We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of ZENZIBAR Beach Bar & Restaurant

ZENZIBAR Beach Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 95 Restaurants in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: A small restaurant lay in the middle of the clean and uncrowded of Maenam beach, close to the sea and you can feel the sand on your feet.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Heavenly place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

From arriving to leaving we loved every minute of our time here. The gardens you walk through on arrival are breathtakingly beautiful. I can still feel myself gasping !! The food is very, very yummy and beautifully presented. I loved the Thai dancing and music. The whole ambiviance of the Restaurant, perfect!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosesinposies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    110
    28
    24
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“my favorite thai food in samui”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

My friend & I ride a moto from chaweng and walk for 500m to get zenzibar. We ordered a seafood package for 2 and ask yuth to choose the best way to cook, all the dishes are sooooooo wonderful and fresh! thx yuth♥I'll be back!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ALICIALU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lovely setting..average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Set on the beach the restaurant has a lovely position and tables are laid out on the beach itself. The service is very friendly. We found the food to be 'westernised Thai' and the portions of meat and fish a little ungenerous. If you want to get away from your resort it may be worthwhie for the setting.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ABaisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fabulous find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We had read about the Zenzibar beach front restaurant in Maenam and decided to give it a try one lunch time. We were not disappointed. It is difficult to find down a dirt road to the beach but well worth the effort. The food is traditional Thai but is great quality, well priced and the location is superb, right on the golden sands of Maenam beach. We will certainly return next year.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bizgarrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place to eat in Mae Nam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

We ate in Zenzibar four out of our five nights in Mae Nam. Having visited the previous year we were pleased to see that everything was just as good as we remembered it!
The setting is beautiful, right on the beach with a really relaxed atmosphere making this the perfect place to enjoy a meal while watching the sunset.
In high season the fresh seafood is on display for you to choose from which is a nice touch. Although there is a focus on fresh seafood, there is a really wide menu choice and everything we tried was delicious.
The owner is really friendly and happy to chat and recommend specialties. As loyal customers we were given complimentary desserts and seafood which shows how the owners are willing to go the extra mile to make you feel welcome.
With very reasonable pricing, great food and a great atmosphere this restaurant has got it right and we wouldn't hesitate in recommending others to go and enjoy it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth556677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ZENZIBAR Beach Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Mae Nam, Ko Samui
Mae Nam, Ko Samui
 
Mae Nam, Ko Samui
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to ZENZIBAR Beach Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing