We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Relaxing”
Review of Cape Panwa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cape Panwa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very Relaxing”
Reviewed February 8, 2009

A lovey hotel with a relaxing atmosphere. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The rooms are in need of a refurbish - especially the bathroom but it was OK all the same. There are a couple of pools and a private beach - all of which are great. It is a bit away from everything but that is what we wanted - to relax.

  • Liked — The relaxing atmosphere
  • Disliked — the distance from the town
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jdaizd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,530
    659
    231
    79
    40
See reviews for
513
1,485
50
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
maidenhead. uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2009

The positives:-
The hotel is in a great location for a quite holiday to completly relax and get away from it all.

The beach is great and private - a tip is to take beach shoes as the reef can be sharp.

The negatives:-
The hotel is a little dated and needs work. As an example, the sockets in our room were loose and came away from the wall, the bed was broken and we had to get this fixed, lock was old and broken on the patio door, the tv broke and tap on the bath was loose.

But you are staying at a three star and paying a three star price so you need to take let into account.

Would we stay again - probably not as for the same price Barbados was nicer. Nothing against the staff who are great.

In terms of eating the hotel has a monoply on the village and restaurants. But Sawadee and the Hill Top restaurant are great spots to eat and cheap. We eat at these approx every over day and no problems.

Out of the hotel restaurants Uncle Nans and the Panwa house were best.

  • Liked — The quiet location
  • Disliked — Room wasn't great
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rjtyrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, England
Level Contributor
146 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2009

Just got back from Cape Panwa Hotel (3rd Feb) and it was fantastic.
The Hotel is very clean and they are fixing the issues with the sun canopy's, these are being replaced with new ones, Some still have mouldy canopy's but this is not a problem as it keeps the 40 degrees of sun off you.

We are the kind of couple who complains when we need to and to be honest there is no need too. We did have a problem with our patio door which the maid left unlocked but this was rectified by Tim straight away and did not happen again.

We stayed in F block on the ground level and it was fine. You could just see the sea from the balcony but we are not ones for sitting on the balcony. If you was higher up you would have a clearer view of the sea.

The bathroom's are small and have a bath, shower (with removable head), toilet and basin.

2 small bottles of water are left in your room each day free and more can be purchased as there is a mini bar in the room but the Hotel does not mind if you get water, soft drinks and alcohol from the shop up on the hill.

The decking area by the pool is OK, I would not consider it too dangerous, but some boards are loose.

At about 07.30 most mornings the Hotels Monkey does his inspection of the pool area as he makes his way to wherever he hangs out for the rest of the day.

Varoon the pool boy is a great laugh, sometimes when I fell asleep on the sunbed he would creep up and tickle my feet or get a long piece of grass and wake me up. If you do go there please say Pat and Mark say Hello. He will supply you with 3 towels per person for your sunbed and these can be changed when needed, there is no charge for using their towels.

There are plenty of sunbeds around the pool all day and the only people who get up at the crack of dawn are us Brits, well 7.30am, but honestly there is no need too.

Hotel food is very good but quite pricey and a lot cheaper outside the Hotel.

The Nail and Pedicure shop up the hill (The first shop) are very cheap, about £4.00 for a foot scrub, massage of your feet and your toes painted, yes that £4.00 for both feet.

The best local restaurant we tried are Hill Top Restaurant , Sawasdee (on the seafront), Miss India and Jame's to name a few. The typical cost of eating out is about £14.00 that includes a large beer, Coke's and a 2 course meal, and that's for 2 people.

The Hotel supplies a free shuttle bus down to the sister Hotel on the seafront, My advise is take it as it is one hell of a hill to walk down and would be even worse coming back up.

The Aquarium down on the seafront is well worth a visit also.

Must Do's are Simon Cabaret in Patong (Lady boy Show), a visit to Patong, Bangla Road in Patong, and the islands, taste the local food from the stalls on the side of the road.

We went to see the Fantasea show and it was quite expensive - about £90 per couple. You are not allowed to take your cameras into the main show so they have to be handed in and the queue after the show is horrendous as it takes nearly 30 minutes to get your camera back. The food was ok, but not great. A buffet of oriental, indian and vegetarian food. There are elephant rides, white tigers and lots of shops to browse in. Before you go to Phuket, google the Fantasea show to look at the pictures.

Would we go back again? Probably but there are so many other nice places to see so who knows. Read the reviews and make your own mind up as to whether you go.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2009

This was our 2nd trip to Cape Panwa, the 1st being 10 years ago. We liked this hotel originally because of its quiet location and it was away from the tackiness of Patong.

This location is still ideal for those wanting a quiet and relaxing break. However we were sadly disappointed with both the staff and the appearance of the hotel, other than the staff and service at Panwa House which could not be faulted.

Although this should be an ideal family hotel the condition of the decking around the pool was dangerous, and the loungers were dirty with mouldy covers. The rooms and bathrooms are small and although cleaned on a daily basis were shabby and needed updating.

On the plus side all the food was excellent, especially Panwa House, however many people chose not to eat at the hotel due to the cost which meant sometimes you were the only people in the restaurants which was a shame as it lacked atmosphere.

For an alternative to eating at the hotel we would highly recommend the restaurant at the Sri Panwa which was only minutes away and they send a Tuk Tuk so you do not have to walk up the very steep hill! The food, service and atmosphere were exactly what we had expected in Thailand and what had been so sadly lacking in Cape Panwa. The cost for the food was comparable to Cape Panwa which considering the quality and amazing views was well worth the visit.

This could be an excellent hotel with some TLC and money spent to bring it up to date.

  • Liked — Panwa House
  • Disliked — Pool area and general shabbiness
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OxfordRicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, Surrey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2009

We too stayed at Cape Panwa over new year and will agree with all the things that have been said already. It was fantastic. We thought our room was great and cleaned beautifully every day with fresh towels if you wanted them. Yes, probably the hotel could do with a refurb but it was fine for us. The only negative thing I would say is that because eating and drinking in the hotel was so much more expensive a lot of people went out to eat at half the price. Therefore the hotel lacked atmosphere in the evenings. One good thing- the Lighthouse bar had 2 drinks for 1 after 9.30pm! Cape Panwa is also very quiet so if you want action stay in Patong! We also thought the Hilltop Restaurant (just up the hill from the hotel) served very good Thai food and the owner very friendly. Sometimes Swasdee in the village got very busy so this was a good alternative. Do also treat yourself to a meal at Panwa House (part of the hotel) near the beach - it was very good and not too expensive if you have the set menu.

An interesting evening trip out is to the market just outside Phuket town on a Sunday night. This is a taste of real Thailand and not a tourist trip.

Altogether a lovely relaxing break. We would definitely recommend Cape Panwa.

  • Liked — Comforable, clean rooms, smiling helpful staff. Quiet location.
  • Disliked — A bit isolated. Expensive food and drinks.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelholic27072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2009

We stayed at the Cape Panwa over New Year, this hotel is good value for money and is located in the much quieter southern part of the island. The property is a little dated and could do with some refurbishment, ie the decking area around the pool could do with being renewed together with some of the hotel furnishings and the bathrooms in the rooms could do with updating. However, overall, I cannot fault the hotel. Our bedroom was lovely although a little on the small side but comfortable and was cleaned each day to a high standard. The head of housekeeping inspected the cleaners work on a daily basis.
There was a good choice for breakfast with plenty of hot tea and coffee although young children should not be allowed around the buffet area for obvious reasons. When we ate in the hotel at lunchtime the food was good and freshly prepared.
The New Years Eve gala dinner was absolutely fantastic, the buffet far exceeded any others we have been to in previous years/ hotels throughout Asia. The staff had put so much effort in to making this event a great success. It was a really memorable evening and what a lovely setting in the grounds next to the beach – well done Cape Panwa you and your staff should be proud of yourselves.
The Thai evening on the beachfront again was absolutely lovely and the food was superb. Most evenings we caught the hotel shuttle bus and went down to the village we ate in Sawasdee on at least four occasions, the food was good and it was extremely cheap. We also ate at the fish restaurant on the corner, this was excellent and tiger prawns were delicious.
We went to Bliss on at least three occasions, this is the first thai massage parlour up the hill from the hotel, it was excellent value and much cheaper than the hotel. We also had manicures and pedicures down in the village which were extremely cheap.
We went on an excursion to Phi Phi Island and booked this through Mr Ola in the village this was less than half the price the hotel/tour reps were charging.
Overall, I would say if you are looking for a relaxing, good value for money holiday and you can look past the fact that the hotel is a little dated than you cannot go wrong.

  • Liked — the beachfront location
  • Disliked — how dated the property is
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HughesysNorthHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at Cape Panwa from 28th Dec until 11th January 09 and we had a fantastic time!!!

We were looking for a relaxing holiday and we were certainly not disapointed. I would not recommed the hotel/area for anyone wanting lots of bars and clubs as it is very remote but it was exactly what we wanted.

The hotel was lovely, the staff were very friendly except Tim who was the only english member of staff who was very rude, it made me feel ashamed to admit I was british as everyone of the Thai staff could not do enough for you!

There were always sunbeds on the beach but if you want a seat around by the pool then you have to be up early. There is another smaller pool at the other end of the beach which we used all of the time.

The breakfast was fantastic, so much to choose from. We only tried one of the hotel restuarants, Uncle Nan's an Italian which we were disappointed with. The food was ok and very expensive. I would recommend eating out in the local restuarants where the food is much nicer and cheeper.
We ate a lot at the Hill Top restuarant which is just at the top of the hill ( hence the name). The food was great, the Thai curry I would recommend. The staff own the massage shop next door, the foot massage was great, £6 for one hour of pampering.

One night we booked to see Thai boxing near Karon Beach, it was a great night but the taxi driver who was meant to pick us up did not arrive. I started to panic but one the staff there organised for us to get back. We were actually taken back to the hotel by one of the fighters, he was lovely!

The room was fine, it was clean and comfortable.

If you forget your travel plug ( which I did) then you can borrow one from reception free, as they are very hard to find in the shops.

The New Years Eve Gala which the hotel put on was good, the buffet was excellent. The show was not so good but it made a change from spending new years eve at home. There was a fireworks display at midnight. The night was topped off by my boyfriend proposing to me on the beach just before midnight. Guys.... a great way to propose to your girlfriend!!!

All in all we had a wonderful time and I would recommend it for anyone wanting a nice quiet break.

  • Liked — The view looking at the sea
  • Disliked — The air conditioning unit was loud
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank SurreyHoliday1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Panwa
0.3 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
0.5 mi away
Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Kantary Bay, Phuket
Kantary Bay, Phuket
#1 of 13 in Cape Panwa
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 13 in Cape Panwa
982 reviews
25.3 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
19.9 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Panwa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Panwa Hotel

Property: Cape Panwa Hotel
Address: 27, 27/7 Moo 8, Sakdidej Road, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cape Panwa
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Panwa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Panwa Hotel embodies tropical luxury in one of the world's most desirable destinations. Tucked away in a quiet corner of southeast Phuket, the villa is renowned for its excellent service, stylish rooms and exclusive swimming pool. Blending superbly with the natural beauty of the area, the hotel is comprised of a selection tastefully decorated suites and pool villas. Thailand's premier luxury chain of Villa and Serviced Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Panwa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Panwa Phuket
Cape Panwa Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing