We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aug 2013”
Review of Cape Panwa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Panwa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Hotel room & food service excellent only down fall was how expensive and remote hotel is.
No WiFi in rooms money exchange rate poor, phone calls charged by the minute 2 secs over you get charged for full minute. More shuttles should be provided by hotel to visit Phuket/Patong area otherwise cab takes 40min and approx $40-50 Aud to get anywhere per trip
Mattress in room hard work up every day very stiff.

Overall very clean tidy and staff very friendly

Room Tip: Request ocean view & spa otherwise you get put in inferior room
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 11Bubbles11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, thanks you for your feedback which has been shared with our team while your mention of our friendly staff has been shared with them. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,612)
There are newer reviews for Cape Panwa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,158 - 1,164 of 2,612 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

Three years ago we stayed at Kantary Bay, the sister hotel and decided to upgrade this year. The service at this place is exceptional, nothing is too much for the dedicated and friendly staff. I had the misfortune to be stung by a huge tropical bee towards the end of my time there and the immediate attention of the staff, including being whisked to hospital by the driver and hotel manager, was second to none. The breakfasts were always worth getting up for - such an array of choice and fresh cooking! People complain that the hotel is far from the main action but I regard its distance from places like Patong to be a plus. The area is a green oasis of calm, on the seafront, with local restaurants and massage premises, aside from the hotel facilities of restaurants, shops, bakery, transport between hotels, beach, etc. Even the Phuket Aquarium is on the doorstep. To get to Phuket town, jump in a local cab and the driver will wait till you finish eating/shopping (no matter how long) and whisk you back for a super reasonable 800 baht (£16). On the downside, the premises are in need of some updating, particularly some areas of the pool where I noticed chipped tiles. Sometimes our shower cap and towels were missing, but there was always a cheery person ready to make good. Nothing is too much trouble for anyone. All in all, amazing value for money. We very rarely return to the same place twice, but we shall certainly be returning to what feels very much like a home from home.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cp1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, is pleased to have your descriptive and informative review shared with us, which should also be very helpful to other readers deciding where to stay in Phuket. Your thoughtful appreciation of our friendly and helpful staff has been shared with them. We look forward to seeing and serving you again when you return for your next stay with us. Thank you for your positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Overall We had a good experience at the Cape Panwa Hotel. I think the service was great, the breakfast was well done and the general food and cocktails at the hotel were very nice. The hotel has a private beach which is absolutely beautiful. There is a dock about 150 meters offshore that you can swim to and sun bath. They also have free kayaks as well which my girlfriend and I really enjoyed. Additionally, if you want to chill out there are loads of beach chairs. Since it is a private beach you don't have to worry about your belongings being snagged.
I would like to point out that the concierge service really made an effort to find us the best last minute options for an island hopping excursion even though everything being full. Despite us asking 1 million questions the woman was friendly and had a good attitude the whole time.
I think one thing that disappointed me is that considering that this place charges nearly $300 for ocean view suites the rooms really disappoint. The views are obviously fantastic from the suites, but the rooms feel like they were not renovated for 20 years. All the wooden panels on the balcony were rotting as well as the furniture on it. I also noticed around the hotel as well whether it be flooring or paneling there just happened to be rotting wood. Maybe it was just the need for renovation, but it made the room feel a little dirty even though it probably wasn't. The unfortunate thing about the poor condition of the hotel is that the service is really excellent and the lack of renovation takes away a little bit from the hotel. Even around the pool or in the dining areas the furniture was not in great shape.
One last thing I'd like to point out is that the website gives the impression the hotel is quaint and small to medium sized. The hotel is more of a medium sized resort and is much larger than I expected making it feel a bit busy at times. That being said the size did not effect the good time I had, just was different than what I expected.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rafaelnemet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, thanks you for sharing your informative review with us and our readers. Your positive appreciation of the overall service and the Concierge service, breakfasts, food and cocktails in general have been shared with our staff. We look forward to your return. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The best beach hotel in the World made special by, all it's staff who are so very friendly speaking good english and cannot do enough for you. We go back time and again and it is really like "Going Home". It has it's own private beach with grassed areas behind if you prefer to lay under the palm trees or umbrella for that vital bit of shade from the Thai sun.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janbro6365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, always appreciates positive comments and thoughts from our regular guests and looks forward to seeing you again on your next return to ‘home.’ Your positive mention of our attentive, friendly and helpful staff has been shared with them. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

RECOMMENDED with reservation: This was for a business conference and I denote I'm not typically a resort person. This property, like most resorts, make it difficult to get away from it. It's 30 min into Phuket town and an hour if you want to go to Patong (though not worth the journey). Nothing is near by.

Check-in was painfully slow and highly disorganized, classic Thai. Rooms are in various outlying buildings. Room size is very good and generally nicely appointed with a sizable patio area. A/C worked well, not drafty. Bathrooms were large and equally nicely appointed. The doors are easily slammed as a group spent one evening slamming the door as they ran from room to room. Beds are extremely hard, typical Asian. Some units have nice views, others a view of another building, all relatively minor - but I saw enough.

As others have noted, cleanliness is a tad lacking here. The housekeeper merely tidying up versus cleaning was my opinion. A walk of the property noted random trash, room service dishes not cleared.

We had breakfast and lunch in restaurant. The bfast buffet was adequate, nothing over the top, but also not horrible. Similar for lunch. Anticipating your needs wasn't a strength of the service team and you had to ask for everything.

The work out area is small, adequate with a limited view. The private beach area is quite nice (as others have noted), calm seas and clean sand (no trash noted). The large pool sits right next to the restaurant, so you're on view to all the patrons at their meal.

This property attracts a diverse international audience and unfortunately the property is marketing themselves to mainland Chinese. While money'd and usually educated, this group needs some education on how to behave and not always the most pleasant to have in your property.

The Thai people are always very nice and I experienced only helpful staff. However, this is a local property and lacks some of the finesse that you would find in an int'l run establishment. Some maintenance issues noted along the edges, but nothing serious.

Internet is an extra cost utilizing a daily coupon you obtain at the front desk. Despite the extra hassle, speeds were generally good (2 mb up/down) and worked without issue once logged on.

Overall, no single attribute kills the property, however, the combo of all things left me with impression that mgmt just wasn't on top of things.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank roadwarrior30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, appreciates your sharing your thoughts on your recent stay with us, which have already been shared with our team. Your mention of our helpful staff has also been shared with them. As a road warrior, not disposed to spending time staying at resorts, we thank you for your qualified endorsement and hope to see again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

After some early issue re our room which were quickly sorted out, the rest of our stay was awesome. The rooms are beautiful and roomy. Stayed in a Signature Cape Suite which gave a fairly uninterrupted view of the Andaman Sea. Very quiet hotel and the grounds are immaculate. Take the travelator or walk down to the private beach with loads of sun lounges or lay by the beach front pool or stay uphill and lay by the pool in a cabana. The restaruant at this hotel are all good and the food and drink prices were very reasonable. Most rooms appear to have outdoor jacuzzi and sunbeds. Shuttle runs from the hotel to the little town area every 20 mins. This hotel is well away from the maddening crowds so if your not into relaxing, swimming and reading a good book be prepared to pay for taxi into shopping areas.

Room Tip: If you can afford a little extra and are looking for a nice view go for the Signature Cape suite. o...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluesuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, is pleased that you took the time to give us your informative thoughts on your recent stay with us. We look forward to seeing and serving you again on your next stay with us. Thank you for your positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed at Cape Panwa at start of August and had a great time. Spent a week in a family suite as travelled with 2 children. The suite was enormous and very spacious. Hotel grounds are very well maintained and it looked as if the sun loungers next to the pool have all been renewed. Breakfasts were very good as was the food at the beach cafe where we had food most days. It is a quiet resort but after a few Hectic days in Bangkok it was a great place to chill out on the fabulous beach. Had some rainy days but we were in the rainy season. We will certainly stay here again if we get the chance to come back to Phuket again in the future.

Room Tip: Go for a cape suite, block f very good.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

The Cape Panwa Hotel, Phuket, thanks you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us and looks forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Panwa
0.3 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
0.5 mi away
Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 13 in Cape Panwa
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.3 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Kantary Bay, Phuket
Kantary Bay, Phuket
#1 of 13 in Cape Panwa
1,279 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Panwa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Panwa Hotel

Address: 27, 27/7 Moo 8, Sakdidej Road, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
#3 Spa Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range: $110 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Panwa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Panwa Hotel embodies tropical luxury in one of the world's most desirable destinations. Tucked away in a quiet corner of southeast Phuket, the villa is renowned for its excellent service, stylish rooms and exclusive swimming pool. Blending superbly with the natural beauty of the area, the hotel is comprised of a selection tastefully decorated suites and pool villas. Thailand's premier luxury chain of Villa and Serviced Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cape Panwa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Panwa Phuket
Cape Panwa Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing