We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kantary Bay, Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kantary Bay, Phuket
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
valley anglesey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Second visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Just back 17th march from our 2nd visit to the kantary bay, once again a great holiday, had a 1 bed apartment which has a hob kettle microwave and a washing machine.
Only a 5 min walk ( up a very big hill ) or use the hotel bus runs every 30 mins to use the beach at the cape panwa the sister hotel, and you have use of the pool etc at this hotel. The kantary has 2 lovely pools aswel, I hope to be back next year again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank annetta d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
The Kantary Bay, Phuket, is pleased to learn that your recent stay with us was enjoyable and pleasant. Thanks you for your feedback and we look forward to your soonest return. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    859
    283
    43
    11
    9
See reviews for
261
679
56
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

It was with trepidation that we booked into this hotel as we normally only stay in small, 50 rooms or less, hotels and this one had over 170. We needn't have worried, all of the staff are brilliant, always smiling and very helpful. When we arrived we were booked in with no fuss and handed complimentary drinks, meal excursion voucher. We thought this couldn't get any better, but it did. Our room was 205b, this was a small apartment with a bed that was huge (had to use the phone to say goodnight to the wife), there is a small kitchenette with dining rabble, settee and arm chair, flat screen tv and DVD player, fridge freezer, microwave, kettle, toaster and cutlery. There is also a washing machine on the balcony, which is big enough for a couple of chairs, a table and a bench. The bathroom has separate shower and bath and is big enough to have a party in.
The hotel has two pools, one roof top which we didn't use and the main one. Considering the size of the hotel we didn't have any problem getting a sunbed and there are only 24 of them! The gardens around the hotel are very well kept by the gardeners, who are always on the go. Where ever we turned there was always a smiling face willing to help. The same can be said about the sister hotel when we used some of thier facilities (the cape panwa ). A special mention to Eoumduen, one of the waitress's who started before we got up and probably finished long after us. All of the staff at both hotels were probably the same. Would we go back? Definitely, same time next year. Possibly the best holiday we've had.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank ian795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
The Kantary Bay, Phuket, is pleased to have met your expectations with an enjoyable and pleasant stay with us on Cape Panwa. Your thoughtful mention of attentive, friendly and helpful staff has been noted. We look forward to welcoming you back again next year for another one of the best holidays you’ve ever had. Thank you for your positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Hello, I have recently come back from my first holiday to Thailand. We stayed in Bangkok for 4 days and then flew to Phuket for 6 days. (You can read my Bangkok review, where we stayed at Radisson Suites Hotel).

Firstly, I would like to say that visiting Phuket was a lovely change from Bangkok because it was quiet, peaceful and very relaxing! People have commented on how this hotel is far away from shops/town, but honestly, it’s a very good location! Right outside the hotel, there are night markets every night from around 5.00pm-9.00pm. The hotel provides a shuttle bus to Patong everyday, which drops you off for a few hours and then picks you up for 400 bahts (return). Theres another shuttle bus everyday to Phuket town for 200 bahts (return). You can therefore get plenty of shopping done. (Patong is very busy, but good to experience. This wouldn’t be appropriate for an older person and would be difficult if you’re taking young children, due to the hustle and bustle).

From the airport, it took us about 45 minutes to reach the hotel and on arrival, the staff gave us a very warm welcome, a wet flannel and a drink. I thought was a very kind gesture, and as first impressions are important, we were very pleased. I was also very impressed, as a member of staff sat with us and gave us a map. She talked us through the facilities provided, and explained what we needed to know. This was very professional and I found it very helpful. We were also given a voucher, which entitled us to a free drink. The Kantary Bay is the sister hotel of Cape Panwa, so we could use all facilities there too. There is something else I have to mention and I really couldn’t believe it as I have never stayed in a hotel who have been so thoughtful! It was my partner’s birthday a day after we left the hotel. On our last day, we had gone out and on arrival, the reception staff told me that she had put a birthday cake in our fridge. I was shocked as my partner’s birthday was the next day, when we would’ve left the hotel, and I never expected this. It was very generous and a lovely surprise.

The hotel room we were supposed to have, wasn’t available, so we were upgraded to a one bedroom flat. We were pleased we had been upgraded and not downgraded. The room was clean and had a cosy feel to it. We did have some problems, as we were given twin beds when we requested a double bed, the safe didn’t work and there were problems with the A/C. This however, was sorted out immediately after contacting reception.

The hotel has two swimming pools and a small children’s pool. Irons aren’t provided, but an ironing room is available. The hotel has wifi, but this isn’t very good as you can only access the signal in the main reception area and not whilst you are in your room. (I guess that’s still not too bad). The hotel has an Italian restaurant and a bar. I thought the Italian restaurant was quite expensive and the bar seemed ok. There are many massage parlours within walking distance. We went for regular foot massages for one hour and these were 250/300 bahts, which is equivalent to about £4.50/5.00.
Next door to the hotel, there is a restaurant and bar called Sawasdee. Here, you can get burgers, chips, etc., the staff are friendly and prices are cheap. There is also a superb Indian restaurant called Live India, just around the corner, which is also reasonably priced.

On the second day of our stay, we were met by a tour operator who worked for the hotel (there’s two or three different tour operators who come to the hotel). Whilst we were talking to her, we were approached by one of the other guests at the hotel. He advised us to go elsewhere for excursions because it’s cheaper. It’s a 2 minute walk from the hotel – you turn right outside the hotel, walk straight and it’s the tour company you see after the ATM machine, called Happy Tour (you will pass another one before this, so just look for Happy Tour). The Happy Tour owner is lovely. Her name is Nam and she is very genuine. She gave us a better deal than the hotel tour operator, so we booked the James Bond excursion with her and an Elephant Trekking one. James Bond is a must! This was amazing, as we went on a speed boat which consisted of around 35 other people (this was a luxury boat, and the cheaper ones will cram 100 people onto it!). All the activities we did before and after James Bond were fab! We went caving – we went into an old cave and had a look round and took pictures (we were given helmets to wear). The cave was clean and quite scenic from inside. Then we went canoeing – this was so much fun as they had lots of canoes, with a worker paddling away (about 3 people, including paddler on each canoe). We relaxed and saw some beautiful mountains and hills – very scenic!! When we got to the James Bond island, it was very busy, full of tourists but great pictures! For women, ensure that you don’t wear a skirt/dress when you go to this.
The elephant trek was also fun and we opted for a shorter excursion (you could’ve seen a monkey show, and others, but we only wanted to do the elephant trek and also saw a five minute baby elephant dance, which in total was two hours).

The Kantary Bay provided a free shuttle bus to the Cape Panwa Hotel. The Cape Panwa is posh (its 5 star and KB is 4 star) and I loved the wooden effect. It would be very difficult to walk to the Cape Panwa, because it is at the top of a very, very steep hill and in the boiling hot weather, this is the last thing you want to do. I therefore thought it was very useful to have a free shuttle bus which took you to the Cape Panwa and vice versa, every 15 minutes throughout the day, until 11.00pm. This was a great help and due to this, we made the most out of using the facilities at the Cape Panwa! We always used the private beach, which was clean and the views were lovely! You could really relax and there was a lot of room for sunbeds and because the beach was very big, it didn’t appear to be over crowded. There was also a bar at the beach, where you could get food and drinks. The only problem we found at the Cape Panwa were the sunbeds. The other guests who used the sunbeds (which were around the swimming pool in the hotel) hogged the sunbeds all day. Even if they left, they did not remove their towels, which made it look as though they were still using them. The management need to have some sort of a system in place for this, so that other people get a chance to use the sunbeds and if people are leaving, their towels should be removed.

There is a money exchange company 2 minutes walking distance from the hotel. If you go into Phuket town, there are banks and other exchange companies. Don’t exchange at the hotel, as they charge more. It is best to change your money in Thailand, unless you can get more than 53/54 bahts for a pound from somewhere else.

Breakfast was good for Thailand standard, but I found it tasteless compared to UK standard.

For some reason, we got a lot of mosquito bites in Phuket, whereas we hardly got any in Bangkok. Take a spray/plug-in for your room.

Some people have commented on how the Kantary Bay staff seem more friendly than the Cape Panwa. I totally agree with this! The Cape Panwa staff are not rude, they just appear to be ‘doing their own thing’. The Kantary Bay staff, always made the effort to greet you when walking past reception, even if you walked past ten times a day! I thought this was very good practice, as they always noticed and acknowledged you. Having said that, a Swiss worker called Damian, worked at the Cape Panwa. He was the only member of staff who always made the effort to say hello to us and sometimes even made the effort to walk up to us to ask how we were, and gave us advice on excursions. He was very friendly and is a real asset to the Cape Panwa Hotel.

I was very pleased that I didn’t see any lizards in our hotel. I only saw two small lizards during our whole holiday and that was outdoors. I didn’t see any mice, which was a bonus to my holiday!

If you are looking for a peaceful holiday, away from crowds, this is the place to be. The Kantary Bay hotel did consist of more older people, and some couples with children, but I preferred this. It wasn’t noisy and if you want crowds and party life, you can always catch a bus to Patong.

A great hotel, even better that you can use the facilities at the Cape Panwa, very friendly staff and a brilliant holiday! Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Miss A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
The Kantary Bay, Phuket, thanks you for sharing your descriptive and informative review with us and our readers which should be extremely helpful to readers planning a stay with us on Cape Panwa. Your mention of attentive staff, some by name, and the proper welcome with amenities and staff handing out a map with a thorough explanation has been noted and shared with them. Thank you for your positive recommendation and informative review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omsk, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

The hotel is very nice, come here for the third time with the whole family (myself, my wife, two children, 3 and 12 years old) area is small, but very green, mainly transitions from one body to another, direct exit to the beach not, but busses very often, while the road to the beach is the ascent and descent of the mountain)) I mean far) the food is tasty, the European set of: biscuits, fruit, sausages, yogurts. The hotel has two swimming pools, places to eat always. on the beach free sunbeds and towels, white sand sea little unclear but still nice, you should definitely read the schedule of tides, is that half expect him to go swimming during low tide wander knee. Many cafes around the hotel, guests can eat everywhere, delicious cooked in the restaurant to the hotel is otelya.Ryadom Phuket Aquarium, a small but having nothing to do, you can go. There is a sea on which you can walk around in the evening, the locals come and relax, too. Of course the place is quiet, mostly family, but when I want to have fun at night only occasionally is quite suitable shorter recommend! Come again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank borzov1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
The Kantary Bay, Phuket, is always pleased to have feedback from one or our regulars and looks forward to your soonest return for another enjoyable and pleasant stay with us. Thank you for your mention of the routine availability of ‘tide charts’ for guests so as to know when it’s time for a swim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

My husband, me, our daughter and her husband have just arrived home from having a really wonderful 12days staying at Kantary Bay, Our holiday will be remembered for a long time. The Kantary staff are all so helpful and always had a smile on their faces and sawasdee ka greeting for us every day. We were upgraded on our arrival to a one bed suite, that was a bonus, although we looked at other rooms and they looked lovely. Having the shuttle bus running every 10mins to the sister Hotel Cape Panwa is great, there you have a wonderful beach and safe swimming, we all enjoyed feeding the fish with bread from our breakfast left overs!! Talking of breakfast they are also good and restaurant staff great, nothing is to much trouble. The area of Kantary Bay is relatively quiet with no hassle a few street sellers arrive outside the gates around 5 o'clock with the usual shirts, sarongs, trinkets etc. nice just to walk around again no hassle. Must just add!! The pancakes sold by one little lady vendor are to die for, please try. The restaurants we ate at were all good, sea breeze was the favourite for us also Johns Bar up the hill was nice for a pre evening drink, We hope to see you all again next year, thank you.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank william s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
The Kantary Bay, Phuket, looks forward to your return again next year for another relaxing and friendly stay with us on Cape Panwa. Your appreciative mention of our attentive, friendly, and helpful staff has been noted for on passing to them. Thank you for your informative commentary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

we were given a very friendly welcome on arrival, the same continued for the remainder of the holiday. Whether it was the gardener, the maintenance man, the housekeeping staff or the reception staff there was always a cheerful 'sawasdee ka'. Excellent and would recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angeloct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
The Kantary Bay, Phuket, thanks you for your ‘fantastic’ endorsement and hopes to see and serve you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Arrived and welcomed with a cool drink, was given a room and informed that the next day they were going to allocate me a better room.
The first room we were given was nice enough apart from no view, but was pleased.
Come the next day when we had the new room, we were really pleased as it was like a small apartment. Really comfortable...
Room was cleaned daily and there was 2 bottles of water delivered free.
Breakfast was ok, plenty of choice, only grumble was that not enough tables as occasionally, breakfast room was full and now where to sit. Staff were brilliant, ever so friendly - had a great week, really chilled out place.
Only thing negative was the mosquito bites I tended to have from the foyer area. Perhaps they should spray that area on regular occasions.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenH-E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
The Kantary Bay, Phuket, thanks you for your positive feedback and has shared the mosquito matter with our team in our continuing effort to ensure enjoyable and pleasant stays for our guests. We look forward to your soonest return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Panwa
6.7 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
0.2 mi away
Cape Panwa Hotel
Cape Panwa Hotel
#4 of 12 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,444 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 12 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
CC's Hideaway
CC's Hideaway
#5 of 132 in Karon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
25.4 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kantary Bay, Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kantary Bay, Phuket

Property: Kantary Bay, Phuket
Address: 31/11 Moo 8, Sakdidej Rd, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand (Formerly The Bay Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kantary Bay, Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kantary Bay Hotel is a charming seafront property within a short ten to fifteen minutes drive from Phuket town. This is a hotel with a difference; following a new trend that is becoming more and more preferred around the world, each room makes the most of its surroundings, breaking away from the traditional "standard" hotel room design to offer you a unique hotel experience. Kantary Bay Hotel offers spacious, fully furnished studio, one-bedroom, and two-bedroom suites. Each room type is furnished with a living room, kitchenette and separate sleeping area. You will find terra cotta tiles and wooden floors instead of the usual carpet. We also provide our guests with full facilities including a fitness room, swimming pools, scenic gardens, reading lounges and more. And of course the service is impeccable, after all The Kantary Bay Hotel is the sister hotel of the world renowned Cape Panwa Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Kantary Bay, Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantary Bay, Phuket Hotel Cape Panwa
Kantary Bay Hotel Phuket
Kantary Bay Cape Panwa
Kantary Bay, Phuket Cape Panwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing