We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely weeks stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Fair House Villas & Spa
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A lovely weeks stay”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at fair house for a week at the start of July. The villa was very spacious and clean and decorated in flowers when we arrived. All the staff were very helpful and very happy to help us booking taxi and day trips and also the service in both the pool bar and restaurant was very good.
The pool was lovely and looked straight to on to the beach which was very peaceful and quiet, both the pool and all the communal areas were kept very clean.
Food was good and lots of selection at breakfast only comment would be that breakfast seemed a little expensive but overall a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    195
    56
    23
    19
See reviews for
93
362
15
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Fair House Villas for 2 nights in May 2014. We found a great deal online and couldn't pass up the opportunity for a nice break from Guest Houses. We were very impressed with the room upon check in. The villas are large, clean, with a wonderful Thai feel which we really enjoyed. The skylight area above the bathtub was particularly beautiful. The pool area and grounds were very well kept. The hotel offers many classes and events including intro language courses, tree planting, and a garden walk. Beach towels are provided and changed daily. An in-room safe, bath robes and slippers are among the amenities offered.

Our only real complaint was this: We attempted to utilize the free snorkel equipment. The equipment itself was in terrible condition and did not appear to be cleaned after use by anyone as they are simply taken in and out of a cupboard by the pool. We also utilized the free bicycles to take to Fishermen's Village. These bikes were in horrific condition with my husband using a bike with faulty breaks and gears. We appreciate the availability of these free amenities, but they need to either take better care of them, or perhaps charge a small fee for maintenance.

Overall we were very pleased with this hotel. The rooms were beautiful, as was the pool area. Considering the price, we found a really great place in Fair House Villas and Spa and would recommend this hotel to anyone (just maybe not the free amenities).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_Amanda2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Just returned after staying here for 9 nights for our honeymoon. The hotel and grounds are very clean and the staff were absolutely fantastic, couldn't have done more for us. We had a sunset Jacuzzi villa, which was a nice large room (massive bed) and bathroom with a very spacious balcony complete with Jacuzzi showing breath-taking views across the Island. Be aware these room are not suitable though for travellers that don't like climbing steep hills and steps, if this doesn't bother you then they are well worth the money! Reception do offer to take your suitcases directly to the room for you and they initially take you to your room on a golf buggy so you have a tour of the complex. The hotel staff obviously have pride in their workplace and this was reflected in the pristine grounds, all staff that we came across were very helpful and friendly. The hotel offers push bikes, scooters and there own taxi service for the guests to use during their stay all at reasonable prices. The taxi service does also include a few free of charge trips to Chaweng and back which is a brilliant service, this information is provided to you on check in. Fairhouse is located in a quieter area but is close enough to the nightlife if that is what you would like, roughly 15 minutes taxi to Chaweng and 10 minutes to the fishermans village, it was perfect for us being on our honeymoon and just the relaxing stay that we were looking for.

Thank you for a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emdave140614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east sussex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

stayed here for 13 nights ,from the 25th of april to the 8th may,booked a pool villa with pool to the front ,which we requested,loved it !, staff great ,new pool towles arrived every evening ,fairhouse is a little out of the way ,but you can always get the shuttle ,we hired a car for 3 days ,(have done before when we have visited samui), well worth it to go of and explore ,that's how we found this peacefull place ! we walked to fishermans village a few times and got a tuktuk or cab back,also walked along the beach to a few bars ,did find the bathroom a little dark ,and do bring a face flannel as they don't provide them .overall enjoyed our stay ,lots of nice little details to this place staff very good ,also go in to chaweng for the hustle and bustle !!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: pool villa 302 ,was great right near pool ,beach and restaurant .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastSussexAudrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

After reading some of the negative reviews I just want to point out the hotel is not as out the way as people say it is, yes it's lovely and peaceful away from the noise but me and my partner walked 30 mins down the beach to a stretch of restaurants and bars,which is a lovely walk, you could walk through them and be in town where there are plenty of shops and restaurants, and also if you take a short walk down the beach the sand is softer. The hotel itself is just beautiful, clean, there's a attention to detail everywhere and the restaurant area is superb with fantastic views. Yes it's quite which is what you want on a tropical get away? but if you want a party hotel go to chaweng. Staff could not do enough for us, always welcoming and very polite. The rooms are beautifully Thai themed and spacious. Had a fantastic holiday here and would recommend it ten times over.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

My thoughts on our recent stay here is rather mixed. The staff and service here was excellent and could not fault that at all. They arranged for a hire car to be delivered for us and were very approachable at arranging transfers to Chaweng whenever we needed. The restaurant and pool bar staff were also excellent. The rooms were clean and housekeeping did a great job in the room and provided regular fresh towels. The room was let down though by having a shower that didn't drain properly which caused dirt/mould to build up in the recess so was rather unclean. Our air conditioner also didn't seem to work that great. Food choices at the restaurant/room service were rather limited.

Room Tip: Room 210 is a standard room but has a great balcony and view of the sea and koh phangan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fromthedale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairHouseVillas, Manager at Fair House Villas & Spa, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear fromthedale,

Many thanks for leaving your candid comments about your stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed the various services and that you found the staff helpful and kind. However, we are sad to see that some areas of your stay were not perfect. With notification, I am sure we would have been able to solve the issues regarding your drain and the air conditioning unit during your stay, but we do appreciate that mention it here, giving us a chance to fix it for our future guests.

Again, thank you very much for your helpful feedback and we would hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Vig
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

The rooms were big, clean very traditional thai style villas with good A/C. Great view from ours and was located only half way up the hill. The facilities themselves are run down. Gym... If you could call it that has barely functioning machines and really dirty enclosed windows. The pool was cool looking and great beach view but needs to be cleaned way more often! Happy hour is really short compared to other hotels and cocktails are below average. Food is really good, not fancy but really good flavor and reasonably priced. Very boring resort no night entertainment what so ever or even light music by the pool... Spent most nights off resort! Beach is rocky and not clear and sandy like Chaweng but nice views, quiet, no one sells anything. Location isn't great. They offer free shuttles 3 times a day to Fishermans village or Chaweng which was a savior, and take you on the golf cart to W Lounge next door. Other than that you can't really walk anywhere and it's a 400BAHT cab ride each way from main beach. Staff is VERY friendly but don't speak the best English. Very kind people I felt very safe leaving our extra back in luggage storage while we explored the islands the following week (free of charge) I enjoyed my time here and the villa.
Overall I think for the price they need to do some basic upkeep of the common areas like pool, gym, etc and maybe get a tiny bit more lively around pool/evening dining area (dull for even a romantic getaway spot) Don't go here if you like really great beaches and walking access to restaurants,etc. I wouldn't go back next time.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairHouseVillas, Manager at Fair House Villas & Spa, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Stephanie R,

Many thanks for your review and honest comments. We are glad that you found some positives from your stay, although it is obviously unfortunate you will not be back in the future.

We that our fitness center did not meet your expectations. We are currently planning for the coming year, as we do want to reach out better to travelers who enjoy doing fitness during their stay.

We have a 2-for-1 happy hour from noon to 1pm every day in our pool bar, as well as in the evening form 6-7pm in our main bar. I do not think this is particularly less than what our competitors are offering.

Regarding entertainment, we do have live saxophone jazz 3 nights per week in our restaurant by Mr. Koran Daniels from New York City. Not having too much entertainment and happening at all times is a conscious decision on our behalf, as most of our guests visit us to relax and enjoy peace and can easily be bothered by “intrusive” entertainment. We have therefore decided to keep our focus on quality and avoid exaggerated entertainment and animations throughout our resort. It is very tough to please everyone, and we can obviously understand that many people would like a slightly more intensive entertainment program. As you mention, we do offer free of charge shuttles to the busier areas of the island on a daily basis.

Again thank you for your comments and thank you for staying with us. We hope you will find more suitable accommodations for your future travels.

Kind regards,

Vig
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
0.5 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#6 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
4.4 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,301 reviews
2.3 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#12 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#10 of 62 in Maret
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
5.4 mi away
Code
Code
#2 of 30 in Mae Nam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sensimar Koh Samui (Adults Only Resort)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fair House Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fair House Villas & Spa

Property: Fair House Villas & Spa
Address: 39 Moo 1, Maenam Beach, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Nam
#7 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#9 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
#11 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fair House Villas & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fair House Villas & Spa is a locally owned, romantic beach front resort that offers a relaxing atmosphere away from the busy areas of Koh Samui. In the lush tropical gardens you will find the airy and spacious traditional Thai-style bungalows that were carefully built to harmonize with their natural surroundings. The hotel offers six different room categories, all with private balcony or terrace, ranging from the Garden Villas to the exclusive Beach Front Villas, which feature private swimming pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Fastbooking, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Fair House Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fair House Villas Hotel Mae Nam
Fair House Villas And Spa
Ban Laem Sai Hotel
Fair House Villas & Spa Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing