We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel I have stayed in for many years”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Panwa Boutique Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2013

What can I say, the place is falling to pieces, the décor and furnishings are more like a very bad 1 star bed and breakfast. It is definitely not a 4 star hotel. We initial booked in for 4 nights, however after one night we had to check out due the very poor hygiene standards of the room, and general run down state of the hotel. In addition the beach bar was closed, or should I say looked like it was just left to fall to pieces.

The room we stayed in was 430 which should be gutted immediately, toilet seat stained yellow with urine over the years, and the bathroom shower filthy with hair on the shower walls and floor. As for the furniture, well lets just say your more likely to win the lottery than find any decent furniture throughout this hotel.

The hotel was taken over a quite a while back by the Marco Polo group from the well respected Novotel Hotel chain. However it looks like the Marco Polo group are just letting the hotel rundown without spending any real money on maintenance, maybe they are planning a closure or major refurbishment at a latter date ?

They also need to check and change their details on the various commercial hotel booking sites such as "agoda" etc. as it is still advertised as a Novotel, with all of the original photos from when the hotel first opened many years ago. Which is what we thought we had booked and paid for, in the end we lost 3 nights money. Best to be honest and show recent photos and tell people that the hotel requires a major refurbishment.

Ended up booking into the Movenpick 5 star resort in Karon Beach, Phuket, for roughly the same price, which was a fantastic resort.

If the Marco Polo Group would like to show their professionalism and refund me for the lost 3 nights, it would be appreciated.

Room Tip: Best not to stay at present till Marco Polo Group sort out this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank International-Deal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PanwaBeachResort_11, General Manager at Panwa Boutique Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for writing a review on Tripadvisor and sorry to hear that the hotel was not up to your expectation.

First of all, I would like to reassure other Tripadvisor readers that the hotel is not falling into pieces. Indeed we are not a modern hotel but we are constantly carrying out maintenance in the rooms and public areas. I have personally inspected room 430 and the only maintenance needed in this room is some paint peeling from the cabinet. We currently have guests in this room and will put it on maintenance once they check-out.

As for the beach bar, we operate only when good weather. It has been raining for few days, hence there was no point to open the bar. Kindly note that the sunshine is now back in Panwa and the Coco Beach Bar is open.

I am not sure where you have seen the hotel still advertise as Novotel. Marco Polo is managing this resort since December 2011 and all Novotel information has been removed from all websites. As for the photos on Agoda, Booking.com etc... they have all been taken this year.

Regarding the comparison with Movenpick, indeed it is a 5 star hotel but so as their prices.
In August our lowest rate is Baht 1,900 while Movenpick is Baht 3,400.- per night.

We thank you for your comments.

Best regards,

Claude Sauter
General Manager
Panwa Beach Resort, Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (490)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

177 - 183 of 490 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

It was my first time in phuket and went their as a package deal with the tour agency. I read a lot of negative reviews of other hotels that were located near the strip (middle priced) so i chose this hotel instead and paid a lil extra. Although it was really far from the strip(20-30min drive) i loved the beach and the pool, even the staffs. They were always smiling and wlecoming. The room was ok. Clean but the furniture wasnt very updated. Though it was perfect since the pool was right out side as well as the beach. I loved that the beach was right down stairs from the pool. I would love to go back!! Wi-fi at the lobby sometimes doesnt work though it wasnt bothering as the staff were always there to reboot it.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graceeeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PanwaBeachResort_11, General Manager at Panwa Boutique Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for writing a review on Tripadvisor and thank you for choosing us on your first stay in Phuket.
We took note of your comment regarding the Wi-Fi in the lobby and we are currently addressing the issue.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to the Panwa Beach Resort, Phuket

With kind regards,

Claude Sauter
General Manager
Panwa Beach Resort, Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband and I spent our honeymoon at Panwa Beach Resort. We absolutely love every minute of it. We got the best room in the whole resort. Request room 104, it is literally steps from the sand and the only room where the whole length of the room faces the view of the ocean. The service we thought there was great. Our room was very modern and we had no problems with it.

Breakfast was always wonderful, they had a good mix of Western and Asian foods. I highly recommend eating at the little restaurant just south of the resort, literally just on the other side of the trees. A Thai man owns his own restaurant and it is SO good! Only about 3 dollars for a FULL plate of food. It looks deserted, but as soon as you yell out "hello", he comes out and serves you right away. The food is so so good. We ate there for dinner, and for lunch if we weren't out on an excursion.

We also recommend going to the little shack (yes it really looks like a shack) next to the restaurant that advertises boat tours. They the the middle men for big tour guy companies. My husband and I reserved a spot through them, and we went on an all day tour to the Phi Phi Islands and it was incredible. Going through this little hut is good though because we realized that we paid half (1.600 BHT instead of 3,200 BHT per person) of what everyone else paid, except we got the exact same experience as the rest of the people. I don't know how the guy can sell them so cheaply, but he does and we had such a great time!!!

I highly recommend this place. The whole resort is just beautiful. If you want more of a night life and party vibe, this is not the place for you. But it's the perfect place if you want to get away and have a peaceful vacation.

Room Tip: Choose a beach front or specifically room 104
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RZwingli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PanwaBeachResort_11, General Manager at Panwa Boutique Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with other Tripadvisor travelers.
We are glad to hear that you had an amazing stay and honeymoon at the Panwa Beach Resort and we are looking forward to welcome you back for your first year anniversary :-)

With warm regards,

Claude Sauter
General Manager
Panwa Beach Resort, Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The hotel has a private beach and is just located by the sea, so if you are looking for a hotel for taking a rest by the see without looking for opportunities to go around Phuket town this hotel is a good place for you. However if you would like to go around Phuket and enjoy the night life as well this hotel won't be very convenient and you will have to pay extra money to get to the attractions you want to visit. There is a nice SPA center and the therapists working in it did a great job ( we took advantage of a foot massage and Thai massage). The food at the restaurant was rather good, staff was kind however there were sometimes issues with their understanding in English which easily got sorted out. The prices in the hotel restaurant were much higher than the ones in the restaurants in Phuket town.The rooms were spacious however not renovated recently and you may get a little disappointed when you go there as they certainly look much better on the pictures. I have not been to other hotels in Thailand so I can't compare it to any others, but in my opinion the price was fair.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Veselka I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PanwaBeachResort_11, General Manager at Panwa Boutique Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.
We took note of your comments and this will help us to improve our services and facilities.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Panwa Beach Resort, Phuket.

With kind regards,

Claude Sauter
General Manager
Panwa Beach Resort, Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

My wife & I have just returned to the UK after our second visit to this hotel . Once again we had a wonderful time and were well looked after . On arrival we found our room had been upgraded , a few steps to climb but well worth the effort . The room was very well presented with a large bathroom and spacious lounge area but the real gem was the balcony with spectacular views across Chalong Bay and "Big Buddha" in the distance .The breakfast buffet was very enjoyable and seemed to cater for most people's tastes . The swimming pool has a beautiful setting, overlooking the sea and is great for adults and children , as for swimming in the sea we found the "best times to swim" chart in our room very helpful as the beach rocks are exposed at low tide .Happy Hour Evening Cocktails were enjoyed on the terrace and even enjoyed in the lounge when it rained big time ! The evening meals served were delicious and also enjoyed by our Thai family who came to visit , however may I point out that your cuttlery may look stylish but the knives don't work !

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spudog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PanwaBeachResort_11, General Manager at Panwa Boutique Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Gary,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with other Tripadvisor readers.
Thank you for coming to the resort for the second time and I know you already book your third stay in September 2013. :-)
I am waiting for you to play a pool game or 2!
Well noted for the cutlery, these are the small details that can make a big difference.
See you in September.

With kind regards,
Claude

Claude Sauter
General Manager
Panwa Beach Resort, Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

A perfect resort for enjoying spectacular views, accommodating staff and delicious food. The hotel was very helpful in providing last minute bookings for my family to visit and spend 2 poolside and beach fun-packed days. Our own room was spacious and well equipped. We only spent a few days here o this visit but will certainly be booking a longer break next time!

Room Tip: Some of the best rooms are at a high level with spectacular views. However, there is no lift so if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denise247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PanwaBeachResort_11, General Manager at Panwa Boutique Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Denise,

Thank you so much for the nice review. It was great to see you all as a big family reunion :-)
See you soon!
Kind regards,
Claude

Claude Sauter
General Manager
Panwa Beach Resort, Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last few days of April first few days of may, lovely place, staff outstanding, breakfast buffet good, easy stroll along beach, maybe 100 meters, good typical Thai beach restaurants, dinner/ lunch with drinks was less than £20 for two of us. Gem of a place. It is worth renting a moped £20 for 4 days, there is lots to do without driving on busy roads!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BilliNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PanwaBeachResort_11, General Manager at Panwa Boutique Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Billi,

Thank you very much for the nice review and for sharing with other Tripadvisor readers.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again soon to the Panwa Beach Resort.

Warm regards,

Claude Sauter
General Manager
Panwa Beach Resort, Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Panwa hotels
1.4 mi away
The Mangrove Panwa Phuket Resort
0.5 mi away
Bandara Phuket Beach Resort
Bandara Phuket Beach Resort
#11 of 13 in Cape Panwa
151 reviews
1.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
By The Sea
By The Sea
#9 of 13 in Cape Panwa
343 reviews
1.6 mi away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#2 of 13 in Cape Panwa
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panwa Boutique Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panwa Boutique Beach Resort

Address: 5/3 Moo 8, Ao-Yon Bay, Khao Khad Road | Wichit, Mueang, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Cape Panwa
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Panwa
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range: $62 - $549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Panwa Boutique Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The tranquil Panwa Boutique Beach Resort is a hidden gem situated along the natural beaches of Panwa in Phuket. This hideaway resort has a laid back tropical ambiance and exclusive seafront setting far from the well trodden west coast beaches, a sanctuary where guests can relax and rejuvenate amidst unspoilt natural beaches. Concept of boutique traveller in mind with a focus on service, guest get free WiFi, and free mini bar once a day and replenished on a daily basis. The sheltered beachfront overlooking the distant bobbing boats of Chalong Bay has pristine sands and gentle waves all-year-round making it a secure haven for romantic couples and families. The contemporary guestrooms have Thai décor highlights creating a warm and inviting space to unwind in style, just a few steps from the glistening resort pool and white sands. Offering numerous venues for dining and drinking, Panwa Boutique Beach Resort will tempt your taste buds with fresh seafood, authentic Thai cuisine and international delights. Be pampered from head to toe at our spa, explore the shopping malls and boutique stores in town just minutes away and embark on an unforgettable boat trip to many spectacular islands and beaches offshore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Panwa Boutique Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Beach Resort Panwa Phuket Hotel Cape Panwa
Novotel Cape Panwa
Accor Cape Panwa
Novotel Phuket
Phuket Novotel
Panwa Boutique Beach Resort Cape Panwa, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing