We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice island, but don't go anywhere near the "Grenada Grand" !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Grenada Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Grand Anse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2006

Hi lads and lasses from Canada, the UK, Europe and whoever thinks of venturing to the so-called "Grenada Grand" !!

To be short: Forget it !! It's really just a waste of money!

We,(my wife and I), were not quite sure what to make of all the mediocre comments other travellers made on behalf of this establishment, having booked before we chanced upon this web-site.
We regret this sincerely, hopefully this comment ceeps future travelers from going there!!

Not to be misunderstood: Grenada is a beautiful island, and we've seen quite a few of the Carabbiean to be able to comment on that, nice people, always helpful if you're lost when driving around, bus-service perfect (we've been to NYC !!), beach-hawkers don't really bother you, they're really polite and bugger off if you're not interested (we've seen worse on other islands), took us 50 min from touch-down to check-in, short: it's really worth going to Grenada!!

Now to the "Grenada Grand":
Being European, we apparently don't expect as much as US-Citizens do ( see below!!), so for us the rooms were OK, clean, prompt service, never saw a bug!!
Premices meticulously cared for, and that's the point: who cares for a lawn that's mowed twice a day when the service in the restaurant is (politely put) just lousy!! Two thirds of the staff either were not seen at all or managed to look the other way just when you needed them, part of the remaining third managed to make you feel to apologize you were there at all, as for the rest: they tried their best, but...!
It's simply a No-No to get drinks served at lunch in plastic-cups, just because the staff is too lazy to get the glasses out the cupboard! Even when you ask specificly for a glass, don't be sure to get one !
We were on a meal-plan, this all-inclusive-thing most europeans do. The quantity of food was always sufficiant, but variety and quality... (see below!!).

On the other hand, what you get in outside restaurants is just ridiculessly overpriced for poor quality, even in hotel-restaurants with a so-called "Star"-Chef!!

One highlight, though: Nieves, the (Venezuelan!!)supervisor at the pool-bar is a real treat! Prompt service, nice cocktails, and if you ask for the hard-plastic cups they've got there, it makes your dram taste a bit more nicely! Don't ask any of the other staff, they're too lazy to get them out, they have to be washed!!

Management: Useless bunch of buggers!! If you got any problems try to solve them with whoever is near you, chambermaids, maintenance, even bell-service. They're more efficiant!!

Now something for divers: Ecodive, based at the resort are a good outfit, price for value is OK, but don't bother to go diving on tuesdays, that's when the cruiseships come in !! (They're opening a new shop at the other end of the beach by now, I think it's at the "Flamboyant")

To sum it up: Grenada is a great island to spend your vacation on, really worth going there !! But if you want to blow a lot of money for craps, don't hesitate to go to the "Grenada Grand", on the other hand there are a few nice resorts on the same beach (e.g Spice Island, The Flamboyant etc.)

PLEASE: Check out other resorts first before you decide !!

PS: If you think of going to Antigua, check out the "Cocos", maybe not to anyones taste but really "cool"!

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Traveldoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,883)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,758 - 1,764 of 1,883 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2006

WOW! the people who wrote the previous review were undoubtedly there the same time we were, but what a different experience we had ! We landed at the Grenada Grand with trepidations from some of the other travelers' reviews, but we LOVED it! Cannot say enough good about it--the staff were genuinely sweet, helpful, attractive. Everything in our room worked fine-always hot water, great a.c., a nice view from deck and front door both, lovely daily housekeeping. It was quiet, it was clean. There was free wireless internet in addition to a computer room/library with 2 computers. The pools were sparkling and magnificent. (the older square one had a bit of plant matter in it one day, but I would not term the pool DIRTY because of that..) OK, we do agree with the previous review on one topic, the pillows were lumpy, but who cares. The location cannot be improved, esp. for travelers who like to save money by using the local mini-buses that pass by every minute or 3 out on the road. There is a Food Fair right across the street, also another local mall (Spice Island) down the road a few minutes walk. We were not interested in the heavy expensive buffet meals (the dining room was full of chowhounds, mostly German it appeared, whose meals were included in their plan) so we made do by making breakfast in our room, aided by buying a $3 cooler at the Food Fair. Dinners are great at the Tropicana and the Nutmeg, in St Georges, they both attract a mix of tourists and local customers... Rather Casual but fine! Also, for meals, we recommend The Coyaba, a fancyish place nearby on Grande Anse with a big all-day menu with surprisingly reasonable prices--like a fish sandwich on whole wheat bread, fine coleslaw and fries for about $6. I would not consider staying anywhere but the Grenanda Grand next time..and there will be a next time. Grenadians are very special people-good humored and courteous and clear-eyed with old-fashioned good manners and charm. The Grenada Grand represents Grenada well. The country is spectacular and still not spoiled, in spite of the huge cruiseliners in the harbor almost every day. but that's another story...

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Marynotbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2006

we have just returned from a week at the grand beach. the location is amazing, the best beach in grenada undoubtedly. it is definitely a 2 star estblishment. the hotel needs complete renovation, it all looks very tired and the quality of some of the work is appalling. the room was ok, but dated and shabby with a tiny bathroom. although generally clean, there were blood stains on the net (ugh!) curtains, obviously from mosquitos, and the pillows were lumpy and the bedlinen thin. apparently the hotel was renovated after hurricane ivan, but apart from new roofs and the occasional lick of paint, i fail to see what was actually done... the food, well, the buffet served up the same delights pretty much every day - 'baked fish' and 'chicken in red wine sauce' with the odd variation. on the all-inclusive option one got to choose from the a la carte menu too - all four choices. the staff were generally lovely, they do look a bit miserable but when spoken to are very responsive, helpful and friendly. we deduced that most problems stem from the management - they appear to be quite happy to take the $$$ without any investment, in the property or the staff. one of the pools was dirty and uninviting. there were no umbrellas provided for shade on the beach or around the aforementioned pool. the 'higglers' camped outside the hotel gate on the beach were a nuisance, noisy and sometimes obnoxious (eg arguing with each other). we saw no attempt to ask them to temper their behaviour. it is a fabulous location and a lost opportunity. happily we saw alot of this beautiful island,and this hotel does not do the island's tourist industry any favours. i would not recommend to anyone; spend a bit more and you will get alot more.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank joanna4364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2006

My boyfriend and I just returned from an awesome week in beautiful Grenada at the Grenada Grand Beach Resort.
I read the comment from the reviewer who posted on January 11th and disagreed totally with everything she had to say.
I did not find any sludge in my shower, it worked perfectly fine with all the hot water I wanted, my television worked fine and the balcony had a beautiful view of the ocean with lovely flowers all around it. There was no hint of it falling apart.
The pool bar seemed closed but if you sit around it they will come and serve you.
The fantasy pool is amazing with the waterfalls.
The Grand Anse beach is beautiful, its never packed and even with the cruise people arriving it never gets too packed.
I wanted to give a big thumbs up to the chefs at the restaurant! I have been to different Caribbean islands where the all inclusive buffet is horrible with the same menu every night with all deep fried foods that taste horrible.
This buffet was excellent in our opinion! Everything was either baked or grilled and the food was always fresh and really delicious! There was never the same food served everyday. The fish was absolutely delicious!
For breakfast, I highly recommend the french toast that they serve. We have never tasted French Toast like that before.
All in all, Grenada is a beautiful, relaxing island and the people are the friendliest people in the Caribbean.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank 11Tanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2006

We decided to spend the day here while our cruise ship docked in St. George's. We were told they had a day rate available that would allow us to use their pool facilities, a room for changing, and showers plus they provide all the towels and other stuff that you dont want to schlep from the ship and back. All I have to say is thank god I didnt book this hotel to stay overnight at. At first the property looks very nice and it sits right on gorgeous Grand Anse Beach--a huge selling point. Thats where it ended. Upon arrival we were given the key to our room. It was worn and old-- comperable to a Motel 6 in the US. The bathroom was tiny. I saw a plaque in the lobby that denoted that it had originally been built as a Radaisson. Apparently it could not keep up with their standards (which I consider to be pretty low anyway).

We had lunch in their poolside bar/restaurant. I appreciate that service accross the board is on the slower side in the Carribean, but the service here was rediculous. Considering that our ships call at Genada was only 7 hours long, I did not want to spend 2 of it on lunch. No one seemed to be organized and nothing arrived quickly. I saw my drink sit on the bar 15 min before it made it to the table. To their credit, when it arrived, my chicken roti sandwich was very good.

While I realize that Grand Anse Beach is all public, the hotel should do something to shield their guests from all of the peddlers who are plying the beach. It was obtrusive how many times I was asked to buy a stupid bracelet or hat. The beach itself is wonderful, it made the day worthwhile. The pool was also a very nice feature. It was large and full of interesting little nooks and crannys. The waterfalls interestingly enough had hot tubs built into them high above the pools. Very nice idea, only the hot tubs were ice cold. Colder than the main pool!!! Ive never come across this before.

While this is not a terrible place, it is in no way deserving of its 4 stars. It would be a very fair 2 star hotel. It clearly suffers from lack of experienced management as well as cleanliness of the rooms and property. It also caters to European tastes far more than American. Im not saying this is necessarily a bad thing, Americans will definitely be dissapointed. The beach is its major redeaming quality. It is find for a day stay, but I could never stay here the night.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank princeton12321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2006

I don't understand the negative reviews. My girlfriend and I just returned and loved every minute of it. The hotel was fantastic the people friendly and the room was great. We had a small problem with the shower(no pressure) and it was quickly fixed by the staff. The food while not 5 star was very good and the pool!!!! Well once you see it you will understand. If I had any complaints it would be that the bartenders were a little slow, but there is no hurry to do anything so who cares. That and the swim up bar was never open, but since nobody really seemed to want to use it, again who cares. The pool bar was right there anyway. My girlfriend had a problem with some bug bites. The staff offered to spray the room and after that she did not get another. It is a much more relaxed and slowed down enviorment there, and once you relize that you can have a great time at this resort. You only get out of a holidy what you put into it.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank robbo08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2006

We stayed four nights at the Grand Beach Resort. We booked a garden-view room, and we we're right in front of the waterfall at the lovely fantasy-pool (room 408), at the first floor. We absolutely loved it. I cannot commend too much on the food, we had no meal-plan, but breakfast-buffet was ok, so we ended up having breakfast at the hotel-restaurant every morning.
We were a little concerned after reading all the bad reviews, but we are now convinced that the Grand Beach Resort is definately THE best resort on beautiful Grand Anse Beach!! The staff was very friendly too, so I don't understand all the complaints. Maybe it's because we're from the Netherlands, maybe it's because I worked in Grenada as a diving-instructor (10 years ago) and love everything about Grenada...
We started this trip in Barbados, visited some other islands (st. Vincent, Bequia, Martinique) but we definately think Grenada is the prettiest of them all. You'll find everything here, from rain-forests, waterfalls to secluded beaches and, ofcourse, Grand Anse Beach which is a long strech of white beach (to walk from one far end to the other, it will take you at least half an hour). Diving is superb with the biggest wreck, the Bianca C, in the Caribbean at your doorstep (advanced deep dive, though) but also the more accessible reefs are pristine. Don't hesitate to book the Grand Resort, you'll love it!!
If you need more information about diving in Grenada or something else, we'll be happy to help you out.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank lilianeberk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Anse
1.9 mi away
True Blue Bay Boutique Resort
1.6 mi away
Calabash Luxury Boutique Hotel
Calabash Luxury Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Lance aux Epines
733 reviews
15.9 mi away
Petite Anse Beachfront Hotel & Restaurant Grenada
Petite Anse Beachfront Hotel & R...
#1 of 1 in Saint Patrick Parish
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Coyaba Beach Resort
Coyaba Beach Resort
#3 of 11 in Grand Anse
1,131 reviews
0.6 mi away
Spice Island Beach Resort
Spice Island Beach Resort
#1 of 11 in Grand Anse
870 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mount Cinnamon Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Grenada Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Grenada Beach Resort

Address: Grand Anse Beach, Grand Anse, Grenada
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > South Coast > Grand Anse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Grand Anse
#2 Family Hotel in Grand Anse
#4 Luxury Hotel in Grand Anse
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Grand Anse
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Grand Anse
#5 Romantic Hotel in Grand Anse
Price Range: $211 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Grenada Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated along the white sands of Grand Anse Beach, the beautiful Resort offers its guests uncompromising Radisson service and facilities. Wether strolling through the beautiful lush tropical gardens, relaxing in the Swimming Pools and Beachfront Bars, or keeping fit on the Tennis Courts and enjoying the Water Sports; our Team of trained staff will ensure your stay is relaxing and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Carlson, West Indies, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Grenada Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grenada Grand Beach Hotel Grand Anse
Grenada Grand Beach Resort
Hotel Grenada Grand Beach
Radisson Grenada Beach Resort Grand Anse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing