We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Gastro Pub”
Review of Home Cottage

Home Cottage
Ranked #8 of 66 Restaurants in Redhill
Price range: $13 - $46
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Nestled in the heart of Redhill, The Home Cottage is a magnificent pub and dining room that has been refurbished to its former 19th century glory, providing a stylish and contemporary interior in which to enjoy time with family and friends. We have a great range of drinks including our award winning Young's Bitters, an extensive wine list and both traditional and signature cocktails. Our creative head chef, Marcin, showcases the best of traditional British food with modern touches and Mediterranean influences on our seasonal menus. As Young's Food Pub of the Year 2014, we pride ourselves on varied dishes of a high quality, paired with fine wines from around the world and traditional cask ales, all served by our friendly and welcoming staff. Whether you are a local or a visitor to the area, you will always be offered the warmest of welcomes, so sit back and relax in our cosy bar, our light and airy dining room (which becomes more intimate once the candles are lit), or chill out in our garden.
Redhill
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Gastro Pub”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is a welcome addition to Redhill - great atmosphere with good attention to detail with decor. Good selection of well priced pub food and great service.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Trudilynwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    129
    58
    34
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food. Service average at best!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Good food. Bar staff make you feel your in the way. Food service staff were ok need to pay more attention to their customers as we had paper in one meal, but received no check back. They did take it off the bill at the end.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CUNextTuesdai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“fantastic pub food”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We have eaten here a few times and never been disapointed. The staff are friendly and the food delicious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angie_parky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very good overall, lovely food”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Meal for 2, booked with short notice Saturday evening. Nice environment, plenty of staff on hand, a little inexperienced but adequate. Excellent food with delicious flavour. Would happily revisit. Service not perfect but overall we were happy. A little on the top end of price for this type of food but worthy. Decent selection of wines.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anditaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
94 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very very busy ...... But why”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

On arrival, 15 mins just to get a drink didn't bode well. We were shown straight to the table, given menus and offered drinks quite quickly followed by our orders being taken. Then we waited, and waited. When the starters did arrive, they were, to say the least, disappointing and one was missing - my potted duck with toast. When it eventually arrived, it was tiny and with 2 small pieces of french stick untoasted. Another very long wait ensued whereby some of our party who too tired to eat but the main courses arrived just before we were going to cancel and leave. Some were OK but the chicken liver was a starter portion - not main. Overall, very expensive for very little with poor service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank triple777uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Home Cottage also viewed

 
 
Redhill, Surrey
 

Been to Home Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing