We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”
Review of Cape Panwa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Panwa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2008

we returned 2 weeks ago from our second stay in 11 months and it was every bit as brilliant as the first time we went. the most amazing place. if you are trying to decide where to book and reading all the reviews then dont look any further and stay at cape panwa you wont be disapointed. if you love peace and quiet then this is the place for you. if you want to go partying everynight then stay in patong.
well cp is classed as being 4* some on here have said it should be 3* which i cant agree with i have seen alot of the big posh classy hotels on the the island and cp dosent fit in with them you could stay in any other 4or5* in phuket but you could be any where in the world. cape panwa has a certain charm that fits in with being in thailand. i have stayed in different 4&5* hotels in the world and i think cape panwa is more of a 5* than any of them.
the surrounding area of cp is very laid back and quiet just a few shops restaurants and bars the sunset bar being the center of the village at night almost everyone goes down there for a drink
it is owned by russel and wasana nice people he will arange a day trip to banana beach good place for snorkeling and watersports absailing banana boats etc.... with abdul on his long tail boat he is fantastic abdul will also take you out for the day anywhere you want to go.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dianeengland2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,630)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,957 - 1,963 of 2,631 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2008

Reviews on this hotel are accurate. I can't understand those who found the hotel 'tired' in places, maybe there are some rooms somewhere that need a little fresh paint, but mine certainly didn't require it.

Hotel food good, Otter bar excellent, obviously more expensive. Sawsadee first class, five star, cheap, cheerful, and a good way to get to meet people and learn the ropes. Top of the Hill also good but only ate there once. The shuttle service to villiage is excellent, every 10 mins, 'Thai' time!!!. Not much in the village, sister hotel, heard good reviews about food, but personally did not try out. The Lodge at CP is also first class, excellent service. Sandi & Jenny at beach bar excellent, very friendly, cant do enough for you, food good and cheap if you want lunch. Jenny seems to know everything and everyone and you can book trips, taxi's etc through her at less cost than the hotel rep. She checks details and speaks to you the following day to ensure all went smoothly.
Siam Elephant Safari half day, good value and fun. Simon Caberate show good, and Fantasy show, beware parents, every parents nightmare as there are stalls full of temptations for children, spend spend I want I want. Not comfortable with performing elephants, but they all seemed healthy and it was good to see them being fed after the show.
Beach is very clean and safe and as it is private only occupied by hotel guests, not troubled by anyone trying to sell you goods.
Good laundry service at back of hotel, up the hill. Bliss massage, excellent, cheaper than hotel spa. Gym good and airconditioned, pool very clean. Free beach towels and for pool changed as many times as you wish during the day. 2 small bottles of water each day courtesy of hotel and much needed. Negotiate tuc tuc and taxi prices prior to going anywhere or speak to Jenni on beach. There are about 200 plus steps down to the beach, but the little tram takes you down comfortably and effortlessly and brings you back, free of charge.
So much to think of to write, but have fun experiencing for yourself, a definate must return and will do. However, not next year, so much to see and do in the world.

All in all a very pleasant experience. Oh I emailed the hotel prior to going to ask for a room on E Wing, which I picked up has the best views. They kindly emailed back to say, E Wing was full but they would find another suitable room - they did F wing 2nd floor room 209, brilliant and I emailed to say thank you on my return. Most name lists are not given until about 2/3 days before your departure, but no harm in emailing with your dates earlier then nearer the time to remind them of your choice.

Quiet area, not like Patong and Phuket town, but we really enjoyed the experience and quiet.

Enjoy ........

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Scotty8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2008

We have just returned from 3 weeks at Cape Panwa. This was our 5th visit, but definitely will not be our last. Over the years we have got to know the staff there and it is like visiting family when we return. There is always a friendly greeting when you meet any of the staff and they make you so welcome that you hate to leave. There is a lovely private beach as well as a pool to relax around and a fitness room for the more energetic, but my favorite has to be the spa. This year we nearly did not go as my husband has been quite ill and we thought the journey might be too much, but he so wanted to go that we booked up and set off hoping for the best. It has been well worth it as he is so much improved. The staff were so kind to him and made every effort to make things easy for him,including arranging a room with no stairs to negotiate. If you are looking for a little bit of heaven on Earth then Cape Panwa is the place to go.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bellaslass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2008

I have just returned from two weeks in Thailand and have to say I have had the most fantastic holiday ever. We spent the first four nights in Bangkok which is an amazing city and very easy to get around. The remainder of our holiday was spent at the fabulous Cape Panwa Hotel.
Like many others I would have checked for people’s reviews and photos on a regular basis on this site and have to say that we could not find one fault with the hotel.
We got a fantastic room with a seaview and everything in the room was spotless. Having done a lot of travelling around the world, the Cape Panwa resort is the most relaxing and secluded we have ever visited.
The staff were fantastic and always there to help you and never expecting anything in return. The food was never ending and superb in the hotel. Okay we went down to the village a couple of nights and went to the Sawadee Restaurant ... it was okay, but not a patch on the restaurants in the hotel. I know they were a bit dearer, but you get what you pay for and the variety is endless.
The music in the hotel was great with the band playing in the Lighthouse Bar each night and people could get up and sing if they wished.
Sandy and Jennifer at the Beach Bar were great and always at hand to help you. Simon in the Otters Bar and Restaurant made our dining there very memorable and Pansa was great craic each morning at breakfast.
The shuttle bus up and down to the village was a great idea, as was the small tram to bring you to and from the beach. The private beach and pools were fantastic.
Our check out time wasn’t until evening time and they even have a courtesy room where you can have a shower and have some snacks before you leave.
We done a trip to a Coral Island with the hotel boat and it was super. We also went elephant trekking and it was great.
The spa in the hotel was also magnificent with the treatments a fraction of the price you would pay at home.
I have to say there are not too many places I would go back to as we try and go somewhere new each year, but Cape Panwa is definitely a place we will return to. Absolutely fantastic place and people ... a little piece of heaven on earth.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Shazbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2008

If you want a quiet and relaxing holiday then then you can't go far wrong with the Cape Panwa. The rooms are nice but in need of an update, looking quite tired and dated. The pool is good and the private beach is excellent. There are a number of restaurants on site or at the sister hotel which can be reached by the free shuttle bus. Staff are very friendly. If you want night life this is not the place to be.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dusty2dusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2008

We have just arrived home from a wonderful 2 weeks at Cape Panwa. The hotel has an elegant yet relaxed feel to it. Our room was on the top floor of F block - would suggest that E and F blocks offer the best direct sea views. The rooms are spacious and very comfortably furnished with good facilities. Our view of palm trees and the blue sea was fabulous.
Breakfast is buffet style with a huge selection - everything from eggs to fried rice and noodles! Previous reviews have complained about slow coffee service but we didn't experience this.
We ate at the hotel restaurants a couple of time. Cape Panwa on the beach was superb. Cafe Andaman was also very good. We also ate at the sister hotel's Italian restaurant, Uncle Nans and this was surprisingly good. Check out the various bars for the buy one get one frees on all drinks, including cocktails. We didn't realise that all the restaurants do a very reasonable set meal (720 baht each). If we had known this we would have also gone to Top of the Reef - it's A La Carte menu looks good but more pricey than the others.
Otherwise we ate outside the hotel, the Hilltop and James Seafood restaurants at the top of the hill and Sawadee (probably the best of the rest) and the Indian restaurant in the village. If you can, make the effort to go to the Natural in Phuket Town. Great food in a treehouse setting. We did the hotel bus to Patong one night - a madhouse. You will be glad you are at Panwa. You can get cheap DVDs, tee shirts etc there and have a photo with the Ladyboys.
Most of our evenings were spent at the Sunset bar in the village. This is owned by a British guy, Russell and his partner Wasana. They are lovely and will advise on local trips and restaurants. We went with Russell to Banana Beach which was great fun - expecially as the dog went along. Don't book anything until you've spoken to Russell. We had a lot of fun in his bar - without it we would have struggled as at this time of the year the hotel is only a 3rd full and there is no other nightlife as such in Panwa.
Our days were mostly spent on the beach. It is a beautiful beach and so quiet. It is also private so you are totally uninterrupted. Take note of the times of the tides in your room. It is spot on. When the tide goes out you can walk up the sea wall and check out some of the coral which is returning to life and the fish (be sure to take bread from breakfast to feed them). We had every intention of exploring further afield and maybe doing James Bond island but the Cape Panwa beach was so lovely we didn't bother. We did take the hotel bus to Central Festival shopping mall which is ok for a few hours, western style shops and supermarkets.
We came back from this holiday buzzing - it is a long journey but more than worth it. Cape Panwa is a wonderful hotel, elegant and classy but not ostentatious. The staff are first class. Things can get a bit crazy in Russell's bar and the people are fun but the main memory of our time there is RELAXING. It was one of the best holidays we have ever had. We would love to go back there one day.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WarwickshirePussycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2008

We booked a trip with Kuoni - 4 nights in Hong Kong, 6 nights in Phuket and 4 nights in Bangkok.
After the hustle and bustle of Hong Kong we were really looking forward to some peace and quiet and relaxation and Cape Panwa does not disappoint!
We arrived and were immediately provided with vouchers for a free drink, free massage and free day trip to Coral Island.
The staff are so friendly and helpful and go out of their way to make you fell at home.
All the restaurants have seperate vegetarian menus and the food is fantastic in all of the restuarants (don't forget the restaurants at the Kantary Bay hotel which is also part of the same resort - there is a free shuttle bus up the hill to this hotel and back again, I think it runs every ten minutes or so).
They do add 7% VAT and 10% service charge to everything but we went to our fave restuarant Top of the Reef one night and my boyfriend had about 5 or 6 glasses of wine and 2 beers and I had about 5 or 6 cocktails plus a 5 course meal and I reckon it only cost about £70 in all including charges etc!
Beautiful beach although there's lots of coral etc when the tide goes out so you can't swim or paddle but it's cool to walk along and look at the fish etc. Nice pool and nice comfy rooms - nothing over the top but perfect for us.
Beautiful miner birds singing everywhere and a fantastic buffet brekafast with most things you could possibly want!
There isn't much to do around the hotel except the beach and pool although there are plenty of trips you can take, buses to the town etc. However we didn't want to do ANYTHING and thoroughly enjoyed lazing about!!
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone - there are a few steps down to the beach but if you're not very mobile there is even a little tram that takes you up and down!!
An excellent place to stay and we'll definitely be back.
Please contact me if you'd like further info - also on Hong Kong and Bangkok.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Wack3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Panwa
0.3 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
0.5 mi away
Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 13 in Cape Panwa
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kantary Bay, Phuket
Kantary Bay, Phuket
#1 of 13 in Cape Panwa
1,283 reviews
25.3 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
8.4 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 9 in Karon Beach
2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Panwa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Panwa Hotel

Address: 27, 27/7 Moo 8, Sakdidej Road, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cape Panwa
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range: $110 - $573 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Panwa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Panwa Hotel embodies tropical luxury in one of the world's most desirable destinations. Tucked away in a quiet corner of southeast Phuket, the villa is renowned for its excellent service, stylish rooms and exclusive swimming pool. Blending superbly with the natural beauty of the area, the hotel is comprised of a selection tastefully decorated suites and pool villas. Thailand's premier luxury chain of Villa and Serviced Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotwire so you can book your Cape Panwa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Panwa Phuket
Cape Panwa Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing