We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of By The Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
By The Sea
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed a few nights in the actual city district of Phuket and while that was nice, By the Sea was a godsend! It was a bit further away from everything but that was just what we were looking for. Remote, right on the beach, and absolutely beautiful. We were able to rent motorbikes right across the street and traveled all over the nearby town and even found a waterfall just down the street (but tucked away; small hike to get to). The hotel breakfast was AMAZING! They had just about anything you could want and it all tasted delicious and fresh. Our room was upgraded for whatever reason and not only was it huge but we had a beautiful view of the ocean from our balcony. This place was worth every penny and wasn't a very decent price in the first place. Would love to visit again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Callekoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    131
    21
    4
    3
See reviews for
92
118
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is our 2nd trip to By the Sea, the first was 2.5 years ago. We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Great prices and a huge room with kitchenette and living area. Bigger than our apartment at home. But the best thing about By the Sea is the staff. So warm and friendly and always willing to go out of their way. Also highly recommend the restaurant. Best green curry I ever had and the seafood banquet for 1000 baht is really something special! It is a must try for any visitor! We will definitely come back on our next trip to Thailand.

Room Tip: We liked the rooms one level up from the pool as having the best view. Also be aware, the beds are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kap21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We booked this property through a deal we received on the Internet, and I would pay full price to come back again. The staff are warm, accommodating and very friendly.

It can be a struggle sometimes with communication (speaking English) but we found this is throughout Phuket, not just the hotel, and after all, we are visiting their country, so we made an effort to learn a few basic Thai words to help get around. The manager of the property regularly came to visit while we were at the pool and asked us numerous times to let him know if there was more they could do to make our stay better, then to just let them know. The restaurant is fantastic - has a good mix of Thai and western food, and very cheap for a good size meal. Drinks & cocktails are also cheap and well made. In 7 days of eating and drinking whatever we wanted, our bill only came to $340! The rooms are very large and well equipped. Air conditioning works really well and beds are comfortable. Yes the property is a little out of the way, but we either used the shuttle bus into Phuket, or we used the taxi a few metres down the road. We ended up using the same driver for the rest of our stay (Mr Hub) - he took us to all the good shopping areas including Patong and waited for us all day for 1400 Baht ($45 AUD).

We did not realise that Phuket was very popular with the Russians, nor were we expecting the property to have so many Russian guests - this was great as we like mixing with people from other countries, but we soon learned that the feeling was not mutual. These guests were incredibly rude to the staff and liked to make jokes about them. We also found that the pool beds were taken or reserved with a towel all day. Some of them were used for an hour in the morning and not used again until the afternoon. This was frustrating for us as we had nowhere to leave our things while we were using the pool. I would recommend to the hotel to put up a sign (in Russian) that says if the bed is not used in 1 hour that the towel will be removed for other guests to use.

In all, a fantastic stay - thanks for making our first trip to Phuket a memorable one!

Room Tip: The top rooms are the best for a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MnJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We have stayed here recently for 7 days. It is quite remote and you need wheels if you want to explore, we rented a scooter for a couple of days. The hotel rooms (one and two bedroom suites) were spotless, comfortable beds and as our room was on level 4, we had beautiful views. Very happy with the Management and the staff, all very helpfull. The restaurant was great, food good, not as cheap as up the beach but better quality.

Because we were there during Songkran, the place was full and there were young families and kids do cry but we did have a nice and relaxing stay.

The one thing we did not like is some guests were getting up very early in the morning just to "reserve" a beach lounge on the beach and also by the swimming pool (by putting a towel or a item of clothes on them), but then they did not use neither sometimes for half a day or more (mainly Russian guests did this). This was quite annoying, as it was very hot and everyone wanted to be on the beach.

The stairs are a good exercise, go up and down a few times a day and you can eat all the food you like.

But would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a relaxing holiday,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank EvaPete919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

By The Sea had beautiful views!
Staff are so friendly and helpful.
The restaurant was delish and cheap.
Rooms have everything you need I spent most of the time taking in the views from the balcony.
Taxi rank just down the road to help you get around.
Also daily free transfers to Phuket town.
I loved it there. It's peaceful as apposed to hustle and bustle of patong.
Would stay there again and recommend to anyone.
Thanks By The Sea!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank tashamp86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We are in our late 60's and have just returned from a 5 week stay at By-the-Sea, Phuket, Thailand. The negative things that we had read about from earlier Trip-advisers are no longer accurate. The beds and pillows are excellent - I never pined for my bed at home.  The rooms (big bedroom, living area/TV, eating area and kitchen) are spacious, plain and functional, very clean, with two burners and a good size fridge if you want to do some of your own cooking.  We were on the B level and had grass outside our windows and then a view of the bougainvillea, the sea and moored sailboats.  It was always very quiet at night time.  The twice a day, daily shuttle mini-van to the shopping centre is reliable and regular, as is the pick-up afterwards at specified times. Book your seat on the bus at the reception desk ahead of time as it is limited to about 15 passengers. Also there is a Saturday and Sunday evening drop off at the “night market” where both cooked and uncooked foods can be purchased (including deep fried crickets, cockroaches, and the like!) as well as souvenirs (bags, pashmenas, mats, T-shirts, cheap watches, clothing, etc.) that can be bargained for.  It is extremely hot at the market but lots of fun.  If your partner hates shopping, beer is also available.  Obviously it is necessary to arrange your own taxi ride back to By-the-Sea because everyone who goes will be worn out at different times.  Taxis are available from the night market for 500 Baht.

Accommodation prices include breakfast buffet which is set up right beside the beach: what a lovely relaxed way to start the day. The beach has lots of lounge chairs and also a number of shade trees, so the option to move to be in the sun or the shade is available.

By-the-Sea has recently got a new Operational Manager at the helm: Mr. Sawut.  He is extremely obliging and tells his employees never to say "No" to guests! He took us himself on one occasion, to the local market so that we could choose our own seafood and veggies for supper - he waited and drove us back.  Mr. Sawut was usually around at breakfast time, helping the chef cook eggs to our liking, showing guests how to use their super duper coffee machine, and most mornings he made the rounds of the breakfast tables checking to ensure we had all we needed.  It was extremely easy, sometimes with only a little bit of miming, to make ourselves understood by the happy smiling staff; we have travelled extensively and found the people here at this hotel the happiest, gentlest and most accommodating people we have ever met.  

By-the-Sea is somewhat out of the way if you do not have transport; however, the bonus is that it is a very quiet area and we always felt very safe.  A half day tour of the island is recommend to orient yourself and to see the real size of that Buddha that looks down on you at the beach! Also a taxi ride to see the Aquarium was simple to arrange. We did have a night at Patong; that town is only for those who need crowds, bars, nightly entertainment, dancing etc.  

We saw many young tourists around on our travels, bandaged down their right sides where they had come off mopeds and scooters! We would recommend Mr. Man (Preecha Ritto) email: nusree6314@hotmail.com, tel. 089-4825804 as a person who runs his own reliable and fairly priced taxi service very close to the hotel. Twice he dropped us off at a beach called Ya Nui in the morning and  collected us at the end of the day.  This drive takes about an hour depending on times travelled, and he did make extra stops for us to buy groceries en route.  By-the-Sea does not have coral, so snorkelling is pointless but swimming is lovely and the sea was always calm - no big waves.  Ya Nui beach was excellent for snorkelling. We also went to Kai Island on an organized snorkelling day trip.  Although the snorkelling was superb, the speed boat ride was (unnecessarily) rib breaking and the island was 'cheek by jowl' crowded. We heard that the same applied to Phi Phi. On the other hand Ya Nui is very pleasant and also has a couple of enjoyable beach bars for food and drinks. You have to pay 200 baht for beach chairs for the day, but that is only $6 .

Things you need to know:  
-swimming from the beach at By the Sea is lovely, but you cannot swim at low tide because of the rocks; 
-the beach from end to end is nearly 2 km for walking and rubber beach shoes are a good idea for protection against sharp shells; 
-at the far end to the north the rocks have some beautiful crabs sunning themselves; 
-to the south there are several beach bars that serve good, inexpensive food and drink;  
-also to the south is a small shop with a limited selection of drinks, beer, chips etc. ; 
-in this same area they also do Thai massages on beds on the beach that are truly to die for, and I wish I had started having them earlier on in my trip (cost was 300 Baht - $9 Cdn. per hour)  
-when you take a trip to the supermarket you need to know that alcohol can NOT be purchased between 14:00 and 17:00 hours - someone guards the shelves so that you do not take them off!   - very fast and reliable Wi-Fi is available in your room and down at the restaurant; 
- the 20 m pool is great for swimming lengths and there is a smaller pool section for kids.

Yes, we would return and, as snow birds, our stay of 5 weeks was just not long enough.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea. Section level B was good. We had a/c. Rooms are very simple, plain and cle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank RozOakvile_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in March, as part of a travel package. It was an excellent choice for us. We did not want the night life of Phuket, and this hotel was right on the water on the "quiet" side of the island. We were able to swim in the pool or in the sea as much as we wanted. The breakfast was very nice, and the dinner menu was good. We ate there and at the local restaurant "on the beach". Yes, the local place was less expensive, and the portions were smaller, but that was okay for my kids. The difference in price was 80 Baht vs. 150 B ($3 versus $5 US...not much difference) and we liked the variety of places to eat! The hotel arranged taxis for us to take to Aquarium, but we did not use the free shuttle into Phuket.
All the staff were very pleasant, from the operational manager to the food and beverage manager. The staff were always busy tidying up the area. We really appreciated the attention to detail that the resort offered. We would love to return....if it was just a little closer to travel!

Room Tip: I would recommend a room in the "A" building if you want a view of the ocean, or the "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank cheeseheads92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Panwa hotels
1.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach
1.7 mi away
Kantary Bay, Phuket
Kantary Bay, Phuket
#1 of 12 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cape Panwa Hotel
Cape Panwa Hotel
#4 of 12 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Bandara Phuket Beach Resort
Bandara Phuket Beach Resort
#11 of 12 in Cape Panwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Mangrove Panwa Phuket Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Sea

Property: By The Sea
Address: 7/6 Moo 6 Soi Bor-Rae | Sakdidech Road, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Panwa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — By The Sea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
By The Sea Hotel Cape Panwa
By The Sea Cape Panwa, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing