We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fair House Villas & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fair House Villas & Spa
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2010

spending 1 night in koh samu before heading to koh tao, I was searching for a last minute booking of a nice hotel. I got a really good prize for this one and arriving at the resort I was overwhelmed by it's beauty. The staff was extremly friendly and even gave us an upgrate of the bungalow!( despite the fact that we already had a big discount on the actual room prize)

the bungalows and villas are just perfect. Very spacious and clean.The pool right next to the beach is very nice too. The hotel is surrouned by a tropical garden with many many beautiful flowers and trees.

there were not many guests in this hotel and we often had the swimming pool for ourselves. Breakfast was good too. the restaurant is however a bit overprized.

The hotel is perfect for relaxation, but if you are searching for nightlife and big shopping, you are not at the right place.
It's perfect for spending some chillout time after a stressfull sightseeing trip.
it is definitely worth your money!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LipTe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    191
    54
    22
    19
See reviews for
91
355
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2010

Me and my husband stayed with Fair House last weekend to attend our friend's wedding at another hotel in Samui. We were attracted by its location which was suppose to be right next to the wedding location (turned out it was 20 minutes walk) and the low rate.

OK. If you were to stay here, do not expect a international brand kind of 4 star services. It's run and own by local Thai people so the standard is different. Not that it's bad but there was a few small things that bug us like: house keeping people don't speak very fluent English, we couldn't get hot water for a few days, there's no hair conditioner provider, the hot tub on the balcony looks really old and dirty so we didn't dare to use it.

Nevertheless, if you are on budget like us, this is a good value place to stay at. Breakfast wasn't wow but we tried the dinner there and it's good Thai food. BTW, they only have one restaurant in the whole hotel.

We tried the spa once. For girls who wants to do nails, you'll be disappointed. They don't have salon and nails services. We had our massage and the massage room was nice enough but strangely, they don't play any usual smoothing music during the session so we could hear all the noise from outside (like golf buggy passing by).

Oh, just remember there's no wireless in the room (only in the restaurant and lobby) and they don't help guests to call for caps (so we ended up have to suck up the high charges hotel car to go around the hood).

The bed was really hard, too. We had a double bed and it's two single mattress put together. And we had a hard time getting some sleep as the mattress as well as the pillow is harder than normal standard.

All in all - not a bad hotel. Just don't expect too much. They do have a nice view if you are getting a sea-view room though. I wouldn't bother staying with them at a non-ocean view room.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nsw2033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat Governorate, Oman
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2010

Stayed in a pool villa, with a troublesome pool (the filter did not work), which the staff tried to sort, but eventually we were moved to a larger property and really nice pool. The location is quiet, great. If you take the courtesy bus to Chaweng, a noisier and more colourful night life can be viewed.
Hotel food was excellent value, and great quality, but as other reviewers have said plenty of options available along the beach, Chaweng or Fishermans Walk. The main pool is lovely. We used the Spa several times, excellent. The massages were very relaxing.
If we were to return to Koh Samui we would not hesitate to book this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stringerbean49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pristina, Kosovo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2010

If you are into green hotels this is as green as they come. They recycle everything. The hotel sits in the middle of a lush green tropical garden. Overall a great hotel and even better staff. The sunset suite was big and the sunset views were picture postcard perfect. I stayed in room 122. Free wireless and desktops in the lobby. The beach near the hotel is not very good for swimming. The water is not so clear. But the pool is great. The hotel was about a 10 euro taxi fare from the best beach on the island but there was a free shuttle 3 times a day. And if you ask, the driver will stop near the fisherman village for the best food on the island. If you want to save some money there were cheap places to eat on either side of the hotel, along the water. The hotel staff was very attentive and helpful. This is a very relaxing, quiet hotel. No wild parties here. If you want to forget everything and slowly unwind this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kosovojoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2010

I fractured my ankle so had to stay on after the rest of my party went home. I moved here hobbling on crutches and they could not have been kinder. I was shown a selection of rooms and settled on one which was a short hop to the pool and bar. The food was delicious I had drinks at happy hour which went on into my meal so I was more than legless when I hopped back to my room. The pool(s) same on different levels, were lovely and clean. The sea was down some steps so you were above the beach sellers which avoided being woken with beads dangling in your face. The sea was lovely and warm and shallow so you can touch the bottom for a long way out. Mae Naam seems a nice quiet beach but with the crutches I could not explore it. The sun moved quite a lot so it was sometimes difficult to stay in the shade, but hey you have nothing else to do but move your sunbed from time to time before ordering another cold beer. The rooms and bathrooms were spacious and the a/c seemed to work well without freezing you in the middle of the night. The beds were comfortable and the gardens beautiful. I am not sure I would want to stay up the hill, it could be a bit sticky tramping up and down the hill, although there is an efficient buggy system to take you to the top.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EleHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2010

My husband and I moved to Fair House Villas after staying at the Impiana Resort in Chaweng Noi for 10 days.
Our first impressions of the place were excellent, very beautiful and very quiet. The staff were extremely friendly and attentive. They made a few errors with our check-in, couldn't quite match our names up with the booking that we had made (three times!).
Once checked in we were taken on a tour of the hotel in the golf buggy and then taken to our room. The room was lovely, very big and clean.
We went down to the pool which was nice and big, and it was also very quiet. After being on the beach in Chaweng Noi it was a bit of a shock to the system. We had a walk down the beach in Maenam and found a couple of little places with a few bars. Again it was very quiet. That evening we took a taxi into the Fishermans Village. This cost us 400 baht (which is a little expensive seeing as it was only 5 mins away), but like the previous reviews have said it was arranged by the hotel as the walk to the road was down a very long and dark dirt track.
We were originally supposed to stay for 4 nights at Fair House, but neither of us were able to relax here as it was so quiet. Obvioulsy it is down to personal preference, but we found it a little eerie it was that quiet! We stayed for just one night in the end and checked out the next day. The staff we very good and only charged us for one night, and also apologised that we didn't enjoy it!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carrie201080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2010

we loved it here! such a beautiful spot. we stayed in a garden villa and the room was GREAT! very spacious and gorgeous bathroom. the attention to detail was fantastic.

The staff were really friendly and very helpful. always smiling and genuine. I LOVED THE FOOD HERE, the best in Samui by far!!!! i ate so many meals here. YUM. the pool bar was great, and the nuts they serve there with your drinks are out of this world! you must try their special mix of kaffir leaves and garlic and chilli and cashews!

my partner had MANY massages in their spa their and HIGHLY recommends them. believe me he tried MANY places.

we walked the beach down to Maenam one day and it was such a lovely walk we lost track of how many kilometres we walked and had to catch a taxi back!

The resort was very quiet when we were there, apparently the construction across the road deters guests? i don't know why, you can't see it and definitely couldn't hear anything.

the rooms were immaculate and did i mention the food!!

they have created something special there where you can plant a tree and it comes with a name plaque so when you go back there you can see you plant and how much it has grown. part of saving the environment. great idea!

the birds and butterflies that were around were amazing. everytime we walked back to our room we came across numerous butterflies and all different.

we started drinking watermelon and ginger juice here and never stopped for our entire trip. my partner made a special trip back to the resort for our final day in samui for one last spa treatment and to get one of their juices and a plates of nuts!

definitely HIGHLY recommend this resort. we loved it! it made our trip just that little bit more special when we planted our tree.

hope you enjoy it just as much :)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TashaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
0.5 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#5 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
4.4 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,252 reviews
10.3 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sensimar Koh Samui (Adults Only Resort)
4.9 mi away
Code
Code
#1 of 30 in Mae Nam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fair House Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fair House Villas & Spa

Property: Fair House Villas & Spa
Address: 39 Moo 1, Maenam Beach, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Nam
#7 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
#9 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
#11 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fair House Villas & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fair House Villas & Spa is a locally owned, romantic beach front resort that offers a relaxing atmosphere away from the busy areas of Koh Samui. In the lush tropical gardens you will find the airy and spacious traditional Thai-style bungalows that were carefully built to harmonize with their natural surroundings. The hotel offers six different room categories, all with private balcony or terrace, ranging from the Garden Villas to the exclusive Beach Front Villas, which feature private swimming pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA and Jetsetter so you can book your Fair House Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fair House Villas And Spa
Fair House Villas Hotel Mae Nam
Ban Laem Sai Hotel
Fair House Villas & Spa Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing