We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little piece of heaven!”
Review of Cape Panwa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Panwa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2006

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank janeybgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,674)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,141 - 2,147 of 2,674 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2006

I stayed at Cape Panwa Nov '05 with my family and we all loved it. We stayed in one of the bungalows/villas which were absolutely lovely and well worth the extra money. We had villa 6 the closest to the beach and the view from our balconies was amazing.They are tastefully decorated, spacious, and extremely private.We had two bedrooms, two bathrooms (corner bath, shower etc) lovely lounge, small kitchen and balconies leading off from the lounge and two bedrooms. The maid came twice a day, in the evening bringing flowers to put on the beds.It was lovely waking up to the sound of the sea lapping at the shore.

The beach is really nice, very peaceful and hawker free. The hotel is built on a coconut plantation so the beach is surrounded by beautiful palm trees.There is a bar on the beach (The Bamboo Bar) which sells lunch, drinks etc and the staff are amazingly friendly. They quickly learn your names and treat you like old friends. Nothing was too much trouble and they loved to chat and learn all about you. You can only swim at certain times on the beach. When you arrive there is a timetable in your room giving you the best times to swim. You can go into the water at any time but the problem is at low tide you can walk out in the water for ages and the sea is still only up to your ankles. Also when the tide is low it exposes all the coral and rocks. Only at high tide can you swim easily as this is the time when there is enough water!. Some days it was only suitable to swim for about one hour but there is a lovely swimming pool on the beach if you want to swim outside of these times. We found this a small price to pay for such a beautiful private setting.It really was paradise.

Thai massage is available on the beach at aprox £5.50 per hour. Canoes are available for hire and cost aprox £ 3.00 per person.

Whilst we were there it rained quite a lot which was disappointing, but it was still lovely and warm. When it rains in Phuket it really rains!

We ate in a couple of the hotel restaurants and found the food to be very good, but our favourite place to eat was a small family run restaurant next to the Bay Hotel over the hill. The food here was just SO cheap and was excellent, infact it was the best food we had in Phuket.The place was always very busy which is a good sign.

If you want a beautiful setting, with peace and quiet and not much nightlife then Cape Panwa is an ideal choice. There is not very much outside of the hotel just a few restaurants etc but the hotel does runs a shuttle bus to its sister hotel "The Bay" just over the hill and to Patong (which is very lively especially at night). Taxis are also easy to get and very cheap compared to UK prices.At least this way you can enjoy the tranquil setting,have lots of peace and quiet but get a taxi to the action if you want.

There are plenty of trips that can be booked from the hotel or outside. We did the elephant trekking and sea canoes both of which were fantastic and highly recommended.

We all enjoyed our stay at Cape Panwa, and cannot fault the place in any way.Fantastic setting, friendly people with excellent service.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
26  Thank NATTYNOONOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
belfast, ireland
228
Reviewed February 28, 2006

Okay, first the good things: location of hotel is pretty good if you want to be away from the madness and tackiness of the main resort areas (about 25 mins to Kata and 40 mins to Patong). Its peaceful and has reasonably well kept grounds and there are a few nice vantage points around the Cape Panwa area itself to watch the sun go down. Suites (although slightly dated looking) have fabulous views of the Andaman sea and the lush tropical vegetation that surrounds this area. A visual feast for the senses first thing every morning when you pull back the curtains. Hotel bus services to Phuket town/Patong are reasonably priced and regular but be careful about ordering taxis from the hotel, they can be got cheaper further up/down the hill.

Now the bad things: Personally we thought the food in this hotel was very unexciting, bland westernised versions of Thai food and a staff whose attitude left alot to be desired most of the time (so much for the land of a thousand smiles...more like land of a thousand false smiles). God forbid if you complain about anything at Cape Panwa, you'll be punished for it for the rest of your holiday. It seems to me that most of the people who come to this hotel do so on a regular basis and eat in it all the time as well(for reasons beyond me). It seems to suit older people on packages whom I must admit staff seemed to get on with quite well, given that they see them everyday for about 3 meals, two or three times a year you'd like to think they'd get on. Anyway, we complained about our first two rooms: ants all over the bathroom (I accept in the tropics you'll get a few but they were absolutely everywhere including the bed...yuk), a rock hard bed (and I mean rock, there are more springs in a biro pen)not to mention the view of a building site. Eventually we felt we had no choice but to upgrade to the suite which did turn out to be much better. By that stage however the damage was done, stony faces all round every morn at breakfast (another depressingly dire event...Butlins in the sun anyone...anyone?). Overall this hotel could do with a good makeover, dated and shoddy round the edges I don't think it warrants the glowing reviews unless you've nothing half decent to compare it to and you want a package type experience looking at the same people each and everyday over breakfast, lunch and dinner. The beach is tiny and not that great, certainly not one of the best on an island of plenty although it does have the advantage of being private. Phuket itself: if you want tack you got it, however, you might want to consider the Canaries then which are only 3-4 hrs away instead of 12-13. If you're looking for that Thailand which appears on the front of travel books etc, forget it, Phuket is well and truely ruined beyond redemption. Furthermore, you'll have to haggle/barter for everything (except restaurants and shopping centres)which becomes quite tedious after a while; make no mistake, most people you encounter on this island want to rip you off or make a buck out of you. You'll need to get out around the islands and other parts of the country to glimpse paradise...I can assure you it exists and is just a boat ride away. On the food front, Kata has the best restaurants...try On the Rock and Mom Tri's Boathouse, one of the best restaurants we've ever been in (one reason to come back to this tack ridden island).

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2006

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Singapore
124
Reviewed January 31, 2006

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2006

Stayed: January 2006
17  Thank thegaffaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
219
Reviewed December 28, 2005

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Panwa
0.5 mi away
Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
0.1 mi away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 13 in Cape Panwa
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kantary Bay, Phuket
Kantary Bay, Phuket
#1 of 13 in Cape Panwa
1,300 reviews
25.3 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
5.4 mi away
The Vijitt Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Panwa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Panwa Hotel

Address: 27, 27/7 Moo 8, Sakdidej Road, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
#3 Spa Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range: $124 - $634 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Panwa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Panwa Hotel embodies tropical luxury in one of the world's most desirable destinations. Tucked away in a quiet corner of southeast Phuket, the villa is renowned for its excellent service, stylish rooms and exclusive swimming pool. Blending superbly with the natural beauty of the area, the hotel is comprised of a selection tastefully decorated suites and pool villas. Thailand's premier luxury chain of Villa and Serviced Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cape Panwa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Panwa Phuket
Cape Panwa Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing