We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Completely relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Completely relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

I had really searched hard for somewhere relaxing and calm for 2 weeks and this was the perfect place to stay. As soon as you walk in the lobby you feel the air of tranquility of the hotel. We were met and greeted with a warm welcome as soon as we got out of the hotel car and we were checked in to hotel in our room! which was great after a long flight to Bangkok and transferring on down Phuket.

We chose the Grand Sea View Room to give us a bit more room for our 2 weeks stay, which was well equipped and spacious. Whilst the first room we were in was set under the Royal Suite it was slightly darker in terms of light because of the overhang above and I could hear the pump in the pool above and we asked to change rooms the next day which was no problem and done immediately and exactly identical but lighter and very quiet. These rooms have a nice long balcony with table and chairs and a day bed. They have a generous sized bathroom also looking out to the bay. There is also a good desk area and excellent reliable Wi Fi around the building for those who can't be without it.

Housekeeping were excellent and kept the room to a high standard and like every member of staff we encountered there always greeted you and were friendly, smiling and helpful.

The general manager and food and beverage manager introduced themselves and were regularly around the hotel.

Breakfast were excellent with a large selection of catering for all needs and requirements. There are 2 restaurants located in the hotel to choose from offering well presented food and menus with choices of Thai and Italian food and we ate there many nights and weren't disappointed.

There are two good sized pools and plenty of sunbeds and pool cabanas, there is also a third long pool that occupants of the mezzanine rooms have direct access to. The Spa was impressive. Thoughtfully designed continuing that tranquil setting and with a helpful manager to answer any questions you had regarding treatments, we had 2 massages there.

There is also a fitness center with 24hr access which was very handy, though air condition in there could do with tweaking if you are doing a more intense workout.

It was also my partners birthday during our stay and I had ordered a cake from the coffee shop (which incidentally serves great coffee and selection of snacks and oh those cakes were magnificent!) as a surprise and it arrived perfectly as I requested decorated just as I had asked the staff were just great in helping organize the surprise on the terrace and I really appreciated that. They also placed another cake in the room from reception so they obviously flag birthdays on check in, very thoughtful.

We also enjoyed a romantic meal on the beach arranged by the restaurant one evening which was well executed and by the restaurant whilst watching the sky light up with the lightning felt almost surreal.

It's about a 20 minute ride in to Phuket town so the location may not suit everyone, but if you are looking to get away from it all and to switch off then this really is a perfect choice. For a large part of the second week we spent diving and getting to and from Chalong jetty wasn't a problem early in the morning concierge was happy to arrange a taxi for us to leave on time.

It's not often I go back to the same place but we will definitely return again the staff and management really worked hard to ensure you had an enjoyable, peaceful relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Avoid the first Grand Sea View Room under the Royal Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisMartin_HKT, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Andrew E,

Greetings from sunny Phuket !!

It was a pleasure having you and your partner here ta the Phuket Panwa beachfront Resort and I would like to sincerely thank you for taking the time reviewing your recent experience in our property.

Your comments are extremely valuable to us and sharing them will tremendously help us those areas that might be still in needs of tender loving care, thus improve our overall guest experience.

I can assure you that the details of your experience will be among the entire property team.

Once again thank you for your support and we are looking forward to welcome soon once gain here in Phuket.

Sincerely,

Denis Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    218
    76
    25
    23
See reviews for
169
343
35
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Absolutely amazing stay at this resort.(formerly Grand Mercure I believe)

We decided to get the loft suite and do not regret it at all. The cost was substantially more that the regular rooms but way cheaper than suite prices at other hotels in this category (booked through Expedia). Breakfast was included.

On arrival, even our taxi driver was impressed with the entry / lobby. We arrived after midnight but still had a great reception.

The resort has 3 pool areas but one is more or less reserved for the pool suites which have direct access. Nice clean gardens and direct access to private beach in bay. Lots of other Phuket resorts sell themselves as beach resorts but are across a road or "close to". The tide is only in for about 4 hours in the day and when its out, its out.

The hotel is located a fair distance from the major tourist beaches / attractions but this suited us fine. Generally self contained. No major shopping centres or the like in the area. Convenience stores, massages, restaurants available in the area (did not try any of them) Easy taxi access from the hotel or just outside. Cheaper outside - but seem to be price controlled.

There is a tour shop just opposite who arranged a day out for us in a private car with English speaking driver and took us to all the tour highlights of the island. Packaged tours are available but involve being picked up from the hotel and driven about 45 minutes to meet the group to start.

The suite itself was fantastic. Double height glass with direct access to private balcony and pool and a few steps to the beach. Large screen tvs in lounge and bedroom. Large spa bath with view to the ocean. This is a magical location.

Some minor maintenance issues with the room but not worth mentioning here. Bed, linen and toiletries were good quality. Bottled water (plenty off) was provided complimentary. The suite had a kitchenette with tea and coffee facilities - a microwave would have been nice.

We ate most meals at the hotel. The buffet breakfast was ok. Lots of variety but the same items everyday except for the flavour of the smoothies. Other meals in restaurants and in-room dining were also just ok.

The staff here were fantastic. always smiling and helpful. The general manager was very visible and we met him on a few occasions.

There is a bit of a language issue. Not a big problem though.

This is a getaway location and even though the hotel was close to full, most people were on tours I guess because the pools, beach etc were never busy.

Free canoe and stand up paddle if you want to venture tot he nearby islands.

Room Tip: Definitely facing the water. If you splurge on the loft suite, you wont be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RickyB_DBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisMartin_HKT, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear RickyB_DBN,

Greetings from sunny Phuket Panwa Beachfront Resort!

Thank you very much for taking the time reviewing your recent experience in our property and sharing your very valuables comments as well.

We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our resort and I can assure you that your comments will be among the entire hotel team.

We are all looking forward to welcome you in the not too distant future.

Feel free to contact me directly at any time.


Sincerely,

Denis Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here three nights and got a free upgrade which was just bliss . Staff and food were great , activities available . Location a little quiet but good for honeymooners or families .
Only gripe is some odd happenings with our credit card , they've charged us a second amount , a different amount to the original , about four days after our stay. Looking into it .

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilkelzboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisMartin_HKT, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear lilkelzboo,


Greetings from Phuket!

We hope this message will reach you well!!

We would like to thank you for your message in regards in your recent experience with us and taking the time sharing your valuable and positive comments.

Rest assure that those will be share with the relevant departmental manager for review.

The entire tea of the Phuket Panwa Beachfront resort is looking forward to welcome you soon once again in Phuket !!

Sincerely,

Denis Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

I loved this hotel is was really good and very relaxing. The staff were very helpful and always willing to chat and sort out any problems which we had. If you want a good beach holiday this place is perfect with the private beach next to the hotel. The only issue I would say is the remoteness of the hotel. There is very little nearby to this place and if you want to go to Phuket town you will need to use the taxis which are out (sometimes) outside of the hotel. this journey cost us 300 Baht each time. The drives originally wanted 450, but after a long discussion it came down to 300. I really liked this hotel and only the location is the reason why I would consider a different hotel next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisMartin_HKT, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Justin c ,


Greetings from sunny Phuket !

I would like, first of all, thank you very much for taking the time reviewing your recent experience in our property and sharing your valuable comments with us and others.

Indeed the hotel is located in a quiet are of Phuket, which actually makes it quite special and a very nice venue for those in needs of rest or looking for a peaceful area.

Rest assure that your comments will be share among the team of the Phuket Panwa Beachfront Resort.

Sincerely,

Denis Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

This hotel was amazing! After spending 5 nights in Karon Beach which is a bit more touristy and hectic we stayed here for 4 nights and it was the perfect getaway. The hotel staff are fabulous, really friendly and the resort itself is amazing!

We had a seafront room which had the most wonderful view to wake up to. There are 3 fab pools all with views onto the sea. The sea itself is calm and shallow for a long way out making it perfect for swimming in or making the most of the kayaks and stand up paddle boards provided.

The breakfast was delicious and we dined in the Thai restaurant once which was also good, although not quite as good as other places we tried during our stay. We also visited Phuket town and cape Panwa which were within easy access if you fancy somewhere a bit busier for the day/evening.

I would definitely recommend this resort if you want to chill out and feel spoilt but also be within easy access of some more touristy destinations.

Room Tip: Definitely a sea view, its a view you never get sick of waking up to!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisMartin_HKT, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Kate L,


We hope this message will reach you well, from a sunny Phuket !!

We would like to thank you for reviewing your recent experience with us, her at the Phuket Panwa Beachfront Resort and sharing your valuable and constructive comments with us.

Rest assure that those will be share among the entire resort team!

We are all looking forward to welcome you soonest back to Phuket!!

Sincerely,

Denis Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Pool:
There are 2 great nice pools. Both faced to the beach and next to it.

Beach:
It is not long but calm. Have great different look between high & low tide. Can swim in high tide, but walk in low tide.

Breakfast:
Good quality with Aisan, Thai & European food. Nice, clean and tidy set up. All food are fresh and tasty. You can sit inside the restaurant with air conditioning or sit outside to enjoy the sunshine & sea view.

Room / Environment
The room is clean & tidy. All necessarities are in order except disposal slippers. The environment is nice and impressive with friendly staff.

Location:
A quiet place. This hotel location is 1 hr from airport, 45 min from Patong, 15 min from Phuket Town. Only one nearby local restaurant outside the hotel. The price is cheaper but not much variety.

Shuttle Bus:
Shuttle bus to Patong ($300 baht each/one way), Central Festival Mall & Weekend Market ($150 baht each/one way).

Visitor:
Many Chinese.

Improvement:
1. Unexpected huge volume of music (just like in a disco) almost until midnight during the day with a wedding party.
2. Different cost for same food. Having ordered fish & chips from the pool side bar (Splash) with $250 baht but the one ordered from main pool bar with a higher price of $370 baht. Having the fish & chips at the pool side (not inside restaurant) but charged me with different cost.

Overall: Good for value for a 5-star hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Precillaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisMartin_HKT, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Precillaso,


Thank you very much for reviewing your recent experience in our property and taking the time sharing your valuable comments with us.

Rest assure that your review will be share among the team of the Phuket Panwa Beachfront resort, thus in order to improve areas that are still in needs.

We are all glad that your experience overall was extremely positive and we look forward to welcome you soon once again in Phuket.

Sincerely,

Denis Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Work hard, play hard and stay here.

I have been lucky enough to stay in a number of 5 star hotels around the World and this is right up there with the best. We booked this as it had some great reviews on Trip Advisor and was not disappointed in the slightest. We did not want to be in the hustle and bustle (you go to Bangkok for that) yet wanted somewhere close to Phuket town and this fitted right in. Hotel has everything you expect from a 5 star place and the buffet breakfast was fantastic despite being a bit cold in the restaurant, so we chose to sit outside and eat our breakfast.

The spa suites are superb and each have there own steam room and Jacuzzi, which can be enjoyed before or after your massage.

There are 3 pools, 1 of which is for the benefit of those staying in swim up rooms. We also noticed suites with their own balcony pools. Entrance & reception area to the hotel really set the standard of this place and the space and openness are a great place to enjoy a drink from the 3 bars, which have alternating happy hours.

There is not a great deal to do immediately outside the hotel complex with only a couple of small eating places and a massage place, however if you can afford to stay here you can afford to take a taxi into town.

There is a shuttle bus that takes you to the local market for a few baht for a 3-hour trip, which was well worth it. There are some water sport activities on the beach if you are into kayaks, kayak fishing and paddleboards.

Yes, the sea is 300m when the tide goes out, but this did not bother us as mentioned in other TA reviews.

The only negative point I can possibly think of, in this otherwise perfect place, is the size of the small beach umbrella’s. The sun here is fierce and these offered little protection.

Great place, great stay & would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Petegaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisMartin_HKT, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Petegaff,


Greetings from sunny Phuket!

Thank you very much for taking the time reviewing your recent stay and sharing your valuable and constructive comments with us.

Rest assure that they will be share among the team of the Phuket Panwa Beachfront resort.

We are glad to see that you have enjoyed the property facilities and in regards to the beach umbrella's, I am glad to say that larger one 's have been purchased for the upcoming high season!

we are all looking forward to welcome you soon once again in our hotel!

Sincerely,

Denis Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Panwa
1.4 mi away
Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort
1.6 mi away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 13 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
23.5 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
3.4 mi away
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket
7.3 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach

Property: Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach
Address: 8/88 Moo 7, Sakdidech Road | Vichit Sub-District, Muang Phuket District, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand (Formerly Phuket Panwa Beachfront Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Panwa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Panwa
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
#5 Spa Hotel in Cape Panwa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the tranquil setting of the stunning Phuket Panwa Beachfront Resort. Located just 10 minutes from charming Phuket Town, our brand new 5 star resort is set in the secluded Makham Bay, with its own private beach and spectacular views of the Andaman sea.Explore our unique heritage where Sino-Portuguese design meets modern comforts. Revel in our array of stunning guest rooms complemented by thoughtful touches and premier bedding. Our suites are spacious and opulent, all with bay views and most with direct access to a semi private pool. With 2 swimming pools, a fitness centre, kids club, Pawan Panwa Spa, tour desk and a Recreation Manager, filling up a day with activities is little issue. The hotel is catered with a pool bar, an all day dining restaurant, Mosaic, a cafe, lobby lounge and an Italian beachfront restaurant, Patio. Naturally room service is available for 24 hours. Wi-fi is complimentary for all guests throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach Cape Panwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing