We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic first skiing lesson”

Loch Insh Watersports
Ranked #2 of 4 things to do in Kincraig
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Open all year offering a wide variety of watersports onsite in the summer and skiing in the winter at nearby Cairngorm Mountain. Lessons many also be taken on our dry ski slope, onsite. Other activities such as archery, mountain biking and local walks are available all year round as are the children's activity play parks. The Boathouse Restaurant onsite is the perfect base to compliment activities, whether you are looking for a warm and cosy environment to have a cup of tea and spectate or requiring a warm, hearty, home-cooked meal to warm up after an activity.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic first skiing lesson”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

From the first phone call to the end of the lesson the staff were helpful and friendly. We were having a trip up to Aviemore and decided to have a lesson on a dry ski slope for the family to see if we liked it before venturing onto the snow.
Loch Insh was the only Dry ski slope facility within the Aviemore area that would provide a lesson as all others said their instructors would be "up the mountain". I am very glad that we ended up here as the experience was fantastic.
The little one, Aged 4, did not want to try, so we had 2 instructors for 2 adults and 1 child. Both the instructors were great, very patient with us oldies and made it fun with firmness for my son, who is not the best at listening. I will be recommending them and am delighted to say i have booked further lessons at our local dry ski slope as i enjoyed it so much!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank clairelouisesimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    60
    14
    13
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing place in a serene surrounding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for four days in one of the 2 bedroom chalets and it was amazing. The views are breathtaking, the area is so beautiful. The chalet itself is very cute, well equipped with fridge, cooker, oven, washing machine... Etc. also the kitchen came with all cooking utensils and cutlery..
We have enjoyed our stay and will be considering coming back for sure
The only down side is that there is no wifi anywhere in that area and the mobile signal is very bad. It was a complete cut off from the world.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Samer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Loch Insh Chalet Ski and Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

We spent February half term staying in a chalet at Loch Insh. The room was beautifully clean and well stocked, albeit a little chilly, until we had the heating worked out. Our 14 year old son loved the 'mens den', which is a little mezzanine bedroom which was always lovely and warm. The views over the loch were stunning. We didn't eat in the Boat House, but we enjoyed having an evening drink there- again, views to die for. We were skiing in Aviemore, which was surprisingly quick to get to from Insh, so the dry slope, especially as its free to use at certain times for residents, was an excellent facility. All the staff were great, especially Morag who was incredibly swift with responses to our queries prior to our stay. Also got to mention, we spoke with Mr Freshwater, the owner, who was a great guy and gave us some fabulous advice on nearby areas to ski.
We loved Loch Insh - and will be back to sample the water sports in the summer.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jwp956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Beware of chalet loft ladder with small kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had a super 3 day break with out boys aged 7 and 4 but want to make other families with small children who are booking the chalets to be aware of the ladder to the loft as our 7 year old fell the 7 ft from the loft!
There is no stair gate at the bottom so prepare yourselves to be on permenant ladder watch if your holidaying with
adventurous kids!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mou13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive93, Owner at Loch Insh Watersports, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Whilst it is unfortunate to have mishaps when on holiday, our website clearly states that the loft ladder with sleeping accommodation should not be used by children under 8 years or grannies. There are guard rails at the top and on the access ladder itself. Notices are displayed in the chalet behind the ladder warning people to be vigilant. The same notice is on the Loch Insh website.

As we wrote and explained to you, the ladders comply with building regulations and the position of a child's gate would so intrude into the chalet that it would be difficult to access the toilet and bedrooms. I am sorry, but this is the first instance in 20 years of letting. People do have to be more vigilant when in strange surroundings. We can do no more than warn people of the potential risks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dogs”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Simple - the website says this place is pet friendly, we walked 5 miles to have lunch there, and it turns out they are not pet friendly. So we walked the 5 miles back and ate somewhere else. Very disappointing.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive93, Owner at Loch Insh Watersports, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
We are a pet friendly place. The warnings we have are to keep the dogs off the beach and away from the waterfront. The other 15 acres are dog friendly, as are the chalets. Apart from guide dogs, we restrict other dogs in the restaurant.

Sadly, our experience with dog walking on the foreshore and the picnic area, is that not everyone cleans up behind them. There are lots of places to walk in the local area without having to go to the waterfront. If people would ask, then they would be guided to suitable areas for walking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loch Insh Watersports also viewed

Kincraig, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Aviemore and the Cairngorms, Scottish Highlands
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Loch Insh Watersports? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing