We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage - quiet surroundings, perfect for...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kincraig, Aviemore and the Cairngorms, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
352marjor...
Western Australia, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage - quiet surroundings, perfect for overseas tourists, close to everything”
Reviewed August 1, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We really enjoyed our stay in lovely countryside -cottage has everything and is just as advertised. We would stay there again

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLubanski
Willich
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful and quiet holidays in a lovely cottage”
Reviewed May 24, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is well equipped, roomy and very comfy. The view from the cottage to the surrounding forest and hills is amazing, and you can basically step out of the door and start walking in a calm and beautiful environment. It was what I hoped for when I booked the cottage, and it was exactly what I got.
While the cottage is indeed remote, and finding it the first time was a bit of an adventure, it was the ideal base to travel around the Aviemore and the Cairngorms. Everything we wanted to look at was just a short drive away.
Should we come back to Aviemore, we'll definitely try to book Inshcraig again.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewed January 16, 2014 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jacxxx
Staffordshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage in Amazing Surroundings”
Reviewed June 1, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We received a very warm welcome from Jennifer, the cottage owner who lived within walking distance away from the cottage. This cottage is tastefully decorated with all he amenities you would ever need and in an idyllic area.
The AGA was fun to cook on but did make the cottage extremely warm and when the weather was already warm actually the heat became overbearing at times.
Due to the location of the cottage being the highlands, the summer days are long and it was not dark until almost midnight and was light again within 3 hours. This proved difficult for my little one who struggled as the curtains were quite light and could maybe benefit from some blackout blinds or darker curtains?? We ended up putting a throw over the curtain rails to make the room darker.
We took our 6 yr old and she loved seeing a red deer walk past the lounge window in the field next door and giving carrots to the ponies in the field adjacent to the property. The birds were nesting in the wall and it was great to see them flying in and out and hearing the young at feeding time.
A short walk away is Loch Insh and there is a beautiful sunset from here. Locally Inshriac Nursery has a cake shop called The Potting Shed where the cakes are amazing but even more so the bird feeders there attract many different birds including woodpeckers and also 3 beautiful Red Squirrel.
A drive up to Cairngorm Mountain is a must! We went up early evening and saw a herd of reindeer walking along the road up there.
The RSPB Osprey Centre is a fantastic place to visit with very knowledgeable staff and volunteers which made it extra special for my little girl.
The Highland Folk Museum is great for kids and only a short drive away to Newtownmore. The added bonus is ... its FREE!!!
A definite disadvantage is there is a very poor signal for mobile telephones and no internet access.
A great holiday had by all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area!
Liked least: The heat from the aga.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elgouna2
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Christmas in the Cairngorms”
Reviewed February 8, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We spent Christmas week in this wonderful cottage, its very large and spacious with 3/4 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms/shower rooms one on suite. lovely and warm with an Aga cooker and best of all an open fire, logs provided. It is 8 miles from Aviemore, and a friendly local shop that sells everything.
The Cairngorms were full of snow we went up the venicular railway to the top and watched all of the ski slopes, great day out.
All in all a great week ( car hire essential ) Many thanks Sykes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage and surrounding
Liked least: for a winter stay and long nights the TV was very old very small and sub standard
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longforgan Near Dundee
Reviewed January 9, 2013 for a stay in November 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bonnicut
Ascot
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Super cottage finished to a very high standard in an excellent location”
Reviewed May 16, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Inshcraig. The cottage is very tastefully decorated and all fittings were of excellent quality, very rare in holiday cottages. The AGA makes the downstairs very warm and cosy and the views from upstairs are delightful. We were pleasantly surprised how good the location was for all the sights of Speyside. We were doing a bird watching trip and Loch Garten, Rothiemurchus etc were only a short drive away not to mention Ospreys, Red Squirrels and Cresties local to the cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful interior and location
Liked least: Inaccurate directions: Situation is behind Insh House not a mile down that road!
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing