We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amatara Wellness Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay here last week! The entire resort is beautiful. Our pavillion room was beautiful, clean, modern, and had a fantastic ocean view. The staff is incredible! Every one we came in contact with was extremely friendly and helpful. The food was wonderful. We had the breakfast buffet every morning and never got tired of it. We booked an excursion through the hotel concierge every day that we were there. The girls who booked our trips were really helpful. The free mini bar was a huge plus and everything in our room was restocked every day. We travel a lot and this was a great stay for us. Definitely worth the 36 hours it took to get there from home!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentPhuket, Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Kayla E,

Warm greetings from Regent Phuket Cape Panwa.

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor and for taking 36 hours trip to stay with us. It is truly rewarding to read you had a wonderful stay at our resort.

You had a comfortable stay in our lovely Pavilion and the amenities were restocked for you everyday. The delightful breakfast and excursion trips come complete your wonderful trip in Phuket. Thank you for highlighting the warm and attentive services from our friendly team members.

We trust that you feel home away from home and look forward to your return.

Warm regards,
Regent Phuket Cape Panwa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,066)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

689 - 695 of 1,066 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2013

All the previous wonderful reviews written about Regent are true. I'm just harder to impress as my husband & I hv been to several resort vacation in Phuket, Koh Samui & Bali. We are used to the high service level in this region and therefore we hv higher expectations.

We decided on staying in Panwa as we hv stayed in Patong and Bangtao a few times. My conclusion is this: If you wanna stay in Panwa, & you want some level of luxury but you don't wanna pay Usd800-1000 a night for Sri Panwa, then Regent Panwa is for you. I had the chance of checking out the other nearby resorts, they are definitely not as new and "luxurious" looking compared to Regent. I'm surprised that they are given such high rating in tripadvisor. Maybe I'm just too fussy.

I feel that the staff at Regent are trying their best already but they still lack the experience and exposure. Whenever you request for something, they will say "certainly", like the Singapore Airlines stewardess, but...

Example, there was one afternoon when my husband ordered burger for room service. He asked if it comes with fries, the lady who answered said "No, if u want fries, u hv to order it as a side". So he ordered fries as a side. Guess what? The burger came with fries & so we hv an extra order of fries. It's a small small issue, but it's just a bit irritating.

I also went around to check out the Pavillion Rm, the Suites and the Villa. Agree with other reviewers that Pavillion is the best value for money. Suites are more spacious if you wanna hang out more in the room, Villas will give u that extra pampering but for double the price of a Pavillion Rm.

I feel that this hotel has a lot of potential, hope they will keep improving. Will I recommend this to friends who wants a quiet holiday in Phuket? Most definitely!!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Pchern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentPhuket, Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Pchern,
Warm greetings from Regent Phuket Cape Panwa.

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your detailed review on TripAdvisor following your recent stayed at our resort.

It is nice that you had a chance to visit some other resort nearby and you found our resort is a great place with reasonable rates. You may have checked that our food and spa treatment prices are also competitive. You chose Panwa for your recent vacation in Phuket and you found it is a great destination to chill out and relax, compare to other tourist destianations. We hope other reviewers who have never stayed in this area found this information helpful.

Please accept our sincere apology for the lacking service may afforded you and your husband. We thank to your valued comments and will definitely address this with the team for our improvement.

Once again, thank you for choosing us and for recommending us to other travellers. We look forward to be at your service again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Regent Phuket Cape Panwa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Stayed here in the beginning of December.

Facilities are very good, rooms are modern and well equipped, even the mini bar is free.

Nice pool area with great views. The location is OK but, not outstanding, need to take a taxi or scooter if you really want to have a good look around. There isn't much going on just outside of the resort property. Thought there are a few small restaurants and such, in my opinion its best to hang out in the resort.

The staff were very friendly and worked hard but, there was a serious lack of training and oversight. I just always got the feeling that the staff really were unsure how to handle their jobs. I had previously arranged a birthday dinner for my wife with the hotel. It was supposed to take place 3 days after our arrival (it was a surprise). Well ten minutes after checking into the room they called (my wife answered) and asked her if they should bring the birthday cake now or wait until the arranged time as per the email?? Surprise be gone!! I was very disappointed with this as it was all very clear in the arrangement emails.

However, I have to give a shout out to the folks at the "Grill" the dinner was amazing! Who ever controls the menu and its presentation deserves a raise :)

Overall a good hotel that could be great with a little training and quality assurance.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BD700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentPhuket, Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear BD700,

Warm greetings from Regent Phuket Cape Panwa.

Thank you for sharing your feedback follow your recent stayed at our resort.

We are glad that you enjoyed with our facilities, well-equipped room and amenities. You had tried the food outside the resort and you found that dining at our resort restaurant is the best option.

Our location is certainly unique, located in an unspoilt corner of Phuke. You may find there is nothing around this area as it is not a very popular tourist’s destination. However, our resort offers ranges of recreation activates including spa with extensive body and facial treatments, water sports, tennis or Library where you can take a pleasure of reading or drink at this intimate lounge.

The shortcomings you described are very atypical of the high standards of service we are renowned for, so please accept our sincere apology for any inconvenience caused. We will ensure we emphasize the service with quality of assurance.

Last but not least, we are thankful for sharing your comments and for your compliment to our culinary team at The Grill who prepared such amazing dinner for you and your wife.

We look forward to welcoming you and your wife back at our resort again.

Warm regards,
Regent Phuket Cape Panwa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

This place is simply beautiful, the view on arrival was breathtaking.

Upon checkin we were greeted by the most lovely lady, given a beautiful iced tea which was handmade and a refresher towel. We were given our Ipad which was complimentary with the Villa. Everything went smoothly, checkin was a breeze.

Our Pool Villa was so perfect, on arrival there were fruits placed in our room. The pool was well cleaned and looked after. The villa view we had was so perfect and relaxing, I never made it to the main pool (which was stunning).. the villa itself was so clean and beautiful, it had everything one could want and more.

Being the Pool Villa the following was complimentary - 8 pieces of pressed linen each day, complimentary mini bar (coconut water, softdrink, milk, beer, wine & spirit), nespresso maker, dried fruits and biscuits. Each day our room was turned down. You will not want for anything in this place.

The first night our butler came to our room and made the bath, set candles and rose petals on the foam and around the bathroom.. was so perfect.

The buffet & menu breakfast was excellent. Their handmade pastries were amazing! The selection of food out weighs anywhere we have stayed. There was smoked fish, salmon, olives, fetta, cured meats, salads, dressings, array of fruit, a selection of cheese, all types of fresh bread & rolls, handmade jam, handmade yoghurts, bercher muesli, various compotes, various cereals..... and then there is the menu you can order from... I am sure I have missed something from the breakfast buffet!

We also thoroughly enjoyed the afternoon tea (tea and coffee with a high tea set) which was served over looking another endless pool which over looked the ocean, and then later was the cocktail hour. I had a mocktail and my partner a local beer, we were served a savoury and sweet food set.. the service, food and view was just magical.

The food is by no way expensive compared to what it costs to eat in Australia. We dined at one of their reataurants, the welcome, service, food and view was perfection.

We certainly put the complimentary buggy service to use, sometimes my partner had called them 4 times in 1 day to drive us around, every time they arrived we were greeted with the biggest smile and nothing was ever too much. The beautiful man that picked us up and our luggage on our final day, taking us to reception was the most attentive, generous, courteous, polite and special man we had met in our time there. He was always more than happy to serve us and loved having us stay there...

There is so much I could go on with, however this review is already a novel!

All in all, this place is magnificent and we will be returning on any future holidays that we take in Thailand.

In summary -
The cleanliness of the entire place was perfect.
The staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble.
The food was sensational.
The view spectacular.

THE MOST PERFECT PLACE I HAVE STAYED.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elishajade82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentPhuket, Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear elishajade82,

Warm greetings from Regent Phuket Cape Panwa.

Thank you for sharing your excellent review on TripAdvisor. Congratulations on your great news - the arrival of your 1st child.

We like you comment that our resort is just “simply beautiful”. You were greeted upon arrival with the breathtaking view. You love our spacious Pool Villa, its cleanliness, in-room amenities such as the complimentary minibar, daily laundry service, the special romantic set up enhanced your honeymoon trip. The breakfast buffet and menus are vibrant, which presents fresh products and newly prepared every morning. You appreciate the taste of good food and its fresh flavor.

Pool Villa guests have an exclusive privilege to access the Regent Club, where you can savor the afternoon tea and snacks, with the view over the pool and the bay. We are glad to read that your experience at the Regent Club was just a magical.

Thank you for telling us that our food price is by no way expensive compare to other destinations and with services and quality of the food you received.

We appreciate your compliments of our team members, the buggy service team in particular. We will ensure they receive your kind words.

All in all, we are proud that you 3 weeks stay with us was perfect. We look forward to your return to another perfect stay with your family and of course your little ones.

Warm regards,
Regent Phuket Cape Panwa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

This review is a little overdue. We stayed here in early October for a week and were truly delighted with our choice of hotel.

The rooms are modern, light and have lots of luxurious touches. The free mini bar is a real bonus.

The swimming pool is beautiful and the service around the pool outstanding. Breakfasts were always delicious and so much choice.

We ate out in Cape Panwa most evenings and simply took the shuttle buggy to the end of the drive then walked the few minutes into the village. Good choice of restaurants and very cheap.

Thank you to everyone for making our trip so enjoyable

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayaddict120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentPhuket, Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear holidayaddict120,

Warm greetings from Regent Phuket Cape Panwa.

Thank you for posting your superb review on TripAdvisor and pleased to read that you were truly delighted choosing us.

You obviously enjoyed your leisure time by our significant pool. Did you also like the panorama sea view over the pool? Thank you for praising the delicious food, the well-designed room with luxurious touches and amenities.

The entire team at our resort thanks for your visit and look forward to welcoming you back to our superb resort soon.

Warm regards,
Regent Phuket Cape Panwa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We made this 2nd visit within 6 months from our first time there. Facilities are very well maintained. We found that service flows has been improved. However, we got first impression hiccup. Despite our initial request (with an acknowledgement from hotel's reservation team) to be allocated with a room nearby lobby due to pregnancy of my wife, we found that we were placed into a room a bit away with sharp slope. We inquired about our request and the acknowledgement from reservation team to the check-in staff and got an unimpressive answer that she works in different department to her reservation colleague. I requested to speak with the reservation staff and after short while, we got re-allocated to the closer room with easier access. Thank you the team for this help.

We made a request to this same check-in staff about late check-out and have not been responded until the day before our check-out date that we needed to asked again. The same staff made the unimpressive answer again about hotel's policy towards check-out time. Again, it took her colleague to step in and helped managing this.

Out of two incidents, what this staff could do better is to asked for time to coordinate and see what the team could do to entertain the guest's request instead of rejecting outright. Though, she will finally come back with negative response, the guests would still have impression that the hotel has already been trying to do something.

Minor thing on housekeeping, we found no slippers in the room and that laundry bag is not replenished.

Apart from these, the hotel has done fantastic job in maintaining the facilities. We found that the view of "The Grill Lounge" is fantastic! We think the hotel may be able to generate higher bill by offering 1-for-1 happy hours instead of 50% price off. We ordered a pizza for a room service and found that it is much better than the one we had in one of famous italian restaurants in the Phuket town.

Will definitely return there and hope to see the further improvement on services.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ericinthecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentPhuket, Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Ericinthecity,

Thank you very much for returning to us and for posting your review. It is our pleasure to read that you see the improvement of our resort on you 2nd visit and you appreciate the well maintained of our resort.

We are also disappointed to read that you experienced some hiccups at the front desk before your requests had been processed. We sincere apologize for this unimpressive matter and thanks for your constructive comment.

Thank you for highlighting the quality of the food, specially our pizza. We appreciate your kind suggestion of our drinks promotion.

We hope you had a good journey back home and look forward to seeing you on your 3rd visit to our lovely resort.

Warm regards,
Regent Phuket Cape Panwa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

When planning our trip to Phuket, we were considering 2 options. Either staying on the west coast of the island in the laguna area, or coming down to the south-east tip to Cape Panwa. As we were looking for something a lot more calm, our pick was the Regent Cape Panwa.

The hotel is located on top of a hill as one of the last 3 hotels on the tip of the cape. When you arrive, you are welcomed by very friendly staff. Even though their English might not be perfect, their kindness is touching at times.

The hotel is spread over a large plot of land. The main building/lobby/reception are located on the very top of the hill, with the library and spa adjacent on both sides. Also the main pool is located near.

We have stayed in one of the Pavillon Rooms (#67). It's a short walk downhill from the pool area, with an amazing view of the bay. Room service and cleaning should be rated on top level. When compared to a number of A class hotels in which we've stayed in the past, Regent Cape Panwa can be placed in the same group.

The breakfasts have a nice offer of a'la carte menu, however the buffet isn't too rich. Still, I didn't hear anyone complain.

I would recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a location to rest in Phuket, keeping away from all the noise of Patong.

P.S. Kindest regards and best wished to Jasper and Jon from the pool staff! Two very friendly and kind professionals of highest standards!!

Room Tip: Pavillon rooms are in my opinion the best. Very large and with a great view. Try to ask for a room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Max_M84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentPhuket, Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Max_M84,

Warm greetings from Regent Phuket Cape Panwa.

First of all, thank you for choosing us, after reconsidering and comparing us with other destination of Phuket. It is nice to read that you enjoyed the perfect getaway. Thank you for sharing experience.

We appreciate your your recognition our team members; Jasper and Jon for their friendliness and professional. We will deliver your message to them. You love our Pavilion with amazing bay view; cleanliness and room service are on top level, trust that you love its privacy and in-room amenities as well.

We hope you had a restful and relaxed stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you on your next retreat trip in Phuket.

Warm regards,
Regent Phuket Cape Panwa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Panwa
0.5 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
25.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Vijitt Resort Phuket
25.3 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa
12.2 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 2 in Pa Khlok
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amatara Wellness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amatara Wellness Resort

Address: 84 Moo 8, Sakdidej Road, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand (Formerly Regent Phuket Cape Panwa)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#2 Spa Hotel in Cape Panwa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Panwa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#7 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range: $193 - $753 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amatara Wellness Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amatara Wellness Resort located on the southeastern tip of Phuket Island, 45-minute drive from Phuket International Airport featuring 105 suites and villas, each with its own private balcony and sea view. The resort offers luxury and serenity experience for those who are looking for a relaxing leisure holiday as well as health-oriented treatments and programs. The resort is now offering the world first and only ‘Thai Hammam Journey’, the unique relaxing treatment that blends Tukkish and Moroccan bathing practices together with the wisdom and art of luxury Thai spa treatment available only at Amatara Wellness Resort. While Wellness membership program is also available starting from one month to 12 month program, a ‘One Day Wellness” Package for spa and detox as well as a la carte spa, physiotherapy, detox holistic treatments and fitness trainings are also available every day from 10am - 8pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amatara Wellness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amatara Wellness Resort Cape Panwa, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing