We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, peaceful resort for those wanting R&R”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I visited the resort within 5 days of opening. The resort grounds are a comfortable size, with it proving very easy to get around from the restaurants to the beach to the pool bar.

Service

The hotel was very empty due to being open only a few days. However, service was absolutely superb, in spite of most staff being new to their roles. I was escorted to the room for in-room checkin, and bags were delivered very quickly. At the bar service was instantaneous, and they were very good at timing when to approach me for a glass refill. At breakfast time, coffee was frequently replenished and 3 checks were made by the server to check I was happy with the food.

Rooms

I stayed in a loft swim up suite. It was a two floor suite that was incredibly spacious. Whilst it was well designed the only critisism would be that with its size, there was too little in the way of decoration - This made the room feel a little bare (But this is a MINOR critisism). The ground floor contains the living areas (With 40 inch flat screen TV - Decent range of channels from around the world). There is a separate dining area with dining table + 6 chairs, Tassimo style coffee maker (But no milk!) and a WC. All furniture was of very good quality; very solid and robust.

Upstairs was the main bedroom with a king size, very comfy bed, another flatscreen TV (Approx 32 inches), and a work desk. There is also a walk-in wardrobe with huge amounts of space (More than enough for a family for over two weeks). The bathroom connects to the main bedroom and is huge! It contains a spacious walk in shower as well as a separate Jacuzzi bath (Which size wise may be better described as a hot tub!). Should you so wish the whole family will comfortably fit in there, The only drawback is it takes about 30 mins to fill as it is so big, and also the water pressure is a little on the light side.

Patio Area

The patio is small, but does contain a double bed size lounger (Which takes up most of the available space!). A set of steps leads into a swimming channel, which in turn leads onto the pool and bar.

Beach Area

The beach area is tidy, although in places a narrow strip of sand. However it is very pretty with a number of palm trees to shield you when you've had enough of the sun.

Food

I only ate breakfast at the hotel. The continental selection was buffet style, with hot food being made to order. As breakfast selections go it was good, with all food being fresh and juices being pressed from fruit, not out of a carton.

Overall

Whilst I can't make a comment on the overall atmosphere of the hotel due to too few guests, it is a well designed hotel, with service focussed staff how really wish to please. If you are looking for a quiet Phuket break it is in a great location. Getting to Patong is possible, but it can take up to an hour as you will be having to get from the east side of the island to the west. However I found it to be a welcome break and would thoroughly recommend it to those looking for a family or romantic break away from the tourist hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank willbad79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Dear Willbad79,

Milk for the complimentary coffee machine in those Andaman Pool Loft Suites - absolutely we should have fresh milk in the fridge - Consider it done.

We've increased the water pressure so you can take advantage of those baths quicker.

Thank you for your feedback. We really value all of our intrepid travellers who have decided to give us a go so soon after opening. We've seen some forums before we opened with advice like "give it a few months to shake out the faults", but our staff have risen to the occassion.

We hope we've paid back you decision to stay with us in dividends.

Best wishes
Iain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (767)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

517 - 523 of 767 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2012

Stayed recently in a pool loft suite for 2 nights. I am a regular to Phuket - 2-3 times a year, sometimes for the diving, sometimes just to chill out, do nothing and relax.

My stay at the Crowne Plaza Phuket was for the latter. It is situated near cape panwa on Markham Bay which is a pretty little picturesque bay with a few fishing boats, calm waters but not too fantastic beach. Location was great for me - away from Patong, near Phuket Old town, and far from the hustle and bustle. Caveat - You will need a car unless you plan to just relax and hang out in the resort as it is pretty 'isolated'. I had use of a car throughout as am very familiar with Phuket roads.

The Pool Loft Suite was not the room I originally booked. There is a one category upgrade for PC Platinum members and a I paid a little to upgrade further. The room was well furnished - comfortable bed, in room jacuzzi, shower stand and the bedroom is on the second level. It had direct pool access from the back of the room. Pool was much better then the pool villas at Westin where I have stayed before. Its 1.2 m deep and quite long, enough to swim across and back and get a half decent workout if you do multiple laps. Really quite beautiful at night as the resort was pretty quiet when I stayed midweek and basically has the pool to ourselves all of the stay.

I didn't dine in except for the breakfast, which was really just ok by 5 star standards. Nothing great - no noodles station and choices were somewhat limited. ( I am comparing to the JW Marriott, Le Meridien, Westin and Renaissance where I usually stay ) Probably the weakest of the lot but by no means crap or lousy. It does the job.

There was a minor service issue as well with houskeeping when they took almost 6 hours and multiple phone calls to set up a fold-up bed for a third person. Otherwise they were generally friendly, warm and knew what they were doing.

If you have a car - head down towards the aquarium where just around the corner and opposite the third naval command - there is a nice seafood place with great prices and ambience at night. It is also a 15 min drive down to Parlai Seafood or Kim Eang 2 near the Chalong roundabout - these places have got great authentic thai food.

I would consider staying back here again on my next trip in October and overall this resort is good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flitting_bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisMartin_HKT, Directeur général at Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear flitting,

Thank you very much for taking the time reviewing our property.

Your comments are extremenly valuable for us.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon once again at the Phuket panwa Beachfront resort.

Be well!

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Just came back from our short holiday trip from Phuket.

If you are planning for a family trip with kids, and looking for a quiet, relaxed and almost a beach to yourself in Phuket. This could be the one that you could be looking for.

Being a new hotel, the room we got (seaview) was First class. No complaint here.

The beach is not so much for swimming and snorkelling, as it is almost every day while we were there around ankle level all the way out for a good 50m or more. There are abundant of small crabs, hermit crabs and small school of fishes and it is really good for family to spend half a day enjoying and exploring the true nature. Especially during the low tides, the beach is bare and many small crabs are working out in the sun. Recommended though to wear a strapped sandal and go out to explore as the sand is soft and there are small rocks around.

The breakfast is decent and we got it free as part of the current promotion with free WIFI. The service staff in the restaurant though are first class. Keep up the good work!

Transportation and location of the hotel depends on what you are looking for. The busier and happening part is on the western side of Phuket, So you would find yourself needing to travel to Phuket town or even west side (Patong, Kata areas) for sightseeing, shopping and meals. Moving around to other places can be improved. There is no public transportation system like the busier areas in Phuket. You need to check with the only "taxi" service outside the hotel (beside hotel limousine service). Expect to pay single trip to Phuket town for 400 baht and to Patong for 800 baht one way. A complimentary shuttle service to some appointed areas would indeed strengthen the value of this hotel.

Everyone were invited to a snack and wine party one evening so that the team there can gain feedback about what to improve and where. This is a first for me (I been to a few newly opened hotels before) and I appreciated the efforts by the team to make it right for the customers.

Overall, with 2 young boys, and not looking for lots of high activities but to have a relaxed and laid back days, the hotel served our needs. And to not give 5 stars rating would be rather unfair to the hardworking team working there.

Thanks for everything. :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SGTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Dear SGTJ,

We're delighted with your feedback - thank you very much for your recognition.

We've just put on subsidised shuttles to Phuket Town and Central Festival at THB 150 per person.

And free wi-fi is guaranteed for every guest, no matter what room or rate product they have purchased.

Our activity schedule is ramping up too.

We're thrilled with your feedback and we'd love to see you again. Until then, wishing you and your young family every success.

Yours,
Iain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

This splendid getaway , hidden amongst tall and majestic trees hidding a beautiful gift- the famous Cape Panwa Beach. Delivering a mysterious yet relaxing aura , this newly built beach resort is one of a kind you dont wanna miss. Indulge yourself in this sweet heaven, a getaway from busy streets and frustrating honks from cars. Strongly reccomend this wonderful ,tantalizing piece of heavenly art with clear blue waters and vanilla clouds.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coconutree0922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

Dear Coconutree0922,

I fear you are a poet,
But you don't even know it.

Love the review.
Iain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed at this hotel just a few weeks after the openinng and being almost empty, we really enjoyed ourselves and felt the hotel was exclusevely for us!
The hotel is brand new therefore everything is immaculate and the service top class!
The breakfast was excellent and the service was great!
Overall, a very nice experience at this hotel and would definitely think to stay here again.
The location is pretty good, in a quiet area with no much to do around, but about 15 minutes taxi ride to the Mall and about 30 minutes ride to Patong.
All in all, very pleased with my stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pablost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisMartin_HKT, Directeur général at Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear Pablost,

Thnak you very much for taking the time reviewing our property.

Your comments are extremely valuable for us.

We are looking forward to see you soon once again here in Phuket.

Sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

This resort is absolutely beautiful and great value too. The rooms are comfortable and large. And I loved the Patio bar which sat just on the beach, great views and attentive staff. For me the one thing that really made my stay perfect was having wifi access in the pool area. I sat facing the beach with my laptop and was able to stay connected whilst still feeling so relaxed. You also have to visit the spa, it was very relaxing and the staff were excellent. Worth the trip and really such good value. Loved every minute of it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheresaTess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisMartin_HKT, Directeur général at Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear TheresaTe...,

Thank you very much for reviewing our property.

Your comments are extremely valuablke for us.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon back to Phuket.

Sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I was here for a company training just last month, and i must say i was blown away by how beautiful this resort is. The rooms were spacious and the were a couple of pools there that you could lounge around in.
After confirmation of the room, the hotel contacted me and organised Airport pick up for me (THB 1,100). The journey from airport to hotel took about 45 mins. Upon arrival, the check in process took slightly longer than it normally should, but the hotel was open for barely a month, so i guess that was forgivable.
I was given the seaview room, and i loved how spacious the room and balcony were.

The hotel had 2 pools, one of which was just by the bar which would be great for lazing around (if i wasnt here for work), the other one just in front of my room. There seem to be some groundfloor loft units with a lap pool right in front of it (connected to other units)..those look interesting and i may come again and try staying that room if possible.

The beach though was in a cove, so it was pretty quiet and still, especially during the low tide. The rainy season also didnt help with getting out too often...
The buffet lunch was pretty good, and i had pizza for dinner (mushroom with truffle oil) which was delicious.

I would really recommend this place as a great romantic & relaxed getaway, and would probably come with my wife the next time to fully enjoy this place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wuterence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gagudju, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Dear Wuterence,

I must thank you for your review. It is great to see that its obvious to our guests we've made a huge effort to make the resort a truly beautiful place to vacation.

We've undergone further enhancements since you've left with the addition of a seasoned Guest Relations Manager. We're soon to operate a subsidised twice daily shuttle service to Phuket Town and Central Festival. Our signature spa, Thann sanctuary and spa is open with healing hands, and our streetside cafe is open too.

All this at a time when Crowne Plaza has announced a region wide sale of up to 30% off our normal rates. The rates include breakfast for 2 and of course free internet, so now is the time to book your escape by heading to our website. Those Andaman Pool Villas are for sale as well, so you can treat the wife.

Look forward to seeing you again on your return.

Iain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Panwa
1.4 mi away
Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort
23.5 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 13 in Cape Panwa
1,025 reviews
12.2 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
3.4 mi away
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach

Address: 8/88 Moo 7, Sakdidech Road | Vichit Sub-District, Muang Phuket District, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand (Formerly Phuket Panwa Beachfront Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Panwa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Panwa
#5 Spa Hotel in Cape Panwa
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range: $83 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the tranquil setting of the stunning Phuket Panwa Beachfront Resort. Located just 10 minutes from charming Phuket Town, our brand new 5 star resort is set in the secluded Makham Bay, with its own private beach and spectacular views of the Andaman sea.Explore our unique heritage where Sino-Portuguese design meets modern comforts. Revel in our array of stunning guest rooms complemented by thoughtful touches and premier bedding. Our suites are spacious and opulent, all with bay views and most with direct access to a semi private pool. With 2 swimming pools, a fitness centre, kids club, Pawan Panwa Spa, tour desk and a Recreation Manager, filling up a day with activities is little issue. The hotel is catered with a pool bar, an all day dining restaurant, Mosaic, a cafe, lobby lounge and an Italian beachfront restaurant, Patio. Naturally room service is available for 24 hours. Wi-fi is complimentary for all guests throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Orbitz, Travelocity, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach Cape Panwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing