We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big disappointment. Never again”
Review of Cape Panwa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Panwa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Big disappointment. Never again”
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Staff not friendly. Private beach busier than any public beach. Food are very expensive and low quality. Breakfast not good at all. We stayed in one of their best rooms. Signature suite but half the equipment were not working!

We had a bike accident and couldn't walk easily and each time contacting the reception they asked us to go there.

They were not even prepared to book taxi and they said we must use their own tax priced doubled than normal taxi.

We also booked a tour for a cheaper price from outside but the tour desk girl in the hotel found it out and cancelled our booking and have the same to us for 30% more expensive!!

Staff not friendly at all except the trainee girls.

Location: remote from everywhere except the aquarium!

We will never go back there again.

Very very expensive for where their are and what they are.

Ovace Miller

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ovace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, has shared your review with our team in our continuing efforts to provide enjoyable and pleasant stays for all of our guests all the time. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,529
    658
    231
    79
    40
See reviews for
513
1,483
50
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Advertised as Luxury, exclusive hotel with private secluded beach. Piccadilly circus would have been more secluded. "Private" beach was like Benidorm on a bad day,as the advert neglects to inform you that its also used by sister hotel. Breakfast was very good but dining in the hotel was average. The staff were pleasant but have found staff in other Phuket hotels happier. Not much around the area and what few restaurants were close to hand were average quality. It was a busy noisy hotel with loud music playing 4 nights a week in the restaurant overlooking the pool. Checked out after 2 nights and moved.

Room Tip: This was busy because of peak season, might be better off peak. Avoid the rooms above the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pokey333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, appreciates your feedback and has shared it with our team in our continuing effort to provide enjoyable and pleasant stays for all of our guests all the time. We’re sorry to have disappointed you. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Very disappointed with this hotel. I arrived and was shown to the first room. On opening the door the stale, foisty smell simply hit you, to the point you couldn't help but exclaim "What on earth is that SMELL??" I was moved to a different room, but as the room wasn't ready, I had to wait in a lounge. I was upgraded, however it has quickly become apparent that this room is empty because the air con is not working, a fact I have reported but no one seems to care....
In this day and age, I cannot believe that 5* hotels are still charging for internet access, but, I clearly expect too much from an expensive hotel.
I'm looking forward to leaving.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YCJ1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, has shared your review with our team in our ongoing efforts to improve our services and facilities. To clarify, the air conditioning is working normally but please note it takes a few minutes to cool down the room once it is turned on. Thank you again for your review and if I can help further please contact me at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

My Wife and I were for the first time in this Hotel but definitly not the last time. Because the rooms are very comfortable, the food is also very good. But the most important thing is the staff. Everybody is very very friendly! But almost We liked this young Manager (Damain Killer) every thing that we asked him or that we wished for our stay in the Hotel, did he brought us or looked that somebody else brought or organised it for us! From us a big big compliment for this young dedicated manager!

We hope that we met him next time again.

Brateslav Saudi

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, appreciates your positive endorsement and has shared your enthusiasm for our staff and dedicated Manager with them. We look forward to your soonest next stay with us. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a week in January. We had a junior suite on 3rd floor and the view was stunning The staff were so helpful (we moved rooms to get a better view and this was no problem) and were always polite and gracious .Room was spacious ,large balcony with double sunbed, fridge ,mini bar and very comfy bed.
The breakfast is really good, fresh fruit,omelettes etc. as well as a large selection of hot dishes. The view from the dining room is lovely.
We used the shuttle to The Kantary Bay Hotel, although it only takes 10mmins to walk there, but the hill is very steep. There are free coffee and almond cookies available all day which is a nice touch. We also used hotel bus to Phuket Town and Patong,this was reasonably priced.
Beach can get busy as guest from Kantary Bay also use the sun beds and towels are put on beds very early.
The Lighthouse Bar is a good place for a drink, there is happy hour every night and live music.
We had a couple of massages, they were very cheap and I can recommend Bua
We moved on to Ko Samui and Krabi. but this was by far best hotel we stayed in.

Room Tip: High floor for best vfiew.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
The Cape Panwa Hotel, is pleased to know that our property was the best hotel you stayed at on your recent vacation, and looks forward to welcoming you back again soon for another enjoyable and pleasant stay with us. Thank you for your positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

What a superb occasion Valentine's Night dinner at the Top Of The Reef Restaurant was, enjoyed by guests from both Cape Panwa and Kantary Bay Hotels alike. The venue was ideal, the menu well thought out and the food cooked and presented to perfection. Last but not least, the staff were highly professional and were clearly enjoying the occasion themselves.

To get the best from the staff at this - and almost all other hotels - a smile, a please and thank you and, if exemplary service merits it, a modest tip will make a holiday memorable. Much of this applies to interaction with fellow guests - a friendly chat will elicit details of , hardly secret:
Happy hours
Shuttle bus
Local buses
Dinner coupons
Free deliveries to your room from Robinsons department store
and much more

Same table next year Tim, unless compulsory euthanasia for the over sixties is introduced.

Cheers

Dogmanbrian

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, thanks you for your descriptive and informative review which should assist other readers in planning their stay with us. Your positive mention of staff, some by name, has been noted and shared with them. We look forward to welcoming you back again at the same table next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2014

My husband and I first visited Cape Panwa during a tour of The Far East in 1998, we have just returned from our 5th visit, each time being that bit better than the last.
This time we stayed for 3 weeks in a Cape Suite, which overlooked the beach, the room and balcony was spacious and very well appointed. Linen was spotless and changed daily and any minor problems that arose were dealt with efficiently and quickly.
The dining staff many of which were trainees were extremely hard working and always had a smile, nothing was too much trouble. The standard of food was of a very high quality and the special theme evenings three time a week were of exceptional value.
We found the ones working in the beach area always attentive and helpful moving sunbeds to a spot of our choice, which in no way was overcrowded or noisy, making sure we were comfortable prompted us to write this short appraisal.
The standard of cleanliness was also very apparent, everywhere was very well maintained the surrounding grounds and the two pools both the water and the immediate area.
During the time we were there two weddings took place on the beach, where else would one see the brides party walking across golden sands led by a baby elephant.
Although this is probably not everyone's view it is certainly ours, why else would we travel that distance if we didn't enjoy it.
Hopefully we will revisit many more times and would certainly recommend anyone who is thinking of booking a holiday to Cape Panwa to be assured they won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: The ones facing the beach caught the early and midday sun, but ideal after 3.00pm, which suited our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, appreciates your sharing your observations with us and our readers after your recent 3 week stay with us. Your feedback should be helpful to other readers thinking of a holiday on Cape Panwa for an enjoyable and pleasant stay. Thank you for your positive endorsement and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Panwa
0.5 mi away
Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
0.2 mi away
Kantary Bay, Phuket
Kantary Bay, Phuket
#1 of 13 in Cape Panwa
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 13 in Cape Panwa
981 reviews
25.3 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
19.9 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Panwa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Panwa Hotel

Property: Cape Panwa Hotel
Address: 27, 27/7 Moo 8, Sakdidej Road, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cape Panwa
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Panwa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Panwa Hotel embodies tropical luxury in one of the world's most desirable destinations. Tucked away in a quiet corner of southeast Phuket, the villa is renowned for its excellent service, stylish rooms and exclusive swimming pool. Blending superbly with the natural beauty of the area, the hotel is comprised of a selection tastefully decorated suites and pool villas. Thailand's premier luxury chain of Villa and Serviced Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Cape Panwa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Panwa Phuket
Cape Panwa Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing