We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Phuket, away from the madness”
Review of Cape Panwa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cape Panwa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Our stay in Cape Panwa Hotel was good. The rooms spacious with nice decor and furnitures. The jacuzzi in each rooms was excellent. The bathroom was really nice, it had a shower as well as a good bath tub. The location of the hotel is perfect, with quiet a private beach and tram facilities from the lobby to the beach and back. This was something different from other hotels. Though the staff are not fluent and comfortable in English, they are co-operative and helpful. Food was also good. The spa was excellent. The shuttle to Kantary bay every 20 minutes was a bonus as we could have some fantastic Thai food over there. Since the location is away from the main city, the hotel has made good arrangements for their customers to be provided with services that may be necessary. Overall, I would say that this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanjana133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, appreciates your sharing your thoughts with us and our readers and looks forward to your next stay with us. Your thoughtful mention of our co-operative and helpful staff has been shared with them. We look forward to your soonest return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,677)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,182 - 1,188 of 2,677 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

We could not fault this amazing hotel. 5 Days was not enough. Staff are brilliant and activities A+. The pools are great and beach is beautiful. My 2year old son loved the shuttle bus to the shops and little train that takes you to the beach. We also loved the daytrip to Coral Island with crystal clear water. We have stayed in a few hotels during our visits to Phuket and would rate Cape Panwa Hotel as the BEST. We will be returning when we return to Thailand.

Room Tip: Most rooms are very well located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rudi d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, looks forward to your return on your next stay in Phuket and thanks you for your positive endorsement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We just checked out of here after a wonderful 6 night stay. We stayed in a Junior Cape suite which was sublime. Great space, walk in robe, great master bath & huge king size bed. I will say the outdoor balcony which is sizeable & includes a spa is a little run down & could do with a spruce up. Value for money was brilliant (100AUD a night), breakfast was plentiful, dining options many within the resort, additional services such as transport to local attractions really handy! Heaps of cheap massage options up the road, try Baan Thai Spa- quality! This resort is 20mins from Phuket town & about 30mins from Patong, it is not in the hustle & bustle of Phuket which was perfect for us who wanted to chill. It has a private beach only for hotel patrons which is a wonderful inclusion. The staff were really attentive & helpful. We had a truly great stay & would return! P.S try the Thai cooking class it's brilliant :)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louie_slippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, is pleased to have met your expectations after your recent 6 night stay with us. Your appreciation of our attentive, helpful, and friendly staff has been shared with them. We hope to see you again soon for another stay in which to chill out when you return to Phuket. Thank you for your appreciative commentary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

From the moment I arrived with my 2 teenagers we to felt very welcome all the staff are excellent and I would stay here again.The food and service is great and its good to be away from the hassle of Patong and Kata Beach. The resort has its own private beach which is fantastic and was not crowded in mid September.
Its no problem to grab a car/van and driver to take you anywhere on the island at a very reasonable rate.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, thanks you for your endorsement after your recent stay with us and is pleased to have your positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We spent nine nights at Cape Panwa Hotel in September and really enjoyed our time. We stayed in T wing in a Junior Suite which was spacious, had fantastic views, and importantly - great air conditioning! The room was lovely and clean, and had everything we needed.
Breakfast was included each morning and was very nice - a buffet catering to multiple nationalities. Watch out for the birds though - they are very brave and not at all shy about sneaking off with a strip of bacon from an unexpecting guest's plate.
We used the pool most days and also frequented the beach, lighthouse bar and Cape Panwa House which specialises in Thai cuisine. At this time of year it was all very quite - we were often the only couple in the restaurant/bar/pool etc, but regardless, there were heaps of staff on all keeping an eye out to ensure our needs were being met.
We didn't try the Cape Spa but did go to Sabai Massage which is about halfway down the hill. Just a little business run by a young lady and her mother, but impeccably clean and the massages were great There are quite a few wee businesses like this on the way down the hill, but we stuck with these guys as we found them so good. They also do laundry and are a great source of local information.
We were offered a complimentary trip to Coral Island with our package, which I think is probably quite standard. I'm not sure what I was expecting, but found Coral Island to be a bit disappointing - the beach was really dirty with broken bottles lying about etc. In saying this, heaps of people were having a fantastic time trying out all of the watersports on offer, so I guess its just down to what you're into. We decided to walk across from the main beach to Banana Beach on the other side. A lot quieter, Banana Beach is lovely and still has snorkling facilities etc.
The Cape Panwa Hotel is a bit out of the way so its worth considering whether this is the sort of holiday (relaxing bliss!) you're after. If you think you might like to get out and about a bit to see the sites, do some shopping etc I'd actually recommend staying somewhere like Kata or Karon in a nice beachside resort for a few nights and then transferring over to Cape Panwa to get away from the action and really chill out.

Room Tip: T wing appears to be newer than the other buildings - we found it very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, after your stay of 9 nights with us, thanks you for your informative review. Your thoughts and feedback as to our property’s location as a respite from the hustle and bustle of other locations in Phuket is appreciated. We look forward to seeing and serving you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We just went to Cape Panwa last weeks for a few nights and it was just perfect in every way.

After check-in we got escorted to our room, a Cape Suite, and when the staff opened the door we where blown away; it was just perfect. The view is spectacular from the big balcony with sun bed, chairs and jazzuci !

The decoration is very tasteful, not to much and not to little with a perfect harmony of colors. Big luxury bathroom with everything you need, a giant bed that turned out to be one of the best bed we ever slept in. And finally the pillow menu – a menu for pillows where you can chose the pillow that fit you the best.

We didn't feel much like leaving the beautiful room but when we finally did we found a big choice of restaurants, a big pool and a beautiful big beach area that you access with a little train. Nice detail.

And when we felt like seeing what was outside Cape Panwa we found out that the hotel is located at a area in Phuket where you get the feeling of peace, not like the rest of phuket where party is the main attractions.

The breakfast is big and just amazing, the restaurants are good and cheap for this kind of hotel. We had great french food in "Top of the Reef" viewing the night light at Andaman Sea - and fine thai food at the beach at "Panwa House" (a magnificent old Portuguese house).

So if you want a vacation in a luxury but relaxed hotel with "everything you need" - and in a peaceful area in Phuket, we highly recommend Cape Panwa. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jetaime K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, appreciates your sharing your feedback with us and our readers after your recent stay and thanks you for your positive endorsement of our property and its operations. We look forward to seeing and serving you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stayed many times in this resort. I live not too far away from Phuket and every time I have to go there, I choose to stay in this very special hotel.
There are quite good reasons for this : I usually choose the Cape Suite, a large accommodation with all commodities, comfortable and very clean, with attention to all details, large balcony, nice decoration and room amenities ; nothing is missing, really.
But the room itself, at least for me, is not the most important thing when choosing a place to stay : I love cape Panwa because of it's beautiful natural settings, opening on both sides of the hill to very nice beaches and a panorama of islets rising up from the Andaman sea. The gardens from the hill where most buildings are located, down to the coconut plantation by the sea, are as well an important part of the overall quality of this very exquisite tropical resort.
The other reason why I love to stay here is because the staff is genuinely nice and smiling, polite and attentive ; I have been in so many places where, either we are not treated with enough respect or attention, and others where service soon becomes intrusive, where smiles are a clause in the employment contract signed when hiring staff :-)))
At Cape Panwa, everything goes smoothly, everyone around knows how to attend to guests needs, and all smiles are sincere.

Restaurants are not expensive and the quality of the food is excellent : I particularly like the Panwa House - an old and beautiful mansion next to the beach, all decorated with rare antic thai furniture, giving to the visitor a taste of the ancient finest Siamese culture and cuisine. Outdoor dining there, next to the beach and surrounded by all the coconut trees, on a breezy night, is just fantastic.
Last but not least, whoever knows Phuket knows that this island has lost it's soul these last years : Cape Panwa Hotel is located out of all the busy mess of the rest of the island, offering one of the last pristine spots in Phuket: that is probably the main reason why I always come back here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Homere H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, appreciates a regular guest sharing a review with us and our readers. Thank you for your descriptive and informative mention of our ambiance, facilities, location, services, and our genuinely attentive, smiling, and polite staff. Your thoughtful appreciation of our staff has been shared with them. We look forward to your soonest return for another stay with us. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Panwa
0.5 mi away
Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
0.1 mi away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 13 in Cape Panwa
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kantary Bay, Phuket
Kantary Bay, Phuket
#1 of 13 in Cape Panwa
1,302 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Vijitt Resort Phuket
25.3 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Panwa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Panwa Hotel

Address: 27, 27/7 Moo 8, Sakdidej Road, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cape Panwa
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range: $122 - $619 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Panwa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Panwa Hotel embodies tropical luxury in one of the world's most desirable destinations. Tucked away in a quiet corner of southeast Phuket, the villa is renowned for its excellent service, stylish rooms and exclusive swimming pool. Blending superbly with the natural beauty of the area, the hotel is comprised of a selection tastefully decorated suites and pool villas. Thailand's premier luxury chain of Villa and Serviced Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Panwa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Panwa Phuket
Cape Panwa Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing