We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small and friendly and full of charm!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kantary Bay, Phuket
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
yorkshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Small and friendly and full of charm!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

I must start by saying that when we first arrived and was allocated our room .. my heart sank! It was not the best of rooms (in our opinion) and it did have a major issue with a smelly drain! We had a word with reception and management and we were allocated another room the next day... management could not apoligies enough and compensated with a lovely meal at Panwa house ... which was a kind gesture.
I suppose if i am honest the hotel is getting a bit tired around the edges BUT it is certainly clean and the rooms are cleaned to a high standard daily as is the rest of the Hotel and gardens.

The hotel does have an instant charm and has a wonderful atmosphere about it and the Staff really make you feel welcome.

Cape Panwa itself is a lovely little place and i know it is small but there are plenty of places to eat and have a relaxing evening and if you fancy a change then you can just go up to Cape Panwa Hotel (lighthouse bar had live music on every evening and it is 'Happy Hour' from 8.30pm. We went into Patong one evening (400bht) just book at reception. We hired a Bike for a couple of days from a Gentleman up the road (300bht) so drove around the coast and found some lovely beachs and beach bars. We did Phi Phi and James bond island through the Gentleman at reception and got a good price ... and the beach at Cape Panwa Hotel is stunning.

We really did love this place and will be definitely be back again, and before we knew it it was time to come home and there is sooooo much more to see and do. ... Don't forget your Mossi Repellant though ... !!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rioYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
The Kantary Bay, Phuket, welcomes your positive and descriptive commentary after your recent stay with us and thanks you for pointing out there are small local facilities nearby as well as tours available for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    879
    284
    43
    11
    9
See reviews for
267
691
56
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
hull, yorkshire england
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

both the kantaray bay and her sister hotel were brilliant and both worthy of 5 stars. rooms were very good and big enough{ we were in a studio} cleaned every day and fresh towels every day. staff were all very attentive and couldnt do enough for you. breakfast was very good, there were probably 3 to 4 choices including a full english. 2 pools to choose from and they gave you towels for the sunbeds everyday. we opted for the pool on the roof it was always very quiet and plenty of clean and comfortable sun beds. as i said the hotel was brilliant and i forgot to mention free bottled water everyday in your room.having said all that there is hardly anything outside of the hotel. it always seemed very quiet outside of the hotel, nothing much to do. there was one bar which if you got a dozen in it felt full, and the english owner did not open every night. there were 3 restaurants the best one was the one on the main street. the one at the back of the hotel was more like a wooden shack which you might come across on a dirty beach somewhere and the 3rd we never tried so i cant comment. the nearest busy place was a 45 minute taxi ride away, patong where we visited twice. its more like the thialand you read about, lots of bars, clubs, dancing girls and ladyboys. if yo want a quiet peaceful relaxing holiday i suppose its the place to go. the brochure shows white sandy beaches but the only one we found was at the sister hotel cape pawi which the hotel put on a shuttle bus free of charge all day. we even hired a scooter and drove at least 20 to 30 miles in both directions and did not find any white sandy beaches, only dirty beaches. i would not go to this part of thialand again as we like plenty to see and do without bussing or taxying to get there we spent a fortnight there in early december 2013. hope this review is of help to someone..

Room Tip: all rooms seemed more or less the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 31tony_m31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
The Kantary Bay, Phuket, thanks you for sharing your thoughts and feedback with us and our readers which should be useful to others planning a stay in Phuket. Our location and its surroundings can be found online as an aid to possible guests understanding the ambiance of our location and what is available nearby. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
121 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

This was the second time we stayed at the Kantary Bay and everything was perfect..

Staff remembered us for the previous time. Nothing was any trouble. Food was good for breakfast. Rooms extremely clean and comfortable.

Both pools are excellent, small and relaxing.

Full use of the sister hotel too.

Will definitely stay again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
The Kantary Bay, Phuket, thanks you for your endorsement and looks forward to your soonest return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

We have just returned from a 2 week holiday at the hotel and loved it! After a very long flight we were welcomed with a welcome drink and shown to our room which had a jacuzzi on the balcony which was a lovely surprise. Our room was spacious and was cleaned daily. Staff at the hotel were very helpful nothing was too much trouble. It was my birthday during the stay and I was given a birthday cake and card from the staff. The rooftop pool was lovely, especially the sunset on an evening. Sun loungers were always available We used the facilities at the sister hotel which is within walking distance if your willing to walk up a hill if not a free shuttle is provided. The hotel has an italian restaurant which we enjoyed meals at. There is a man in the hotel who arranges trips we booked all of our trips through him we found booking together saved us money. We visited phi phi island, james bond island, tiger kingdom, elephant trekking, simon show and fantasea which is a show and themepark which is a must do!! Transport to all of these was arranged by him, all of which we enjoyed! The hotel is in a quieter area however even being a young couple this was not a problem as everywhere is accessible via a taxi. The hotel offers a bus service to patong beach for 400baht the bus leaves the hotel at 19.30 and returns at 23.30. Very good nightlife here. We often got the bus there and a taxi back if we wanted a later night.There is also a nightmarket every weekend near Phuket town which you can pick up some great bargains very worthwhile trip! We also visited the many different beaches phuket has to offer which were all accessable via taxi, taxis are cheaper if you arrange two way ttaxi service, agreeing with the taxi drivers a time you would like picking up makes it cheaper. This was our first trip to Thailand and we loved it. Will definitely be returning.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank charlied91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
The Kantary Bay, Phuket, is pleased to have you share your descriptive and informative review with us and our readers after your recent 2 week holiday with us, as it will be very helpful to other readers planning a stay in Phuket. Thank you for your review, and your endorsement, and we look forward to warmly welcoming you back again soon for your return stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

The Kantary Bay is a good value hotel and ideal for a longer stay.
There is very frequent transport to its sister hotel Cape Panwa, which is on a really beautiful beach.
We enjoyed the local restaurants and Panwa House over at the sister hotel was particularly good for a more special night out.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
The Kantary Bay, Phuket, appreciates your endorsement and looks forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you for your commentary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

A nice property at bay side... at the end of the city.. away from noise.. cool and calm place. also, one gets the access to the sister hotel having its private beach.. nice view from the hotel rooms.. good restaurants..

Room Tip: Prefer a bay side room to have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GVikasG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
The Kantary Bay, Phuket, thanks you for sharing your observations with us and our readers, after your recent stay with us. Thank you for your positive endorsement and we look forward to seeing and welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

just wanted to thank you for a lovely stay last week at your hotel. I flew out as a surprise for my boyfriend and could not be more pleased with the service I received.
Upon arrival I explained my situation to the reception staff who promptly arranged a birthday cake and card which was a lovely touch. I would like to mention Chinuchida, S as being so friendly and helpful although all the team were excellent. The hotel and facilities are clean, well maintained and perfect for our stay. Thanks again, sarah x

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
The Kantary Bay, Phuket, is pleased to learn you had a lovely stay with us and a Happy Birthday. Your thoughtful mention of staff, some by name, has been noted and on passed to them. We hope to welcome you back again soon for another enjoyable and pleasant stay with us. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Panwa
6.7 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
0.2 mi away
Cape Panwa Hotel
Cape Panwa Hotel
#4 of 13 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,487 reviews
25.4 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 13 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
8.3 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kantary Bay, Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kantary Bay, Phuket

Property: Kantary Bay, Phuket
Address: 31/11 Moo 8, Sakdidej Rd, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand (Formerly The Bay Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kantary Bay, Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kantary Bay Hotel is a charming seafront property within a short ten to fifteen minutes drive from Phuket town. This is a hotel with a difference; following a new trend that is becoming more and more preferred around the world, each room makes the most of its surroundings, breaking away from the traditional "standard" hotel room design to offer you a unique hotel experience. Kantary Bay Hotel offers spacious, fully furnished studio, one-bedroom, and two-bedroom suites. Each room type is furnished with a living room, kitchenette and separate sleeping area. You will find terra cotta tiles and wooden floors instead of the usual carpet. We also provide our guests with full facilities including a fitness room, swimming pools, scenic gardens, reading lounges and more. And of course the service is impeccable, after all The Kantary Bay Hotel is the sister hotel of the world renowned Cape Panwa Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kantary Bay, Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantary Bay, Phuket Hotel Cape Panwa
Kantary Bay Hotel Phuket
Kantary Bay Cape Panwa
Kantary Bay, Phuket Cape Panwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing