We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French restaurant and wine bar”

La Bonne Franquette
Ranked #46 of 100 Restaurants in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“French restaurant and wine bar”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is a very good place to eat or just have a drink. The owner (Frenchman) is very polite, helpful and chatty. We had rock lobster with spagetti in a beautiful sauce and a small carafe of wine. It came with a little side salad each and a basket of crusty bread to soak up the amazing sauce! It was delicious. This is a very good alternative if you fancy a change from thai food which wasn't very often on our trip to Koh Samui. It is a little more expensive than the local thai eating places but it really is worth it and the food is beautifully prepared and presented.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    13
    7
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We had a great meal here, in fact it's been the tastiest of our trip to date. We had the steak with rosemary potatoes and it was the sort of meal you don't want to end, so tasty. For desert we had creme caramel and iles flottante, again really good. The owner is really friendly too and explains anything on the menu you are not sure of, he even gave us complimentary drinks at the end of the meal which was really appreciated. It's not the cheapest of places you can eat, although there are plenty of places around that are similarly priced, but it will probably be one of the tastiest meals you will eat. We will definitely be back before we leave.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank the_two_travelbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mae Nam, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

We visited in January. It's a small restaurant with small menu but don't let that put you off.the menu is very sophisticated I had the goulash very good and well seasoned plus super chips.the staff were freindly and knowledgable about the menu. The tiramisu was heaven on a plate. I urge readers to try this restaurant and give the great staff praise on there efforts...WELL DONE....

Helpful?
1 Thank Doorby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georges m, Propriétaire at La Bonne Franquette, responded to this review, June 27, 2016
thank you sir
have a nice place for you
in my small restaurant
best regards
Georges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalong, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Proper French Bistro...”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Proper bistro - small menu, excellent food, pleasant atmosphere, genial host. Not cheap, but generally worth it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 69ingBishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch spot”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Visited twice for lunch. Both times takeaway sandwiches. We didnt expect to eat this type of food on our 3 week trip in Thailand but was good to break up having Thai for every meal.

Tuna or mixed meat sandwiches where what we ordered. Reasonably priced, the bread is excellent aswell as the fillings. The owner is very friendly and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank Asa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bonne Franquette also viewed

Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to La Bonne Franquette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing