We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very quiet, good family resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
Strasbourg, France
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very quiet, good family resort”
Reviewed March 16, 2012 via mobile

The resort is very well maintained. The rooms are very spacious with a good bathroom, big shower. The staff was helpful. Wi-fi was working ok. Very nice surroundings of the bungalows. The pool and sea side restaurant offer a great view of the beach, breakfast was very good and offers a lot of choice. I really appreciated that they let us do a late check-out with no problem or additional charge.
The hotel is situated in a VERY quiet area, after coming from ko phi phi we were a bit disappointed. You have to rent a motorbike to get around. The hotel taxi service is overpriced and you have to order your own taxi If you don't want to pay a lo ( you have to find a number etc) there are no taxis that just drive-by. The scuba diving shop in the hotel is also quite overpriced, go to the travel agency by the pier to get your trips, the lady is very nice there. I would. It recommend this hotel for young couples or groups or friends who like to go out to eat or for a drink. There are also no shops in the hotel area.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank melleln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    190
    68
    16
    14
See reviews for
108
208
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Stayed there overning because it was next door to the Lomprayah Pier

Otherwise, big complex with lots of bungalows filled with package tourists

Expensive for what you get. You can get better value for the price they charge in thailand.

Breakfast buffet was good

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pixiematic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Nothing special as a resort, and you can probably get better for the money, but perfectly situated for our one night before hopping on the ferry to Koh Phangan - you can easily walk to the adjacent Lomprayah ferry, even if you have, as we did, a lot of luggage. Staff seemed nice and helpful. Much better beaches elsewhere though - wouldn't choose it as a holiday destination myself.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TanCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

The quality of service at coco palm is beyond reproach:
- smiling efficient staff (for a problem with our room safe, someone showed up within minutes)
- charming bungalows, comfy bed and AC, all you can dream of after some nights in rough comfort elsewhere.
- small porche to have a quiet drink on your doorstep
- quiet environment, nature all around
- nice beach, eventhough you can easily find better on the island
- within walking distance you can find the greatest massage we had in thailand (and we had a lot of them) thanks to ''two laos sisters'' where you will be massaged by the world record of massage, no kidding, it is official and the diploma is on the wall. Also very close, a great little restaurant, ''my place'' with an artist chef who paints, sings and plays the guitar.

All in all, only one thing we can regret, the swimming pool is out of date. It is small and feels a bit ancient, eventhough it is clean as a whistle.

For 2500 baht, great quality for your money. We rented a bike nearby (200 baht a day) and went and discovered the island all day long, only to come back around five for quick dip in the pool, and dinner closeby. We highly recommand.

ps: the other guests: families mostly and some couples. very quiet and polite

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cataclop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Arrived late in from Bangkok to catch ferry to Koh Tao. Requested pick up from airport, but ended up having to get taxi (no real big deal). Check-in took about 45 minutes despite having voucher for overnight stay. Requested ticket for ferry, but got the classic thai blank smile, should have realised something was up! room was clean and basic with wifi.
Following morning found out the reason for the blank stare the previous night as the Lomprayah ferry was'ent going from it's usual peer, and as a result nearly missed it as I then had to get to the west side of the island peer at Nai Thion (25 mins away) instead of 1 minute walk.
Rushed breakfast was quite good.

So before booking a room here to go to KOh Pangnan and/or Koh Taomake sure the ferry is leaving from this peer!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkeybreathLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

CocoPalm Resort is a well managed & maintained bungalow style resort on the westernmost part of Maenam beach. It is right next to the pier where the catamarans to e.g. Koh Phangan leaves, making it perfect if you want to sleep one night before taking off. Free WiFi in the whole area is a plus.
Bungalows are fresh and well maintained. We had the pleasure of being upgraded to a family bungalow, which was spacious and very nice. Only negative I could mention is that beds are rather hard. But Thai massage is cheap ;-)
Garden and pool areas are nice and clean and give a good impression.
Buffet breakfast is plentiful and offers a wide selection including make to order omelet/scrambled eggs. Lunch menu is quite OK and we ate there twice, but there are better restaurants if you walk a short distance.
As some people have stated, the beach is maybe not the most gorgeous one you can find in Thailand, but absolutely OK if you ask me. Just note that the water drops deep pretty fast if you have small kids.
Location in general is nice and quiet, a bit away from the main location in Maenam. Means also that unless you want to hang around the hotel all day you need to take a taxi or rent a scooter to get around.
There are however, a number of restaurants in the area so you can easily spend a week without having to eat at the same place more than once.
In summary a very good experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_Gunnarsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Coco palm resort, is a fairly cheap and decent resort for koh samui. While our stay there was nothing spectacular, it was more that decent for the 5 nights we where there.

Nice comfortable, if a little samey bungalows, nice pool and not to bad beach. It's in a fairly quite and less touristy area of the island although not too far if you want a bit of night life.

The only thing I would say is there are cheaper and nicer restaurants out side the resort.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
2.0 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#7 of 30 in Mae Nam
719 reviews
2.8 mi away
ibis Samui Bophut
ibis Samui Bophut
#45 of 185 in Bophut
1,573 reviews
2.4 mi away
Escape Beach Resort
Escape Beach Resort
#9 of 30 in Mae Nam
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort
3.8 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#18 of 185 in Bophut
980 reviews
11.4 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#11 of 62 in Maret
1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Palm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Palm Beach Resort

Property: Coco Palm Beach Resort
Address: 26/4, Maenam Beach, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
#9 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coco Palm Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coco Palm Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocopalm Beach Hotel Mae Nam
Coco Palm Samui Koh
Coco Palm Beach Resort Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing