We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”

The Little John Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Restaurants in Ravenshead
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our 1st time here recently. Plenty of parking. LOVE the decor. We hadn't booked, but it was mid-week, 6.30, so thought it'd be fine. The waiter said he'd have to check if he could fit us in, and that it may be 30 minutes. Fine, we said......there were about 9 tables empty and hardly anyone in! After 10 minutes, he said he'd got us a table (still hardly anyone in).

The menus were laminated things, but filthy and greasy (I told the waiter and he agreed they needed wiping, but he didn't bother to do so) The service was haphazard - the waitress forgot a couple of things and we had to ask again.

Food - I had chicken supreme, which was OK, although the "Lyonaisse" potatoes weren't as they should be - they were slices of soggy, GREY potatoes. My husband had the steak pie, which appeared to be home-made, then probably frozen and heated in the microwave, as the pastry was too hard to cut, in parts.

Banoffee pie - shop-bought, not home-made, but OK.

All in all, we loved the look of the place, but the food was quite disappointing.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LynneB59Nottm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
694simonw, Owner at The Little John Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thankyou for your review,the empty tables were in fact booked out throughout the evening some people do book tables,we don’t have laminated menus so bit confused about this‍♂️If pie was frozen and reheated in microwave it would be soggy not hard,,banoffee pie are not from the shop either,disappointed you couldn’t say anything on the evening and decided to hide behind you computer screen,but that’s the culture we live in now

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (608)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 608 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

4 of us (2 vegetarian) had Sunday Lunch today and it was a very worthwhile visit.
Food for everyone was very good and large portions. No room for dessert sadly.!
We have used this pub for family visits for 30 plus years but haven’t been for a few years as we thought it had closed. New owners have changed the decor a bit but still really pleasing to the eye and different. Love it. Will go again soon.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dide49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Four of us visited on 17/09/19 as it was my best friend's birthday. Super impressed by the ambiance, a lovely cosy atmosphere! Tables were nicely spread/placed so didn't feel cramped. It wasn't terribly busy but feel like it still would have been fine even if it was full. The two girls serving us were little diamonds. They were so friendly and genuinely lovely girls, we had a right giggle with them (sadly we didn't think to get their names!)

Wine was lovely, food came piping hot, well presented and in good time, we all thoroughly enjoyed it and even succumbed to the luscious desserts. Sticky Toffee pudding was divine; cheesecake of the day: scrummy; and 'peanut stack' which my friend said was the best dessert she'd ever had.

Only negative - and it's not really a negative because it was worth it in the end - is it's a little on the pricey side to what we were expecting so definitely up-market pub/restaurant, but we really didn't mind because we had such a lovely evening and left so full. Will definitely be returning!. :)

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Excellent from start to
Finish. Staff were so
Accommodating. Food was delicious and nothing was too much trouble. Will hopefully be back soon!

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2019

Excellent pub and restaurant David the chief was happy to help and made us feel very welcome at the little John inn we would definitely come again.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Johnnyqn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Little John Inn also viewed

Rufford, Nottinghamshire
Ravenshead, Nottinghamshire
 
Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to The Little John Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing