We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Great services and one of the best hotel to relax and do nothing.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ko Nakha Yai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Sea view with a pool, huge villa with area of shower, bedroom, stream sauna, ... feel as home. Great staff with hospitality. Our 3 kids want to come back too.
The breakfast and dinner are excellent. We are looking forward to be back soon.
The staff name "Noonoo"(I think) let us stay a little longer in the room in the check out day because our flight was very late and we got 3 kids. It was more convenient to stay in the room longer than stay in the waiting area. It was so generous for us.
Want to be back soon.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natheethong T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erich_FRIEDL, General Manager at The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Natheethong T,

It is with pleasure that I read your 5 Star review on the Trip Advisor website following your recent stay with us at The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Phuket.

I am delighted that you felt at home during your Naka experience and had a nice relaxing stay while enjoying the service from our Ambassadors, your villa with all of its luxury features, plus the breakfast and dinner options.

The Naka Team is looking forward to welcoming you back for your next stay with us in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Erich Friedl
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (861)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

536 - 542 of 861 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

This was our last hotel of my trip and was a true delight a perfect place to relax for four days to end our long trip around thailand,located away from the main island of Phuket but only a short ride away by speed boat.

Our Villa was huge we had a sea view with are a pool so we never needed to leave the villa, nice private and quiet with the occsional buzz of the boats,yes there were many mosquitos but it is surounded by jungle so is to be expected, i wouldnt say it was overly different to the rest of our trip..

As your on an Island you are limited to the dining in the resort we mainly had food in our room which was great, we only really went to the restaurant for breakfast which had a great selection everything that you need. one night we went to the bar and had sunset cocktails with a selection of tapas which were very tasty.

As with all the Thai people everyone here was super friendly and helpful a big thank to the lady in the bar very friendly and took care of us, we did venture into Patong one day which is not to eveyones taste and i would't return there in a hurry.

again a beautiful hotel with lovely people would return in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonDaniel1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erich_FRIEDL, General Manager at The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Dear LondonDaniel1970,

Thank you for sharing your review of the Naka Island Resort with other Travelers on the Trip Advisor website following your recent stay at our resort.

I am so pleased that you had such a relaxing experience and I thank you for your compliments regarding your Sea View Pool Villa, breakfast variety, in Villa dining and Z-Bar at sunset with Tapas and Cocktails. We find that because our Villas are so large, comfortable, private and have their own pool, that sometimes our guests, as you did, choose to stay and relax in their Villa all day and order In Villa Dining for meals.

Your compliments regarding our super friendly staff have been passed on to all of our Ambassadors, with a special mention to Noi who took such great care of you at Z-Bar.

All of us at The Naka Island are looking forward to welcoming you back for your next ‘kick back & relax’ vacation.

Kind Regards,
Erich Friedl
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

One of the best resorts I have visited! It definitely exceeded our expectations on all counts. We have stayed in many 5 star properties in Thailand but the staff at Naka were outstanding. The villas take the cake! Villas are beautifully laid out with private pools and a separate 'sala area'. Each villa has a couple of bicycles stationed outside which can be used to cycle around the island and visit the nearby village.
The main pool is very nice and there are ample sun loungers to relax. The spa is very elaborate and should be visited even if you don't intend to undertake a treatment. An evening visit to Z Bar, particularly at sunset with spectacular views, is highly recommended.
The only drawback is that there is no 'proper' beach at the resort. Although there are a couple of hammocks overlooking the bay to sit and relax.
Overall a very good resort to relax and unwind for a couple of nights!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaiq K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erich_FRIEDL, General Manager at The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Dear Shaiq K,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on the Trip Advisor website further to your stay with us at The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Phuket.

As you described, The Naka is indeed perfect for relaxing and unwinding and I am glad that your experience exceeded your expectations. Our Ambassadors will welcome your compliments for their outstanding service and I can assure you that many of our Naka guests also highly compliment our Villas, pools, Spa and of course the Z-Bar and its spectacular views and sunsets.

I hope you and your family have the opportunity to visit us again at The Naka Island for another memorable stay in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Erich Friedl
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a nice resort 5 minutes by boat of Phuket but it does cost a fortune. I have stayed at the Banyan Tree in Koh Samui and many W resorts in Asia and was much more satisfied with the outcome. The resort itself is nice but the beach is awful and and when the tide comes in, the water goes back for about 200 meters and the view is just ugly. The resort is located on a very little island and there is nothing else than the 2 restaurants of the resort and these 2 restaurants are so ridiculous expense I could really believe it. A Singha beer costs 8 USD and the food is very expensive too and hey, we are in Thailand, not in London. I spent nearly 6000 USD for 1 week for average food and accomodation. There are definitly much nicer resorts for this price around Phuket and Thailand.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MStuker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erich_FRIEDL, General Manager at The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear MStuker,

I would like to thank you for staying recently with us at The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Phuket and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

Your feedback is important to us and I would like to thank you for describing The Naka as a nice resort, close to Phuket mainland and for highly rating your sleep quality, private luxury Villa and cleanliness of our resort during your stay.

The Naka Island Resort is a favorite among world travelers, couples and small families for many reasons including the fact that the island is peaceful and secluded and while having a relatively small number (67) of private Villas in total, our two restaurants, Tonsai and My Grill, plus the additional dining options of ZBar and In Villa Dining are highly praised by our guests for offering a multitude of food tastes and variations each day.

The price of our Singha, Chang, Heineken and Tiger Beers is 180 Thai Baht (approx $6 US, not your quoted $8) which is actually 20% less than some other 5 Star luxury hotels and I can assure you that the food and beverage pricing across the board at our resort is in line or under that of other resorts in our category in the Phuket / Southern Thailand region.

Please also allow me to clarify for readers of your review that your estimation of our low tide receding 200 metres is indeed far over stated and the tide differential is actually less than 60 metres from high to low tide. Our beach is typical of the Phuket eastern coastline and our guests relax, swim and enjoy our water sports at our beach each day, all year round.

Unfortunately The Naka Island has not turned out to be one of your favorite destinations, however I thank you for choosing to stay with us and wish you well in your future travels.

Kind Regards
Erich Friedl
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We spent 3.5 weeks at the Naka Island resort this January. We traveled as a couple and were looking for true relaxation and for getting away from it all. From the moment we arrived throughout our whole stay - Naka Island was a dream. You can tell that it is a well managed hotel (thanks for everything Erich) and that the emphasis is on creating a sense of warmth and a worry-free environment. From some of the reviews we read before, we were prepared for something much less perfect than what we found. Yes, the resort used to be a Six Senses and is transitioning to a Starwood resort - but it is simply perfect.
Our highlights:
Book a seaview villa, definitely worth it. If you want a nice view on to Phang Nga Bay - get a room in the 40ies llike 46 (our villa which was perfect and close
Z-Bar), if you prefer the busier side towards Phuket and sunset views, go with a 50ies number. The beach at the resort is okay during high tide, but more of a marsh land during low tide. However - the pool is great and the island has 2 more stunning beaches, one right next to the resort at Naka Village and the other a bike ride through the jungle on the other side of the island. You can reach both beaches by mountain bike (provided by the resort and free of charge) or take a kayak around the island (also free of charge). It is about 20 minutes by bike and about 1 hour by kayak to the other side of the island (much more exhausting but great fun nevertheless - you can take the kayak, spend some time at the beach and then complete the island circle and get a certificate from the resort for making it all the way around :-)). There is ice cream and drinks at the beach which is run by local people from Naka village, so, take some cash. The only downside is that this beach is one of the most stunning in the area and as such you will see tourist boats coming in from about 1pm until about 3.30 pm. So, it tends to get crowded and you get some fun jet skis. Other than that - it is a dream and even then, you can find some quiet corners.
Gym and recreation: both are great. Particularly because there are so many options every day like Thai Boxing or Jungle Gym etc. The team of recreation guys run by Khun Petch comprises some incredible talent. Thank you guys.
Internet: available for free in public areas and at Z-Bar. Available for free at the villa as part of your Starwood benefits. It works but is not the fastest which shouldn't be an issue cause you are there to relax.
Food: You can go for half board or breakfast. We opted for the earlier which is definitely recommended for a long stay like ours. Otherwise food is on the costly side - but all of it is excellent. The team goes a long way to make sure that individual preferences are met and that you don't get tired of the food even after 3.5 weeks. If you love fish - go to my grill or have your catch prepared by the chef for you (yes, the recreation guys offer fishing tours around the island - at a charge, but worth it) - or go for something more Thai / International at Tonsai. Whatever you choose - it is going to be excellent. We felt that the portions were a little small when we got there, but by just asking them to do a little more, things were sorted. If you like wine, you will find the wine list relatively basic with prices ranging around 50 - 150 Euro a bottle. We found that to be too expensive - and would have loved a wider choice if paying amounts like that for a bottle of wine. But you have plenty other choices (cocktail / beer) to go for. Z-Bar is the ideal sunset place, as part of your Starwood benefits you can also opt for a free cocktail at Z-Bar. Noi is your perfect hostess (thanks for the gift, reminding me of Thailand every day :-)) and if there is a downside to Z-Bar it is that music would be adding to the atmosphere.
Spa - it is huge and offers a large variety - all of the treatments are excellent and yes, they are not cheap, but this is a 5-star hotel so, don't expect beach prices. The atmosphere and the actual treatment are stunning and you will want to come back to the spa every day. The only downside is, the menu is too extensive and it is virtually impossible to try everything. And it can confuse you, because there are too many choices :-).
Accommodation again - now this is something you have to experience for yourself. We have traveled a lot and have seen many great places, but when we were shown to our villa (46) the view, the facilities and the size simply took our breath away. You have your own pool, outdoor shower, steam room and when you wake up in the morning - you have the most wonderful view ever.... We slept like babies... Awesome, simply awesome.
Bottom line - if you have a chance, go to Naka Island. It is worth every minute you get to spend there and much more.
We will do everything in our power to come back. Thanks to Khun Erich, Khun Dave, Khun Petch and Khun Nu Nu for making our stay unforgettable (Sorry if we misspelled any names :-(...)
Doreen & Heiko

Room Tip: Get a seaview villa and choose rooms with numbers in the 40ties for stunning views of Phang Nga Bay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doreen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erich_FRIEDL, General Manager at The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Doreen J,

Firstly, I would like to thank yourself and Heiko for sharing 3.5 weeks with us at The Naka Island as it was a pleasure to see you and spend some time with you both. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed account of your vacation at our resort for other travelers to read.

You certainly had plenty of time to experience all aspects of our resort and I must thank you for such positive feedback regarding your Sea View Pool Villa, spectacular views of Phang Nga Bay, Spa Naka, the excellent food and dining, activities with the recreation team, kayaking, bicycles and nightly sunset with cocktails at Z-Bar.

I have passed all of your comments and compliments to each department and also to our Ambassadors Khun Noi, Khun Petch, Khun Nu Nu and Khun David and know that they will be extremely happy to hear your kind words.

Your description of The Naka as ‘a true hideaway and dream vacation’ is certainly accurate and I must say that our resort is perfect for intimate couples, small families and experienced global travelers that are looking for privacy in an indigenous island setting to relax and unwind from a busy lifestyle in a resort that is like no other.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to stay with us again at The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Phuket in the future.

Kind Regards,
Erich Friedl
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

By finding this hotel from website, we decided to go to Puhket to stay this hotel.
Wonderful 3 nights stay was much more than we expected from the website and TA research.
From the time of arrival at marina till the end leaving marina, all the moment was so impressive.
1. Employees are tearingly nice and wondrful. Reception, restaurant, poolside, house keeping, laggage handling staffs at pier, maintenance staff, everyone! Great employee education or maybe it is Thai people's hospitality.
2. Room/villa was so spacious. Stayed at garden villa. It was great enough for us. Very big/spacious and private. Clean and well maintained. Private pool was much bigger than what we saw in website. Shower room can be a seam bath which was also a good +. Turn down service made our room a totally different atmosphere.
3. Food was great. Breakfast buffet was super. Wanted to try all the kinds they had, but there were too many to choose all. Even champain is available if you like.
For dinner, 2 retaurants to choose from. Both were good. My Grill was more upgraded. Grilled seafood for two was great. Fresh seafood with lobstar, prawns, fish,etc.
First night, I had a stomach ache from my previous day in BKK, staff from restaurant worried about me and asked their nurse to give me some pills. Also waived charge my noodle soup which took time to be served.
I was worried a littel by seeing some negative comment from TA review, but I am very happy to choose this hotel. Definately want to come back.
The only minor negative comment is wishing there were no kids or some area that is kids free. That annoyed us for dining and relaxing at poolside.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TravelProNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erich_FRIEDL, General Manager at The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear TravelProNewYork,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Phuket and for sharing your experience online with other Trip Advisor travelers.

It is with pleasure that I read your many compliments including our Ambassadors and their service, your breakfast and dining experiences, nightly turn down service plus your beautiful Villa with private pool.

Your kind words have been shared with all of our Ambassadors and departments and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again at The Naka Island Resort in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Erich Friedl
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed here for only a night and really wanted to extend my stay. We were met at Ao Por Grand Marina by hotel's staff. He escorted us to resort's speedboat for a short 3 minutes ride to the island. At hotel's pier, a golf cart was waiting and gave us a ride to our own villa for in-room check-in.

Our villa, seaview pool villa no.47, was magnificent!!! Bose sound system with and iPod. Big, comfortable bed with great choices of pillows. A plunge pool, steam room and bath tub were included in our villa. But the best thing in our villa was the view of Phang Nga Bay. Truly breathtaking!!! The villa is at the northwestern tip of the island, which has the best view.

The villa was some 500 meters away from restaurants and other hotel's facilities but we can call for a golf cart to give us a lift 24/7. So, it would be great to ask for villa no. 47 (45&46 also have the same view).

Since it was raining almost all the time when we were there, we have limited access to other facilities. We had a chance to visit Z Bar since it was next to our villa. Nice selections of cocktails and beverages. 2 for 1 offer available every Sunday's afternoon. We had a dinner at Tonsai restaurant and it was remarkable. Seafood buffet dinner with BBQ tiger prawns, crabs and sea basses.

Hotel's staffs were very nice. They smile all the time and eager to help us anyway they can. One of the best group of staffs we've ever met anywhere in the world.

I'd love to go back there. Truly magnificent resort.

Room Tip: Villa 45, 46 & 47 have the best view on the island but little far from restaurants and other fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JerryOu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erich_FRIEDL, General Manager at The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear JerryOu,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Naka Island experience with Trip Advisor readers.

I am so pleased to receive your review and your compliments regarding your Villa, cocktails at Z-Bar and your seafood buffet dining experience at our Tonsai restaurant.

Your kind words have been passed onto our Ambassadors for their hard work and friendliness and I must agree with you that the views of Phang Nga Bay from our resort are certainly breathtaking and unforgettable .

On behalf of the entire team at The Naka Island, Resort & Spa, Phuket, I would like to thank you again for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Erich Friedl
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Nakha Yai
5.7 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
933 reviews
12.9 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
18.0 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
12.6 mi away
Trisara
Trisara
#1 of 36 in Choeng Thale
832 reviews
11.1 mi away
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket

Address: 32 Moo 5 | Paklok, Thalang, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Ko Nakha Yai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ko Nakha Yai
Price Range: $229 - $982 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among stunning beaches, lush coconut groves, with never-ending views of the emerald-green Andaman Sea and idyllic landscapes of the Phuket coastline, The Naka Island is an exclusive boutique resort on Naka Yai Island, located just off the Phuket coast. While just 25 minutes from Phuket International Airport, The Naka Island is accessible only by private speedboat, making it a uniquely private and intimate retreat. The resort offers 67 villas that are magnificently appointed with private plunge pools and tropical gardens, along with an incomparable spa facility, access to countless outdoor recreation opportunities, and uncompromising service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Naka Island, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket Hotel Ko Nakha Yai
The Naka Island, a Luxury Collection Resort And Spa Phuket
The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing