We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff, Quiet Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Samui Buri Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Staff, Quiet Location”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We returned from 10 days at this resort on 19 Sept. We were in one of the villas in the grounds with a personal plunge pool. The standard of the villa was excellent, although we rarely used the plunge pool. Staff are really good at Mercure,. A number of them spoke poor English, but from memory my Thai wasn't to hot either!! They were really helpful at every step, and the language barriers were actually a bit of light hearted fun. Great beach and decent retaurants in the area as well. Bophut is within easy travelling distance. 50 baht per head in a Tul Tuk. Chawaeng between 300-400 Baht by taxi, although Tuks Tuks also go to Chaweng.
Downside for me was the quiet retaurant and bar later in the evening. Beyond 7.30pm actually. It is a shame that area by the beach is so quiet generally at night, as it is a lovely setting to watch and listen to the waves. It did mean the little beach bar that is open until 11 pm, about 100 yds along the beach got some late business.
I would definitely go back to Mercure Buri in Maenam.

Room Tip: To get the best positions in the Nercure upgrade to a villa, the locations in the grounds are excell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyK1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    281
    106
    40
    17
See reviews for
178
410
26
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
161 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We have just returned from 8 days at this hotel and had a thoroughly enjoyable time.
The location is a bit remote, but it is right on the beautiful beach which was lovely and generally very quiet.
We had a pool access room, which was very big, with a nice comfy bed. The downpoints were poor quality bath towels, and toileteries, and no ceiling fans.
A good bathroom and the access to the pool area was lovely to sit in the shade of a morning or evening.Could have done with a fan though.
The grounds are beautiful and well tended, there were friendly workers there sweeping up most of the time.
There is a beautiful infinity pool, with a swim up bar and fantastic views of the sea.Plenty of sunneds for all on the beach and at the pool.
We had breakfast included which had plenty of choice, the omlettes were very good.
We did have a couple of snacks/room service/ but for the price and quality, I would not bother with the food at the hotel, there is a great beach bar called, COCORIBA, just turn right at the back of the hotel on the beach and walk for about 50 yeards, much better value and quality, also for massages, which my hubby had one.
Nice lobby area, free internet access in the lobby, also a bar for watching the rugby.
The rooms also have a mini bar, which is not too badly priced. Also you get 4 complimentary bottles of water each day, whcih was a godsend.
All in all, pleased with the hotel, loved Koh Samui, would recommend.
Finally the service generally was very good, nothing was too much trouble and all the staff were very friendly and professional.

Room Tip: Pool access rooms are well worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NONE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
98 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Koh Samui is the second largest island of Thailand (after Pukhet), but without many relevant places to visit. The largest town is Chaweng, but this is basically a long road full with restaurants, resorts and all sort of shops one can imagine. So, if you like noise, people, lights and confusion, this is the palce to be or to visit.
Otherwise, if, like us, you prefer a quiet place to rest and to stay on the beach, than choose Mae Nam beach, where Mercure Samui Buri is located.
This resort is on the beach and during the period we stayed there more tham 40 people on the beach was considerd "a crowd"! We opted for a villa with a private swimming pool, which was spacious and well appointed, although without any kind of luxuries.
The staff was always great and made us feel at home all the time, with the typical Thai kindness and attentiveness.
The rsort is formed by a part of regular hotel rooms, other by groups of rooms sharing a narrow but long swimming pool and a part formed by several villas, these close to the beach and surrounded by a beautiful gardens.
The resort has a infinity pool over the beach, which a very nice and aggreable touch.
The restaurant is porbably the weakest part of this resort, not because of the food (although not more than reasonable), but because of the prices, which kept customers away and giving the restaurant always an empty ambiance. But, you don't have to walk a long distance to find good local restaurants with very acceptable prices.
Nevertheless, this was a very good choice for the kind of holiday we wanted and I would not hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: Pay a little more and choose a villa with a private swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAVPina61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for a week and we were upgraded to a pool access room. The room was huge with 2 double beds and his and her sinks in the bathroom.

The pool area is lovely with plenty of sunbeds both round the pool and on the beach.

The infinity pool is stunning, swimming up to it looking directly into the ocean was fantastic and having the swim up bar an added bonus.

Breakfast is the usual fair - cereal, breads, sushi, pancakes, salads, fruit etc. There is a egg station where you can request all types of eggs, the omlettes were excellent and you can pick your filling.

We only ate in the hotel on our first night when they had the Italian Buffet but we got there quite late on so there wasn't much left and the quality was alright.

Lunch came courtesy of people on the beach, where for approx 100bhat (£2.20) you can get spring rolls, chicken skewers, fresh corn all grilled in front of you. They also give you bananas for no extra charge and if you are lucky mango, which was amazing. You can also get fresh coconut juice for them. They saved us a small fortune not having to eat in the hotel for lunch each day.

The hotel will take you in a golf buggy to the 7 Eleven so you can stock up on drinks and nibbles for your room. A beer at the hotel is 110baht (£2.40) and cocktails 190baht (£4.15) the 7 Eleven sells beer for 35-45baht so a substancial saving.

Happy hour was between 5-6pm where it is 2 for 1 drinks but your 2nd drink has to be the same as the first and on Mondays 5.30-6.00 you get a free cocktail and nibbles at the pool bar.

We ate at 2 restaurants next to the hotel - Luna Hut and Harrys, both were very good with Harrys our favourite between the 2. The rest of the time we ate in Fishermans Village, where I can highly recommend Krua Bophut (very end of the village) and The Pier (on the right just as you enter the main strip) There are loads of restaurants and bars in Fishermans.

The hotel has a car that they will take you places in and we used it each night we went to Fisherman's and it cost 300baht. When you get a taxi to the hotel the drivers will say it will be 400baht just say it was 300 the night before and they will come down, if they dont just walk away and the price will instantly drop - strange that!!!

The hotel has free WiFi which was very handy for checking a few things while we were away.

While we were there the Spa had a 2 for 1 offer on all treatments and 40% off all package treatments. Also treatments avaliable on the beach were greatly reduced. thai message at the Spa approx 1200baht while on the beach 350baht so it was a no brainer, not every day you can get a message on the beach listening to the ocean.

The hotel is a little secluded so if you want to be within walking distance of more bars/restaurants then stay closer to Fisherman's or stay in Chaweng

All in all we both loved our trip to this hotel and Koh Samui and would highly recommend it, we would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Soph1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We stayed here for 9 nights in June in a garden villa. The villa and grounds were beautiful. Everything was catered for including free use of internet, lots of books, DVD's etc. Ate in the hotel restaurant most nights and found food and service very good however there are other restaurants around the complex to try. The pool area and beach were spotlessly clean and there was a spa on the beach. Staff very extremely friendly and polite and couldn't do enough. A lovely relaxing experience and we would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Garden Villas are fabulous however the rooms with shared pool access looked very good also
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth-Rowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isleworth, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Overall we enjoyed our four-night stay at this hotel in August and it was very hard to get the kids out of the beautiful swimming pool once they were in. Our family room was very spacious and clean and the kids loved the fact that there was Cartoon Network on the TV. However there was only a tiny amount of hot water to be had in the shower - although we alerted staff to this, nothing was done about it. Later we stayed in much smaller/less expensive hotels in Thailand and they all managed to provide a proper hot shower, so I don't know why the Mercure couldn't! The beach was nice to look at although the sea water was slightly murky. The food was very expensive so we mostly ate elsewhere. Nearby you could get Thai massage, laundry, etc all much more cheaply than at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new south wales
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We spent eight nights here for our wedding anniversary and overall had a really lovely time.Our early morning arrival and pick up from the airport was trouble free and check in was quick and easy.The reception staff were delightful and had more than adequate english to make the whole process very smooth.We were taken to our room immediately, which was a bonus,given that check in time was hours later and we'd been travelling all night.We had a beautiful pool villa very close to the pool and beach.It was cool and clean and just delightful.The first few days were great.We hired a moped immediately to get around and see the island.Samui Buri is on a really lovely beach.The water is warm and clean,the sun lounges are comfortable and we managed to spend one whole day just swimming and lying there.We did partake of the beachside massage hut and spent some very pleasant time being scrubbed and massaged by the lovely massage ladies.The prices were very reasonable and it was always busy.The pool also was warm and quite enjoyable with a glorious view of neighbouring islands.Happy hour at the Pool bar could have been fun but unfortunately for us there were way too many smokers around for it to be a pleasant experience.If you are a non smoker or have any health issues, this can be a problem as they surround the pool area and also felt free to smoke in the restaurant, although I'm not sure what the policy on that was.We did eat in the restaurant several times and found the food to be very enjoyable.The prices were higher than outside ,of course, but not too high, and it was a delightful place to enjoy a meal and admire the view.Half way into our stay we did encounter a few problems which were unfortunate but did not manage to spoil it.The first was a very major one which could have been much worse and we consider ourselves very fortunate that it wasn't.Following an early morning swim we stood barefoot outside our villa washing our feet when my husband was suddenly struck by what he thought was a severe cramp in his arm.As I went to make a joke about it ,I also, experienced the most painful spasms right down my arm whilst he was once again yelling out in pain.We realized it was electricity but could not work out where it was coming from.We had both been electrocuted and it was a most painful and not recommended experience, which left my hand and his arm and shoulder feeling bruised all day.Apparently earth leakage from a cable under the ground was making the whole area "live" and as we had no shoes on for the first time, we were being shocked.We don't know how long it may have been like that but were both grateful to be okay.I must say that the first staff member we saw was incredibly helpful,Taking off one shoe to be jolted herself to see what we were talking about,and having several technicians there within minutes.They worked throughout the day to find and rectify the problem.We are so used to the safeguards in Australia, where a situation like this should not arise, that we did not realize how easily one or both of us could have been killed.In Australia a shock like that would have involved a trip to hospital but we were not offered medical assistance.I don't think anyone had any real concept of how serious it could have been. At the end of the day the problem had been found and fixed but it was with quite a bit of fear that I stepped back onto the entrance,expecting the worse.The next morning when I woke up,one of my thongs had disappeared from the front door and I was very afraid of not wearing shoes in case other areas were "live" so we had to go immediately and buy some more.The next "not so good" experience came with the "Mother's Day Buffet." This was a beautifully set out Thai buffet on the beach.It was supposed to go until about 10pm so we did not arrive until about 8.00.There was entertainment and plenty of delicious looking food being freshly prepared at several stations.We sat down with starters, in my case three chicken satay sticks. Unfortunately, before I was able to get any further food, a sudden thunder storm struck and everyone raced inside the restaurant.It went downhill from there.Chaos reigned supreme,there was no organization and very little food made it inside.The cooking stations stopped altogether and what did make it back was a fairly small and unappetizing mix.There were no serving spoons to be had so another twenty minutes went by trying to organize those until it became obvious that that was going to be it.This WAS an expensive event and I was very disappointed by my dinner.(or lack of it) It was 9.00 pm ,everything had fallen in a heap and the night was clearly over much earlier than it should have been.I know the storm was an act of nature but maybe they could have back up plans in place for events such as this so it doesn't fall apart so badly.We paid the bill and remarked that we were not happy with the night and had not even received our welcome drinks.The staff member promised he'd remember us the next day at Happy Hour.He didn't! That was the last time we ate at the hotel.After that we went into Fisherman's village or over to the Luna Hut and had delicious, inexpensive meals.All in all though, It was a lovely place to stay, a peaceful haven after Chaweng or BoPhut, and the bed was the most comfortable we've had anywhere.The staff were friendly, the turn down girls from housekeeping every evening were delightful and we still had a great time.We would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funhunters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
1.8 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#6 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#12 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
6.5 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sensimar Koh Samui (Adults Only Resort)
2.1 mi away
Fair House Villas & Spa
Fair House Villas & Spa
#10 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
3.4 mi away
Code
Code
#2 of 30 in Mae Nam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samui Buri Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Buri Beach Resort

Property: Samui Buri Beach Resort
Address: 26 / 24 Moo 4, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand (Formerly Mercure Samui Buri Resort)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Nam
#9 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
#10 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
#11 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Samui Buri Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samui Buri Beach Resort is a very charming, boutique Thai experience offering huge & unique rooms & villas, lush gardens, impressive sports & leisure facilities and a stunning scenic beach perfect to relax and unwind. The impressive infinity pool, fitness centre, kids club and Seetawaree restaurant are all located directly at the beach all with postcard views. The hotel is ideal to get away from it all yet also conveniently located for golf, excursions and to indulge the best of Southern Thailand! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Samui Buri Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Buri Beach Hotel Mae Nam
Mercure Koh Samui
Mercure Samui Buri Hotel
Samui Buri Beach Resort Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing