We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If only the serving staff in the restaurants could match up to everything else.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amatara Wellness Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amatara Wellness Resort
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“If only the serving staff in the restaurants could match up to everything else.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

The Regent at Phuket Cape Panwa is nothing like any other 5 stars resorts that I've experienced... We arrived and was ushered to our villa by buggy. The staff was detailed and informed us that everything in the room is complimentary! And I mean everything!!! From mini bar items to coffee capsules to laundry services!
The serving staff in the restaurants were not as good though. Food was served before the drinks arrived, cutleries were cleared and not replaced until asked.
They were all friendly. Do not misunderstand me. But they were not trained well and were uncommunicative with each other. We were kept waiting at various times although we see plenty of available staff moving around.
I will still go back though. Everything else is too good to be ignored. :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jujubo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentPhuket, Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Jujubo,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip in Phuket and for your time write a review here. Although, your overall experience with us was positive, we appreciate your constructive comment on the food services. We will take steps to review this issue to ensure that our guests enjoy dining experiences during their stay.

It was a pleasure having you and your family with us. Should you plan another Phuket holiday in the future, we would be delighted to ensure that your next experience with us is memorable.

Warm regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    182
    57
    18
    7
See reviews for
144
609
20
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

It is difficult to know where to start when attempting to describe how marvellous this holiday was. We have been travelling to Thailand since the 70s but this has been the best stay yet. The emphasis by the hotel management and staff was definitely on a personalised service. on arrival, we were taken to our pool villa by golf buggy to be met by a butler who unpacked our suitcases while we soaked in a prepared bath. Afterwards we were given a stress relieving massage. Our room was very luxurious and included a complementary mini bar and coffee and tea. Within an hour of arrival we were sitting on our private terrace sipping red wine while looking out to sea over our private infinity pool.
The food was excellent. Justine, the gourmet chef discussed the menu everyday with us and presented high standard fare incorporating organic products both in the Restaurant and (gourmet) Grill. My wife, a vegan, had, for the first time on holiday, gourmet standard food. Both the management and other staff seemed genuinely interested in responding to any personal requirements, however small. The hotel facilities are extensive, including an impressively appointed spa and fitness centre. Our favourite was Thai Chi on a deck at the top of the Spa overlooking the sea. For those without their private pool, there is a central beautiful infinity pool and, of course, the private beach. And for those with children, there is a well equipped indoor and outdoor children's crèche and play area.
We have surely missed some other things which made the hotel and the service offered so exceptional but for anyone wanting to feel special, this is the hotel.
Our thanks to everyone who made our holiday such a success.
Geoff and Liz, Bucks, UK.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentPhuket, Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Geoffrey R,

Thank you very much for choosing Regent Phuket Cape Panwa as your holiday destination and also for your comments left here. We are glad that both of you were satisfied with our room's facilities, pools and services specially food services.

It was our pleasure to serve you!

We are looking forward to welcoming you at our resort again and many sunny greetings from the entire team!

The Management
Regent Phuket Cape Panwa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

On the 18/03/13 around 20:30pm we had a delicious evening meal party of seven.
Food that we ordered was pizza, chicken curry, pasta, garlic bread, bread variety white & brown, herb butter, oil balsamic vingar,pork scratching, crackle fish, chicken satay.
Four Free pizzas due to mine coming very late after everybody had eaten, four free ice creams and eight free bags of homemade cookies to take away.
Amazing, Justin head chef was very polite, friendly and informal of the food. Only two other guest in resturant, maybe other guests had room service. Needs addressing about timing of the food coming out different times. Two pizzas came late one came after everybody had eaten waitress and head chef came out to say sorry but mine had to be thrown away wasn't right so had to cook another fresh one which I prefered than being serving bad food. Service waiting staff silver service 100% and kitchen staff teething problems.
Hotel amazing... Infinity pool... Very hilly hence the golf carts driving guest around the hotel.
Once all teething problems are sorted... It's a awesome 5* hotel. I would definitely recommend the hotel and a must to eat at the restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luceandsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentPhuket, Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Luce and Sarah,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip in Phuket and also or taking your time to give us a great feedback. It is always a pleasure to read valued comments from our guests as well as to know that you would recommend our property to other travellers.

We are pleased to note about food services at the restaurant which will definitely help us improve our services. Your concerns have been forward to our management team and we will take the necessary steps to satisfy our valued guests even further.

We look forward in being of service should your travels bring you back to Regent Phuket Cape Panwa

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tung Chung, null, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

My girls and I enjoyed the amazing hospitality of the Regent. From the moment I enquired directly with the hotel, to the time I arrived, we were looked after. I stayed in the Cape Suite and it was a treat...spacious and very comfortable. We were located near the lobby and pool so it was excellent! The girls loved the place and were welcomed by the staff. They entertained them and took the time to chat with them...to me, that was what made my stay so very relaxed. The breakfast is a treat and quality choices...Iberico Ham...nice touch. If you want to truly relax and get away from the hustle and busy cities...this is the place to be! Beyond my expectations and definitely back to stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diazcx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentPhuket, Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for staying with Regent Phuket Cape Panwa during your last visit in Phuket. We are glad to hear that you enjoy the awesome facilities and the excellent service at our resort. We would love to have you and you family back, summer is coming and you can take advantage of our beautiful pool and the lovely sea-viewed kid's club.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

We checked in at the Regent having never stayed here before and we didnt want to leave..
From the minute you arrive you are pampered and made to feel so welcome. You are greeted by smiling faces who sit you down, bring you a drink and a cold towel, check in is simple and then you are taken in the buggy to your room....we booked a standard room and were upgraded to a pool villa....we were shown quickly and simply how to operate the numerous gadgets, coffee machine ,etc...my favourite was the electric blinds..you lay in bed and push a button and up goes the three blinds to reveal the blue sea and to the side your own pool and loungers with gorgeous white, clean fluffy towels. You really dont need to leave the villa but we ventured up to the main affinity pool with fabulous views of the sea and islands. Staff were there to place towels on the loungers and get us ice cold water...the pool was so clean and staff never intrusive but always around to get you anything you wish for. (and with a smile).
Breakfast was a pleasure with buffet selection unlike most as all the food was so fresh and without being a huge spread it had all you could wish for...or you could order from a menu in cluding freshly cooked English breakfast to local Thai dishes.... In the evening if you dont want to venture far then you could eat in the restaurant at the hotel....now, i have eaten at top restaurants all around the World and trust me, this is a treat worth enjoying...on my first visit i wanted lobster thermidor which was not on the menu, i asked and the chef came out and asked how i would like it...i left it to him and the was a huge, very fresh lobster and probably the best thermidor ever...my partner wanted a ceaser salad, again not on the menu...they obliged and it was superb. Desserts..mmmm...
This is a gem of a hotel and thanks to Mr Merijn Wessel and staff we will be back soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fredthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentPhuket, Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Sir,

It is always a pleasure to read such positive comments from our guests as well as to know that you would recommend our property to other travellers.

Thank you so much for highlighting the welcome treatment and the food services in your review and above all for the rewarding comments made to our team members. Please be assured that your praise will be relayed accordingly to our team.

We very much hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back at our resort soon.

With warm regards,
Regent Phuket Cape Panwa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

I booked this resort through the Regent website as it offered better value than other travel websites. We wanted a location away from the busy and noisy crowds of Patong and it's surrounds, and the Regent did not disappoint in that regard. At the time of booking there were not many reviews, and most of them indicated that parts of the resort was still under construction, however we found only the Club Room to be the case, otherwise the whole resort is pretty much completed. The check-in process was very smooth, and we were given an upgrade from a Pavilion to a suite for which we were utterly grateful as it includes a free minibar and laundry.

There is not much of a beach, but the infinity pool and the grounds makes up for it. The views were great, however there were several commercial/tanker ships moored in the foreground which spoilt the view to some degree.

The suite we were in was well appointed in size with the usual luxuries such as a double basin, oversize shower and bath tub partially over looking the ocean (as we were not on the top most floor). The suite however is probably not the most child friendly room as there are some hidden steps especially when accessing the balcony.

Brice (GM) and his team are very friendly and helpful, and they are always putting on a smile. The buggy service provided is a lifesaver as they are willing to pick up and drop off at the bottom of the hill where the main gate is located.

The resort physically lives up to 5 star standards, however I was quite disappointed by the person checking us in who insisted on arranging our transfers to the airport upon check-out. I didn't have a problem with this as we confirmed the departure time with her on several occasions whilst we were checking in. On the night before check-out, we were sent a letter stating their pleasure in hosting us along with informing us that we have NOT organized for any transfers upon check-out, we immediately rang the front desk and they had indicated that this was an oversight on their part. I wouldn't have been too fussed about these things ordinarily, but we had an early morning departure. I would put this down to the fact that the resort is still in soft opening and there are a few teething processes that still needs attention for which I am sure will be addressed in time.

Overall I would recommend this resort, it is new, the resort staff are friendly and helpful, and the made-to-order breakfast is a nice touch along with the other continental choices laid out in the buffet. I would probably give it a few more months when some of the minor issues are ironed out and it should be a great competitor against the many resorts in Phuket.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor for views looking out to the ocean otherwise the
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank excessive_baggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentPhuket, Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your valued feedback about your recent stayed at Regent Phuket Cape Panwa.

It is our pleasure to learn that you were satisfied with your overall stay with us. Since your satisfaction is extremely important to us, we all are committed the best of service along with the Regent's bespoke services and hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you again in near future.

With warm regards,
Regent Phuket Cape Panwa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

We recently stayed here for 3 nights for a friends wedding. To confirm, we are regular travellers (c30-40 nights a year in accommodation), however this was our first visit to Thailand. Please provide feedback by clicking whether this review helped you and I will attempt to maintain similar reviews going forward. Typically we do not stay in resorts but high quality boutique hotels so bear in mind as you read this.
Check-in
We arrived late, but were welcomed with the usual resort iced tea, and cold compress. We stayed in a Pool Villa (number 42) .

Pool Villas
Walking around we feel there is a large difference in view between some of the Pool Villas and you should discuss with the hotel before booking. In our view having a villa on the higher level is better as you are closer walking distance to the pool and restaurants (although it’s not far, it was very hot (35deg and humid (80%+) while we were there), with a better view versus being more private. If the hotel was full however, perhaps this would change.
Room
The Pool Villas are large but not too large, still maintaining a cosy feel. Large round bath and private pool round out the usual suspects. Nice touch of free laundry helps keep you looking good. On the usual test of 3 (comfortable bed; hot and powerful shower; and quiet room), the Pool villas were exceptionally quiet, beds are futon style but still very comfortable for us (as fussy sleepers). Pillows need a bit of work to have more variety but are ok. Shower pressure is too low unfortunately, and takes a while to heat up, but given Phuket’s weather we didn’t feel it was a huge problem. Lighting controls are a little tricky but once worked out are fine.
L’occitane is a slightly lower range than one would expect for this level of hotel in my opinion, but a minor issue.
Inclusive breakfast, minibar and laundry are nice touches to make you feel comfortable and relaxed. Bizarrely the water is free in your room, but then paid at the breakfast which is a bit silly and should be rectified.
Food
Breakfast is usual high quality resort buffet. Nicest touch is the Homemade strawberry jam, which is up there with the best we have had (Es Cucons in Ibiza, and a small one person business in Beechworth Australia). Iberico ham carved off bone also worth a mention. Extremely fussy Parisian wife tells me the pain au chocolat is of high quality.
Dinner we ate once at the ‘Grill’, once for our wedding at Sri Panwa (hotel next door), and once for room service. I think room service food suffers from the transit too your door, and this was no exception. Positive notes for the Grill, where the fish was perfectly grilled, crisp yet tender with a delicate, mildly spiced sauce. Overall the food at the Grill was better than that from Sri Panwa in our view.
Thai salads at lunch were very fresh. There was too much fish sauce in the ocean trout salad but the vegetarian one was extremely good.
Cocktails were a hit and miss affair with about 50% getting done right (and we had mojitos as the control cocktail each time)
Massage
3 massages were had by us, 2 Thai which was Shiatsu like but with compresses and scrubs. Rooms comfortable large and high up to catch breezes. We did have some negative comments from friends who wanted stronger massages and didn’t feel their therapists listened to their comments during the session (I was explicit in advance requesting firmer pressure)

Other comments
The hotel pool is one of the best I have seen, it’s size means that swimming is a pleasure and one never feels overwhelmed by anyone else. The jets during the day, and lights are night are great touches.
Echoing other reviewers comments, I would not particularly recommend the pool beach, we did not swim there, but coming from Australia were not fussed about this, and there are plenty of remote island beaches to visit and swim from.
Mosquitos were fairly persistent, meaning one has to sleep with the doors closed and hence air-con on. Spray required (supplied by hotel).
We also did a cooking course by the hotel which was 2k THB per person. While fun, all the ingredients were already there, chopped and in bowls so it could have been renamed ‘combine ingredients and heat class’. Other tips are to add on a trip to the market as part of the class to look at the seafood and learn what and how to choose.
Service and pool are the exceptional points of this resort.

Summary
Opening offer pricing and limited other guests mean staying now is great value for money and an excellent relaxing venue. In my opinion even at full prices it would still be better value than Sri Panwa (which we visited as part of the wedding). Having said that the view from Sri Panwa is unbeatable.
Everything is as one would expect for a smallish high quality resort, with the reasons that would have me coming back being the pool, and the quality of the service (unfailingly pleasant and the personal butler with the pool villas makes trips, suggestions and getting around an easy solution)

Room Tip: higher level pool villas have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentPhuket, Manager at Amatara Wellness Resort, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for staying with us during your last trip to Phuket. It is our pleasure to learn that you had an enjoyable stay. Your valued comments will be taken to review and improve our service where possible.

We look forward to welcoming you back at our resort soon.
Warm regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Panwa
25.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
8.4 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort
10.0 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amatara Wellness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amatara Wellness Resort

Property: Amatara Wellness Resort
Address: 84 Moo 8, Sakdidej Road, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand (Formerly Regent Phuket Cape Panwa)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cape Panwa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Panwa
#7 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amatara Wellness Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amatara Resort & Wellness locates at Cape Panwa, on the southeastern tip of Phuket Island. Amatara Resort & Wellness features 105 rooms and suites, each with its own private balcony and sea view. The resort offers luxury and serenity experience for those who are looking for a relaxing leisure holiday as well as health-oriented treatments and programs. The resort is now also offering all-inclusive Wellness Retreat packages including - Amatara Detox - for toxin-cleanse and refreshen your body and mind - Spa Revive - for an ultimate relaxation - Weight Management - for a sustainable weight loss or balancing body weight - Amatara Active - for physical strengthening and improve endurance - Amatara Yoga - for indulging into the world of yoga - Amatara Connect - for re-connecting and spending time with your loved ones These all retreats starts from a minimum of 3 nights and feature Thai Hammam Experience, the unique relaxing treatment that blends Tukkish and Moroccan bathing practices together with the wisdom and art of Thai therapies which available only at Amatara Resort & Wellness. Amatara Resort & Wellness also have Wellness membership program starting from one month to 12 month program and Wellness Day Package for spa and detox as well as a la carte spa, physiotherapy, detox holistic treatments and fitness trainings that are available everyday from 10am - 8pm. The resort has 3 restaurant outlets: The Grill, The Restaurant and The Retreat serving fine dining international as well as Thai and healthy wellness cuisines. Amatara Resort & Wellness is only 15 minutes away from Phuket Town and just 45 minutes from Phuket International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Amatara Wellness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amatara Wellness Resort Cape Panwa, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing