We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel in Phuket”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kantary Bay, Phuket
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The Best Hotel in Phuket”
Reviewed December 8, 2011

As a long term guest, who now considers this place home, I feel compelled to respond to BaronessEast’s outrageous comments that could be construed by some to be a deliberate attempt to damage the good name of this hotel. The true facts are:
BaronessEast didn’t look very far. The hotel’s convenience store (The Trading Post) is located nearby the entrance to the hotel. It is well stocked and has all the essentials (a bit like a 7-11 store).Inside there is a small coffee shop that also sells cakes, cookies and delicious Italian ice cream. The hotel has two restaurants, one that sells Italian food and the other Seafood and Thai. In addition, there are two bars that also sell snacks. Outside of the hotel there are several restaurants and bars all within a walking distance.
Everyone is friendly from the General Manager downwards. It is almost impossible to walk past Reception without interacting with the staff. Many guests return because they just adore the staff. Guests feel comfortable and safe staying here.
Transfer from the airport to the hotel can take the best part of an hour depending on the traffic and the time of day. A taxi will set you back 500 baht (a little over £10) and a limousine 750 baht (a little over £15).
It is well documented that the hotel does not have a beach. However, what the hotel does have is splendid views across the bay and guests get to enjoy some of the most wonderful sunsets I have ever seen. Guests staying at the Kantary Bay can enjoy all the facilities at the sister hotel Cape Panwa including all the restaurants and bars. There is a hotel shuttle bus that operates between 7am and midnight. The journey takes only a couple of minutes. You can walk, but the first part of the journey is up a very steep hill and unless you are very fit you are well advised to take the shuttle bus. The Cape Panwa has a beautiful private sandy beach and landscaped gardens. There is beach bar, children’s play area and plenty of space to play games and relax.
As for getting out and about, the Kantary Bay in conjunction with Cape Panwa operate a twice daily shuttle bus service to Phuket Town and to Central Festival shopping centre (chargeable). In addition, there is an evening shuttle bus service to Patong Beach (again chargeable). The hotel has a tour desk and taxi service.
Finally, the Kantary Bay is a perfect place to relax and unwind in a safe and secure environment. Why not visit me!

Room Tip: Request Sea View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Nick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Thank you for your fair review and your factual and informative description of the Kantary Bay area. We are glad to know that you have been enjoying your visits with us over the years as we do our best to provide the best in accommodation, facilities and most importantly service. And it is appreciative customers like you that make our team’s dedication to providing each of our guests with the best experience possible worthwhile. As always we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    905
    293
    44
    11
    9
See reviews for
272
709
61
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

We stayed in September 2011. It was our first holiday with our 8 month baby. We stayed in a spacious 1 bedroom apartment. The staff at Kantary Bay Hotel were lovely and very accommodating. Having a small kitcenette was brilliant and the maid was so lovely. Breakfast was good - lack of selection of fruit to be honest - but on the whole fine. They even managed to get someone to go to the local market and get us a selection of fruit/veg so we can make some fresh purees. Now thats called service ! The shuttle service to Cape Panwa was great and having access to the restaurant and the other services. A definite recommendation from us.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nishster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

Returned two weeks ago from our second stay at Kantary Bay. This is the only hotel and resort that we have returned to for a second time and we will be returning again next year. We enjoy the location of Cape Panwa as it is quiet and peaceful and Kantary Bay is a lovely hotel. However we do have some suggestions for improvement. Please can you make the Clockhouse bar look like a bar instead of the products being locked in a cupboard. The empty shelves look silly and need a good clean. The music is awful, the bar lacks atmosphere and the staff are inattentive as they have no customers to serve. The food at Uncle Nans Italian on site restaurant is way below average and pricey. I had lasagne which had no taste, was very dry with no juices and was served warm instead of piping hot. I could not finish it even though it was not a big portion. My husband had pork which he did not enjoy.

WiFi is available for free in the lobby and 20 pounds for 7 days in your room. Wifi should be free in all areas. I took my computer with me and while my husband was having his afternoon nap I could catch up on my favourite TV programmes on You Tube, Corrie etc. BBC iplayer is also going world wide soon too. We found having a computer with us very useful too. We started our holiday in Hong Kong and we could google where to visit in our hotel room and decide our itinerary.

Sawasdee Restaurant is excellent for food, price and service and is next to the hotel. I can also recommend The Ship Inn at Ao Yon beach which is just a mile or two in a taxi 300bt round trip. The Ship Inn is on the beach, the food and service are excellent and it is cheaper than Sawasdee.

Please visit The Sunset Bar round the corner from the hotel and has a great host Russell who introduces you to other couples and you all get chatting.

The Indian restaurant also round the corner is also excellent.

We were disappointed that you can no longer barter with the market stall holders as they seem to have gone `fixed price` and it appears that the stalls also charge the same. We found this at the big night market in Phuket town too as well as the night market outside the hotel.

Nice to see that the taxi drivers no longer stand directly outside the hotel and are either in their hut or are on the promenade. We found this a lot better as you were not pestered.

Hired a car this time from the tour guide in reception. Had no problem driving and we explored the island and we found some stunning, unspoilt areas and fishing villages.

Overall another excellent holiday and I hope the outside hotel bar and Italian restaurant Uncle Nans has improved when we return.

Room Tip: We had a room with a washing machine in it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ilovetheuk_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gyor, Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

We started our holiday at this hotel, which I highly recommend for those who do not want to be close to the noisy and very touristic parts of Phuket. The room was spacious (though we were free of charge uograded), overlooked to the bay. It is just a 10-minute-walk through the hill to reach the nice sandy beach of the sister-hotel.
Worth to try thai massage at the places on the hill (along the way to the other hotel).
Perfect place for romantic holidays!

Worth to take the local "taxi-tuktuk" to go to Phuket town - it costs 30 bath, but keep in mind, it is a tuktuk-like vehicle!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank futrinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

We stayed threee nights at the Kantary Bay Hotel and wish we had booked it for a logner time. To start off, it is a far way from the airport, and we were talked into taking an expensive taxi when, according to other reviews, there are less expensive taxis if you know where to find them at the airport. We also took a boat tour recommended by the hotel staff, and, while the tour itself was outstanding, the trip to and from the pier was two hours, as we had to stop to pick up other passengers. But, those two things were the only two things that made the remote location a downside. We enjoyed the quiet, away from a lot of night spots. The staff was wonderful, always helpful and courteous. We were on the 4th floor, and the elevator went only to the 3rd. This might be a problem for some, but we didn't mind. You might ask for a room on a lower floor if this is a concern for you. Our room was spacious and had separate living/kitchen areas and bedroom. We had a small balcony that looked out over the gardens and the water. We had a separate tub and shower, and the only quibble I had was that the shower needed a good bleaching, as it was a bit grungy. Breakfast was delicious, varied and abundant. We ate twice at Sea Breeze, which was just in back of the hotel...the food was absolutely delicious! We took the shuttle to Cape Panwa Hotel, where we enjoyed a nice afternoon at the beach, and we never had to wait more than a few minutes for the shuttle. Across the street, by the water, we enjoyed fabulous sunsets. All in all, a very nice place and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Make sure your floor has the elevator if that is a concern for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaryNederhoed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Just had 14 nights at Kantary Bay Hotel, we should have had a few nights in Bangkok first but due to the flood situation we extended our stay at Kantary. On arrival we were upgraded to a one bedroom apartment which was excellent, nice view and kept immaculate by the daily cleaning staff. We stayed on bed and breakfast basis and the breakfast set you up for the day, offering a good variety. The shuttle bus was most convenient and we never had to wait more than a few minutes for one. The beach bar staff at Cape Panwa Hotel were all very friendly and helpful, specially Jennifer, Sandy and John, thank you all. We met lots of return visitors and we can understand why they come back time after time. Thanks for a great holiday Mr & Mrs Melville

Room Tip: Third floor and above for great view across the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikem1977_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

I have written two reviews about Kantary Bay hotel and was very annoyed when I read the review written by BaronEast. My opinion of the hotel was an honest one. Why should I and other reviewers lie. No one has ever said there is a beach outside the hotel.A regular bus takes people to the lovely beach at Cape Panwa. Though the hotel is in a quiet area it is not a long way from anywhere How could it be its on a small island.
I cannot give an opinion on what Baroness East saw in the hotel and his room Ionly know that the two occasions I stayed at Kantary Bay everywhere was clean and my room was spotless. My husband and I will be returning next February and we are really looking forward to it

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Derdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Thank you for your fair review and your factual and informative description of the Kantary Bay area. We are glad to know that you have been enjoying your visits with us over the years as we do our best to provide the best in accommodation, facilities and most importantly service. And it is appreciative customers like you that make our team’s dedication to providing each of our guests with the best experience possible worthwhile. As always we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Panwa
6.7 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
0.2 mi away
Cape Panwa Hotel
Cape Panwa Hotel
#4 of 13 in Cape Panwa
2,558 reviews
25.4 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
0.3 mi away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 13 in Cape Panwa
998 reviews
8.3 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 8 in Karon Beach
1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kantary Bay, Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kantary Bay, Phuket

Property: Kantary Bay, Phuket
Address: 31/11 Moo 8, Sakdidej Rd, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand (Formerly The Bay Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kantary Bay, Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kantary Bay Hotel is a charming seafront property within a short ten to fifteen minutes drive from Phuket town. This is a hotel with a difference; following a new trend that is becoming more and more preferred around the world, each room makes the most of its surroundings, breaking away from the traditional "standard" hotel room design to offer you a unique hotel experience. Kantary Bay Hotel offers spacious, fully furnished studio, one-bedroom, and two-bedroom suites. Each room type is furnished with a living room, kitchenette and separate sleeping area. You will find terra cotta tiles and wooden floors instead of the usual carpet. We also provide our guests with full facilities including a fitness room, swimming pools, scenic gardens, reading lounges and more. And of course the service is impeccable, after all The Kantary Bay Hotel is the sister hotel of the world renowned Cape Panwa Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kantary Bay, Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantary Bay, Phuket Hotel Cape Panwa
Kantary Bay Hotel Phuket
Kantary Bay Cape Panwa
Kantary Bay, Phuket Cape Panwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing