We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place”

About Cafe' Koh Samui
Ranked #16 of 96 Restaurants in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $7
Cuisines: Cafe, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We're just a small cafe' with simple menu .We're not a Luxury Cafe' and not even close to be perfect but we provide an exceptional experience for you.Welcome to About Cafe', we open 7.30 Am. - 5 Pm.(Close every Sunday) & free WIFI for customers.Sometimes the happiness is very simple, not complicated at all :))
Bangkok
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Went for brunch and we had a coffee, an iced coffee, a waffle with honey, and also a ham and salad rotti. The rotti was just wonderful and I immediately ordered a second after finishing it - really simple, but just fantastic, and so cheap!!!
I confess to being a coffee snob, and they probably did the second best coffee I had in Thailand over 3 weeks, but that's still not saying a great deal. Still, it was a welcome relief from the swill offered most places!
Loved the curio shop going along with it too, and the wall of visitors sending in their photos from around the world.
I can't remember what we paid overall, but it was just peanuts, so we bought some cards from the shop and left them a decent tip as well.
It's a shame we only went once as we found it late on our stay.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank enjay111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    37
    13
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
INDIA
Level Contributor
305 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We were here for a heavy breakfast one morning. There weren't too many people that day. The full English Breakfast I had was filling and good. There are a lot of pictures of past guests on the walls of this cafe and there are a lot of interesting looking souveniers as well. They are closed on Tuesdays and on other days close by 5pm.

More than the food, we liked the ambience and the setting. Good for resting for a few hours.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Krishna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
292 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Almost a curio shop!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

It is a small one room cafe with an unbelievable amount of stuff... The food, everyone has written about it... The place is the ideal breakfast place... Shakes, eggs, smoothies, yogurt ... With that the owner has some lovely books ( exchange or buy) , postcards, souvenirs, bags, and a lovely photo album of how far her bags travel.... Go there with time In hand to read or just sit back.. Loved the ambience and feel of the place... It shuts down by 5 pm so more a day place.. Finding it can be a pain esp from the beach side.. Go from the main road.. Google maps has it right!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank themanfromearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A little Gem”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I simply cannot say enough good things about this place! I should start off by saying that we loved About Cafe so much that we ate here every day, without fail, for 6 weeks this Summer! We were at a loss on Tuesdays (the only day About Cafe is closed) to find a breakfast as good as this. As we were staying in Maenam it was very handy for us and the opening hours are great too if you need an early breakfast or somewhere nice for a late brunch/lunch. Koy, the owner is fantastic. She has created a lovely, simple place with great food & drinks at more than reasonable prices, (we should know we tasted almost everything on the menu). Great choice on the menu such as full breakfasts, omeletes, fresh fruit, homemade yoghurt & honey, waffles/pancakes, sandwiches etc. plenty to choice from and good sized portions too! The fresh fruit smoothies are delicious and the virgin mojito is a good one to try! Great selection of teas & coffees too.

Service is great and the food is tasty, healthy and fresh, prepared to order by Koy herself.
The little cafe has a lovely atmosphere and the attention to detail in the decor is cool, there are plenty of bits of artwork and interesting pieces around the place, including the owners adorable little dog.

Such a relaxing place to have a delicious meal or cup of coffee in. No better way to start the day, will definitely be back again. Wish Koy plenty of happiness & success for the future, well deserved!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank A_crean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Simply adorable.”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Subject title says it all. Simply adorable.
A little tricky to find yes, but we soon realised that it is located in the same strip of shops as the Mae Nam night market (held on Thursday nights, also well worth a look!!)
If you find the Buddhist temple you are in the right place (soi 4). The owner now has a giant takeaway coffee cup at the entrance with "About Cafe" across it (see photos).
Now. The food. Delicious. The roti sandwiches are a must try. We also tried the waffles with choc sauce (beautifully crisp outside and fluffy inside, as they should be).
Now to quote a fellow tripadvisor member, do yourself a favour and please have a Banana Shake with her homemade yoghurt. I died and went to food heaven. The most delicious half a litre you have ever tasted!
Coffee is great also, hits the spot for an addict such as myself.
Also, did I mention how ridiculously good value this cafe is? Very economical for the heart, soul and care put into it. Owner deserves much success and happiness!
Free wifi, open everyday 730am-5pm except Tuesdays (closed).

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank loztravels90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed About Cafe' Koh Samui also viewed

Mae Nam, Ko Samui
Mae Nam, Ko Samui
 
Mae Nam, Ko Samui
Mae Nam, Ko Samui
 

Been to About Cafe' Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing