We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent week of diving with Aquanauts Grenada”
Review of Aquanauts Grenada

Aquanauts Grenada
Ranked #2 of 10 things to do in Grand Anse
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fun trips for snorkelers and divers to Grenada's Underwater Sculptures and Marine Park and Adventure Dives to the many wreck dive sites like Bianca C and Shakem. Aquanauts provides scuba classes from beginner to technical diving and is a rebreather friendly facility.
Peterborough, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent week of diving with Aquanauts Grenada”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Peter and Gerlinde
Thank you for a great week of diving. We have only excellent comments regarding your dive team of Reese, Bruce and Buggsy. There was another fellow who joined us the last two days but I did not catch his name. You must be very proud of your staff they work very hard to ensure safety and fun on every dive. Reese and Bruce did an excellent job of guiding our divers and pointing out interesting creatures when they found them. They were very thorough with their pre-dive briefing and more importantly they reminded divers of their limitations with respect to their dive training. Humberto and I were very impressed by this. We have had the good fortune to dive around the world and experience the professionalism and standards of many dive operations. Most times there is no mention to divers that they should dive according to their training i.e. open water 60 feet. New divers tend to be very trusting and will follow other divers and dive guides to depths and situations that they are not trained for. Thank you for taking this seriously and helping to keep our sport and divers safe.

Buggsy and his crew worked equally as hard and were great fun. We enjoyed touring close to shore and around St. George’s harbor. We wish you and your staff all the best. I will certainly encourage all our Adventure Divers from Peterborough and the Kawarthas to dive with you in Grenada.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sherry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    18
    2
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great dives, friendly staff, safety conscious operation”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The first thing that struck us about this operation was its focus on safety- from a check in as to diver experience and equipment (smb's, etc), to detailed briefings on the boats. The dives were mostly excellent - a few I would consider OK, but hey, an OK site in Grenada vs being home in the snow?? Enough said. There are three boats and divers are sorted into experience for each boat...which is important as all the dives we did (with the exception of a night dive on the Veronica, which was spectacular), were drift dives, so as soon as the first diver ran low on air, that meant we all needed to come up.
A typical dive day started with the boat leaving at 9:00 (you are expected to be on the boat in plenty of time to check your nitrox (free to 30%- again important if you're planning on diving the Bianca as you can dive it safely staying on nitrox...). So you check your nitrox and set up your equipment. So the boat leaves at 9:00 and you go out for 2 dives- dive sites were anywhere between 15 and 25 or so minutes away- boats were comfortable with plenty of shade if you wanted. Boats typically return to True Blue around 1:00ish. If you are having lunch at True Blue, your order was radioed in from the boat during the surface interval. Then an afternoon dive with the boat leaving anywhere between 2:00 and 3:00 depending on when you got back from morning dives. Then if there was a night dive, the boat left around 5:30-6:00ish.

After the first day, you don't need to take anything off the boat at the end of the dive day- you just put everything in your net bag and staff will rinse and store everything for you. Weights can stay in your weight pockets and kept on the boat.

The only thing I would have liked would have been for the morning boats to leave a bit earlier- like around 8:30.... that would have given a longer turn around time to have a slightly more leisurely lunch and still have time to digest our food a bit before hitting the water.

We will definitely return to grenada and dive with aquanauts-

PROS: friendly and helpful staff; comfortable boats; focus on safety; free nitrox; drift dives FUN!; healthy coral; lots of life (not much pelagic though...)

CONS: too fast turn-around time between morning and afternoon dives

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank divetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful dive operation!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We can not say enough great things about Aquanauts Diving. They are AWESOME! Extremely professional, safe, and wonderfully friendly. We dove with them a little over a week and it is one of the most well run dive operation we’ve ever dove with. The staff is competent and helpful but also has a lot of fun with the guests. We dove mostly with Bruce and Larry with Captain David. We felt like we were diving with old friends instead of being first time customers. Their safety measures are very thorough, from the “roll call” before leaving the dock to after every single dive, to always carrying a marker flag, the boat always being on point for a surfacing diver, to the dive/instructor ratio, they are amazing.

We dove with mostly advanced divers, anywhere from 6-8 total, and always had two instructor/dive masters on the dive. When more divers, as well as less experienced divers, were added to the boat, they always added an additional instructor/dive master. Overall a very well run operation and we can’t wait to dive with them again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank KimberleeEtcetera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Aquanauts an outstanding pro outfit with great trips”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We came to Grenada for a week which would include my so doing his 4 open water dives. This is the second trip in which I dived with Aquanauts. They have a very competent pro staff. My son's dive instructor, Delia, was excellent. Their dive boats are top class. All in all, I would definitely dive with them when in Grenada.

Helpful?
Thank Lcmacg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cancelled trip”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We showed up in the morning only to find out they cancelled on us. No reason given & No attempt to contact us at our hotel. We had prepaid on a credit card and when we went to get our money back they wanted to charge a 5% credit card fee to give us a refund!! I was having none of that & ended up with a full refund after arguing with the manager on the phone...if you decide to use this service, don't prepay.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Patman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquanautsGrenada, Owner at Aquanauts Grenada, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We are very sorry about your disappointment. The trip was postponed from Wednesday to Thursday due to sea conditions at the marine park. We left a message for you with the hotel front desk on Tuesday afternoon.
Be assured that it is our company policy to fully refund if we have to cancel or postpone a trip for whatever reason. When you came on Friday for your refund, our manager on duty confused you with another 2 snorkelers from your same hotel who were a no show on the Thursday trip.
We apologize for the inconvenience this has caused you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aquanauts Grenada also viewed

Grand Anse, South Coast
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 
St. George's, Saint George Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 

Been to Aquanauts Grenada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing