We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great friendly guest house”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Suie Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kincraig
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Suie Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Kincraig B&B and Inns
Prescot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great friendly guest house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed here as a stopover on our way to the Outer Hebrides, and what a fantastic B&B it is. We recieved a warm welcome from Mike and Wendy upon arrival before Mike showed us to our room which was absolutely fantastic, four poster bed and all period furniture which was fabulous. The gardens to the house at the back are beautiful, and attached to the house at the side there was a wonderful little bar where we spent a great evening, the locals are really friendly and the real ales are not to be missed, especially 'Trade Winds' from the local Cairngorm Brewery. Breakfast was very good with a fine selection on offer all served up by Mike, whilst we had a good chat about his home town of St Helens.....So if you're looking for somewhere to stay in the Cairngorm's area you'll be hard pushed to better The Suie Hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stemol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
10
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

I had signed up to do the Corriearick Challenge and the thought of camping after a 43 mile mountain bike didn't appeal so booked in to the nearest hotel to the finish line which was the Suie.
The view of the hotel from the road is not it's best side, it's not until you walk around the front you get an idea of just how nice this old building is. Well kept gardens and a safe play area for kids.
The room was more than adequate and if we needed anything, the owner was always willing to help.
Breakfast was at a gentle pace with a good selection but after a cycle the only thing that would do was a full Scottish fry-up.
The bar area was clean and tidy with a log fire but as we has struck lucky with the weather it was not lit. I felt like a local after the third round of drinks.
We did not have an evening meal as we were meeting friends in Aviemore for dinner but would doubt it would be anything other great.

And the scenery is just fantastic, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billynxn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2011

Had a very nice week long stay.Enjoyed every moment the area could offer. Plenty of beautiful walks to take in the amazing surroundings.
The hotel stay was absolutely super. The owners(Mike&Wendy) being very welcoming and were happy to advise on places to visit and experience.Great spacious rooms with en-suite bathrooms.Up to date tv and lovely decor.The breakfasts were made to an excellent standard.Freshly cooked english breakfast,some fresh local smoked salmon and many other choices.
The bar in the evenings has a great atmosphere with a mixture of quirkey locals and other people travelling through the area.There was a good selection of bar meals and were served promptly and you got great value for money.
The bar also provided a fantastic selection of Malt whiskys and local ales(Cairngorm Brewery).The local Cairngorm ales come from the neighbouring village Aviemore.
All in all we had a great time and have already booked our return visit later in the summer.I can definatley say its a home from home :-)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthJ69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2011

The Suie has been much improved in recent years, especially the delightful cosy bar with great bar food. On a week long trip to the Highlands that was the best freshest breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlisonAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2011

While a previous visitor to the Suie this is the first time I've stayed in the renovated cottage. Very comfortable and clearly enhanced by the novel hot tub. Interesting experiencing water temperature in the high 30's C while snow falling!

Friendly bar as usual lived up to expectations, its got a real community feel and it's clientele is mixture of locals, hotel guests, & quite often visitors from afar who just keep coming back. Unfortunately our visit was two weeks too early and we missed the Suie's first ever beer festival which I believe had 10 guest beers in addition to the usual Cairngorm ales. I'm reliably informed it was a success and a repeat is being considered possibly during the summer.

I look forward to my next visit.

Stayed February 2011
Helpful?
Thank HappyDrinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2011

From the moment we arrived Mike and Wendy (the owners) made us welcome in this fantastic Victorian hotel which sits in beautiful grounds in the village of Kincraig (5 miles south of Aviemore). The well appointed and spacious rooms were warm, clean and welcoming with each room decorated to a high standard with en suite and digital lcd tv.  All rooms have stunning views to the surrounding mountains providing the perfect backdrop to the relaxing and hospitable atmosphere.  Our long weekend started with a relaxing soak in the newly installed hot tub in the hotel grounds underneath a cold and crispy but wonderfully starry sky. The welcoming hotel bar with it's amazing log fire and perfect blend of friendly locals and fellow guests buzzed with tales of hills, slopes and tracks provided a relaxing and interesting atmosphere in which to unwind further. The bar is well stocked and includes ales from the nearby Cairngorm Brewery (Tradewinds being my favourite !). Breakfast each morning was a treat with 'full cooked' ingredients sourced locally. Appetite dependent, a dish of wonderfully creamy porridge oats (soaked overnight to perfection!) is also highly recommended. We stayed three nights and thoroughly relaxed in this Highland retreat. We are returning in June for more !

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordanhilldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2011

Based on the previous reviews, booked into the Suie Hotel. The hotel is set in a stunning part of Scotland, just off the A9 and close to Aviemore and the Cairngorm ski resort. Having stayed in the area previously, there are a wide spectrum of activities close by to undertake should the scenery alone be insufficient.
The hotel looked a little tired from the outside. Warm greeting on arrival, which is always appreciated. Building itself felt cold and our room mirrored this. Heating was on but appeared insufficient to heat the room. Room itself would benefit from a makeover. A cold room and dowdy 'period' furniture didn't lend itself to a romantic getaway.
One nice touch is having the bar next door to the hotel. Friendly atmosphere. Good choice of beers/spirits and great modern log fire. Bar food choice was basic but what it lacked in taste made up for in volume. Friendly service and good place to finish the evening if you don't want to take the car anywhere.
Bed/matress was fine and despite the cold, we slept pretty well. Bathroom in room had experienced a makeover and was fine. For those that like a hot, forceful shower. Forget it. Pressure shower. The hotter it went the less the dribble came out.
Breakfast was disappointing. Full cooked breakfast was dry and well overcooked.
I had marked as average initially as it was obvious the owners work extremely hard at their business. Bottom line though was that the overall product was poor. I can apprecaite accommodation during the skiing season especially is impacted by demand/supply, but this should not mean that a belief emerges that customer/quality can suffer with nil impact.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Qualityscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suiecrew, Owner at The Suie Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2011
We are very sorry that you were dissapointed with your recent stay. We have personally run the hotel now for over 13 years. Advertising has never been our forte, and so only in the last 3 months have we signed up to the on line booking agency that you used. You were in fact our first customer that has used the service. I will review the information that they are using to advertise us, and amend it if it is inacurate. We have a very high percentage of repeat business here, and pride ourselves in the personal service we offer. Was the price a major factor in your grievance? The fee payable to the online booking agency and the recent VAT increase has pushed up the price charged . I have read some of your other comments on businesses locally which are known to us. The water pressure in the showers is something we can do little about in this area. We cook our breakfasts to order, and so are very surprised that you found it to be dry/overcooked. We would have preferred to have the opportunity of rectifying this at once. I think you comment regarding the tired exterior was unfair. Last summer we repainted the exterior, and constantly strive to improve the property. Your room had a new carpet, new curtains, new tv with freeview,new mattress, new bedside tables and lamps and was repainted within the last 6 months. The wardrobe and dressing table were the only original furniture, which are in keeping with the type of property.
We constantly strive to improve our guests experience. And thank you for taking the time to share your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kincraig
5.2 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
5.8 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
5.5 mi away
Duke of Gordon Hotel
Duke of Gordon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Ossian Hotel
Ossian Hotel
#21 of 22 in Kingussie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.9 mi away
Loch Insh Hall B&B
Loch Insh Hall B&B
#1 of 2 in Kincraig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Suie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Suie Hotel

Property: The Suie Hotel
Address: Kincraig | Kingussie, Kincraig PH21 1NA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Kincraig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kincraig
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing