We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, good location, great restaurant”
Review of Siesta Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Siesta Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Grand Anse
Reviewed February 23, 2010

This was a nice place. I was about a 5 minute walk to the beach, which is certainly one of the more beautiful beaches I've been to. The rooms are nice, clean. TV, refrigerator, balcony, all we could need. The restaurant, which is on the property but ran separately from the hotel was great. Taffy and his family, who run it, were great and the type of people who become instant friends. The food was delicious as well, with all day breakfast and British fare.

Overall very nice. Loved Grenada, and would certainly stay here again. Great value.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiknback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 304 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2010

I stayed at the siesta for four nites January 2010. The rooms were outstanding,extremely comfortable bed, great a/c, safe, ironing board, very hot water, and nice balcony overlooking the sea. It also had daily maid service. It had the perfect location near the spice mall, a one block walk to the city bus, a nice pool and lounge area, and a very good restaurant called taffys. Probably the best thing about siesta is the customer service, which really wows you. I arrived at 6:40 a.m. from an overnite flight and the manager nemah, had me in the room in less than 10 minutes.(I was very tired) On other matters of customer service, the staff was always helpful and always tried to make my stay as pleasant as possible. The rate of $106/nite was a great deal for everything offered. This is one you are sure to like. Phillip Tick, Chicago, Illinois

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phillipjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2009

Siesta provides great basic accommodation at a super low price. The location is a short walk to beautiful Grand Anse beach, several of the nicest resteraunts on the island and a full service mall. We stayed here for a few weeks while we were getting our boat repaired and found the rooms to be very clean and the staff both friendly and helpful. There is a nice little resteraunt/ bar on the premises that serves Steak and Kidney pie, a full English Breakfast, great burgers and more. Just down the street is a very reliable local bus that takes you to Prickley Bay marinas and St Georges for just under 1usd. All are about a 10 minute ride away. The pool is lovely and there is a poolside bar. Most of the rooms offer in room refridgerators, coffee maker, spacious balconies and beautiful views of Grande Anse Beach and St Georges harbour. After a long day in the boat yard we liked coming home to a clean room and going for a dip in the pool. In the morning I liked walking along Grand Anse Beach. The hotel is family owned and maintained with a live-in manager available 7 days a week. If you are planning a vacation on a budget or are having work done on your boat, this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nelliekellett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2009

We stayed a week at the Siesta Hotel, It was bright, Clean, Reasionably well equiped Fridge, Satilite TV, Phone, Aircon (a bit noisy but ok), safe on request and Comfortable beds. We phoned directly and got a very good value deal. The staff were lovely and looked after us well,
There is a restaurant on site Taffys not owned by the hotel the staff were pleasand but the food was very average and out of the Microwave or Fryer (Maybe we hit it on a bad night) But we did not rate it at all the food was overpriced compared to other hotels where you got first class meal for less money.
The Location is great 10 minute walk from the Grand Anse Beach, 5 Minute walk from a few shops and restaurants and a small shopping Mall
Also you can use the facilities for the sister Hotel which is on Grand Anse Beach just ten minute walk from the Siesta Hotel.
In Summary Lovely People, Pleasant simple rooms, Super location, Non owned restaurant not great at all, Good setting and views Quiet location. Would recommend
All the best

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shart7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2009

We chose the Siesta because of it's location and the fact that it had a kitchenette. The staff was great in addressing several issues and day to day pleasantness. The room, # 30, needs attention and this should not pass any kind of quality control. There is one picture hanging in the entire 1 bedroom apartment. The outlet in the living room was out of the wall, the shelf in the bathroom above the sink was not securely anchored into the wall and hung on an angle. The sheet had an ink stain and the comforter some kind of stain on the underside that should have rendered them useless for service. The kitchen supllies were not serviceable. No sharp knives at all, just butter knives and a dull butcher knife that could not slice a lime. Luckily I travel with a Swiss army knife. Toaster was non functional and some plate and cup upgrades are needed. A television was missing from the sitting area, which maitenance gladly moved the one located in the bedroom to this area. No effort was made to make this room operational for rental satisfaction. We basically dealt with the situation and vowed to stay at more reputable places in the future. This is too highly ranked in my opionion.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lowkeyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NimaAnvar, Owner/Manager at Siesta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2009

I think that this guest has a very solid point. The combination of all of these things is unacceptable. I'm putting systems in place to make sure that these sort of things don't happen. I think it's very important to maintain open communication with guests. Had we known about these problems, we could have fixed them quickly. But that's our responsibility. They shouldn't have to tell us anything. I'm on it, and will make sure it doesn't happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2009

The restaurant is now under new management and is worth trying. The food was great, service fast and polite and generally a very pleasant atmosphere.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chelseaGrenada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2009

My girlfriend and I went to Grenada for vacation over the Thanksgiving holiday and stayed at the Siesta Hotel twice during that time period. We broke our trip up between Grenada and Carriacou. See my review on Bogles Round House for our accommodations in Carriacou.

First things first, Siesta doesn't look like much when you drive up into the reception area, BUT, it is blessed with a great location that is off the main path and close to everything in Grande Anse. We stayed in one of the buildings at the top of the hill in the back of the property. The room was big and, because it was a corner unit, the balcony was twice the size of other units. The furnishings were what we expected for a budget hotel room...nothing posh or fancy. The TV and AC both worked and so did the mini-fridge (good for bottles of water and tasty snacks or leftover dinner). I believe we also had a king size bed.

The hotel describes itself as being 300 yards from the beach. That may be true if you are talking about 300 yards as a bird flies. To get to Grand Anse, you must walk down to Spiceland Mall, go through the mall, and then cut through Coyaba Beach Resort or take the path next to the Aquanauts building. It isn't hard to find or do, but just a note of information for future travelers who stay at Siesta. Mourne Rouge beach requires a hike up and down the hill near the Flamboyant Hotel and Villas.

I mentioned the Spiceland Mall above. Here you'll find an excellent juice stand (I forget the name now) which serves eight or nine different kinds of fruit shakes made from local fruits. There is also the Grillmaster (good cheap food), some souvenir shops, and a grocery store. The grocery store is always busy but you can buy drinks, food, snacks, beer / wine / liquor, and quick pre-made empenadas and meat pies. Further down the road there is a sushi joint and a french / italian restaurant. Both are good and solid alternatives to the hotel restaurants. We actually didn't eat at the Siesta's hotel.

The staff was nice and friendly too. We dealt mostly with the manager who gave us great information and hooked us up with a taxi driver (Pirate) who became our stand-by transportation when we couldn't walk or didn't want to take the bus. She was also there to help us when we had problems with our room during the second stay. She kept us well informed if there was going to be any maintenance issues during the day and gave us good information about tour services / info.

Hopefully this gives a good synopsis of the hotel and what is available in the immediate area. Honestly, we were only in the room when it was time to sleep or it was raining and we couldn't go to the beach. We enjoyed our stay at the Siesta more for its location and cost (appx $80 USD per day) than for its ambiance.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jj7643a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Anse
0.5 mi away
Gem Holiday Beach Resort
Gem Holiday Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in St. George's
140 reviews
1.4 mi away
True Blue Bay Boutique Resort
0.1 mi away
Blue Horizons Garden Resort
Blue Horizons Garden Resort
#6 of 11 in Grand Anse
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Petite Anse Beachfront Hotel & Restaurant Grenada
Petite Anse Beachfront Hotel & R...
#1 of 1 in Saint Patrick Parish
380 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Grenada Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Grenadian by Rex Resorts
Grenadian by Rex Resorts
#1 of 1 in Magazine Beach
1,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siesta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siesta Hotel

Address: Morne Rouge Street, Grand Anse, Grenada
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > South Coast > Grand Anse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Grand Anse
Price Range: $77 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Siesta Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Siesta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siesta Hotel Grenada/Grand Anse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing