We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible, quiet place”
Review of Maenam Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mae Nam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maenam Resort
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
Lithuania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible, quiet place”
Reviewed March 4, 2007

We booked hotel directly on arrival and spend there 7 days. After these days we clearly recognize, that our choise was correct. From here you can easy go to Chaweng or Lamai if you want to "enjoy" crowdy beaches. Mae Nam resort - is ideal place for relaxing only with sea and birds sound surrounding. I would like to thank one more time to hotel staff and definitelly will recommend to everybody to go there. Algis Maslauskas, Lithuania

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank algis.maslauskas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    55
    5
    8
    5
See reviews for
34
48
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2006

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in November 2006. The resort is modern and is right on Maenam Beach. It is made up of about 10 bungalows. The staff are friendly and helpfull the price is good for what you get. The beach itself is nice, quiet compaired to Chaweng and Lamai. There are enought local restaurants and services to get by and it is not as developed as the other popular beaches although the sea is not as clear.
We would recommend a visit to Cafe Talay, which is north along the beach, food and setting are both excellent.

  • Liked — Modern facilities, value for money, great location
  • Disliked — Approach is down an un made road that can be off putting
  • Tips/Secrets — Visit Cafe Talay for an evening meal
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikato
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2006

We travelled around Thailand for 2 weeks in June 2006. Mae Nam Resort in Ko Samui was the most expensive place that we stayed at, and the least impressive. It was shabby, run down and over priced. The beach was pleasant but not spectacular. Instead we highly recommend Ko Tao for travellers wishing to get away to more beautiful isolated spots with accomodation at much cheaper prices.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
Thank Eco2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2006

We spent the last week of our five week trip relaxing and diving at Maenam Resort. We were looking for an affordable beach bungalow with a nice uncrowded beach, a few restaurants, and close proximity to diving boats. Maenam was perfect! The beach (though narrow and course sand) was lovely and relatively quiet. It's a great swimming beach. We had a beach front two-bedroom bungalow. Perfect with our teenagers. We read and played cards on our "deck" living room. The refridgerator was a nice addition. Our king size bed was comfortable; the boys found their twins a bit lumpy.

We arranged for diving through ABC Diving at the Santaburi Resort next door. Mala and Adi were fabulous! We went diving for three days at Koh Tao, Sail Rock, and Chumpion. Wonderful diving and great service. They picked us up at the hotel each day and handled all of our equipment.

There were plenty of nearby restaurants to choose from. We have lots of good Thai and Italian food at very affordable prices. The hotel was great for breakfast and an occassional meal. We took full advantage of the available beach massages.

We would happily return in a minute! Mae Nam is by no means a "top end" resort, but it's a great value for quality beach time.

  • Liked — Quiet, nice beach
  • Disliked — Having to leave to come home. (Not really a fault of the hotel)
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a beach front unit.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Seattle_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2006

We stayed in a beach front bungalow for 4 nites , the view from this beach is of Koh Pangnan Island and we had lovely sunrises every morning ( 6.10am ) and would get up and jump in the sea to watch the sky change ... so relaxing a peaceful .
It is quiet round mae-nam , well it was in June so if we wanted to eat elsewhere we would walk up the dirt track road onto the main mae-nam road to get a taxi ( songathew - with 2 benches at the back ,they are the cheaper than "metre" taxi's ) it was easy to get a taxi into Chaweng for a meal cost us 100 baht per person and took about 10 mins yo get there .
The food at the resort is good , breakfast is not included but there is a good choice .
After taking trips around the island and seeing other beaches , i am pleased with our choice to stay at Mae-nam as althought the beach here is courser ( great ! doesnt stick to beach towel ! ) the beach is prettier than any of the others as there mud flats were all visiable due to the tide being so low , but at mae-nam beach we never saw this and it was always high enough to swim in .
I would return to stay here , if you want to relax and unwind it is a great place to do this .

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2006

Stayed here over new year with my boyfriend and sister. We had a 2 bedroom family bungalow, a couple of rows from the beach and it was great. The rooms were large and the kitchen had a mini bar and fridge. The resort looks right onto the beach, which is lovely. It's beautiful and tranquil and there are some photos attached. The only problem with staying here was that it was so quiet. We hardly ever saw anyone else and hardly any of the bars on the way to the main road were open or had anyone in them. It was a bit strange but it was good to be away from the madness that is Chaweng. Found it really easy and cheap to get into Chaweng by bus or taxi but make sure you negotiate the price with taxis. We ate at a few restaurants on the main road but the Italian about 10 minutes walk to the left on the main road stands out as a good one. Would agree with the review below. There were some other couples here but didn't really speak to them.
A good place to stay thet didn't cost the earth and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JayneC32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2006

My husband and I stayed at Mae Nam Resort on the first leg of a 6 week vacation. We are in our 30s and wanted something nicer than backpacker accommodation but not a large hotel. We wanted access to nightlife but no big party scene at our resort. Mae Nam Resort fit the bill perfectly. We got so relaxed we forgot what day it was and missed our flight to Bangkok. (The penalty to put us on the next flight? About 7 bucks).

The beach is narrow (as shown on the website) and the sand is coarse compared to Chaweng but offers almost complete privacy and calm water, compared to Chaweng's surf and bustle. Even the farthest bungalows are only 30 seconds from the beach, which has a beautiful view of Koh Phangan.

Our lovely room (3rd row standard) was set amongst lush gardens, with sliding doors to a private deck and a large, comfortable bed. The bathroom was quite basic, but more than adequate for us. Our room had air conditioning but we found the fan adequate most of the time.

The resort has a small, open air restaurant facing the beach that we returned to again and again because the food was fantastic and quite cheap. Most entrees cost 40-80 Bhat ($1 - $2), drinks were about 50 cents.

We enjoyed walking up the beach and stopping for a drink or a nibble at one of the beach bars right on the sand. There was also a great Canadian-owned bar called the Thirsty Moose on the road into the resort.

Going into Chaweng was simply a matter of flagging down a passenger truck and negotiating a price. We had no trouble getting rides into and out of town as needed.

Resort staff were great and dropped everything to drive us to the airport when we realized our mistake.

A guest told us he and his wife stay for months at a time and negotiated a monthly rate that was less than half the rack rate for a month. We dream of doing this and can't wait to go back.

I struggle to find anything negative to say about Mae Nam Resort. The only thing that disappointed us was that we didn't strike up any friendships with other guests while there. Most people did their own thing. Because it wasn't backpacker priced, most guests were 30+. The resort is especially popular with German travellers. If I was travelling alone, I'd head to busier Chaweng, but for a couple, it was nothing short of paradise.

Thank you to TripAdvisor and all the travellers who take the time to post about their experiences - I don't book anywhere without consulting you!

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Firefly68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mae Nam hotels
0.9 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#12 of 30 in Mae Nam
434 reviews
1.2 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#7 of 30 in Mae Nam
719 reviews
1.6 mi away
Escape Beach Resort
Escape Beach Resort
#9 of 30 in Mae Nam
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Fair House Villas & Spa
Fair House Villas & Spa
#10 of 30 in Mae Nam
614 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santiburi Beach Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hacienda Beach Resort
Hacienda Beach Resort
#13 of 30 in Mae Nam
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maenam Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maenam Resort

Property: Maenam Resort
Address: 1/3 Moo 4 | Meanam Beach, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Nam
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Mae Nam Hotel Mae Nam
Maenam Resort Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing