the wall' is that it is shaded and private, and as it was the first of four hotels we were visiting we were ok with it. If we had been staying at this hotel for the whole of our holiday then the room would not have done.

The breakfast that was served here was very good, and there was something for every taste. They were the only hotel that served a proper pork sausage in the whole of our trip and very nice too.

The resort is a small quiet place and would not please people who like a bit of life, having said that we met lots of people young and old who had been visiting for years.

We spent our days between the Cape Panwa Hotel beach and our hotel. The transport between them is brilliant and runs regularly. Don't try to walk up the hill unless you are very fit. I made it half way up for a massage and believe me i needed to lay down to get over it.

We ate most nights at the Sawadee restaurant outside the Kantary and the food was great and very inexpensive, a word of warning it is a very busy place so go early or be prepared to wait - it's well worth it. (if the lady who owns this restaurant reads this - your prawns were the best we tasted in the whole month we were in Thailand).

We arranged several journeys with the hotel mini bus and did not find it expensive and after a trip to Patong which we have visited before were glad to get back to the peace of our resort.

On the ground floor of the Kantary there is a reading lounge with tea/coffee biscuits supplied free of charge of guests. This is a nice touch and one not often seen in hotels.

The staff we came in contact with were all charming/helpfull. The yound lady who looked after our room (2nd floor wall side) gave the meaning to The Land of Smiles, what a little gem.

This resort is quiet, relaxing with not a lot to it, but if you want a short break or somewhere to chill out it's great. I usually get bored quickly with not a lot to do but the 12 days just went so quickly.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
80 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2010

I guess we all have different levels of expectations in what we are looking for. Having read so many great reviews, we booked Kantary for our 27th wedding anniversary (Feb 14) and stayed 8 nights.

We arrived with great expectation and enthusiasm. What was a real letdown was the views from the room we were assigned to. Inspite of promises that we would be getting a nice room with good views, we were so disappointed with the rooms they gave us when we arrived. Having to move 3 times and going to reception to express our disappointment twice really put a damper on our enthusiasm initially.

Before I carry on, let me first express my appreciation to the staff Ms Urai who handled our complaints very patiently and professionally. She deserves a medal for handling this problem which occurs quite often with guests who are unhappy with the lack of views in several rooms. Urai is brilliant at her job and reception on the whole is really polite and friendly.

Upon arrival, we were given a room that had a terrible view. There was a blank wall staring right back at us and this is the only view we would get from the room. It was a corner unit and if we ventured out to the balcony, we could also see construction going on from the side, that plus vehicle noise from the road leading to Cape Panwa hotel from the side (the shuttle runs every 10 mins). This was certainly not the way we wanted to celebrate our anniversary.

Even though they told us we would be moved to a better room on the 14th (we arrived from 11th and depart 19th), asking us to stay in this room for the 1st part of our holiday was not acceptable because I specifically emailed twice to ensure we were able to get a nice room with good views. If they couldnt deliver on this promise, they should have said so instead of assuring us that it would be granted.

When we went down to reception to express our disappointment with the 1st room, the staff showed us another room. This was also a studio room but it wasnt split level - the bathroom was pretty tiny and looked a little dated. We also realised that when the curtains to the glass sliding door were drawn open, it looked out into a public pathway which meant there's no privacy - esp when the beds are just next to the glass sliding door. So anyone walking past, including the guests coming out from their units opposite would be able to look right in as it was on the same level.

Again I had to return to reception to explain that this room meant having to close the curtains most of the time, leaving us without much outside light. All we could see was the next building and the public pathway from the beds. This was supposed to be a special stay to celebrate our anniversary and had we known this was the kind of room they were giving us, we were not have booked the hotel in the first place.

Eventually , upon my insistence, the staff promised us a room with a garden view the next day. So the next day we shifted to a room on the 2nd floor where we finally managed to see some sky and garden. Even then, we had to draw half the curtain so that people walking on the pedestrian bridge could not look in. They still offered to shift us to another room on the 14th but we told them we would stay put in this 3rd room because shifting 4 times within 8 nights was just too much for us.

Its a pity not many reviewers warned us about the lack of views from the rooms. We felt it was more like an upmarket motel rather than resort.

Looking at the whole setup, I would say this can be quite a problem for those guests who want to relax and enjoy the room and have some decent views - a good percentage of rooms in Kantary dont exactly have a great view - and its left to chance what kind of room guests may end up in, esp in peak season. When I say decent views, I am not even asking for the bay. Just some sky and sunlight from the room rather than stark walls or roofs or the public being able to look right in.

I suggested to the reception that perhaps they should have different categories of rooms so that guests know what they are booking.. Those who spend all day sunning themselves in the sister hotel and return in the evening may not mind rooms without a view. These rooms should be priced differently or at least the website should say upfront that these are rooms are without a view. Its not ethical to charge the same price for rooms that face the bay and rooms that face a wall or roof or pathway.

I hope management is reading this and will consider doing something about it. If guests know what they are booking or getting, it will minimise any misunderstanding.

Having said so much about the disappointing views, I would like to be fair and also take time to write some very positive things which we did find about Kantary. The hotel
itself located in a very nice secluded, quiet part of Phuket.

The grounds well maintained and the whole place is very clean. The room INTERIOR of the split level studio room was actually pretty nice. We also found the quality of the food in the restaurants at Kantary and the sister hotel Cape Panwa rather high - the prices were not outrageous like some other resorts ( its not fair to compare with other outside restaurants so we compare with other resorts or hotels). The Thai food was authentic and not the watered down version.

The night market stalls by the "esplanade" gave the place a nice local touch to it. Having the minimart made it very convenient for extra drinking water (the hotel does provide 2 small bottles a day) and little snacks etc.

If you want to enjoy better views and budget isnt too much of a problem, you may prefer to book Cape Panwa hotel where the grounds are much bigger - the beach, sand and sound of the waves give Cape Panwa hotel a more upmarket resort feel to it. Eg. the Cafe Andaman at Cape Panwa (assuming that's where they serve breakfast) has a nice resort ambience with the sort of open concept one expects from a resort.

At Kantary, the breakfast is served in an enclosed dining area with hardly any views - its aircon but can be quite noisy with the clanging of cutlery and voices in an enclosed area. However, the breakfast spread is acceptable and no problems there.

If you choose to stay in Kantary, just be prepared that you may get a room without a decent view as the planning of the various room blocks were not very well thought out. I do believe they will try their best to move you to a better room if there's availability - however, there are limitations to how many people they can move if the rooms are a mixture of good, average or no views and the place is fully booked.

So in short, we will highly recommend Kantary only if you are not looking for great views from the rooms. Except for this main point, the place is well run by friendly staff and the grounds are very clean. We had no problem eating at the hotel throughout our 8nights..

We will only consider returning or recommending this place to friends if the management decides to have a change of policy and categorizes the rooms so we know what kind of view we are getting when we book.

Inspite of our disappointment with some of the rooms, we would still like to express our appreciation for the fine work that management has put into running the place. Thank you for keeping the place very clean and having such amazing staff like Somnuack (uncle nans), Masha (Laem Panwa) and many others who made such a difference to our stay, even the housekeeping lady (the one who's pregnant) who was always smiling and cheery with her greetings. You are doing an amazing job with the staff - just hope you can do something about sorting out the rooms and views. Its great value if you arent concerned about the room views. However, we still hope management will do something about categorizing the rooms as that will minimise alot of unhappiness from guests.

NOTE:
Do get to Phuket airport early on your day of departure. We left on Feb 19th and the queues were terrible. The lines reached all the way to where our shuttle dropped us off because they were doing baggage security checks before you could get to the airline counter to check in.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveljet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketingCPH, Management team at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, February 22, 2010
Dear sir/madam

We would like to thank you for your well thought out and succinctly expressed comments regarding your recent stay with us. We always appreciate having our guests bring to our attention, as you have done, the things that have met or exceeded your expectations and the things that have not..

We sincerely regret that you were disappointed with the view from your room. We appreciate that some of our views are better than others and your suggestions are being given due attention as we constantly strive to rectify our shortcomings and find better ways to meet guest expectations and serve you better.

The Kantary Bay management team thank you again for taking the time to write the above review of our hotel and we are glad to see your stay was on the whole an enjoyable one. We will pass on your kind comments regarding our staff to those concerned and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Management Team
Kantary Bay Hotel, Phuket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2010

Just returned from 2 weeks at the Kantary Bay. Lovely hotel in a beautiful setting. Very quiet and peaceful, which is what we like. Staff are lovely and everything is spotlessly clean. The main pool was almost deserted as most people seem to catch the shuttle bus over the hill to the Cape Panwar Hotel but that suited us just fine as there were always plenty of sunbeds available. For anyone with mobility problems I would say beware, there are quite a lot of steps to negotiate - even up to reception. There are lifts but in one block they run from the 1st to the 3rd floor - the fourth floor rooms and rooftop pool on the 5th floor can only be reached by stairs. In the main block the lifts only start on the 2nd floor. We asked to be moved to a room that had lift access and this was done with no trouble and we got a lovely garden/sea view room on the 2nd floor.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford HP18 9UP
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2010

Very good stay for 2 weeks clean good food but there are snages .Mosquitos at Cape Panwa The studio rooms have no view at all & i am very pleased i paid & got after trouble a very good room overlooking the sea but brick walls are not good when you have gone so far.The beach at Cape Panwa is great but there are alot of guests at CP who take a lot of sun beads.The staff try hard but it is a case of 1 come 1 served,,If you whant night life you get on the bus to CP.Good but not on beach just on promanarde but plenty of street vendores.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimOxfordHP189UP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2010

Just came back from a 7 day stay at Kantary Bay and was very impressed with the hotel. The staff are friendly and increadibly helpful, nothing is to much trouble. We had an issue when we got there as we couldnt find our return ticket when we had unpacked. After half hour panic we thought the checkin lady in Bangkok Airport could have kept the ticket. Went to ask the reception staff, if they new who to phone and they basically took charge of it and sorted the whole problem out for us. So many thanks to them for that.

Our room was really nice and had a top balcony which gave a view of the sea, lovely and peaceful. The room was spacious with TV, CD Player, fridge etc and they gave us free bottled water everyday. However with two days left of our holiday, they asked us if we would like to move rooms to a better one, as it was available. The room was stunning it was more spacious and the views from the balcony took in the whole of the Bay, really was breathtaking.

Ok location wise your not close to Kata, Karon or Patong. But if you just want to relax and have some beach and pool time then there is no better place. Plus if you do fancy a trip into Patong, Phuket Town or Central Festival then the Hotel runs a shuttle bus everyday and night for a very affordable price. So getting around isnt hard.

Kantary's biggest benefit is that you get to use the facilities at Cape Panwa Hotel. It runs a free shuttle bus up the re every 20 mins, so no problem in getting there or you could always tackle the steep hill which isnt far, but just steep. Cape Panwa Hotel has its own Beach, which is gorgeous and Spa facilities. The pool is nice and big and there was never any trouble getting sun beds.

Food wise both hotels are well catered for, prices are more expensive than going to the local restaurants, but the food is gorgeous. Especially the Fish Buffet at Cafe Adamann, If you want to eat outside the hotel I suggest the Hill Top Restaurant at the top of the hill which is cheap and tasty. Or if your going into Patong and fancy a steak Harry's Steakhouse is real good. For a more romantic meal Cape Panwa House is good.

In all it is a fantastic place and cannot recommend Kantary Bay enough for those who want to be romantic and have a relaxing holiday. There are few arrogant guests we met, mainly from other nationalities who are just plain rude, but you can get those anywhere. I cant taint the place because of that. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank eddie8Worcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Panwa
6.7 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
0.2 mi away
Cape Panwa Hotel
Cape Panwa Hotel
#4 of 13 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,515 reviews
25.4 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 13 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
8.3 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kantary Bay, Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kantary Bay, Phuket

Property: Kantary Bay, Phuket
Address: 31/11 Moo 8, Sakdidej Rd, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand (Formerly The Bay Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kantary Bay, Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kantary Bay Hotel is a charming seafront property within a short ten to fifteen minutes drive from Phuket town. This is a hotel with a difference; following a new trend that is becoming more and more preferred around the world, each room makes the most of its surroundings, breaking away from the traditional "standard" hotel room design to offer you a unique hotel experience. Kantary Bay Hotel offers spacious, fully furnished studio, one-bedroom, and two-bedroom suites. Each room type is furnished with a living room, kitchenette and separate sleeping area. You will find terra cotta tiles and wooden floors instead of the usual carpet. We also provide our guests with full facilities including a fitness room, swimming pools, scenic gardens, reading lounges and more. And of course the service is impeccable, after all The Kantary Bay Hotel is the sister hotel of the world renowned Cape Panwa Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Kantary Bay, Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantary Bay, Phuket Hotel Cape Panwa
Kantary Bay Hotel Phuket
Kantary Bay Cape Panwa
Kantary Bay, Phuket Cape Panwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing