We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall very good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Overall very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

We really enjoyed this hotel. We booked through a late deal because we were in Phuket already and looking for a place for 6 nights, and got a great flash deal online.
We didn't use Azur (fine dining) but did try Aqua (cafe, bit cheaper)....despite the previous reviews.
The A La Carte food was actually very very good, and didn't take too long to arrive.....but they did forget the cutlery on every course, we didn't get a napkin til midway through the main course, and the table runner was still a bit dirty from the previous diners....it was a bit frantic but we were in good spirits so let it pass. Definitely not a 5* dining experience, but the food actually made up for it, and the staff were trying their best. They seem to be pushing these themed buffet nights where you just serve yourselves from pre-cooked food....so maybe they've decided that's the best model to follow !
The deluxe sea view room was great, no problems whatsoever, and we loved both swimming pools...especially the landside pool which seems a bit colder and refreshing because it's not in full sun all day long.....a good tip for when the main pool is as warm as a bath in the afternoon!
The beach is not like on the west side of Phuket....it's very narrow, the sea is calm and flat and you can walk out 100 metres and still only be thigh deep in warm water.....great for kids and extremely safe. Many people take the free kayaks and go for a paddle round the bay...it's nice.
The hotel prices are obviously much more expensive than the shop over the road, and we couldn't justify the horrendously expensive spa.....you're talking 10 times as much as the places over the road. I'm sure it's a better overall experience, but not 10 times better.
Incidentally, there are four Thai massage places over the road within about 50 meters......three were pretty naff but the one furthest to the left (Phuket massage, set back up a few steps) was amazingly good for me. Older ladies, totally respectable and incredibly good, strong Thai massage that makes you wince but leaves you feeling far better. I found the other places were just moonlighting at it, untrained, didn't really hit the spot and didn't seem to actually ask you anything etc. There are loads of these places now in Phuket so if you find a good place it's worth hanging onto and giving them the business.

Oh, the Russians are up at 6.30am to reserve the sunbeds so worth noting if you're coming in high season...I watch them from the balcony sneaking in at daybreak, then sneaking away....then they disappear til lunchtime. Perhaps it's just a cultural "equality" thing that needs to be learned, like the Germans used to do in Spain.
We saw some people having to lie on the hot wood deck next to the pool when there were unused sunbeds sitting there with clean towels on them and a Thai pool guy just doing nothing. The Radisson needs to be a bit more pro-active in enforcing some sort of time limit for unused sunbeds and just take the towels away...the whole point is they should be used and not reserved for selfish guests who cannot be bothered to even be there. That's another "service" thing that doesn't match up to the 5* infrastructure.
Overall, we had a great stay and enjoyed it more than we thought. Panwa is very quiet and i think any more than 7 days is too long here....but it's a good place to visit and take a break.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank odowdchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDPhuket, Manager at Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Dear "Odowdchr"
big THANKS for your constructive feedback. We apologize for the short comings and addressed all points to our associates.
We are glad you enjoyed your time in Thailand!
Best regards and hope to see you soon back.
Best regards
Marco Seiler
& Radisson Blu Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    857
    592
    189
    58
    31
See reviews for
371
923
78
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

The radisson resort in Phuket is perfect for those not wanting to stay in the hustle and bustle of patong on Phuket island. The people are lovely, the facilities are gorgeous and I definitely recommend a massage at the spa!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barlowg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dongara, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

We had a very relaxing time over xmas 2011. Only about 50% occupancy until after xmas when it rose to close to 100%. still able to find a deck chair by the lanside pool though. I don't think some guests no about this pool - they all seem to gather at the seaside pool. The staff a quite good, attentive, with most having a reasonable grasp of english. A lot of guests (mainly european) treat the staff like personnal slaves and hardly acknowledge them - quite rude really. A simple please & thank you is all that is required and even hello if you can't manage Sawadee. The food is quite good with a good variety - buffets & a la carte (the Thai food is better outside the hotel). There are also some good reastaurants/cafes nearby - Tree Tops right across the road - does everything, food, laundry, car rental, taxis, massage, tours - nice friendly staff. The massages are fantastic & cheap. There are also mini marts where you can by all sorts of things including alcohol (there is also a small liquor store which has a better range of wine & spirits), a cafe which does coffees and at night a seafood restaurant (quite basic looking but the food is great) - these are within 100 metres of the hotel entrance. About 500 metres walk to the bay there are more restaurants, bakery/mini mart & a couple of hotels & the Aquarium. There is a good seafood/variety restaurant right on the corner opposite the naval base. There is also a little Indian restaurant (Live India) just up a side street - this has some of the best indian food. There are hawker stalls set up along the bay in the evening. The best thing is the location away from all the rubbish over in Patong. The people on the street are friendly and there is none of the persistant hassle. All in all a good relaxing time can be had here. You can either just stay in the hotel grounds or go for a walk to the bay. The hotel also has a free shuttle to Phuket Town or a huge shopping mall called Central Festival. The town is typical asia with some good bargains to be had if you want to shop. Didn't go to the mall - weren't interested.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pools would be better, but as they are closed at night it isn't a big proble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank seaside3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDPhuket, Manager at Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Dear "Seaside3"
thanks for staying with us and glad to hear you had a great time! STay in touch and hope to welcome you and/or your friends & family back to Phuket soon!
Marco & Radisson Blu Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

The hotel was absolutely wonderful and the staff very friendly. I would definitly recommend any this hotel to everyone

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Romeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDPhuket, General Manager at Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Dear "Nefertem"
thanks you for taking time to share your experience. Glad you enjoyed to hotel and sorry to hear Aqua did not live up to expectations. We are working hard to improve in all aspects. I hope you give us another chance when you come back.
Have a great day
Marco & Radisson Blu Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

I was traveling with a Japanese friend, and we had had lots of Thai food and were looking for a respite and wanted some good Western-style food, so we visited this Radisson. The hotel staff were all very friendly and efficient, and they immediately showed us to the main restaurant, called Aqua. We were very excited, because we found some very nice sounding things on the menu, and ordered and waited for our meal.

The service was overall very good and timely. The salads came, and they were large portions that tasted very good. My friend had ordered tomato cream soup, and I had ordered leek soup with scallops. Well, the leek soup looked just like the French onion soup they also had on the menu for almost half the price of the leek soup, and it contained a single tiny scallop, the size of a nickel (maybe a quarter). It was so salty that neither one of us could eat it. The tomato soup seemed to be missing any semblance of cream, and both looked and tasted like a thick marinara sauce for pasta. It took us quite a while to be able to even eat half the soup between us, as we were actually quite hungry. But my friend was very disappointed and wanted to leave, so he asked me to see if they had cooked the main courses yet, as he wished to go if they hadn't. But just as I got ready to ask, they brought them over. He had ordered some sauteed scallops, and they came on beds of pink colored mashed potatoes. The scallops were like rubber and covered in a treacly thick sweet sauce. Even the potatoes had a strange flavor. Neither one of us could stomach them. My dish was slices of roast lamb, which I had ordered rare to medium rare. They came almost well done and were so overcooked, tough, and smelly (more like mutton than lamb), that were could not eat that dish either. The pan-fried rounds of potatoes on the side were still crunchy! We called over a waitress and explained that we could not eat the main courses and, as were not happy, we wanted our bill right away so we could leave.

Well, the service that had been good up until that time suddenly became terrible. She brought us over a bill for the full amount (which was OK, as we just wanted to leave) and took away my friend's credit card, but five minutes later she had still not returned. I spoke to one waiter about it, and then to someone looking like the maitre d'. He investigated and finally found that the hotel machine would not accept my friend's credit card, so bringing it back to us about 10 minutes after it had been taken away, he apologized profusely and asked for another card. But he also said that as we were so unhappy, and as the service was so bad, he was not going to charge us for the main courses. Eventually, about 15 to 20 minutes after we had originally asked for the bill, we finally got my friend's second credit card back and were able to leave.

Since we did not stay in the hotel, we have no way of knowing if that is a common occurrence or a fluke, but we will never dine there again. So please note that my comments below refer ONLY to the restaurant, and NOT to the hotel itself.

To be fair, the overall service was friendly, and, except for the glitch at the end, very efficient. The hotel seems very nice and clean, and is certainly the best in the area. Perhaps our expectations had been too high? We both live in Tokyo, and were expecting the same standards one would expect at any Radisson/Carlson around the world. But in this case we were sadly disappointed. So on a scale of FIVE stars, my friend would have to rate our dining experience as TWO stars at most, whereas I would be tempted to say only ONE. (But the maitre d' [or whoever took care of us] personally deserves FIVE!)

Room Tip: Any room is probably fine, as the hotel seems so nice and clean. Just stay away from the Aqua Restau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nefertem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

We decided to stay here as this is the only Carlson/Radisson chain in Phuket; and we wanted to utilize our hotel points during our trip. We contemplated at the very beginning, knowing the location will be far from the places we plan to visit, however after experiencing the service & resort itself - we were glad indeed! Check-in & checkout were seamlessly convenient and fast.

We had the Seaview Suite - simply amazing! The room came with huge balcony and separate room with big jacuzzi overlooking the sea... couldn't ask for a more romantic setting after an exhausting day.

Nothing much to shout about the sea though... beach literally nonexistent. Pools however are nicely maintained in a tropical setting.

We hired a car for a day to get to the city & attractions. And luckily the trips we booked included free pickups (we got JC Tour that provided free airport pickup and for our trips to the islands), some companies charge you extra if you stay in Cape Panwa.

If location is not your primary concern, save your time and don't look any further.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tygerlily20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDPhuket, General Manager at Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Dear "Tygerlily20"
so happy to hear you enjoyed, relaxed and had a great time!
Hope to see you soon again.
Best regards from sunny Phuket!
Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2011

We stayed 6 nights at the Radisson Blu in November.
The hotel is built on a hillside and basically comprises a main building with two accommodation blocks either side, with bungalows in front. The hotel is built in a sheltered cove so the sea is very calm. There are 3 swimming pools. The main one has water jets and Jacuzzis and was fantastic. There are 2 main restaurants and a poolside bar. We only had breakfast at the hotel. This is the usual buffet, with mixture of oriental and Western food. The quality and choice is really good. The bar is expensive compared to the surrounding area. The poolside bar does 2-for-1 cocktails at sunset. We did try these once, but they were not very good. Out room was on the second floor and we had a great view of the bay. There was a lounger and table on the balcony. The room was comfortable and was serviced promptly every day. Internet access complementary.
Things I would have liked to know before going:
The hotel is at the very south of Phuket at Panwa Beach (about 50 mins drive from the airport). The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the other hotels at Panwa, restaurants and the aquarium. Panwa is very quiet with little nightlife outside the hotels. Great for relaxation, but I would not recommend it if you are looking for nighlife. There is a 7-11 shop opposite the hotel, some ATM’s and some places to get massage. We ate most nights at Hill Top, which is opposite the hotel. It was reasonably priced, good food and the owners were really friendly. I would recommend it. We also ate at Sawasdee but thought Hill Top was better.
The hotel runs free shuttle buses to Phuket town and to the Festival Shopping Mall. We went to Phuket town. We found it a bit hit and miss and so would not recommend visiting.
We really liked this hotel. It was very relaxing and the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DowdsP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Panwa
0.3 mi away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 12 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
1.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach
19.5 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cape Panwa Hotel
Cape Panwa Hotel
#4 of 12 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,445 reviews
25.0 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
8.0 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort

Property: Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort
Address: 44/5 Moo 8, Sakdidesh Road | Vichit, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand (Formerly Radisson Blu Plaza Resort Phuket Panwa Beach)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Panwa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#6 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort features 211 guest accommodations in contemporary Thai decor including spacious pool villas, three free-form swimming pools, a children’s pool with waterslide, a well-being spa, fitness center, complimentary non-motorized water sports, and free wireless access throughout the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Plaza Resort Phuket Panwa Beach Hotel Cape Panwa
Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort Cape Panwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing