We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, relaxing, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kantary Bay, Phuket
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

I just spent four days at Kantary Bay, and I highly recommend it. For the price of a budget hotel, you can take the shuttle bus back and forth to the Cape Panwa resort and use all the facilities of the luxury resort. Don't miss the little cable car that takes you to and from the beach.

The included breakfast at Kantary was very good. The area around the hotel is quiet, but all the little local restaurants are good. For a great facial, walk up the hill directly behind the hotel to Baan Thai

A special thanks to the staff who arranged for my forgotten parcel to be forwarded to my hotel in Bangkok-outstanding service!

Stayed: October 2013
4  Thank acyvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

The Kantary Bay, Phuket, thanks you for your positive endorsement of our property, and sister property, whose facilities are available to our guests also. Your appreciation for our attentive staff, who forwarded your forgotten parcel to you in Bangkok, has been shared with them. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

580 - 586 of 1,303 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

We have yesterday returned from our 10th stay at the Kantary Bay/ Cape Panwa sister hotels.
We have stayed at both hotels-we now use Kantary Bay, as there are 4 of us, and they have a 2 bedroom/ 2 bathroom suite with a living room and kitchen plus a huge balcolny which we refer to as our 2nd home.

From the moment we arrive, to the time we depart, nothing is too much trouble for Mr Boonsong and his wonderful team. If you ask for something they will deal with it promptly and efficiently.
If you have a problem they will get it sorted out.

The hotel at Kantary Bay is not brand new but it is spotlessly maintained. The rooms are cleaned very well each day, as are all the communial areas. There are 2 pools, a small gym, and various restaurants. Just outside, there are more restaurants within a 5 minute walk.

There is also a free shuttle bus running between the 2 hotels, which cuts out the need to walk the hill; The hill is steep-very steep.

At Cape Panwa there is another pool at the top of the resort and a smaller one on the beach near to Panwa House. Panwa House is the old villa on the beach-you can eat there in the evening for a fabulous meal right by the sea-wonderful food and service.

Being able to use the facilities at both hotels, means that there are plenty of choices to eat in.

Cape Panwa is quite a way out from Phuket airport-45 mins to 1 hour- and also from places where night life is brash and noisy, like Patong Beach. It is quite quiet, so if you want pubs and clubs it probably won't be for you.
If you want a relaxing time, good food, attentive service and great value for money, then you will find all these, and more at the Kantary Bay hotel

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RJT64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

The Kantary Bay, Phuket, welcomes the commentary and thoughts from one of its regulars and thanks you for your mention of the use of the facilities our sister hotel while staying with us. Your appreciation of our attentive, friendly, and helpful staff, some by name, has been conveyed to them. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for your positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Just back after a 2 week stay at Kantary Bay hotel in Cape Panwa with my husband. We didn't get off to a good start as our flight from Belfast to Heathrow was late so we missed the check in time for our next flight so BA had to book us on to another flight but we had a 9 1/2 hour wait in Heathrow! Our cases had been booked on in Belfast and we were not due to see them again until we reached Phuket, unfortunately we didn't actually see them until 3 days later as the flight change had meant it was all up the left. You can imagine after a v long flight , we were not v happy, and the Hayes & Jarvis reps (Hotel beds) who met us at the airport were not very helpful. We were driven to the hotel with them in silence, and although there were welcome drinks in the taxi ,we weren't offered anything. Thankfully when we got to the hotel this all changed. We were met by smiling staff, welcome drink and cool facecloth. They told us they had upgraded our room and it was lovely. We had requested a sea view but had a pool view instead, however we had a great big apartment with washing machine, fridge freezer, microwave etc. The room was spotless and we had a big balcony. The shower was great with plenty of hot water (any time of the day) We were offered the chance of another room with a sea view the next day, but it was smaller, with no washing machine and we were much better off where we were so didn't move. We were booked for breakfast every morning and it was lovely, plenty of choice, and we gained quite a few pounds during our stay! The staff were lovely every morning, and tea and coffee is pre-made so we always asked for a jug of hot water each with a tea bag on the side so we could have it when we were ready, after 2 days the staff knew who we were and would automatically get us our jugs of water and teabag. Little things like this go a long away!
We met our rep the next morning and we were obviously not happy that we still had no cases, she said she would chase them up for us, but she was more interested in what trips we were going to book with her during our stay and wanted us to book then and there. We didn't as they were too expensive, and actually ended up booking a couple of trips with the rep in the hotel who was much cheaper.
The reception staff did more for us in terms of chasing up our cases than the rep did and again we felt that Hayes & Jarvis (Hotel Beds) did very little for us. We ended up phoning our travel agent in N Ireland, and Hayes & Jarvis in the UK, to see what we could do as we had nothing, not even toiletries. The manager of the hotel gave my husband and I a free t-shirt each, which was really nice of him but as I had nothing else to change in to I was stuck in the same clothes for 3 days.
The hotel is in a very quiet area, and that would be the only down side to this hotel as there a only a few restaurants and a couple of supermarkets. There is a local bus into town but it only runs hourly and stops mid afternoon. There are lots of taxi drivers willing to take you anywhere but they also want to charge you plenty too, so steer clear of them. Wine is very expensive in the bars, but beer is cheap.The weather was great, we did have rain but mostly at night, we only had 1 full day of rain but we still went out on our pre booked trip to James Bond Island (wouldn't recommend this trip).
Kantary Bay customers can use the facilities at the sister hotel Cape Panwa (which has the beach) and there is a free shuttle bus that runs every 10 minutes up and down to it.To be honest we preferred Kantary Bay hotel, the staff were nicer, friendlier and we had a roof top pool which we used every day. I would def recommend this hotel, but it is out of the way, and if you want you want to get out and about there is a fair bit of travelling to do.We went in to Patong but it is 2 bus rides away and took over an hour, and again the buses stop mid afternoon coming back from Phuket to Kantray Bay which can be restrictive.
Our room was cleaned every day, and the only thing problem we had was mosquito bites, they were out in force and we nearly dreaded going to bed at night as we woke up every morning with bites.We had bought mosquito repellent wrist bands but the weren't much use and we ran out of anti histamine tabs and cream so had to visit the chemist, but these bugs come with this end of the world so cant complain really. So all in all Kantary Bay Hotel is lovely, the staff are all really nice from the cleaning staff, right up to the manager, and it is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: We had room 104, great big apartment with all mod cons and pool view.No complaints!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happiness77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

The Kantary Bay, Phuket, is pleased to learn that we met your expectations and that your stay with us was well worth the visit. Thanks for sharing your informative review with us and our readers. Your positive mention of our staff has been shared with them and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

we booked this holiday as part of a 3 centre stay, phuket, koh samui and krabi,staying in each resort for 4/5 days, after a long flight from the uk with a mini cab ride to the kantary bay we were greeted by helpful and friendly staff, cold towels and a cold fruit juice.
it was our wedding anniversary, the bedroom was decorated with petals and swans made out of the bath towels, not to mention the anniversary cake they gave us.
as this was low season the hotel and adjacent restaurants were busyish, we found this more comfortable and enjoyable when eating out, i dread to think what it is like in high season!
the breakfast was a buffet type with lots to choose from, fresh and never ran out.
we enjoyed the roof top pool not only for the views it was never very busy.
our room was cleaned every day, clean towels not only in your room also for use at the pool or beach.
we visited the sister hotel cape panwa via the shuttle bus, out of the two hotels i found the kantary a more relaxed and friendly atmosphere.
we had a lovely time,the sawadee restaurant next door was very good
( it will be in my next report) along with koh samui and krabi.
we had a lovely time at the kantary, not long enough!
many thanks, hopefully to return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vic_mcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

The Kantary Bay, Phuket, is pleased to learn that we met your expectations on your 1st visit to Thailand and found your stay with us friendly and relaxing. Your positive mention of our staff has been shared with them while your review should be helpful to others planning a visit to Phuket. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed here because of the fantastic reviews and were not disappointed. The staff were so friendly, helped out with booking our trips and various taxis and gave a warm sawasdee ka (hello) whenever you walked past reception,

The location is great if you're looking for a more relaxed escape. A few steps outside the hotel you have a fantastic view of the cape panwa and here you can watch the sun set under some of the andaman islands while enjoying a drink in the sunset bar or a meal in the fantastic sawasdee restaurant.

We stayed in a one bed suite which was very nice, comfortable bed and everything we needed (however there were two singles put together instead of a double).

One of the best things about this hotel is the facilities available at the sister hotel (Cape Panwa Hotel and Spa). There is a free shuttle to the private beach at Cape Panwa and it takes about 5 minutes to get from Kantary Bay to the beach via shuttle then tram.

There are loads of places to eat within the two hotels (5 or 6 different restaurants I think!) plus three bars (including one on the beach) and a pub. Also four swimming pools to choose from.

We also used he spa facilities which were perfect after a trek in the Thai jungle. Just what you would expect from a spa joined to a four star hotel and the staff were great.

The hotel runs shuttles to various places (at a cost) and we used the night shuttle to Patong beach one Sat night. This was great as it's a pain haggling prices for taxis and then trying to avoid the taxi driver taking you to all the Phuket tourist traps so they can get free petrol.

This hotel is so far away from the Patong beach type holiday you might expect from Phuket. It's very relaxing, friendly and has everything you could want. And even though it's about 45 minutes from all the big beaches in Phuket it doesn't matter as A) you have your own beach and B) all of the tours you can book include free transfers to and from hotel so you don't need to worry about location of hotel. It's a great way to enjoy Phuket without the constant in your face selling of massages, tuk tuks and tailored suits.

Hotel also has a very helpful tourist information guide employed by Thailand government who will help book trips and get discount. Make sure you check trips on Tripadvisor first though as some that are sold as 5 star are not.

Although this is only a 3 star hotel I think it deserves 5 stars for the level of service the staff give. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: We booked a studio but got free upgrade to one bed suite. Definitely worth asking for an upgrade and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JackBarber32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

The Kantary Bay, Phuket, looks forward to your soonest return and thanks you for sharing your review with us and our readers. Your positive mention of our attentive and friendly staff has been shared with them. Your detailed review should be useful to other readers planning a relaxing stay in Phuket.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Me and my wife stayed at this hotel in October 2013 for 2 weeks, and all I can say is it was a very fulfilling stay.
First of all, the staff were amazing, very very friendly, very helpful and very prompt with any requests we made.
We stayed in a studio room which was spacious, very well cleaned everyday, with a large flat screen tv, DVD hifi, cooker microwave shower and bathtub... all well maintained and modern.
The balcony overlooked the garden and the sea, which was nice.
Free WiFi was available in the lobby which we luckily could pick up to some extent from our room also.
If I had any negatives to add, they would be, the breakfast, although nice, was arguably limited and same-ish, although not to the extent that it was a problem.
And the other thing maybe, if even worth mentioning, is the lack of evening hotel entertainment. But this may not be a fair comment as it is in a rather secluded area and more for the quiet getaway.
However if you fancy a livelier scene you can always barter a cab ride to the other end of Phuket, to Patong which has more nightlife than Owls on speed!
The best part however, is the private beach of the sister hotel ,(Cape Panwa), which is a short 2 minute shuttle ride away, which is nothing short of amazing. Beautiful sandy beach, warm clear waters, and Palm trees to set the scene. If you cant relax there then you really need to see a psychiatrist for your problems.
In short, If you need a quiet relaxing hotel, you wont find much better. If you want noise, get a subwoofer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FSparx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

The Kantary Bay, Phuket, thanks you for sharing your review with us and our readers after your recent 2 week stay. Your appreciation of our amazing and friendly staff has been shared with them while your informative review should be found useful by other readers planning a visit to Phuket. Thank you for your positive endorsement and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

No doubts this hotel is the best choice for great holiday in a beautiful and calm place. We've travelled to many countries of South-East Asia, but this place is special for us. We've been here 4 times and will come again. Everything we need from great holiday is provided by this hotel and local area. Very friendly staff and all Thai people! Great location in a calm area, beautiful islands view, the best beach of Cape Panwa - good for snorkeling and for swimming; fantastic sunset every day; always tasty breakfast - variety of choices; very comfortable and clean suites with all the necessary equipment; gym and several swimming pools on your choice - great view from the roof swimming pool; lot of nice restaurants nearby, tasty seafood in the hotel restaurant, variety of best Thai food in the street, we love Tom Yam Gum soup and Papaya Salad very much; small night market everyday - good prices, big choice; Phuket Aquarium in 2 min walking distance - nice park around; lot of massage saloons nearby; interesting sightseeing tours; great fruit markets in Phuket town.... WE LOVE YOU, KANTARY BAY!!! Hope to see you soon again. :)

Room Tip: Suites on the 3rd or the 4th floor of the Bayside Wing are best for us because of great view and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marianna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

The Kantary Bay, Phuket, is pleased to have positive feedback from its repeat guests and thanks you for your informative review. Your appreciation of our attentive, friendly and helpful staff has been shared with them. We look forward to your soonest return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Panwa
0.2 mi away
Cape Panwa Hotel
Cape Panwa Hotel
#4 of 13 in Cape Panwa
2,680 reviews
6.7 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
7.2 mi away
CC's Hideaway
CC's Hideaway
#4 of 136 in Karon
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
25.4 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 13 in Cape Panwa
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kantary Bay, Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kantary Bay, Phuket

Address: 31/11 Moo 8, Sakdidej Rd, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand (Formerly The Bay Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range: $44 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kantary Bay, Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kantary Bay Hotel is a charming seafront property within a short ten to fifteen minutes drive from Phuket town. This is a hotel with a difference; following a new trend that is becoming more and more preferred around the world, each room makes the most of its surroundings, breaking away from the traditional "standard" hotel room design to offer you a unique hotel experience. Kantary Bay Hotel offers spacious, fully furnished studio, one-bedroom, and two-bedroom suites. Each room type is furnished with a living room, kitchenette and separate sleeping area. You will find terra cotta tiles and wooden floors instead of the usual carpet. We also provide our guests with full facilities including a fitness room, swimming pools, scenic gardens, reading lounges and more. And of course the service is impeccable, after all The Kantary Bay Hotel is the sister hotel of the world renowned Cape Panwa Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kantary Bay, Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantary Bay, Phuket Hotel Cape Panwa
Kantary Bay Hotel Phuket
Kantary Bay Cape Panwa
Kantary Bay, Phuket Cape Panwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing