We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated”
Review of Sawasdee

Sawasdee
Ranked #4 of 29 Restaurants in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: http://phuketwan.com/entertainment/sawasdee-cape-panwa-foreshore/
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
367 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This restaurant comes out on top of many reviews. I can't knock the food or the look of the place. However, it is the only restaurant with a queue. My theory is that it is 'safe'. It could equally be in a town in England and that is it's problem. It doesn't feel authentic. It will suit the traveller who is not confident with 'foreign' food. But if you are in Thailand to experience the real place then give it a miss.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 900Lancasterfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    791
    371
    107
    30
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
380 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Good Value For Money”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The food here is pretty good. There are limited vegetarian options on the menu but the staff is very friendly and helpful and willing to make dishes vegetarian for customers. The highlights for me were the Thai Iced Milk Tea and the Sticky Coconut-Mango rice. We also had the Spring Rolls, which were nice and crisp, Fried Bananas & Ice Cream, and the Red Massaman Curry, which was super spicy. Overall, Sawasdee was good value for money.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Divya1526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

After reviewing another Trip advisor review on this place we decided to give it a go, and we were so glad we did. The food was wonderful and cheep. I would go here again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“LOVE IT”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Food was great, chicken satay was AMAZING!! my fav it Chicken & cashew nuts, defo worth a visit

2 starters 2 mains 2 drinks 480 baht £8

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank fabinpink666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modiin Israel
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent in all respects”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Ate here at the end of our first day at Cape Panwa Hotel and came back four more evenings. In other words, we ate here every night - trying Thai dishes. Highly recommended for the excellent food and charming service. Prices were very reasonable. No need to repeat the location as it has already been mentioned. Definitely worth waiting for if there is a line for tables.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ArnaModiinIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sawasdee also viewed

 
Cape Panwa, Phuket
 

Been to Sawasdee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing