We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant hotel - would recommend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kantary Bay, Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kantary Bay, Phuket
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel - would recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Some friends stayed here in December 2012 and had a great time and so 7 of us decided to go here in March 2013. We had a wonderful time. The staff are probably the best I have come across in a hotel - especially the reception staff who were brilliant. Check in was quick and efficient, which after a long journey was very welcome. The room we had was huge and very clean. All pool areas, restaurants etc were spotless. The views of the sunset over the bay were lovely. As mentioned in other reports the beach is at the sister hotel which is a 2min drive away which the hotel has its own transport.

The area is very safe and there are lots of tuk tuks selling all sorts which line up the road outside the evening which makes for a nice stroll. We ate at the hotel restaurant twice and the food was very good, except a yellow curry being extremely spicy - but the staff offered an alternative straight away.

we did the trip from the hotel to Ptong which is about 30mins away. Ptong is very busy and I was very glad not to be staying there.

This hotel is perfect if you want a quiet holiday in a great location with great staff.

Thank you to the staff of Kantary Bay for a great holiday - we look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OxfordPingu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
The Kantary Bay, Phuket, thanks you for your positive endorsement after your recent stay with us and looks forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    859
    283
    43
    11
    9
See reviews for
261
679
56
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is the first time I have stayed in a place that caters for holiday apartments. The reception area was very impressionable because not only was it immaculately clean, well furnished, the staff were delightful. Upon arrival, I had immediately a most welcomed refreshing drink, accompanied with a chilled towel to clean my face. What an excellent start. The room that I booked was a junior suite which unfortunately looked straight onto an old restaurant wall. No rolling waves lapping upon the shore.!!!! I did immediately complain and they were so apologetic they moved me straightaway. I was upgraded to a one bedroom apartment which overlooked the pool, given a free dinner and two tee-shirts. The new apartment was much more acceptable. The room was cleaned every day, well furnished, the beds very comfortable and the bedding was changed every day. This is a very comfortable place to spend some quiet time with your partner or by yourself. Be warned, this is not a party hotel and neither is the hotel situated in a party area. There is no entertainment at this place either. The breakfast was good also.
The taxi service to Patong (party area) varied between 700 and 800 Bati. I thought this was reasonable as it can take approximately 60 mins to get there. I did visit the 5 star sister hotel but it was way overpriced. The Kanteri bay certainly offers value for money. On average it can cost 3000 Bati a night for the room. The pool was sufficient in size, spotlessly cleaned and plenty of sunbeds to go around.

In summary, this is a little gem of a place but, owing to its location I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Block 6 have rooms that overlook a horrible wall. Please complain and they will move you. You can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
The Kantary Bay, Phuket, as a little gem of a place, thanks you for your review, but wishes to point out that our location is not a mystery, and it can be noted in advance by viewing our website, which all potential guests are advised to do. Thanks for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We have just returned from a two month stay at this wonderful hotel. The staff are absolutely amazing, they treat you like family and make you feel so very special throughout your stay.
The hotel has everything you could possibly need, the rooms are lovely and spacious, good restaurants in and around the hotel and great facilities throughout.
We have booked again for next year and it can't come quick enough!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
The Kantary Bay, Phuket, appreciates your positive endorsement after your 2 month stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Just back from 1month at this beautiful hotel, it was our third stay, and have booked for next year, The most amazing welcome from the wonderful staff, who treat you as old friends, 1st class accommadation, and surroundings, so lovely to meet up with old friends we have met over the past 3years, and made some new friends along the way, can't wait to return xx

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shellbeach2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
The Kantary Bay, Phuket, thanks you for your positive endorsement after your 3rd stay with us of 1 month and we can’t wait for your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

What a little gem this place is. We were greeted after a very long journey with fruit cocktails, cool towels and big big smiles.
The hotel is spotless, well maintained and very quiet. Dont come here if you want nightlife. but if you want peace and relaxation it is perfect. We had a one bedroom apartment which was spacious and had a huge TV, fridge, hob, kettle etc.
Kantary bay has two pools but also access to all the facilities at Cape Panwa Hotel with a 5 minute free bus service which is constant all day through to midnight. The beach at the CP hotel is fabulous with loads of sun loungers all under the trees and plenty of umbrellas. The sun is incredibly fierce but we found that we still got a great tan sitting in the shade all day.
The hotel restaurants and bars in both hotels are expensive compared to the local ones. If you are on a budget it is cheaper to use the local supermarket up past the naval base rather than the hotel one.
Staff at Kantary Bay are fantastic especially all the girls on reception who are very ready to smile and joke. We found the staff at the Cape hotel in the bars and restaurants to be a little surly and some bordering on rude, which was surprising. There are some there who will reserve sunbeds for you, presumably for a tip, who then make a fuss of certain guests.
There are lots of massage places on the hill between the two hotels. All seem to be excellent. A massage costs the equivalent of around £7.50 for an hour which means you can have lots during your holiday. The pedicures are also great.
The Spa at Cape Panwa is fabulous. much more expensive than the local places but still a lot cheaper than at home and a beautiful experience. We had a "deep blue sea" treatment as a couple in the same treatment room which was a foot bathing, exfoliation and aromatherapy massage. Two hours of bliss in beautiful surroundings.
We had a deal that included breakfast which was excellent. Eggs cooked to order, full range of hot food, breads, cereals, juices and fruit which meant that we could fill up for the day and then not eat until evening which again is great if you are on a budget.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. It is great value for money and conveniently situated for a great relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: All rooms would be quiet. Rooms at the front have a sea view but would overlook the road. We had a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fifi090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Your positive endorsement of the Kantary Bay, Phuket, after your recent visit, as a little gem, is appreciated, while your descriptive review will be useful to other readers planning a visit to Phuket. We are glad you had an enjoyable and pleasant stay with us and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

so far, so good, just arrived today. Travelled with Singapore Airlines who provided an excellent flight with in flight service to match. From the Kantary Bay Hotel the sea is just a few minutes walk and we are lookjing forward to our holiday here to include use of swimming pool and facilities of nearby sister Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Del R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
The Kantary Bay, Phuket, is pleased to learn of your recent arrival and looks forward to providing an enjoyable and pleasant stay with us for the duration of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Nice hotel in a quiet part of Phuket, come here if you want to stay away from the hustle of the crowded resorts.
The studio is quite big, has a fully equiped kitchen and a balcony overlooking the swimming pool. It may not be as glitzy as other hotels but the staff is really friendly and really make you feel at home.
Otherwise, the breakfast is good and has European and Thai options, try the croissants!
There's some good restaurants close to the hotel and even a small supermarket.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric_MSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
The Kantary Bay, Phuket, thanks you for your positive endorsement and looks forward to your soonest return. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Panwa
6.7 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
0.2 mi away
Cape Panwa Hotel
Cape Panwa Hotel
#4 of 12 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,444 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 12 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
CC's Hideaway
CC's Hideaway
#5 of 132 in Karon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
25.4 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kantary Bay, Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kantary Bay, Phuket

Property: Kantary Bay, Phuket
Address: 31/11 Moo 8, Sakdidej Rd, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand (Formerly The Bay Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kantary Bay, Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kantary Bay Hotel is a charming seafront property within a short ten to fifteen minutes drive from Phuket town. This is a hotel with a difference; following a new trend that is becoming more and more preferred around the world, each room makes the most of its surroundings, breaking away from the traditional "standard" hotel room design to offer you a unique hotel experience. Kantary Bay Hotel offers spacious, fully furnished studio, one-bedroom, and two-bedroom suites. Each room type is furnished with a living room, kitchenette and separate sleeping area. You will find terra cotta tiles and wooden floors instead of the usual carpet. We also provide our guests with full facilities including a fitness room, swimming pools, scenic gardens, reading lounges and more. And of course the service is impeccable, after all The Kantary Bay Hotel is the sister hotel of the world renowned Cape Panwa Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Kantary Bay, Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantary Bay, Phuket Hotel Cape Panwa
Kantary Bay Hotel Phuket
Kantary Bay Cape Panwa
Kantary Bay, Phuket Cape Panwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing