We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fair House Villas & Spa
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
West Midlands , UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxing stay”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We recently stayed at Fair House for 9 nights over Christmas and what a wonderful experience it was. We read reviews before booking and upgraded to a Pool Villa , we feel it was a good choice having explored all over the hotel , not only did we have a very convenient location , the villa was perfect for our needs. The only thing we could have complained about was the lack of draw storage for our clothes , and only 6 coat hangers in the wardrobe , we didn't complain , but i am sure if we had , something would have been done about it.
Breakfast is a lovely spread of almost anything you could desire , good quality and plentiful , we opted for Poached Eggs , most times , and they were cooked fresh for us , and tasted wonderful , they must have been free range with a good diet !! We did go off the resort and look at restaurants around and about , yes prices are cheaper , but only slightly and you do not have the lovely sea view at most other restaurants. We ate from the Thai menu everynight , and the food is really really good , even the most expensive Fish dishes are only around GBP£8 each.
The staff could not do anymore to help you have a lovely holiday and made us feel very special.
Wifi connection is free with a password over the whole complex , but at best it is hit and miss , so if you are expecting to do hours of work via a Wifi connection , then you may have to seek other facilities , but there is a desktop computer in the reception area which i presume would have a wired connection which maybe the answer to your problem.
Overall we had a wonderful relaxing stay , would have gladly stayed for another week without hesitation , and would return there tomorrow if the opportunity arose. If you want a quiet holiday , away from hussle and bussle of European life then this is a place you should try , but please take some mosquito deterent and itch cream !!! The little blighters are vicious , both day and night !!

Room Tip: Pool Villas are very nice and well located for all amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maggot35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    199
    56
    23
    19
See reviews for
94
370
15
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Excellent stay for 10 days. Very good for quite holiday, but still well located to go to Mae Nam or Bo Phut's Fisherman's Village (about 2-3 km, 5 minutes by motorbike). I will recommend room 224. Close to swimming pool, beach and restaurant with sea view (although still private). Kayaks available for free. Golf carts take you to main street (about half a kilometer from hotel). Restaurant at hotel is not too expensive. Free shuttle bus can take you to Fisherman's Village or Chaweng for free, three time per day. Good life music during evening at restaurant. Only downside is that it does not have a an ideal beach for swimming, although still possible to swim in the sea. Also not possible to go for long walks on the beach. Free wi-fi in rooms and other areas. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Ask for the most friendly cat, called Pattaye or Phad Thai, who spent most of the time in our room.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Coenrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown PA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

From our arrival at the airport to the bitter sweet departure, every aspect of our needs were met. The complimentary morning buffet, the beach and pool accommodations, the staff, and our room was welcoming and comfortable. Annelise, Vic and the entire staff made us feel very welcomed.
Great location for a honey moon or just an island get away.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deerjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This was an excellent hotel - every detail was exceptional from the room quality (the Sunset Suite), the services, the hospitality and the location. Everything looked exactly like the pictures - if not better- and the resort was extremely peaceful on Mae Nam Beach, yet easily accessible. Could not rate this resort any higher!

We found the resort particularly quiet - which was a bonus (something this good can surely not be so quiet all the time), as well as the great food and drinks in both the restaurant and bars. This place was not exactly cheap but for the quality would not consider it expensive either - am very happy to recommend to all - until we return next time!

Room Tip: Sunset Suite was large, with a great balcony and view, not to mention the double spa bath overlookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZackWF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I have stayed at Fair House Villas for two weeks together with my friend. I must say that the property exceeded all my expectations!
We have stayed at the Beach Front Pool Villa, which is simply amazing! You have your private pool (which we were using excessively), mini garden and the best sea view possible! The landscapes of the property are undeniably wonderful, they bring you to this "holiday mode" straight upon arrival. You feel the tranquility and full relaxation. For me personally, Fair House Villas was the perfect place to indulge myself with the paradise lifestyle during my well deserved time off from the hectic style of living back home.
Of course, this place wouldn't be so fantastic without people working there. I believe all of the staff members from pool guys to waiters and receptionists have this rare spirit of honest hospitality in their heart and soul.Everyone was extremely helpful (we asked for organization of transfers, island's trip, taxi, treatments in outside spa and suggestions of the places to go and things to do) and welcoming! They always had this genuine smile on their faces that brightens you from the inside.
I should mention the restaurant of the resort, which is truly epic! It has large selection of both national and European dishes, which are both delicious and surprisingly very good priced. Absolute highlight of my holiday were heavenly banana shakes and fresh coconuts!! These are THE two things that are worth to come back for!!
The overall atmosphere of the hotel is extremely relaxed, thanks to its location. However, once you feel like partying, shopping or exploring the island - it is not a big deal, you get to Chaweng center or fisherman's village in less than 15 minutes, which we found to be very convenient.
This hotel became my perfect escape point on this planet earth!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We booked 5 nights here although only stayed for 4 due to going to the full moon party one night. We were taken to our room which was nice and had a lovely view from the balcony, although it was up quite a steep hill. Unfortunately we weren't aware of the pool being renovated. My husband spoke to reception and we were able to be upgraded to a pool villa. It was smaller than the previous room, but it was brilliant. The bed was nicer and the bathroom was more spacious and it was a much better walk to the beach and restaurant and of course we had our own pool. The noise from the pool renovations was minimal. We ate the restaurant a couple of times for lunch and dinner and found it very pleasant. The hotel were excellent at arranging taxis whenever we needed one. We ate out in Fisherman's Village one evening, which was our best meal out whilst in Samui. The hotel also have a free shuttle service to Chaweng at various times of the day, which is a nice idea. There is also a free shuttle to their sister hotel whilst the pool is being renovated, but I imagine their own pool is finished now.

We were able to arrange transfers in advance to and from the airport for 500 baht each way. I found the taxi service the hotel provided good, but expensive, although it cost no more than what the general taxi price seemed to be. I think 300 baht for a 5 minute journey a bit steep, compared to the rest of Thailand anyway.

We used the shuttle to Chaweng one day and were very grateful to be staying at Fair House. although it isn't really within walking distance of any restaurants or shops, it was very peaceful compared to the hustle and bustle of Chaweng.

I have only rated the sleep quality as average due to being woken up by the constant thunderstorms!

I would definitely stay here again and recommend it. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rookayj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

I could not have asked for more than fair house villa for my honeymoon.
I booked it online and arrived to koh samui by train n taxi n ferry n taxi from bangkok to fair house. It was tiring journey but the moment me n my wife stepped out of taxi n walked to the reception, we were rest assured that it was not too much to reach here.
Amazing resort, friendly staff, good food, and best part was the view from our room. Calm n serene, place is quite away from the regular hustle bustle but not more than 20 minutes to chaweng market which can b reached by free shuttle or hired bike from the resort itself. Ofcourse bike was more fun.
Day tour we took from the tour shop in chaweng. Island tour we did ourself on rented bike.
We liked to spend more time in the resort itself as the pool n the beach n the bar n the botanical garden were enough to keep us hooked in there.
Except for one mishappening which was actually quite sad event for me n my wife was that i lost my wedding ring inside the room itself n was not able to get it even after the housekeeping staffs cleaned the room. I was sure that the ring is in the room but housekeeping staff denied of any such ring being found.
Rest every moment is gonna b the perfect honeymoon memory that me n my wife will cherise forever.
Hope to return back to fairhouse n next time with friends n family :)
Have a great funfilled vacation in samui !!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bhawanshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
0.5 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#6 of 30 in Mae Nam
690 reviews
2.3 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#11 of 30 in Mae Nam
410 reviews
7.5 mi away
MANATHAI Koh Samui
MANATHAI Koh Samui
#11 of 50 in Lamai Beach
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Escape Beach Resort
Escape Beach Resort
#8 of 30 in Mae Nam
510 reviews
5.4 mi away
Code
Code
#2 of 30 in Mae Nam
1,045 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#5 of 187 in Bophut
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fair House Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fair House Villas & Spa

Property: Fair House Villas & Spa
Address: 39 Moo 1, Maenam Beach, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Nam
#7 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
#9 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
#11 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fair House Villas & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fair House Villas & Spa is a locally owned, romantic beach front resort that offers a relaxing atmosphere away from the busy areas of Koh Samui. In the lush tropical gardens you will find the airy and spacious traditional Thai-style bungalows that were carefully built to harmonize with their natural surroundings. The hotel offers six different room categories, all with private balcony or terrace, ranging from the Garden Villas to the exclusive Beach Front Villas, which feature private swimming pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Fastbooking, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fair House Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fair House Villas Hotel Mae Nam
Fair House Villas And Spa
Ban Laem Sai Hotel
Fair House Villas & Spa Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing