We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very good hotel, and a nice experience, sadly the hotel has no charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ko Nakha Yai
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“a very good hotel, and a nice experience, sadly the hotel has no charm”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

i recently spent 4 nights at the naka. getting to and from the hotel can be a hassle, but one that can be managed easily if u used the hotel's service (at a price). i like the main pool area. the hotel's beach is so so, not too bad. u can bike or kayak (both provided by the hotel for free) to the other side of the island where the beach is much nicer.
the villa/room is ok and huge, if u like that rustic kinda feel. definitely the six sense left a mark, and this isn't easily erased. the first night, the hot water didn't work at our room. so the following day we had to move. i wonder why the hotel does not test all these before assigning rooms to guests.
the ground is reasonably well kept. i wasn't bothered too much by the details, though it was a little dry. not as green as i had hoped.
the food is so so. nothing to ring home about. the hotel has nice promotions at most outlets which was great. i loved trying different things there. expect edible food in a nice, rustic setting.
the staffs didn't seem to know what my booking conditions were, so i had to go through all my add-ons with them. that was a hassle.
all in all, it was a nice experience. would i return? No, i wouldn't. Would i recommend my friends there? NO, I wouldn't. but u can't fail the hotel.

Room Tip: pay extra for the room close to the sea. don't get the inner rooms cos there are no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank banjapat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erich_FRIEDL, General Manager at The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear banjapat,

Thank you for providing feedback further to your stay with at The Naka Island Resort.

I am happy that you had a nice experience during your stay and also to hear you describe The Naka Island as a very good hotel and that you liked your villa, the main pool area, outlet promotions and our resort’s rustic setting.

Guest comments are important to us and I can assure you that your feedback has been passed on to our team as part of our continual improvement program and will be reviewed accordingly.

I wish you well in your future travels and hope that you consider staying with us again at The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Phuket.

Kind Regards,
Erich Friedl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    192
    48
    16
    15
See reviews for
157
495
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

One of the best Luxury Collection Starwood's beach resorts property. After spend there for 10 nights I definately will be back for more. The property so isolated and quiet. The villa that we stayed was huge, spacious and you can feel the luxurious elements of it (expecially the bed).

The down side, I found most of the Starwood's public pool not so deep. It about 1.3-1.4m, it is not a big deal but I guess it thier policy. I also found food & Beverage are overprice (most of them).

Haven't say that, the restaurants food quality was excellent and I miss my "sapam mee" (I think) it is seafood noodles on breakfast menu. We also been bold asked tailor made room service menu on some nights and they accommodate our requests:- that above par !! Thanks for that.

Staff was excellent and friendly, well recommended for who seeking for private and quiet stay in Phuket !! not like MAD PATONG !!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indulge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erich_FRIEDL, General Manager at The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear indulge,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor following your 10 night stay with us at The Naka Island, A Luxury Resort & Spa, Phuket.

It certainly sounds like you enjoyed the peace and quiet of our island resort rather than the busy Phuket mainland. The Naka Island delivers intimacy and serenity with its private Villas and native island surroundings and is perfect for couples, honeymooners and families, however, it’s also only a 5 minute speedboat ride from Phuket mainland AoPo Grand Marina and then 25 minutes per car from the Phuket International Airport.

Your kind words regarding our Ambassadors being excellent and friendly have been gratefully received and it is nice to hear your compliments regarding your Villa and the restaurant food quality. The breakfast dish you liked so much and referring to in your review is ‘mee sapham’ and has become very popular with many of our guests.

I hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again for another memorable experience at The Naka Island Resort.

Kind Regards,
Erich Friedl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Beautiful place on the very small island, very quiet, friendly staff. There are bycicles for every villa.Food and massage are very expensive because no alternative on island. The cost of massage 10 times more than in public places! Don`t forget about rising tide and low tide! When I waked up in the morning i didn`t find the sea! Very nice sunset you can see from sea front and restaurant.

Room Tip: Makу a choice between direct access to the sea and view from the small hill. Access to the sea is mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexanderfokichev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erich_FRIEDL, General Manager at The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Alexanderfokichev,

Thank you for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor further to your recent stay with us at The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Phuket.

Your kind comments regarding our resort being a beautiful, quiet place, plus our friendly staff are much appreciated.

The sunsets each evening from our beach, restaurants or while enjoying Cocktails and Tapas at Z-Bar certainly are spectacular and enjoyed daily by so many of our guests.

I hope you have another opportunity in the near future to stay with us again at The Naka Island Resort.

Kind Regards,
Erich Friedl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed at this resort with my girl friend for 8 nights in early December. On arrival we were greeted by the friendly resort staff and instantly fell in love with the place, its was absolutely beautiful. The private villa (with own pool) was awesome, magnificently decorated and made us feel very special. The staff were amazing, so friendly and willing to help whenever we needed. We loved the food and the choice of restaurants. The breakfast buffet was a hit even if it meant getting out of bed :) The Tonsai and My Grill restaurants were both fantastic. Heaps of seafood and Thai food plus some amazing steaks.
We had some Spa treatments and really enjoyed them, the spa rooms were superb and the therapists experienced. I used the gymnasium most days and was impressed by the quality of the equipment, it was all new and state of the art. It's normally hard to find a good gym in resorts while travelling.
All in all, we were sad to leave after our 8 days and nights of luxury and will be returning for our holidays in 2013 and definitely recommending to our friends and family. I'm sure they will appreciate the privacy and peacefulness the resort has to offer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erich_FRIEDL, General Manager at The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Adam B,

Thank you for posting such a positive review on Trip Advisor following your stay with us at The Naka Island Resort in December.

It is a pleasure to hear that you and your partner were so happy with your Villa, our amazing staff, the Spa Naka treatments, the gymnasium and the privacy and peacefulness of our resort.

Your compliments regarding the resort food and dining experiences are welcomed and will be passed on to our Culinary and Food & Beverage departments.

We certainly look forward to you returning to stay with us again this year at The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Phuket.

Kind Regards,
Erich Friedl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is of course a very beautiful resort, but the service and food doesn't match with the price of a room. Awesome villa, very comfortable bed, nice decent sized pool. The villa is actually massive however there are bushes and plants everywhere so most of the space is taken up. You have to take a boat to get to the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ralph6429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erich_FRIEDL, General Manager at The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear ralph6429,

Thank you for your recent trip Advisor feedback further to your stay at The Naka Island Resort.

Your compliments regarding your Villa, comfortable bed and nice pool are welcomed and it is nice also to hear that you found our resort beautiful.

I hope you will have the opportunity to stay with us again soon at The Naka Island, A Luxury Resort & Spa, Phuket.

Kind Regards,
Erich Friedl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The Naka Island, A Luxury collection is a wonderful resort. Firstly the theme of this resort is nature and relaxation. So everything will be based around that.

The good : Awesome villa, very comfortable bed, nice decent sized pool. The villa is actually massive however there are bushes and plants everywhere so most of the space is taken up.
The food is delicious , however the breakfast has a poor variety compared to some other hotels i have been in. They give you a bicycle so you can ride around the resort, which was good fun.
There are complimentary classes like Aerobics, thai boxing , fruit carving etc. I found that to be fun. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, no problems there.
The beach is super nice too, and the hotel offer a wide varieties of water sports, like jet ski, kayaking , sailing etc.

The Bad : There is not much to do on the island besides staying at the hotel . You have to take a boat to go to Phuket town which is like 500-600 baht each way. The minibar should have been free considering the price you pay, many hotels like the "W" or Sripanwa that i stayed had free minibar or sweet spots. The worst part was having to pay for WIFI in the rooms. Seriously a hotel of this standard should offer free wifi in the rooms. The wifi in public areas are free but you have to pay for using it in the room , 350 baht per day or something like that.

Overall, my stay was pleasant and it was very relaxing.
Stayed during Jan 2013

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tonyzaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erich_FRIEDL, General Manager at The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Tonyzaman,

Thank you for taking the time to post your Trip Advisor review following your recent stay with us at The Naka Island, A Luxury Collections Resort & Spa, Phuket.

Your description of our resort being about relaxation is certainly true and makes it the ideal destination for honeymoons, couples and families who prefer the privacy and intimacy that The Naka Island Resort offers.

I thank you for your compliments regarding your luxury Villa, pool, delicious food, activities and our friendly staff and will ensure that all of your comments from your feedback will be passed on to the relevant departments.

I look forward to welcoming you to stay with us again at The Naka Island Resort & Spa in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Erich Friedl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

perfectly managed resort, unbelievable good and kind service!
The villa overlooking the ocean with private pool was amazing and breathtaking in decor and ambiance.
The perfect location for a romantic escape.
My wife and me can´t wait to come back!
Thanks again to the staff!

Room Tip: perfect resort for chillout and relaxation. Great food and perfect staff; ask for Ocean view villas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Motti58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erich_FRIEDL, General Manager at The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Motti58,

Thank you so much for rating our resort so highly and for all of your compliments in your recent Trip Advisor review.

It was our pleasure meeting you and a joy to have you and your wife staying with us in January. Your kind words will be greatly appreciated by our Ambassadors.

We certainly look forward to welcome you back for another memorable stay with us at The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Phuket, again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Erich Friedl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Nakha Yai
5.7 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
895 reviews
12.9 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
13.4 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
The Surin Phuket
The Surin Phuket
#3 of 34 in Choeng Thale
1,856 reviews
16.8 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,678 reviews
13.5 mi away
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket

Property: The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket
Address: 32 Moo 5 | Paklok, Thalang, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Ko Nakha Yai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ko Nakha Yai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among stunning beaches, lush coconut groves, with never-ending views of the emerald-green Andaman Sea and idyllic landscapes of the Phuket coastline, The Naka Island is an exclusive boutique resort on Naka Yai Island, located just off the Phuket coast. While just 25 minutes from Phuket International Airport, The Naka Island is accessible only by private speedboat, making it a uniquely private and intimate retreat. The resort offers 67 villas that are magnificently appointed with private plunge pools and tropical gardens, along with an incomparable spa facility, access to countless outdoor recreation opportunities, and uncompromising service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Naka Island, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket Hotel Ko Nakha Yai
The Naka Island, a Luxury Collection Resort And Spa Phuket
The Naka Island, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa Phuket Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing