We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice and quiet hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Mangrove Panwa Phuket Resort
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Rostov-on-Don, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice and quiet hotel”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Right now enjoying our stay in this hotel. Strange to see it filled only to 20-30% of its capacity. The hotel is new, clean and quiet, so if you look for calm holidays outside a city and away from crowd, you can get it all there.

On arrival we've received free upgrade to Premier Suite Villa, with outdoor bathtub. All villas are standalone, so you get your privacy here. Interior is simple yet tasteful. Air conditioning is new and works well: 5 minutes is enough to cool down the room after a hot day. Also there are electric kettle, microwave, TV and DVD (2 or 3 channels in English). My wife likes the canopy over our bed a lot.

The territory is neither huge nor small, but obviously much better than in any city hotel. There are plenty of palms, pines and other trees. The reception and rooms building are located higher than most of the villas and the restaraunt, so if you live in a room you'll need to take a few steps.

The pool is in fact quite small (it could be bigger IMO). From here you get a good view on the sea bay with mangrove trees. Unluckily there is no beach, so if you want to swim in the sea you'll have to get to another beach by hotel minibus or by taxi.

Restaraunt is located right along the pool. Food is tasty and still not overpriced, as it often is in hotels. $20 for dinner is enough (without alcohol) for 2 persons. They serve both local and european meals.

Wi-Fi is free there, and more importantly it's hassle-free. No nagging "welcome" pages, no "please-enter-your-room-number", no strange network setup which limits you to web-browsing only. It just works! Speed is good, enough to watch Youtube live. I was able to make a VPN connection to my office, everything worked fine.

And here are some tips for those who like to complain about little annoyances :)
Ants and lizards are your frequent neighbours outside. And we've even seen a lizard in our room 2 or 3 times. But we haven't payed much attention to this and, you know, nothing bad happened. Also expect cicadas and frogs to sing their songs in the evening.
You can find some leaves in the pool and lawns almost anytime though they are cleaned every day. Really not a big problem though.
Due to tides water in the bay sometimes runs from shore, and seaview becomes quite surrealistic.

All in all this hotel isn't ideal for all and has definite target audience. If you want a hotel which is big, crowded,or city-oriented, or has its own beach, or you dislike insects/small animals - this one is not for you. On the contrary, if calmness and serenity is what you're looking for - pay close attention to Mangrove Panwa, as this is a very good choice!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    115
    25
    15
    7
See reviews for
66
166
27
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
283 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Our stay was three days at this lovely new resort. The location is near the old town of Phuket. After a long flight to Thailand it was nice to stay in a restful quite resort away from the noise and crowds of the beach areas. The staff was very warm and friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. We chose an upper room and not the water view.Just waking around you see the water and bay,and the rooms are all the same so why pay more. The room was very nicely designed (beds and pillows were comfortable) with a good air conditioner that was quite. The pool and bar and restaurant were open air and very pleasant. The food/drinks were good and the service was very good. There are upper rooms near the reception area and the other rooms/and villas have some steps down a hill, but are manageable. At night they light the path with lanterns which is charming. When we departed the staff took us to our tour meeting point and made sure we were picked up before they departed from us. If I ever return to Phuket this is the place that I will stay...just wonderful..thank you all at the Mangrove Panwa Phuket Resort!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Traveldiive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We spent only one day in there but we got a great experience and excellence service in here. We stayed in Suite Beach Front outside the room is ocean views that is awesome and very romantic for us. The hotel is really nice for relax and full fill your energy. Recommended!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Punsaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is my first time to visit Phuket and im really impressed. I've stayed at the Mangrove Panwa for 2 nights, this resort is quite new, room is clean, nice decoration and comfortable. I also love d pool wit sea view and lovely bar area. Price is reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jayjaypj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

If isolation is what you are looking for, you have it here! This resort is in the middle of nowhere. I had booked for a 10 night stay, and was looking forward to a relaxing holiday. Now there is relaxing and just plain boring - and this place is just plain boring. If I could have, I would have left after 5 nights, but I have stuck it out for 8. I leave tomorrow. The most people I have seen at breakfast has been 5, usually there is no-one at all around the pool, and dinner is another very intimate affair! So what can I say? The rooms are quite nice and modern, although already showing signs of wear and tear (cracks in the walls etc), but they are basic - good heavens they are basic - do not expect luxury here. The photographs on the website have been taken by a creative genius! The TV has 15 channels (only 2 in English) which normally I wouldn't have a problem with, but as this is the ONLY source of entertainment (apart from a few tired board games in the bar) I found it a little limiting. Talking of the bar, it is by the (very nice, and empty) pool, and drinks and food are very reasonably priced and good. If you are disabled and cannot manage steps easily please do not even think of coming here. Thankfully I am not, but it would have been unbearable if I were to be, as the place is built on a steep slope and there are uneven and deep steps everywhere. There is not much else to say really, as there is nothing more here to comment upon - Oh, apart from the fact that there are ants and lizards everywhere! A lizard in your bed is not a pleasant experience - believe me! All in all, a disappointment - and I would certainly not rate this hotel any more than 3 stars by any standard. If you want a relaxing luxury break - with a range of facilities (like perhaps a spa, a choice of restaurant or just somewhere to walk to) go somewhere else. For me, I shall be rather pleased to return home to the UK - even the temperature drop of 18°C feels exciting compared with this place!

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The hotel is quite far from the airport and everything else. However you can rent motorbikes at the hotel and a taxi station is right across the street. The hotel also offers some shuttle bus service to the nearest beach and phuket town but we never needed it. You'll have no problems getting around even from this remote location. The rooms where clean, tastefully decorated and in an overall good condition as the hotel seemed to be fairly new. There was some construction work in progress on the property (new apartments) which was not intruding at all. I'm just mentioning it because they seem to be expanding the area. The pool is in front of the restaurant which wasn't as expensive as it probably could have been. You also get direct access to the ocean but there's no beach or anything inviting you for a swim (yet).
Our overall experience was very nice, the staff was very polite and always helpful.

Room Tip: The deluxe bungalows have a bathtub on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nacido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The Mangrove Panwa is a perfect spot for a quiet thai getaway. The staff was unbelievably helpful. The facilities were clean, comfortable and very nice. The resort was uncrowded and serene. Exotic birds and cicadas could be heard regularly throughout the day. The place was a perfect safe haven in overcrowded High Season Phuket.

Room Tip: The 200s and low100s
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Au A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Panwa hotels
2.8 mi away
Kantary Bay, Phuket
Kantary Bay, Phuket
#1 of 13 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
1.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach
2.4 mi away
Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 13 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
2.9 mi away
Cape Panwa Hotel
Cape Panwa Hotel
#4 of 13 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mangrove Panwa Phuket Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mangrove Panwa Phuket Resort

Property: The Mangrove Panwa Phuket Resort
Address: 39/6 Moo 6, Soi Baan Borrae, Ao-Yon Khaokhad Rd, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cape Panwa
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mangrove Panwa Phuket Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mangrove Panwa Phuket Resort is a modern in nature and romantic resort on Panwa Beach, with stunning beachfront view and touch of the fabulous Andaman Sea.All 32-guest bedrooms are housed on low-rise floors, surrounded in our natural tropical garden with an easy access to our private mangrove beach. The Mangrove Panwa Phuket Resort is the perfect place for honeymoons, family holidays, and /or solo travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Prestigia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Mangrove Panwa Phuket Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mangrove Panwa Phuket Resort Cape Panwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing