We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kantary Bay, Phuket
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
Pantasaph, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“lovely hotel”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

just a quick visit , our first time at kantary , prev at cape panwa .
very good value for money easy warm early check in to small but great room with views staff helpfull .
esp with mt teapot and fresh milk ,
may i thank the manager with my spa help , it was alovely afternoon .
well done great hotel and staff .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123parki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your positive endorsement of your stay with us at the Kantary Bay Hotel, Phuket. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    908
    293
    44
    11
    9
See reviews for
274
710
61
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Having stayed at the Cape Panwa Hotel 9 times, we thought we would have a slight change and decided on the Kantary Bay instead. Whether it was because it was our 10th visit in total, I do not know but we were upgraded to a 1 bedroom apartment Room 505. It was spectacular. It came with a 250 degree view from a very large balcony, nice large bedroom & Living room, Bath and separate shower. The breakfast was good ( though not as comprehensive CP). Uncle Nan's (the only restaurant in the hotel that we tried) was also very good. The other local restaurants that we enjoyed were Treetops( opposite the Raddison Blue and Sea Breeze - behind the hotel. Because it was our 10 th visit we were given the whole afternoon and evening sailing on the Panwa Princess a 90ft boat as a loyalty thank you.
On behalf of my wife and I, I would like to say a big thank you to all the staff especially :- Somnuk and Lorn ( at breakfast) jenny and Sandy( on the beach) and Porn and Simon
( Lighthouse Bar)
As the saying goes - we will be back!!!

Room Tip: Go for a room on a higher floor, facing the sea for a beautiful sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M0rningt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for being a loyal patron of Kasemkij Hotels.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Kantary Bay, Phuket as much as you enjoyed staying at our sister Cape Panwa Hotel on your previous trips.

We are also pleased that you had memorable experience at our Uncle Nan’s Italian Restaurant, and sailing on our luxury yacht, Panwa Princess – a privilege which we offer all guests on their 10th visit.

Your message will certainly be passed on to our staff, including Somnuk, Lorn, Jenny, Sandy, Porn, and Simon. They will all be delighted to hear your wonderful comments as they work hard to provide the most satisfactory experience for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed here for five nights from Aug 23rd. It was everything we wanted. Friendly, quiet, clean, welcoming!
It was the rainy time of year but this would not put us off coming back at this time again! The staff were really friendly and helpful every time they saw us.
Breakfast was hot and fresh every morning with enough variety.
We were upgraded to a one bedroom appartment with a beautiful view and spacious balcony with a washing machine for our private use on it!
Would highly recommend the Kantary Bay if you are looking for a quiet Phuket holiday. Lots of lovely little resterants hiding around the area and walking to find them is a pleasure!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alimac83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review for us on TripAdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Your positive endorsement of Kantary Bay and especially our staff is greatly appreciated as the team works very diligently to provide our guests with the best service possible. Your positive review will hopefully be influential to others choosing a hotel in Phuket. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Our first trip to Phuket island in Thailand and we stayed at the Kantary Bay hotel, in Cape Panwa area, the southern tip of island. Kantary Bay hotel has a sister hotel, the Cape Panwa Hotel and Spa Resort which has a beautiful white sandy beach and guests in either hotel can enjoy both facilities.

We stayed in the Kantary Bay hotel, a water front hotel by the Bay next to the Phuket Sea Aquarium between 2nd and 6th September 2012. The hotel is about 50 minutes from the Phuket airport by car and we were met and picked up by our Travel Agent, Hotelbeds representative on arrival at the airport.

On arrival at the hotel, there is a small drive way leading up a few steep steps up to the reception area on the right and waiting or seating area on the left. We were greeted by a friendly receptionist who showed us to the seating area whilst she did the checking in procedure all for us and we completed the guest forms and handed our passport details. We were taken to our room on the 2nd floor in the Bayside Wing.

Our room is a Studio with a small kitchenette with cooking facilties and utensils, a mini fridge; a bathroom with a bath and separate shower . The bathroom is clean although it is showing its age from the bathroom tiles and shower head.

There is a sitting area with a sofa and a chair where you can sit and relax and watch TV. Taking two steps down from the sitting area is the sleeping area with twin beds (pushed together to make a double bed), a double wardrobe, writing desk and a balcony with a table and 2 chairs. The room is spacious and has a lovely feel to it with its separate sitting and sleeping areas. It is clean and comfortable for two of us. There is a small microwave, toaster and kettle. Limited tea and coffee are provided and two small pots of cream are placed in the mini fridge. They are replenished each day.

The room is air conditioned so it is a blessing and convenient as the weather is hot in Phuket, about 30-32 degrees C whilst we were there. We would recommend that you buy a plug in mosquito diffuser for your room to keep the mozzies away. You will need a two pin adaptor as the power supply is 220 volt, so bring one with you. If you wish to do a bit of washing, there is a small wooden drying frame outside on the balcony. All the Bayside Wing rooms have garden view which consists of a lush garden, walkway to the Laem Panwa restaurant which serves a la carte menu and seafood in the evening. There is a mini mart next to the restaurant where you can buy the essential items, drinks and food. There is a roof top swimming pool on the Bayside Wing accessible via the fourth floor. There is a great view of the bay, coastal road and the many islands out in the sea.

You can enjoy the various plants and flowers along the walkway from the Bayside Wing to the reception main lobby area. There is a dining room next to the lobby (behind) where you can have your buffet breakfast, from continental to local Thai breakfast of fried rice and noodles and rice porridge. Choices of breads, croissants, pastries, fresh fruits and juices are available.
There is a larger swimming pool situated in front of Bay Inn Wing 1, with a shop that sells souvenirs and clothing, the Clock House Cafe, and Uncle Nan’s restaurant on the first floor. Bay Inn Wing 2 is situated between Bay Inn Wing 1 and the Bayside Wing blocks and both Wings overlook the bay and sea. The Fitness room is on the Bay Inn Wing 1.

Kantary Bay hotel is good standard hotel with self service facilities rooms couple with the use of hotel facilities if you prefer not to do your own cooking. We had bed and breakfast during our stay so apart from using the kettle; we did not make use of the kitchen utilities. We would recommend that you use bottle water for your drinking or kettle.

Outside the hotel, to the right there are some restaurants which served food and drinks. Our favourite restaurant is called the “Sawasdee” restaurant run by a family which serves good local Thai food, and it is the first restaurant on the right of the hotel. The spicy prawn and green mango salad is delicious at 120 Thai Bhatt and we liked the yellow Thai curry and Pad Thai noodles – sumptuous. A tip, at this restaurant, they also do laundry service at a very reasonable price, collected after 5pm the following day.

The hotel provides a free shuttle truck service to the sister hotel, Cape Panwa hotel and spa, takes about 5 minutes. The Cape Panwa hotel is situated on an open coconut ground with a fantastic and beautiful and private white sandy beach where you can sun lounge in the shade of the coconut palms, walk along the beach or swim in the blue sea. Kayaking and sailing activities are available at a cost and there is a cafe in the ground for snacks and drinks. The fun bit is taking a very short tram ride from the top of the hotel down to the beach area. We recommend that you bring with you some mosquito repellent and your sun protection lotion on to the garden and beach areas.

There is a spa and beauty salon to the right of the hotel under a separate building. Similar to Kantary Bay hotel, the hotel rooms are situated in different wings in alphabet order. In addition, there limited individual villas with private pool overlooking the coconut ground and sea view. There is a swimming pool in the centre of the hotel and a cafe/restaurant overlooking it. There is a “Games” room, but we would prefer to call it a circular tower for reading and relaxation. On the beach front, there is the Panwa House Restaurant where you can dine with sea view.

Staying at the Kantary Bay hotel is comfortable and coupled with the enjoyment of the Cape Panwa hotel and spa facilities, completes our stay in Phuket and making both hotels a good choice of accommodation in a quiet and relaxing area, away from the hustle buzzle of Patong beach. If you prefer the bars and night scenes, we recommend that you stay closer to Patong beach because Cape Panwa is a small and tranquil village.

Outside the Kantary bay hotel, there is a taxi rank where you will need to haggle for the best fares. It should not cost you more than 150 Thai bhatt per person each way to Phuket town, about 30 minutes ride, and 300 Thai Bhatt per person to Patong each way, circa 1 hour ride.
In Patong, always haggle the asking price and try to aim for 20% to 40% if you are buying from the shops.

Take a 20-25 minutes taxi ride to the Puthai Souvenirs Market where you can buy some good wooden crafts to take home with you from your holiday in Phuket, and your trip there will be rewarded with the presence of a baby elephant called “Johnny” with its trainer and you can have your pictures taken with the Johnny at 20 Thai Bhatt for a bowl of bananas for him. It is worth paying the 20 Bhatt.

Take a boat trip to the “James Bond” island and see the famous island for yourself where “The man with a golden gun” movie was filmed as well as the floating village with a floating football pitch – amazing it is.

We enjoyed our holiday in Phuket and our stay at Kantary Bay hotel with its friendly and accommodating staff.


The Wise Ones

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank The-Wise-Ones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
We appreciate your positive endorsement of the Kantary Bay, Phuket, and favourable comments on our friendly and accommodating staff. Your extensive descriptions and suggestions regarding facilities and services available at the Kantary Bay, its sister hotel the Cape Panwa, and the surrounding Panwa Bay area should be useful to any readers thinking of visiting Phuket and deciding where to stay. Thank you for taking the time, and making the effort, to give us your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Phuket.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Staied in room 440 right by the roof swimming pool which you can use right after you use the gym than have fantastic breakfast (buffet) and if you want to have the best massage in your life go up the road to '3monkey massage). Have the best time ever.will defo visit again :-)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank iwona633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thanks for your positive endorsement of Kantary Bay, Phuket. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The hotel is situated about 1 hour south of the airport on the Cape Panwa peninsular. From the moment you arrive until the time you leave the staff in this resort are both highly trained, and a joy to see, they are always smiling, and welcoming you back into the hotel even when you visit the clock house bar which is situated down stairs. You really get the impression that they are happy to see you, and give you the personal treatment that you are special. The hotel itself is made up of little blocks of apartments, and studios, and we stayed in the west side in a 4th floor studio. In this particular building the lift only goes up to the 3rd floor which means you having to climb a small flight of stairs, but for us this was not a problem, and I got the impression that if you asked then they would give you an alternative room, as most days they had guest turn around.
Within the hotel they have 2 swimming pools, the main one just behind the reception, and although small it would serve its purpose, the 2nd pool is located on the floor above our block, and this is slightly smaller, but has a Jacuzzi included, again it serves it purpose, but why swim in a pool when you have a fantastic beach. In our hotel we had 2 main restaurants these being “Uncle Nan’s” which serves Italian food, and “Laem Panwa” which is outdoors, and apart from local Thai food, also serves fresh sea foods. We ate in both, and both are value for money. Breakfast is served in a joining room to “Uncle Nans”, and has all the usual trimmings of eggs to order, bacon, beans, mushrooms etc, including the normal flakes, cheeses, meats, breads. Alongside these 2 restaurants is the Clock House bar which serves snacks such as burgers as well as drinks, and although we did not actually eat there we did have the nightly good night drink, again the staff all being friendly. Within the hotel is a gym, and although I looked through the window, I did not actually use this facility. Within our studio room we had the all expected air-condition , safe, TV, hair dryer, refrigerator, and a fully functioning kitchenette (apart from making a cup of coffee this was not really used, as we ate out every day). A few local shops are within the hotel complex including a mini mart, but apart from buying some milk we really did not use them other than just looking around. Directly opposite the hotel is a promenade, and some local restaurants. The hotel has a sister hotel the Cape Panwa hotel which is located immediately behind our hotel, and although within a 15 min uphill walking distance the hotel actually runs a free shuttle bus every 10-15 mins, and all it does is goes backwards + forwards from early morning until around midnight. Within the Cape Panwa hotel is one of the best beaches I have ever seen, the seas are calm, white sands, palm trees, a small beach bar that serves snacks, drinks etc, and the best things about it is that within both hotels you can eat or drink, and charge everything to your room, so you do not need to carry money about with you, they also have a happy hour located in the lighthouse bar between 21:30 + 22:30 each night with music and it is nice to unwind. Would I come back to the Kantary Bay Hotel – YES I would, and I would recommend it

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kelmci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Just returned from 3 weeks at the Kantary Bay Hotel. We stayed in a studio apartment which was a good size, The room was kept spotlessly clean by fantastic staff, and with air con in every room which made for a comfortable stay. All staff throughout the hotel cannot do enough for you and make you feel so welcome. Local area is also very friendly with super restaurants and small bars within walking distance. There is a Supermarket on site and many excursion booking agents for some must do trips, also a money exchange that gives very good rates. Will undoubtly be returning to see the fantastic Thai people that make you feel so welcome.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Panwa
0.2 mi away
Cape Panwa Hotel
Cape Panwa Hotel
#4 of 13 in Cape Panwa
2,584 reviews
6.7 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
25.4 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
7.4 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,078 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kantary Bay, Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kantary Bay, Phuket

Property: Kantary Bay, Phuket
Address: 31/11 Moo 8, Sakdidej Rd, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand (Formerly The Bay Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kantary Bay, Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kantary Bay Hotel is a charming seafront property within a short ten to fifteen minutes drive from Phuket town. This is a hotel with a difference; following a new trend that is becoming more and more preferred around the world, each room makes the most of its surroundings, breaking away from the traditional "standard" hotel room design to offer you a unique hotel experience. Kantary Bay Hotel offers spacious, fully furnished studio, one-bedroom, and two-bedroom suites. Each room type is furnished with a living room, kitchenette and separate sleeping area. You will find terra cotta tiles and wooden floors instead of the usual carpet. We also provide our guests with full facilities including a fitness room, swimming pools, scenic gardens, reading lounges and more. And of course the service is impeccable, after all The Kantary Bay Hotel is the sister hotel of the world renowned Cape Panwa Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kantary Bay, Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantary Bay, Phuket Hotel Cape Panwa
Kantary Bay Hotel Phuket
Kantary Bay Cape Panwa
Kantary Bay, Phuket Cape Panwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing