We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best food we had”

ZENZIBAR Beach Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 103 Restaurants in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Thai, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A small restaurant lay in the middle of the clean and uncrowded of Maenam beach, close to the sea and you can feel the sand on your feet.
Heeswijk-Dinther, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“best food we had”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We had dinner here several times during our stay in Meanam. The restaurant is right on the beach and has a very friendly owner who is doing everything possible to please his guests.
The food is great and prices are reasonable. We can highly recommend the seafood platter Thai style. The private cooking class right on the beach was also lots of fun to do. On our next stay
we will visit this amazing place again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dirk H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    373
    112
    31
    25
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful food in a heavenly location”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Set right on the sea, this wonderful, unassuming restaurant was a real find on an evening walk along the beach. The seafood was wonderful, the "beef in oyster sauce" melted on the tongue with an explosion of subtle flavours and the western dishes (burger and fries) went down well with those of us with cravings for home. The complimentary fruit at the end of the meal was delicious and the level of service was outstanding and all at a very affordable price. Missing it so very much now we are home!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacquie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect seafood”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

When I first came to the restaurant, I thought, "Is that it?". It did not look like a real restaurant and there were no customers (we came a little early). The restaurant, however, lay in the middle of the beach and it was nice and quiet with the sound of lapping waves. Everything we needed.
My girlfriend and I sat down and ordered. But before the food came, the owner came with a dish (squid in garlic and pepper sauce), he said we had to try on the house. We did, and it was some of the best I have ever tasted, and probably the best seafood I've tasted. If you think squid is like rubber and you do not like it, think again and try this. it is fantastic.
We visited the restaurant 3 times and it was great every time. For instance I can recommend the squid with garlic and pepper sauce, red snapper with sweet chili sauce, tigerprawns in yellow curry powder sauce and lobster. You get really good food at a very reasonable price.
The owner Yuth, does everything he can to make it a good experience and he does it extremely well. As a courtesy, he drove us back to our hotel when we were finished. Thank you Yuth and see you next year.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnZacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The most beautiful place I've ever had dinner!! And the food was AMAZING TOO!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We were staying next door and found our way to Zenzibar on our third night - came back every night afterwards. Wish we had come on the first night! We tried something different every night and it was always amazing. Never disappointed. Seafood was amazing. Penang curry was amazing! Duck was amazing!! The squid was our favourite! The best part though, was the staff! Especially the little boss the owner 's son!! The owner checked on us several times throughout the meal and always had suggestions. Would eat here again, every night, if I came back to Samui!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank A_Truaisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“By the sea”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The location and food was excellent. The staff are efficient with the offer of drinks followed by menu as you were seated.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Therese S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ZENZIBAR Beach Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Mae Nam, Ko Samui
Mae Nam, Ko Samui
 
Mae Nam, Ko Samui
 

Been to ZENZIBAR Beach Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing