We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun and Food”

Mick's Bar & Bungalows
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mae Nam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mick's Bar & Bungalows
Ranked #43 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Mae Nam
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun and Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

I have been to Micks three times now,2012,2011 and 2010. I can say it is great value for money and a really friendly place to be. The bungalows are very clean and spacious. I love the fact that it is away from the crowds but is still so close to everything, beaches , shops nite clubs etc. it makes you feel that you are really on holiday. I like the fact that you get to meet other interesting people when you are there and Mick and Onn treat you like part of their family. For me it is a special place and I hope to go back again and again
Elaine Salter

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 451wanderer222451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
3
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

A little nugget of Thai paradise with a very welcoming family who know everything there is to know about making a Thai holiday special. This small enclave shielded from the more 'party' elements of the island was a joy to visit. From being collected from Ko Samui airport through my 2 weeks at these lovely family run bungalows to my being dropped off again at the airport. The bungalows are sturdy, spotless and spacious - raised above ground means none of those menacing critters the tropics are so 'blessed' by and no danger of flooding or other distractions. They provide a self catering experience that allows you to cook things picked up from the local markets - although for the less adventurous there is a huge Tesco not far from Mae Nam. Of course when I wasn't in the mood to cook I simply popped across to Mick and his family's restaurant where I experienced that famous Thai hospitality, relaxed with a refreshing drink and sampled some local Thai cuisine (as well as a good range of western dishes when I missed the taste of home). From arranging my motor cycle hire (cars can be arranged too) to explaining the island and its attractions nothing was too much trouble. The dipping pool around which the bungalows are arranged allows for a delicious cool down and can be a welcome counterpoint to the tropical Thai weather. The beautifully tended gardens have a wide variety of local plantlife and it makes such a delightful change from the all too ubiquitous concrete that many establishments feel the need to use. If you want 5* luxury with spa treatments this is not the place to stay. But if you want to wake up and fall asleep to the sounds of the real Samui and want great value for money then this is where you want to go.

Incidentally should you be looking to enjoy the more lively elements of the island they are easily within reach by taxis which will pick you up from and return you to these bungalows - which make an excellent retreat when you are fit to drop !

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nakhon Pathom, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

I stayed at Mick's Bungalows for about a year that was back before they put in the bar. It has a great feeling. Mick (an Aussie) and On (a Thai) the owner's are very friendly helpful folks. If I ever needed a ride to or from the airport I could always count on Mick. The place is nicely landscaped with many palms and tropical plants to give each bungalow a private setting. The pool and attached BBQ area give you room for entertainment and relaxation. It's located away from downtown so there's no loud music or racing cars and motorbikes to deal with. I liked the place and the people. I was only going to stay there for 2 weeks but wound up staying a year. I highly recommend Mick's.
Even though you can walk down to the main road from the bungalows I would recommend renting a motorbike for any late night bar hopping. I believe Mick has motorbikes for rent as well.

Room Tip: There are 1 bedroom and 2 bedroom bungalows both are very roomy but I preferred the 2 bedrooms as I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Been coming to Ko Saumi for many years and found Mick's place 6 years ago. Decided to stay here for many reasons, all of them good. Rent on a yearly basis and over the past years have made many friends of the people who return every year. Must be a reason these people return to the same place every year. Mick will keep you occupied with many stories from past years, all of them very funny. Can't say anything negative about the place, staff great, food excellent, etc.
Marty

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
0.4 mi away
Natural Wing Health Spa & Resort
1.4 mi away
King Busch Reggae Beach
King Busch Reggae Beach
#25 of 52 in Mae Nam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
1.6 mi away
Baan Laem Noi Villa's
Baan Laem Noi Villa's
#14 of 52 in Mae Nam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Panalee Resort
Panalee Resort
#142 of 430 in Ko Samui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Sea Koh Samui Boutique Resort & Residences
1.2 mi away
Anna Resort
Anna Resort
#21 of 151 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mick's Bar & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mick's Bar & Bungalows

Property: Mick's Bar & Bungalows
Address: 16/9 Moo 3 Soi 5, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Mae Nam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family run resort with fully self-contained one or two bedroom villas. We are situated in a very quiet jungle setting just 2 klms. from the beach. There is a bar and restaurant on site, very reasonable prices . a great place for couples or family's . I can be found on the web if you google Mick's Bar blog spot . ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mick's Bar & Bungalows Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing