We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some pros and quite some cons”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Amatara Wellness Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
Düsseldorf
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Some pros and quite some cons”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed in February after the very recent opening. Quite some serious teething problems service-wise in the public areas and restaurants, very unusual for Thailand. Spa not functional...That will be sorted out by the professional and attentive management.
Compliments to the GM, F&B manager for trying to ease over our problems with the resort and help us move on...
Pros:
Rooms tasteful and very good, take a pool villa, since suites have an impossibly small balcony..
Food excellent, Chef Justin is a gem...
Cons:
The geo situation is awkward, north east facing, no sunsets, opposite a harbor, next to no public spaces, no bar and animation in the evening.
Major gripe: next to no beach, dirty, murky, inaccessible. Hotel definitely needs a second beach club with boat shuttle there.
Until then: will appeal to asians who like to stay in their villa with the AC on but not to europeans.
As other reviewers stated: " ...si vous n'aimez pas trop la plage...."

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OKD63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentPhuket, Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your time taking to review your stay with us. We appreciate your valued comment, especially addressing our Executive and their assistance which we had worked to solve the teething problems mentioned.

We are delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay in our suite and enjoy our services and our great cuisine. We also found that many of our European guests also enjoy staying at our pool villa, spending time at the sun lounge by the outdoor-private pool.

Cape Panwa is one of the most tranquil corner on Phuket Islands, we derive to provide the most privacy and relaxation to our guests. Even though, the resort provides the shuttle service to Phuket Central Festival or Patong Beach daily. Due to the beach condition, as Panwa beach is on the east side of Phuket, in certain times of the year we face the strong wind and high tide which affects the beauty of the beach. Meanwhile we have an ocean-view outdoor pool that you can enjoy.

We look forward to welcoming you back. We are confident that you will find our resort is even more beautiful.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    185
    60
    18
    9
See reviews for
147
623
22
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Where to start?

Firstly, it is clear upon arrival that The Regent has put in a lot of thought and quality into this hotel. The architecture and the finishing of the room interiors is beyond expectation. The infinity edge with a view pool is a hotel highlight.

Service is also top notch with everyone at the hotel eagerly waiting to take your every command. All were very accommodating. We travelled with our 16 month old toddler and at our first dinner there the staff leapt into action to look after her so we could actually enjoy a meal rather than the usual rushed dinner which we have to do sometimes…there is also a kids club that has one of the best views of any kids club that we’ve been to. Another example of great service is we ordered room service directly to the kids club. They set up a table and we ate our lunch there while spending time with our daughter.

All the meals we ate at the hotel were fantastic. Starting the amazing breakfast buffet (loved the iberico ham) and a la cart eggs and other good stuff. Lunch’s were wholesome and fresh and our dinner at the Grill was great.

Did I mention the daily complimentary mini-bars and l'occitane bathroom amenities? Everything is first class with a lot of attention to detail.

The only thing is the beach is quite small but for us it didn’t matter as we enjoyed the pool most days.

We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Knowledge_Bkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentPhuket, Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for providing us with a Trip Advisor review regarding your recent stay at Regent Phuket Cape Panwa. We appreciate your compliments of our facilities, services and team members and pleased to read you experienced such excellent service and enjoy yourself with our room amenities. We recognize that you and your kids enjoy our sea-view Kid's Club.

We hope to welcome you and your family back to our resort soon.

Warm regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We just spent our Songkran holiday in a pool villa and thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel staff are fantastic and made us feel very welcome. Nothing was too much trouble. Our butler, Khun Tang, was great. If we needed anything, we called her and she sorted it out. The staff care and that shows in the service.

Our room was well appointed and we had a great view over the Malacca Strait. We watched cruise ships come and go whilst relaxing by our jacuzzi pool. The only issue we had was the mosquitoes. We’ve lived in Thailand for 10 years so have had our fair share of bites but unfortunately the mosquitoes here were very persistent. We doused ourselves in repellant but that didn’t seem to deter them. We were both bitten badly and that was a first for us in Thailand. There was some scrub land in front of our villa (No.24) where the gardeners dumped foliage etc. so maybe that contributed to the problem. Perhaps that area could be cleaned up by the hotel.

The food at the hotel is amazing. Every item has been carefully selected and prepared. We ate at the Grill which is a casual brasserie. The service was good but not of the ‘fine dining’ level. However the food was excellent. We tried the chefs tasting platter followed by the tomahawk steak. Both were delicious. The food at breakfast was also fantastic. There was a good selection of juice, milk, fruit, cereal, bircher muesli, yogurt, cold cuts, salad, cheese, pastries and bread. Then from the menu you can choose hot food such as a full English, Eggs Benedict, omlette, waffles, pancakes, congee and noodle soup. The choice is not extensive but the quality is superb. We also ate that The Restaurant in the evenings and again the food was tremendous. The salads, fish and seafood were incredibly fresh. Congratulations to the Chef and F&B Director for doing such a great job.

We asked the hotel staff about restaurants nearby but the only one mentioned was a Thai restaurant. We had read about Live India Indian Restaurant and contacted the owner to find out where it was. It is literally 350m away and is definitely worth a visit. The food was delicious and great value. There are a few more bars and restaurants closer to the aquarium and a hotel buggy will take you there no problem.

There were a few inconsistencies throughout our stay. They were very small, such as the mini bar not being refilled one day, not being told about the hot food options at breakfast, iced water not being served with dinner, ice being brought to our room in a huge wine bucket when all we wanted was for the ice bucket in the mini bar to be refilled, staff not cleaning up a spill in the Library when I up-ended my teapot and chamomile tea spilled all over the floor. Overall, the restaurant staff are well trained but it was clear that more training is needed and needs to be continuous if standards are to be maintained.

Would we return? Absolutely!

Room Tip: Order a taxi from PhuketShuttle.com to collect you from the airport. It’s only THB850 which is far c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flipflops49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentPhuket, Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for staying with us during the Thai New Year holiday and for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at Regent Phuket Cape Panwa. We are pleased to learn that you had a fantastic stay with us and very much enjoy with our food. We take note your valued comment and we will continue to make improvement to ensure all guest expectations are exceeded.

Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to your return in the near future.
Warm regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We live in Phuket, but recently decided to spend a couple of nights at the Regent to celebrate my husbands Birthday and our wedding anniversary.

From the moment we drove in our experience began. Welcomed with big smiles and an offer to wash my car. We were then introduced to our butler for our stay, who took us to our room and explained all the details of the amazing fitted out pool villa. An ipad was given to us for our use and with details of room service etc.. The fully stoked bar fridge and the tea and coffee (Nespresso machine) were excellent.

The Villa had loads of windows looking out over the water. The bathroom was exceptional and also had panoramic views.

The resorts facilities were excellent and the main 60mtr swimmingpool was enormous.
The New Zealand born Chef Justin really knows his food and wine. It is always a pleasure to find a real hands on chef who is so passionate.

The first night we dined in The Grill and took on his recommendations. My husband loves his meat and had an excellent steak. I had baby red snapper which was also cooked to perfection.
The second night my husband organised something special with Chef Justin. Our private pool area was transformed into an outdoor restaurant with one table, our own chef cooking our three course meal and a waitress. Music was playing in the background. It was out of this world.

Both my husband and I travel regularly and have been in the hospitality business for many years. Although many hotels try, it is rare that you one gets everything 100% right.
Thank you to all the team at the Regent for a very memorable stay. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: The pool Villas are wonderful. But the normal suites are also excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuePhuket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentPhuket, Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Sue,

Thank you for choosing Regent Phuket Cape Panwa as for the venue to celebrate your significant events. Thank you for the compliments of our resort and service including food and room. We strive to provide excellent service to all our guests and we are pleased to read you had an exceptional experience. We look forward to your return visit.

Warm regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I just spent two nights at this hotel and we both had a wonderful time. We were fortunate enough to have a pool villa, which was fantastically well appointed, with superb views. The food is simply amazing, we ate one meal in The Grill which was as good as anything I have ever had, the second night we had dinner prepared and served by the pool in our villa, an experience to be long remembered,

As a former Regent corporate customer (before it became Four Seasons) I was not sure if this new incarnation of that venerable hotel brand would match. I can only say it was everything and more. Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: The entire property is simply wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomuPhuket_Thailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentPhuket, Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for your compliments of the resort and praise of our service and amenities. We really appreciate you taking the time to post your experience. We are pleased to read you had a memorable stay and look forward to seeing you again.

Warm regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at this resort for 3 nights during early April. From the time of pickup from the airport, you can feel the personal and excellent services being provided by this resort. Excellent sea view from our pool villa. The villa is well maintained and clean. Enjoy swimming in our villa with jacuzzi. Didn't try the hotel public pool as we have much joy and fun at our own pool. Buggy service is fast and efficient. Complimentary shuttle bus service to the nearby shopping mall is another merit point. A lot of good restaurants and a big supermarket can be found from the mall. As we stay in the pool villa, we can enjoy complimentary afternoon tea and evening cocktails. Hope the Regent Club and more restaurants will be opened by the time we visit it again. Not too much choice for breakfast but of high quality. The kids club is well equipped with different toys and activities. All staff of the hotel are very friendly and helpful. They pay special attention and care to my 2.5 years old son. Special thanks to chef Justin who gave my son delicious ice-cream, chocolate and biscuits !!!

Room Tip: Opt for pool villa if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seapig18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentPhuket, Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Seapig18 and family,

Thank you for sharing with us and all of our readers here on TripAdvisor about you & your family's recent vacation. We are very pleased to read that we had exceeded your expectations and see that you & your family seemed to have been able to enjoy most of the facilities we have at the Pool Villa. Certainly, your valued comments about the Regent Club and dining options will be conveyed to our team.

We look forward to your next stay here in beautiful Regent Phuket Cape Panwa.
With warm regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is a 5 star hotel. The service is excellent. Although the hotel is new,but all staff are extremely helpful and attentive. The facilities are wonderful and a lot warmer in feel compared to the photos. Plenty of little touches to make your stay very comfortable. The pavilion is superb and excellent value for money. The breakfast by the seaside is great and caters for all tastes. The pool is really nice.I stayed for 3 days and decided to extend for another 3 days, the only regret is that they didn't upgrade me for a better room. Don't worry about the mosquitos, just get some patches, but being Phuket they are around. Would come back without hesitation.

Room Tip: Pool villas have the better views to look at the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seigakino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentPhuket, Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Seigakino,

Sunny greetings from Regent Phuket Cape Panwa.

We do appreciate that you have taken the time to write a review about your recent experience at our resort. Thank you very much indeed for the positive comments on our property. We looking forward to welcome you back soon.

With warm regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Panwa
25.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
0.4 mi away
Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
12.2 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
10.0 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amatara Wellness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amatara Wellness Resort

Property: Amatara Wellness Resort
Address: 84 Moo 8, Sakdidej Road, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand (Formerly Regent Phuket Cape Panwa)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cape Panwa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Panwa
#7 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amatara Wellness Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amatara Resort & Wellness locates at Cape Panwa, on the southeastern tip of Phuket Island. Amatara Resort & Wellness features 105 rooms and suites, each with its own private balcony and sea view. The resort offers luxury and serenity experience for those who are looking for a relaxing leisure holiday as well as health-oriented treatments and programs. The resort is now also offering all-inclusive Wellness Retreat packages including - Amatara Detox - for toxin-cleanse and refreshen your body and mind - Spa Revive - for an ultimate relaxation - Weight Management - for a sustainable weight loss or balancing body weight - Amatara Active - for physical strengthening and improve endurance - Amatara Yoga - for indulging into the world of yoga - Amatara Connect - for re-connecting and spending time with your loved ones These all retreats starts from a minimum of 3 nights and feature Thai Hammam Experience, the unique relaxing treatment that blends Tukkish and Moroccan bathing practices together with the wisdom and art of Thai therapies which available only at Amatara Resort & Wellness. Amatara Resort & Wellness also have Wellness membership program starting from one month to 12 month program and Wellness Day Package for spa and detox as well as a la carte spa, physiotherapy, detox holistic treatments and fitness trainings that are available everyday from 10am - 8pm. The resort has 3 restaurant outlets: The Grill, The Restaurant and The Retreat serving fine dining international as well as Thai and healthy wellness cuisines. Amatara Resort & Wellness is only 15 minutes away from Phuket Town and just 45 minutes from Phuket International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amatara Wellness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amatara Wellness Resort Cape Panwa, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing