We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kantary Bay, Phuket
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2011

We have just returned from a 3 week stay at the Kantary Bay Hotel in Cape Panwa

The hotel is situated in a quite part of Phuket which for us was ideal, you could enjoy the hustle and bustle of Phuket town and then return to the laid back atmosphere of Cape Panawa. We could not fault this hotel, we had requested a room with a view via e-mail prior to our stay, we spent our 1st night in a studio room which was perfectly adequate but had no view at all, the staff promised to move us the next day. As promised we actually got the best room in the hotel ( the honeymoon suite) which surpassed all our expectations.

The breakfast buffett was very good and catered fo all tastes. The rooms and public areas were cleaned everyday and ALL the staff made us feel welcome and looked after.
the hotel provided a shuttle bus to the sister hotel Cape Panwa, the private beach there was lovely and very relaxing.

Recommended restaurants in Cape Panwa:- Sawasadee (just outside the hotel) Sea
Breeze, Uncle Nans, and the little curry restaurant ( near the Sun Set Bar)

Recomended trips Phi Phi Island, James Bond Island, Elephant Trekking. Phuket Zoo.


This was our first trip to Thiland, it was a fantastic experience.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank loveturkeyLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,279)
There are newer reviews for Kantary Bay, Phuket
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

929 - 935 of 1,279 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2011

Stayed here in early March and had a wonderful holiday,the rooms are a good size and well equipped.It's a quite part of Thailand and many people seem to return each year, staying for 4 to 6 weeks. I think this is down to the friendliness of staff who make everyone feel so welcome. Manager "M" was especially helpful and always seemed to be around.Would hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnMerseysideEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

We have just returned from a month at Kantary Bay. This was our second visit to this very friendly hotel. Many hotels are clean and comfortable with good service but Kantary Bay has that bit more.As soon as we arrived we felt so welcomed.Everyone greets you as if they are really glad to see you
Our room was ready for us when we arrived even though it was 11am. We had the same room as last year though this year we had a washing machine
Very handy.We spent a lovely month in our comfy clean room.
We spent most of our days at the beach at the Cape Panwa hotel bliss Thank you to Sandy and Jenny for all your kindness.We loved Chang time
Finally our holiday was made even more special by our fellow guests. Hope to see you all next year.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

The hotel is a gem. We were very impressed and definately would look at going again but if you do want an action packed holiday may be not the resort for you, definately designed for the quiet life which we loved.
When we first arrived our first impression was mixed. The hotel looked a little bit like it needed a refurb and a little tired. However after about an hour we realised we had made a good decision. It isnt modern and thats what you notice but you see through that and see the hotel for what it is, superb.
First of all you have to understand this resort is very quiet a fair distance from Patong Beach. If you are on holiday with the mates or generally wants lots of nights on the town, stay in Patong or closer to that area. Also there is no beach at this hotel however we are not all beach people so that didnt bother us. The Cape Panwa is the sister hotel just round the corner and you can use there beach which is lovely.
Thats all the nit picking I can go into. The postives are huge. The rooms are more like apartments. Very spacious, with all the ammenities you would have at home, such as big fridge, washing machine, kitchen etc. If you are lucky you may get a higher floor, with a great view over the bay, we were just high enough to get a decent view, and what a view! The pools are good enough, as the hotel is small so no problem with sun beds and the pools are generally empty. You have to understand with it being a hidden gem of a hotel, cheap but also very quiet, tends to be older retired couples who visit. Everyone was fantastic who we spoke with, alot tend to repeat visit the hotel year after year, often two/three months at a time. The only kind of negative is that because of that alot of the better rooms are reserved for these guests and I suppose rightly so, but the great view does add to the hotel and some rooms dont have that.
The breakfast was excellent, we pigged out every day and then often skipped lunch. We honestly didnt have a bad meal, we tried loads of restaurants, Sawasdee, Sea Breeze, uncle nans, the Indian, one just outside called The chalet (if you walk to end of prominad they give you fee taxi up to it, amazing views), James' restaurant, all amazing, theres one at the end thats great too and not forgetting Rusells bar for a drink.
You can get very cheap massages loads of places outside of the hotel. Five English pounds for an hour. Patong is good for a few nights out, very cheap on shuttle bus and about 45mins. STAFF SUPERB, very nice and friendly. Trips were good too, do barter a bit though we went Phi Phi and on Elephants and you can get them down on the price.
FINAL THING WAS THE DOG YOU WILL SEE ON THE FRONT, A LOVELY FRIENDLY DOG, NOW A STRAY, AS WAS DUMPED AS THE STORY GOES BY SOME EURO EX PATS WHO LIVED THERE AND THEN MOVED AWAY. HE FOLLOWS YOU AND IS UNBELIEVABLY FRIENDLY,. THINK THE LOCALS HAVE AT TIMES TEASED HIM AS VERY WARY OF THEM BUT WE FELT SO SORRY FOR HIM HE PANTS AWAY IN THE BLISTERING SUN AND IS VERY UNDERWEIGHT. A LAD WHO WORKS AT THE SEA BREEZE RESTAURANT DOES FEED HIM I THINK AND GOES UP THERE OF NIGHT. WE USED TO SNEEK A SAUSAGE OUT OR SOME CHICKEN FROM DINNER FOR HIM AND POUR HIM SOME WATER ON THE FLOOR FOR HIM TO DRINK. IF YOU ARE VISITING AND ARE CONFIDENT WITH DOGS PLEASE GIVE HIM A BIT OF FUSS AND EVEN JUST ONCE OF THE HOL GIVE HIM SOME FOOD OR WATER AS HATE TO THINK OF HIM SUFFERING.
To sum up if you wants a quiet time, dont want to pay too much, but want a fantastic hotel and resort, you found the hotel for you. Great hotel, We will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jamielawrence329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

Once again we have enjoyed another long stay at Kantary Bay Hotel. The service, rooms and facilities provided are all excellent value for money. The staff go out of their way to ensure that every guest enjoys a good holiday experience. We look forward to our next visit to Kantary Bay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Somchai65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

Just returned from a fortnights stay at the Kantaray Bay Hotel, We were a little dissappointed on arrival to discover that the rooms which we had been allocated, appeared almost to be in the basement, and although they were very spacious and well appointed, they were on the lowest accommodation level, and were very dark, had no balcony, or view, except of the corridor. One of the 2 rooms had an opening patio door, but had no outside seating area. However, the hotel offered us a complimentary meal, and drinks, together with a complimentary trip to Coral Island. But we were still a little dissappointed, as we had booked the hotel about a year previously, and had e mailed the hotel a couple of weeks before, requesting nice rooms as one of our party was celebrating a special birthday. Having spent a week in the dark rooms, i spoke to the manager, explaining we weren't happy and they agreed to move us to a very nice 2 bedroomed, 2 bathroom suite, on th 1st floor, which had a lovely large balcony and pleasant view. So this made up for the first weeks dissappointment.

The Hotel in general is very nice, although the photos make it look a lot nicer!! All the staff are very helpful and polite. The Breakfast was great, with plenty to choose from. The downside is the location, the hotel does not have a beach of its own, you need to get a shuttle bus to the sister hotel on the other side of the hill, its not far, but still found it an inconvenience, the beach is very nice once you get there though. Also the area is lacking in other bars and restaurants, however, the Sawasdee restaurant, is excellent and Russells, sunset bar is pleasant, the Sea Breeze is good to but don't go there if you're in a hurry!!

Overall, very pleasant and relaxing holiday, but if you like the nightlife, here is not for you.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul4278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2011

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to read that, overall, you enjoyed your stay with us and apologise your first room did not quite meet your expectations. As is the case in all hotels, we have a selection of rooms and some have better views than others. We acknowledge this and do our best to meet any guest requests for specific rooms or views but during busy periods this is not always possible. I am glad though that we were able to move you to a more satisfactory room for the second half of your stay.

As for your comments about our photos being a bit misleading, as you can understand we always endeavour to put our "best foot forward" on all promotional material so use the best pictures possible. I am sorry if this gave you a false impression of the hotel but we feel that the photos accurately reflect what we offer.

Once again thank you for your comments, we appreciate the feedback and we hope to see you back at one of our hotels in the near future.

The Management
Kantary Bay Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

We were only here for one night. We were upgraded to one bedroom from studio. It was very spacious and nice. The hotel was lovely and I like that you get use of the other resort as well, but there is nothing around! Not many restaurants, no shopping, only the one beach at the other resort, so I would not stay here again just because of that.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emilyerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Panwa
0.2 mi away
Cape Panwa Hotel
Cape Panwa Hotel
#4 of 13 in Cape Panwa
2,614 reviews
6.7 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
0.3 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.4 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 13 in Cape Panwa
1,025 reviews
7.4 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kantary Bay, Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kantary Bay, Phuket

Address: 31/11 Moo 8, Sakdidej Rd, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand (Formerly The Bay Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Panwa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range: $46 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kantary Bay, Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kantary Bay Hotel is a charming seafront property within a short ten to fifteen minutes drive from Phuket town. This is a hotel with a difference; following a new trend that is becoming more and more preferred around the world, each room makes the most of its surroundings, breaking away from the traditional "standard" hotel room design to offer you a unique hotel experience. Kantary Bay Hotel offers spacious, fully furnished studio, one-bedroom, and two-bedroom suites. Each room type is furnished with a living room, kitchenette and separate sleeping area. You will find terra cotta tiles and wooden floors instead of the usual carpet. We also provide our guests with full facilities including a fitness room, swimming pools, scenic gardens, reading lounges and more. And of course the service is impeccable, after all The Kantary Bay Hotel is the sister hotel of the world renowned Cape Panwa Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kantary Bay, Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantary Bay, Phuket Hotel Cape Panwa
Kantary Bay Hotel Phuket
Kantary Bay Cape Panwa
Kantary Bay, Phuket Cape Panwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing