We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amatara Wellness Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed in Feb 2014 (2 wks after Chinese New Year) so the resort was very quite. We had an amazing room (pavilion), the pool is fantastic, food is great.

Good to know:
- 45 min drive from airport, luxe pick up 600$hk one way
- beach (directly at the resort) in nice but not as nice as Koh Samui or Cebu
- rooms are specious, clean and the overall design of the resort is amazing, very well maintained everything looks clean and brand new.
- lot of steps in the resort
- not particularly kid friendly, better suited for couples
- remote from city centre, so will spent most (or all like us) days in the resort or plan a daytrip to the outlying islands

Pros:

- room - pavillion seaview - AMAZING
- food / drinks resonable prices
- room - great, spacious, clean - amazing view balcony
- nice breakfast, free range / organic eggs & raw juices
- great pool!!
- mid feb: perfect weather, very quite
- airport transfer & warm welcome
- friendly & helpfull staff
- the grill amazing food quality & the thai food as well as breakfast
- Valentines set dinner really nice
- golf cart pickup readily available
- spacious, new and beautifully designed rooms. Clean & fresh design of the resort.
- allround free wifi, no password, really good


Cons/ to improve:
- not sure if it offers enough space at pool in peak-season (if like us you are not attracted to the beach places they can offer)
- (f&b) staff all very friendly, but too junior and could use training. Some spoke very poor English, even basic orders went wrong at poolside & breakfast.
- corona was out of stock for all off our stay, I would expect this class resort to be more resourceful and make sure stock is there when guests request.
- in general it would be a great improvement if more senior staff would be available to guide the juniors and assist in case of need.

In general it was the best stay so far, so in all highly recommend and hope to go back again!

Room Tip: Pavilion is good price - quality
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellen0309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentPhuket, Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Ellen0309,

Warm greetings from Regent Phuket Cape Panwa.

Thank you for posting your detailed review follow your recent stayed at our resort. How wonderful to read your stay with us was the best stay ever!

We are glad that you enjoyed with our resort facilities, spacious Pavilion, well-equipped amenities, free wi-fi, great food, fantastic outdoor pool overlooking the ocean, luxurious airport transfer, special Valentine’s dinner, friendly and attentive services.

Our location is certainly unique, located in an unspoilt corner of Phuket. You may find it is remote but the privilege is that it keeps our guests away from hustle and bustle of crowded tourists districts. We are glad that you spent almost of the time in the resort where you can choose from ranges of recreation activities to enjoy.

Clearly the incidents that you mentioned are atypical of the high standard of service we normally provide and for which we are renowned. Please accept our sincere apology for any inconvenience caused. And please rest assured that we are taking the feedback very seriously.

Last but not least, we are thankful for your constructive comments and look forward to your return in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,
Regent Phuket Cape Panwa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,025)
There are newer reviews for Amatara Wellness Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

634 - 640 of 1,025 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

We loved this resort it ticked all the boxes for us. We travelled as a family with our 2 teenage children and it was the best holiday we have had in recent years. The staff are amazing they couldn't do enough for us particularly the beautiful girls on reception who upgraded us from the sea view suites to the cape suites so we could be closer to the kids. The rooms were lovely spacious with stunning views of the Andaman Sea.The mini bar which was included was fantastic & was replenished every day. On arrival we also recieved a bottle of French sparkling wine which we enjoyed on our balcony one night before dinner.There was also a coffee machine 4 different types of tea and some Asian snacks. The beach bags in each room were a nice touch.Not forgetting also the brilliant laundry service 4 pieces per room per day free!
Breakfast was superb, a buffet which had homemade granola organic yogurt fruit, scrumptious pastries etc and you could also order a la carte. A favourite of ours was the scrambled eggs with marinated feta & avocado salsa, yum!
We also went to the Grill lounge which was beautiful & we all enjoyed it immensely. The Grill bar is amazing, the views, the ambience, the cocktails and they had happy hour every night between 6 and 7 pm .Everywhere we ate in the resort including around the pool was excellent.
We also had dinner down in Cape Panwa a few nights which is just a short walk from the hotel and is right on the sea. All the locals come out at night & there is night markets which was fun.
The infinity pool is absolutely beautiful with stunning views over the sea.
The beach was small but pretty. However the tide does go out early so between 9am & 12 is usually the best time to go.
We also did Yoga Tai Chi & the kids did Muay Thai boxing which they loved. Also the Spa experience was divine!
I could go on and on about this
beautiful resort! . We can't wait to return to this little slice of paradise.
I would like to thank all the staff at the Regent Cape Panwa for the wonderful service and smiles which made our stay so special and memorable.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentPhuket, Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Sunny Greetings Liz D!

You made our day with your review! Thank you for posting such a great review.

It was delighted to see you thoroughly enjoy your stay at our resort, facilities, location, spacious accommodation, amenities, pretty beach, superb food, wellness activities and our team members who had contributed into your experience with us. Our Regent Spa is one of the biggest ocean-viewed spas in Phuket, offering extensive ranges of treatments. It is wonderful to hear your spa experience was divine!

We are already looking forward to your & your family return to this beautiful 5 stars resort very soon.

Warm regards,
Regent Phuket Cape Panwa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Many thanks for some wonderful days with the family. Me and my wife stayed in one of the pool villas and and our children in a suite. The tranquil surrounding was just what we wanted. The service is excellent and the food great. We would be happy to come back!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank toni p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentPhuket, Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear toni p and family,

Warm greetings from Regent Phuket Cape Panwa.

Thank you for posting your complimentary review about our resort. It is great to see that your family getaway in Phuket was fantastic.

Yes, our resort surrounding is truly tranquil and glad to read that you also enjoyed the rest of the resort and our services. We hope to welcome you and your family soon again for another wonderful stay.

Warm regards,
Regent Phuket Cape Panwa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

the property and accommodations are pretty nice but i gave it a three for two main reasons. first, the hotel was very far away from everything so either you have to wait for the daily bus transport from the hotel which is v expensive n its just a van w a bunch o ppl not luxurious at all and then wait for it to pick u up to take u back or try n find a cab which is down outside on the main road as the hotel is on a private road.

the other main reason is we got to our room and a few hours later, although the room in and of itself was nice and modern, we took a shower and after a few minutes it started to flood because there is like a centimeter step between the shower and the rest of the bathroom and no step between the bathroom and the rest of the room. we called them to send maintenance as we foresaw a problem with this. the guy came after 30 mins, literally looked at it and waited (bc we weren't really watching) to make it seem like he did something, said it was fine n bounced.

The next morning, we took showers and after a few minutes the whole room started to flood which we didn't realize at first but then we had to hustle to get stuff out of our hair etc before it got worse. the water went EVERYWHERE. we called them and complained that we mentioned it the night before and clearly that tool of a maintenance man did NOTHING because the whole place flooded the next day. they didn't seem to care. so I called the front desk that i was not satisfied and wanted to check out and in the meantime waiting for them for 1.5 hours to collect our stuff to leave, which was also ridiculous.

when we finally got to the front desk they offered to upgrade our room, we agreed to take a look although we were pretty pissed. it was a small villa with a private pool, complimentary wine etc so we accepted and stayed. the bottom line is although they tried by compensating us, it was a very frustrating and stressful ordeal.

on top of that, the spa was always fully booked and second the food wasn't that good.

anyway, it was far away, crappy service, i wouldnt recommend or stay there again at all!!!

Room Tip: ya dont stay here
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentPhuket, Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Rachel C,
Sunny greetings from Regent Phuket Cape Panwa. Thank you for posting your review. Of course we were really disappointed to read that whilst you enjoyed some aspects of your stay with us it was not entirely to your satisfaction.

Please let us first apology for some of the inconvenience encountered. It comes as a sharp reminder that satisfaction cannot be tolerated at our level. The engineer that went to check your bathroom drainage problem did not fix the situation properly that day so it had happened again. We understood the problem was frustrating and we did not want to fix it while you were still in that room. Therefore we upgraded your room to the Pool Villa. We hope you did like our 150 sqm villa with a private pool, an outdoor terrace with sun lounge and dining area as well as Pool Villa’s benefits which include complimentary wine and soft drinks. Our Pool Villas are always popular. It could take some time to get the Pool Villa ready for you to move in. We are sorry that our Receptionist did not recommend you to enjoy resort facilities such as swimming pool, lounges or spa treatment while you were waiting. Your constructive feedback has been shared with relevant departments, as clearly we have not been as good as usual with your stay and we are truly sorry for it.

Our resort is about 50 mins drive from Phuket Airport, 15 mins drive from Phuket town or 30 mins drive to Patong Beach. The resort offers easy access to Phuket attractions. For those who would love to go on island trips, the resort is at a convenience distance to several piers. Airport Transfer service is offered with a private van, with limited of a maximum of 5 persons per van, which is with a lounge including minibar, iPad, MATV. Many of our previous guests took this service and it is proof that it is worth taking this service than to take risk of stich by local taxis.

We are sorry to hear that you had trouble booking the spa treatment as it always fully booked. You visited us in October, which is the beginning of our high season. We wish we could help you reserve the treatment prior to arrival to guarantee a stress-free and a delightful stay.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your feedback. We have acknowledged that not everything went according to our service standard. Please accept again our sincere apology. Let’s hope we can “regain our color” should you decide to return to us in the near future.

Warm regards,
Regent Phuket Cape Panwa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We had a wonderful stay in this delightful hotel in October. The room was beautiful and staff exceptionally helpful. The little touches, free laundry, mini bar made the stay extra special.

We had been a bit worried about the location being remote but it was perfect with some great little restaurants in easy walking distance.

The only negative point was that the beach wasn't great (not a big deal, we used the gorgeous pool instead)

Special thanks to delightful Bob who drove one of the little cars who really made our holiday very special. Also Pum and Aak who looked after us so beautifully at breakfast times.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lLittleMsWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentPhuket, Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear lLittleMsWanderer,

Sunny greetings from Regent Phuket Cape Panwa.

How lovely to read your reveiw. Thank you so much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor following your stay with us back in October.

We are glad to learn that you chose to delight at our huge outdoor pool, instead of the beach. Hope that you enjoyed refreshing drinks served at the pool terrace as well. You are comfort in our cozy room and appreciate the room amenities of free laundry, free internet and mini bar items. Thank you for your compliment of Bob, Pum and Aak who had gone extra miles to make your holiday so wonderful. We will ensure we pass this message to them.

We hope you had a pleasant trip back home and we certainly look to your return in the near future.
Warm regards,
Regent Phuket Cape Panwa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed just before the Chinese New Year. Not crowded at all, which was a bonus. The facilities are very nice, from the pool (which has a gorgeous view of the ocean) to the Library, a throwback to the old school hotels with clubby sitting rooms for a drink after dinner etc.

The rooms were very nice we stayed in a suite which was like a one bedroom apartment minus the kitchen. This is where things get negative. The resort was not packed, but they still gave us a room that had a view of the water in front of us(northerly view). The water goes in and out, its tidal, and a majority fo the time it just looks like a mud flat. Absolutely no complaints here if the resort is jammed, but why stick us there (also a far point from the center of things like restaurant beach etc)?

Complaint two - the location of the resort is very near a port or port like structure so you don't get the full 100% I'm surrounded by mother nature energy.

Complaint three - the beach was a shocker. Once you know the island of Phuket you realize that a majority of the good beaches are all west coast. We rented bikes and tooled around, and we rode over to the French hotel chain just before our resort. Better beach(when the water is in). But, if yo uwant the beach and the ocean, go to the west coast

Complaint four -we had a club package so we could have had breakfast every morning in a private lounge area above the ocean. Pretty cool little spot, but no one told us. We met a couple from the States who were actually visiting the property to review it, and they told us about the lounge access for breakfast. Why didn't the resort tell us?

The service was very good, overall, no complaints there. Everyone was nice, helpful and it was a relaxing trip. But, we spent money going over to the west side twice and checked out early to go over to a beach club on the west side our last day so we could hang out on the beach and swim.

I would not return to the resort, but only because it is on Phuket and I would only go to Phuket to hit the beach and ocean

Room Tip: ask for a room that looks east or south, not north
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crabjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentPhuket, Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Crabjunkie,

Warm greetings from Regent Phuket Cape Panwa.

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your detailed review on TripAdvisor following your recent stayed at our resort in late January.

We are delighted to read that you had a restful stay with us and our team members had provided you the excellent and attentive service.

We are sorry to hear that you were not appreciated about the room allocation. You stayed in one of our spacious Suites, which surrounded by tropical gardens. We believe that our team gave you that particular Suite with intention to provide the most privacy for you. In addition, your tranquil holiday will not be disturbed when it is the peak time at the restaurant or at the pool. You did not notice the crowed even we were having almost 80% rooms occupied during that time. We wish we could learn about this when you were still with us so we would be able to find another Suite for you.

We agree with you that the Phuket west coast is better than the east coast as it has white sandy beach. However, because of the unique location of Panwa beach, tucked in a tranquil corner of Phuket east coast, this keeps our guests away from hustle and bustle and safe from high waves. Many of previous reviewers enjoyed a true relaxation here.

Thank you for mentioning about the daily breakfast in a private lounge overlooking the ocean. This is one of the extra privileges for our Pool Villa residents. This intimate lounge called Regent Club where also serves coffee, tea and snacks all day as well as pre- dinner cocktails. As you were staying at a Suite, these benefits are not applied. We are sorry that our receptionist did not offer you to upgrade the room to Pool Villa to receive these exclusive privileges.

Should you plan for another restful holiday in Phuket, we hope to be at your service..

Warm regards,
Regent Phuket Cape Panwa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I will recommend this hotel for every couples. This hotel is not best for families. Hotel's peaceful athmosphere was much better without children. Restaurant were excellent. The beautyfull Grill Lounge was nice at warm night with cool cocktail. Speed of internet connection was very poor at pool area and pavillions. That was only sad thing at this wonderfull hotel.

Room Tip: Pavillions at evening sun side or clear view to offing.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaqVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentPhuket, Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear JaakkoV,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor, and will be an ambassador, recommending our resort to your others.

It is nice to read that you were delighted in the resort’s peaceful atmosphere. As you have experienced, our guestrooms are set amidst tropical garden, which offer utmost privacy to our guests. Although guests travel with family, our Kid’s Club located on a separate building features fun programs, a playground and a kid’s pool. Children can have a whole day fun there while their parents are relaxing by the huge outdoor pool or having a spa treatment.

Thank you for your comment about the internet connection. We take this as for our service improvement.

We hope you had a good trip back home and look forward to welcoming you at this wonderful resort again soon.

Warm regards,
Regent Phuket Cape Panwa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Panwa
0.5 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
25.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
25.3 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort
5.3 mi away
The Vijitt Resort Phuket
19.8 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amatara Wellness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amatara Wellness Resort

Address: 84 Moo 8, Sakdidej Road, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand (Formerly Regent Phuket Cape Panwa)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cape Panwa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Panwa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#7 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range: $153 - $513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amatara Wellness Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amatara Wellness Resort located on the southeastern tip of Phuket Island, 45-minute drive from Phuket International Airport featuring 105 suites and villas, each with its own private balcony and sea view. The resort offers luxury and serenity experience for those who are looking for a relaxing leisure holiday as well as health-oriented treatments and programs. The resort is now offering the world first and only ‘Thai Hammam Journey’, the unique relaxing treatment that blends Tukkish and Moroccan bathing practices together with the wisdom and art of luxury Thai spa treatment available only at Amatara Wellness Resort. While Wellness membership program is also available starting from one month to 12 month program, a ‘One Day Wellness” Package for spa and detox as well as a la carte spa, physiotherapy, detox holistic treatments and fitness trainings are also available every day from 10am - 8pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amatara Wellness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amatara Wellness Resort Cape Panwa, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing